Author Topic: Batten Down the Hatches Qld  (Read 82524 times)

Re: Batten Down the Hatches Qld
« Reply #400 on: November 11, 2021, 06:40:11 AM »
Roofie finished our brand new roof guttering yesterday arvo, just in time for it to get a workout overnight, with ... 4.5mm! ;D

It's all still attached & hanging up there, so I guess he must of done a good job ;D

Still guessing 15-25 mm for the rest of today, but the Sun is shining ATM, so we'll see ???

« Reply #401 on: November 11, 2021, 05:51:12 PM »
we scored 25mm and about to go again.

This is just one of our strainers today.... cute little tacker.

Drink the water and the frog Shit is free.

« Reply #402 on: November 12, 2021, 06:48:54 AM »
Nice! ;D

How'd that area get on during 2011, Jeeps ???

« Reply #403 on: November 12, 2021, 08:51:36 AM »
We had no flooding on our place at all.

We have some aerial shots of it during the flood.
Some places not too far from us went under.... but not us.

The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #404 on: December 02, 2021, 06:53:31 AM »
So looks like the rain is pretty well done, so how'd we all get on ???

Jeeps, it looks like the dams out your way are still dried out dust-bowls ??? :'(

Didn't you get anything out there ???

« Reply #405 on: December 02, 2021, 07:53:29 AM »
We've had 88mm since Monday afternoon.

I mowed the Shit out of the place before the rains..... the Shits getting long already, really fast.

« Reply #406 on: December 02, 2021, 10:36:23 AM »
But there's nothing in the dams ???

On that, just spotted that Leslie Dam is spilling!!! ;D :cup:

Be just about worth a trip out there just to look at it - it must be a big lake now! ;D

« Reply #407 on: December 02, 2021, 12:55:46 PM »
We really need a cyclone/rain depression to fill the 2 big dams.
What we had this week was fine for the little guys..... the big 2 need way more than that.

« Reply #408 on: December 02, 2021, 01:09:05 PM »

Our creek out the back has started flowing for the first time in a long time.

Driving up to Maryborough and back yesterday there was heaps of rain between heading up there early in the morning and coming back after lunch. So much water moving through the paddocks everywhere north of Gympie.

My mate out near Nanango shared this pic of the new inland sea that has formed out that way. :)

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #409 on: December 02, 2021, 04:04:09 PM »

We had 315mm for November. To put that into perspective our total rainfall for 2020 was 526.5mm.
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

Offline below sea level

« Reply #410 on: December 02, 2021, 04:57:56 PM »
We've had 145mm so far this month.

« Reply #411 on: December 04, 2021, 05:57:25 PM »
Some pretty wicked looking storms marching in from over the border.

Lots of Shit colours on the radars.

« Reply #412 on: December 04, 2021, 06:25:12 PM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
Lots of Shit colours on the radars.
is that Code Brown?

Offline Rob Mac

• My Father learning to drive 1950
« Reply #413 on: December 04, 2021, 06:25:55 PM »
Yea, the main band of nasty looking stuff has almost passed over Kalbar, had some small hail and a bit of rain and a few gusts. The satellite should pick up again shortly.
Potatoes go with anything
The following users thanked this post: Bird, Jeepers Creepers, Steffo1

« Reply #414 on: December 04, 2021, 06:27:05 PM »
Yea, the main band of nasty looking stuff has almost passed over Kalbar, had some small hail and a bit of rain and a few gusts. The satellite should pick up again shortly.
Thats code brown - but that is a ****in awesome photo!!!!!!!!

The following users thanked this post: Rob Mac

« Reply #415 on: December 04, 2021, 07:12:20 PM »
Coming in now

Offline hainess

« Reply #416 on: December 04, 2021, 07:22:47 PM »
But there's nothing in the dams ???

On that, just spotted that Leslie Dam is spilling!!! ;D :cup:

Be just about worth a trip out there just to look at it - it must be a big lake now! ;D

Gates at Leslie Harrison Dam - originally fitted in the 1980s - came down in 2015 as part of engineering investigations and to improve safety.

They have never been replaced despite calls from residents and the state opposition, who have also been among those pushing for recreation activities like canoeing and fishing.

"The main concern is that half of the dam is going out to sea and often causing havoc along the way," Mr Robinson said.

"The best drought-proofing measure for the future is a whole dam full of water, not half a dam."

The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #417 on: December 05, 2021, 02:51:16 AM »
I thought for a bit, the storm was going to brush us.

We scored the very western end of the Shitty stuff.
LOTS of wind, some solid rain (12.5mm) and maybe a few hundred hail stones. (marble sized)
Still pretty loud on a tin lid.

I think Lowood and some others might've copped a bit more than us.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2021, 04:42:37 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #418 on: December 17, 2021, 05:28:09 PM »
….
2019 LC78 (troopy)

« Reply #419 on: December 17, 2021, 06:21:42 PM »

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #420 on: December 17, 2021, 09:45:57 PM »
I selected a previous post for the sale of my ‘hybrid’ and thought I was replying to it with the photos I took today. Somehow the photos finished up on this topic, so I deleted them all and negated the post by replacing the descriptions with some full stops. Don’t know of any other way of removing a post once it has been saved.🤪
2019 LC78 (troopy)

« Reply #421 on: January 06, 2022, 10:36:54 AM »
Maybe not so much the hatches as the flood levee ???

https://www.facebook.com/groups/2215739885329254/posts/3119093218327245/

Sorry to those not on FacePlant - Inskip Point is flooded, with the Fraser Is / K"Garri barge stopped ~100m out to "sea"!

« Reply #422 on: January 08, 2022, 08:08:02 AM »
Everybody on the Sunnie Coast still got their head above water ???

Stay dry & stay safe!

« Reply #423 on: January 26, 2022, 04:59:22 PM »