Author Topic: Caravan TV Antenna  (Read 14442 times)

Offline fiddlestix

• Livin the dream
Caravan TV Antenna
« on: October 08, 2012, 04:47:36 PM »
Hi I have a new Jayco swan outback and i was wondering what sort of TV antenna does everyone suggest and fitting it i have no idea where to fit as i have awnings on all four sides.
All help appreiciated.
2013 D22 Dual Cab Navara roo systems chip 3inch exhaust OME suspension upgrade winch bar IPF spotties tub liner rear park sensors electronic rust snorkel.
2012 Jayco swan outback camper

Re: Caravan TV Antenna
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2012, 04:50:58 PM »
I was about to post up a similar questions!!

Offline fiddlestix

• Livin the dream
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2012, 04:56:25 PM »
Do you have a kitchen awning?
I do and i have no idea where to intall.
Adrian
2013 D22 Dual Cab Navara roo systems chip 3inch exhaust OME suspension upgrade winch bar IPF spotties tub liner rear park sensors electronic rust snorkel.

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2012, 05:08:05 PM »
Have a look here guys.. http://www.happywanderer.net.au/page.asp?parentid=19&parent2id=51&parent3id=55
They have a few options.. if you are in Sydney i have one of these antenae for sale.

BHG

Offline HKB Electronics

• www.hkbelect.com
    • HKB Electronics
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2012, 05:38:10 PM »
Not sure about the Swan, but my out finch has a bench on top of the fridge.

I installed an antenna socket out side on the lower section, and a socket inside
on the bench top, TV sits on fridge top when in use.

Leigh
HKB Electronics, manufacturer of the Alternator Voltage Boosters

Offline fiddlestix

• Livin the dream
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2012, 05:43:39 PM »
Leigh
I already have the socket on the outside and point on the inside just unsure what antenna and where and how to install it.

BH
What model antenna have you got and what has the reception been like?

Offline HKB Electronics

• www.hkbelect.com
    • HKB Electronics
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2012, 05:55:52 PM »
Sorry mis-understood,

As for external antennas that's a mine field with price varying from cheap to the ridiculous,
and your still not going to get reception away from towns.

I myself these days would forget the external antenna for free to air and either use a foxtel
set top box with sat dish or VAST setup. With these you'll get a good signal just about anyware.
HKB Electronics, manufacturer of the Alternator Voltage Boosters

« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2012, 05:58:52 PM »
HI fiddlestix, I have one of these aussievan easy tune tv antenna.. http://aussievan.com.au/shop/easytune-antenna-system/easytune-tv-antenna/

range from about $229

I have tested it at home and it worked well (Brisbane), and took it on our recent trip and at one spot I could only pick up SBS (Standown Park outside Tin Can Bay), it works fine at home and a mate had one a fingal back in MAy this year and i watched the footy on it no worries at all.

Anyway, I had mine setup on the annex side at the drawbar end adjacent to the safety support pole and used a couple of zip ties (probably need to find a better option) to keep it in place, these wrap around the upright wind up supports of the Swan, the pole was then hidden behind the flap that attached to the annex. The reason I put it on this side and not the side the antenna plug is that it was easier to play around to get the signal than on the otherside, plenty of coax cable to plug it in..

Anyway, I have only had mine a couple of months and used it once but i was thinking of buying a satelitte so I can take my foxtel box away with me next time...

Scott
« Last Edit: October 08, 2012, 06:01:29 PM by Jenko67 »

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2012, 06:04:38 PM »
Hey Fiddle,,, this is the model i have   http://www.happywanderer.net.au/page.asp?parentid=19&parent2id=24

I find it works very well.. being able to change from vertical to horizontal is a big plus....

BHG

Offline griz066

« Reply #9 on: October 08, 2012, 06:40:14 PM »
There are a lot of brands to consider. When we had our finch I simply fitted mine to a 2.7 mtr extendable pole and zip tied the pole to the side handle near the front boot. it is a simple job to rotate it 360 degrees to get a signal.
Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834

nbd73

« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2012, 07:02:02 PM »

As for external antennas that's a mine field with price varying from cheap to the ridiculous,
and your still not going to get reception away from towns.

I myself these days would forget the external antenna for free to air and either use a foxtel
set top box with sat dish or VAST setup. With these you'll get a good signal just about anyware.
Second that. Had an expensive elec rotating antenna and was next to useless> crap signal in the middle of Byron Bay. Now have VAST + sat dish and perfect. Can get deal from itech world in Perth for around $700 for the lot, including new digital sat finder. A decent antenna will cost at least half that, so the extra is money well spent for the massive increase in reception.

Offline GUEY

« Reply #11 on: October 08, 2012, 07:32:54 PM »
Ive just been using a normal household ant. Has worked well so far. Dick Smith $55 on sale.
Big rectangular job. Sits on the front lounge when travelling.
Jayco sell a kit that mounts to the lock down catches.
If you have the kitchen awning just screw it on at the very front of the van in front of the latch.
On my phone so can't post pics and links sorry..
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

Offline fiddlestix

• Livin the dream
« Reply #12 on: October 08, 2012, 07:44:49 PM »
Guey
Please post pics when available would like to see it.
So jayco have something that clips to the hold down clamps on the van to hold a antanna?

Offline GS

• The hand the turns the doorknob, opens the door...
« Reply #13 on: October 08, 2012, 08:02:11 PM »
Would love to see an affordable option.

Paying $500 dollars to watch 0.5 hours each day?

Offline Ozdakar

« Reply #14 on: October 08, 2012, 08:02:46 PM »
There are a lot of brands to consider. When we had our finch I simply fitted mine to a 2.7 mtr extendable pole and zip tied the pole to the side handle near the front boot. it is a simple job to rotate it 360 degrees to get a signal.

We do a similar thing but I use plastic tube on our happy wanderer & cable tie it to the roof strut near the aerial plug on our eagle & it works fine.

Andrew
GU 4.8L Patrol & Outback Eagle camper

Offline GUEY

« Reply #15 on: October 08, 2012, 08:03:40 PM »
Antenna

« Last Edit: October 08, 2012, 08:19:03 PM by GUEY »
2010 Swan Outback

Offline GUEY

« Reply #16 on: October 08, 2012, 08:24:16 PM »
Ok dodgy night time photo.

The bottom piece normally sits into the latch on the bottom of the van.
The top piece would normally hook onto the top part of the lock down latch.
There is a third piece that I could have used that takes the place of the lock down latch but I find this just as easy.

I hope this makes sense.

I should of added the ant is a phased array type and I haven't had a problem getting reception yet and the kit you buy from Jayco comes with the pvc pipe for the mast.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2012, 08:38:25 PM by GUEY »
2010 Swan Outback

Offline fiddlestix

• Livin the dream
« Reply #17 on: October 08, 2012, 08:39:39 PM »
Guey

Thanks so much for doing that for me i just dont see that they affix to the clamps that hold the top to the bottom or am I misunderstanding this here/
I dont wanna be drilling holes in my camper just yet,

Is your anntena called the foldaway>?

Offline GUEY

« Reply #18 on: October 08, 2012, 08:51:29 PM »
No dramas.

The bottom piece in the photo I have notched out to fit around the front handle. This part would normally sit in behind the turnbuckle on the bottom latch when it is undone and is very stable.

You will see in the pic the part on the lid of the van has a cutout in it. This hooks on to the angled part of the latch on the lid of the van.

I hope this helps. I know a pic is worth a thousand words but I dont have any from before I put the kitchen awning on with the way they are supposed to work.
I wasnt real happy about putting screws in the side either. But I pre drilled and siliconed behind so water wont be an issue.
2010 Swan Outback

Offline GUEY

« Reply #19 on: October 08, 2012, 08:56:31 PM »

Is your anntena called the foldaway>?

Sorry I missed this bit.

http://dicksmith.com.au/product/L3087/uhf-phased-array-tv-antenna

Its not the smallest but it works and I havent had any probs fitting it in.
2010 Swan Outback

Offline freezy11

« Reply #20 on: October 08, 2012, 08:59:14 PM »
I modified a foldaway antenna for my CT.
It goes on the top of a 2.5m extention pole.
It dose come with other mounts to suit caravans, so you might not need to do the extention pole thing.

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=24997.msg386242#msg386242

Set it up on the weekend, worked good. Haven't tried it out on the road yet.
There is 12v boosters for them as well

Offline griz066

« Reply #21 on: October 08, 2012, 09:07:31 PM »
Do you have a kitchen awning?
I do and i have no idea where to intall.
Adrian

I think this is what you are looking for. :cheers:
This is the antenna I use
« Last Edit: October 08, 2012, 09:13:59 PM by griz066 »
Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834

Offline GUEY

« Reply #22 on: October 08, 2012, 09:15:03 PM »
That's the one. But with kitchen awning they will have to screw them on.
Unless they have changed from a 2010 model.
2010 Swan Outback

Offline fiddlestix

• Livin the dream
« Reply #23 on: October 09, 2012, 04:57:42 PM »
Perfect thanks a heap team.......