Author Topic: Camp oven cooking in a kitchen stove  (Read 3320 times)

Offline craigtempo

• welcome to the party that never ends
Camp oven cooking in a kitchen stove
« on: July 23, 2011, 03:52:26 PM »
ok i have a 2.5kg piece of pork to go in the camp oven but i want to put the camp oven in the home oven at home ..

What tempreture do i set the oven on and how long .

any ideas it will be going in very shortly .

craig

Re: Camp oven cooking in a kitchen stove
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2011, 03:55:01 PM »
mate i reckon your just going to have to keep a close eye on the temp. nothing different to putting the camp oven on the hot coals. just have to keep adjusting the temp til' right.

oh and dont forget    :worthles:

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2011, 04:24:36 PM »
You could put it at 200 for about 45 mins without the lid on then put lid back on for maybe
another 1 &1/2 hrs? BUT I have to ask one question? And that would be Why

That's like having your camp shower setup in the normal house shower ???

Anyway! Hope it turns out as planned!

Offline craigtempo

« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2011, 04:26:59 PM »
You could put it at 200 for about 45 mins without the lid on then put lid back on for maybe
another 1 &1/2 hrs? BUT I have to ask one question? And that would be Why

That's like having your camp shower setup in the normal house shower ???

Anyway! Hope it turns out as planned!

its in on 200 ....... why

well because im experimenting .. and on the xmas do a few fellow campers said this is how the bake a roast at home so im trying it .

craig

Offline craigtempo

« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2011, 05:19:26 PM »
update

3/4 hr into it on 200 and the house smells of roast pork  :D

the crackling is comming along nicely as well though i reakon it wont be ready till 7pm ish ......

yum

craig

« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2011, 05:27:18 PM »
Don't worry Craig, you're not the only one to do roasts in a camp oven in a home oven.  We've even cooked in the Cobb on the kitchen bench at Christmas time.

Good luck with the roast.

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2011, 06:44:55 PM »
Doing a small boned leg o pork ourselves, yummy.

Not in the camp oven though, that is tucked up in the CT, safe in the shed at work, not out in the bloody rain.
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

Offline GeeQue

• Only God can judge me
« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2011, 07:14:39 PM »
Yeah, have to agree.  We use the camp oven in the home kitchen often.  190 - 200 and keep an eye on it.

GeeQue

I thought it through and my worst brings out the best in you.

Offline HerGU

« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2011, 07:43:20 PM »
We cooked a camp oven roast for new years a few years back in the 44 gallon drum in our back yard with out best mates, just with coals on the ground as usual (not on the grass of course) . It was the best "camping trip" ever. Much better than going to some stupid nightclub for new year's.  ;D

Last weekend we bought one of those bunnings out door fire places, so i think we might do again some time soon.

Offline craigtempo

« Reply #9 on: July 23, 2011, 07:49:05 PM »
put on at 430pm [ oven 200 to warm up the camp oven ] pork and vegies in at 445 pm pulled out at 7 pm .

slightly overdone but still BLOODY sensational .

my advice ........ always cook a roast in a camp oven ... i will from now on .

p.s

anyone seen my CT ......................................................

craig

« Reply #10 on: July 23, 2011, 07:50:54 PM »
put on at 430pm [ oven 200 to warm up the camp oven ] pork and vegies in at 445 pm pulled out at 7 pm .

slightly overdone but still BLOODY sensational .

my advice ........ always cook a roast in a camp oven ... i will from now on .

p.s

anyone seen my CT ......................................................

craig

WHERE'S THE PICS ???????????

« Reply #11 on: July 23, 2011, 07:52:43 PM »

Offline Just some guy

« Reply #12 on: July 23, 2011, 07:59:22 PM »
Don't worry Craig, you're not the only one to do roasts in a camp oven in a home oven.  We've even cooked in the Cobb on the kitchen bench at Christmas time.

Good luck with the roast.

x2.
I have also used the camp oven in my old webber kettle - works a treat! A camp oven doubles as an excellent iron pot to use in many ways at home.
Please keep in mind - I'm just some guy.  I don't know nothin about nothin!

« Reply #13 on: July 23, 2011, 08:12:43 PM »
Craig I told a few of the blokes at work who live down Stockton way about your camper being knocked off.  You must have some flyers up down that way as one of them mentioned seeing the flyer.