Author Topic: Renting near Eagle Farm, Brisbane  (Read 2189 times)

Renting near Eagle Farm, Brisbane
« on: March 27, 2017, 07:58:10 AM »
G'day all

Question to throw out to the MySwag brain's trust thanks :D

Eldest bloke (21) is starting a training course in July for 11 months, located just on the edge of Eagle Farm airport.

I know absolutely nothing about that part of BrisVegas apart from the airport itself & the Gateway Rd :-[

Any suggestions for where / what area he should be looking for a flat to rent for this time ??? (& also which areas to stay out of!)

He'll only be on Youth Allowance for this time, so can't afford $mega.

Re: Renting near Eagle Farm, Brisbane
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2017, 08:14:22 AM »
When I come across from WA to Brisvegas for work I have stayed at "the Deck" in New Farm. Cheap, clean and very friendly staff. I've stayed for 3 month blocks in the past but you might be able to negotiate a cheaper deal being longer term (from memory was about $180/week). Haven't been there for a couple of years now (live in Sandgate).
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2017, 09:26:38 AM »
plenty apartments for rent in Nundah.

I am living in Nudgee and is very close to airport and Eagle farm.

Offline poidda

« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2017, 09:33:57 AM »
Might be easiest to just rent a room of someone in a house share.  Was always great fun at that age.  There's plenty on gumtree.
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-flatshare-houseshare/brisbane-north-east/room+for+rent/k0c18294l3005722

« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2017, 09:45:22 AM »
What about share houses? I lived in share houses for roughly 7 years until I was finished uni and earning enough to buy a place. They're a good option so you don't have to break the bank OR resort to living in dodgy areas and total dumps of houses.

Flatmates.com is another good website for finding share houses. Share houses are also a good way to meet some new people if you don't know the area well - one of my first housemates is to thank for me finding my way around here!

How is he going to be getting around - car or public transport? That would greatly change what suburbs I'd suggest. :)

« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2017, 10:08:25 AM »
Thanks everyone for suggestions - we'll check them out :cup:

How is he going to be getting around - car or public transport? That would greatly change what suburbs I'd suggest. :)

Probably car as he has to be at Eagle Farm at 7.30am :'( >:D

« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2017, 06:49:17 PM »
Ascot is awesome, but pricey. Hamilton would be another to consider though still likely on the expensive end of things (more units though perhaps?) - some good places to eat in Hamilton... Eat Street Markets definitely come to mind, but they are getting crazy busy these days. Clayfield is also very convenient. Might be out of his price range... I'd guess that'd be likely.

Places might be a fair bit cheaper if he's happy to base himself a little further north, though. Or the south side of the Gateway around eg. Cannon Hill.

If he heads in around Kelvin Grove (closer to the city but not *that* bad for getting to Eagle Farm, just don't take Kingsford Smith Drive with the road works at the moment!) he might be able to team up with some students in a share house - QUT has a campus there.

Also don't rule out the idea of checking Gumtree for share houses! I've used it to advertise back when I lived in share houses and found some good housemates that way.

« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2017, 02:13:10 PM »
Thanks for that Trinity.

We had a look on Gumtree & there are a few reasonable sounding places listed Nundah, Hendra, Ascot area.

Course starts early July so we'll probably leave things till June & start doing some serious checking then.

Will also check out that flatmates site you mentioned

« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2017, 02:20:02 PM »
No worries and good luck!