Author Topic: What made you Smile - 2025  (Read 34687 times)

Offline Rowlie

Re: What made you Smile - 2025
« Reply #100 on: June 17, 2025, 10:12:55 AM »
That's almost exactly what we do, we have no debt, apart from the monthly c/c bill which gets paid in total every month. If we don't have the money (in the bank) we don't get it, untill we do..  Simples.

Excavator,
Please contact Ms J Allan C/- Parliament House Melbourne and explain your concept. Apparently spending your / our own money is something that is not well understood where she works.
The following users thanked this post: Bird, GeoffA

Online Fizzie

« Reply #101 on: June 18, 2025, 07:35:25 AM »
That's almost exactly what we do, we have no debt, apart from the monthly c/c bill

We don't even have that much!

The only "debt" we're carrying, is the bills that have come in but aren't due for another week or 2, so haven't been paid yet 8)

Isuzu: 2017 MU-X LST

« Reply #102 on: June 18, 2025, 11:34:08 AM »
The rule is you should only borrow to save rent and put a roof over your head or back yourself in business earning income as anything else is a consumption sugar hit with the nasty taste of forgone consumption in future-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/why-consumers-are-to-blame-for-soaring-car-prices/ss-AA1GTqQU
Never heard of anyone about to put pen to paper for a loan ask- Do you think you're lending me too much? but they sure as Hell reckon they did when the gloss has worn off and they're struggling to pay  :'(
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #103 on: June 23, 2025, 05:32:04 PM »
Our eldest, Completed her Cert IV in beauty Therapy, today.
She has done great, traveling 130km  each day for the last 3 years, from her home to work & TAFE.
Very proud of her.

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

« Reply #104 on: June 23, 2025, 07:29:54 PM »
Our eldest, Completed her Cert IV in beauty Therapy, today.
She has done great, traveling 130km  each day for the last 3 years, from her home to work & TAFE.
Very proud of her.

nice work Mr.... well Miss anyway

« Reply #105 on: June 23, 2025, 07:49:21 PM »
Cheers mate,
She struggled with the travel, especially at this time of year, not getting home to her place until 6.30-7pm some evening.
But it paid off, she qualified and she talks about setting up her own business.
We are pretty wrapped, and she is stocked.

Offline Raym

« Reply #106 on: June 23, 2025, 08:21:29 PM »
The last couple of weeks I have been doing blacksmithing demos for primary school kids.  Normal process is make an object while explaining some of what I am doing during the process then when complete take questions.

Had some grade 3 kids last week and they were asking all the normal questions like how hot is the fire, why do you make it hot, what is burning in the fire etc. Then a little girl puts her hand up & her question stumped me for a while.

"Can Santa get down that chimney?" Talk about left field, I could see the teachers behind them holding back their chuckles.
The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

Online Fizzie

« Reply #107 on: June 24, 2025, 07:04:19 AM »
Our eldest, Completed her Cert IV in beauty Therapy, today

Good on her :cup:

Does that mean she's now qualified to work on her Dad, or is that a task beyond even a Cert IV ??? >:D

« Reply #108 on: June 24, 2025, 07:55:21 AM »
Good on her :cup:

Does that mean she's now qualified to work on her Dad, or is that a task beyond even a Cert IV ??? >:D
Ahaha,
My toes are beyond help, even a seasoned professional  would say no.

Offline Rowlie

« Reply #109 on: June 24, 2025, 08:14:54 AM »
The last couple of weeks I have been doing blacksmithing demos for primary school kids.  Normal process is make an object while explaining some of what I am doing during the process then when complete take questions.

Had some grade 3 kids last week and they were asking all the normal questions like how hot is the fire, why do you make it hot, what is burning in the fire etc. Then a little girl puts her hand up & her question stumped me for a while.

"Can Santa get down that chimney?" Talk about left field, I could see the teachers behind them holding back their chuckles.

Raym, you have to learn to think like a grandfather eg - "No, of course Santa can't squeeze down this chimney - he's too FAT. He sends one of his elves down and then gets them to open the door for him. Don't worry about being chastised for using inappropriate body shaming language - no one wants to be dragged into Santa conversations  :angel:

« Reply #110 on: June 24, 2025, 07:00:51 PM »
Smiling is the only thing I can do.
I was booked in for a Knee replacement this morning, did all the prep, was careful not to scratch my skin over the last week.
Arrive at the hospital, 9am, sit down with an admin,  do all the paper work, wait some more, sit with a nurse to double check everything, she hands me the gown.
Another nurse appears, "Just hold it there, I'll be back"
5 minutes later I'm told it has been rebooked for the 9th of July.
I didn't ask questions, maybe it was an emergency

I got to go to the pub early.

« Reply #111 on: June 24, 2025, 08:45:20 PM »
Smiling is the only thing I can do.
I was booked in for a Knee replacement this morning, did all the prep, was careful not to scratch my skin over the last week.
Arrive at the hospital, 9am, sit down with an admin,  do all the paper work, wait some more, sit with a nurse to double check everything, she hands me the gown.
Another nurse appears, "Just hold it there, I'll be back"
5 minutes later I'm told it has been rebooked for the 9th of July.
I didn't ask questions, maybe it was an emergency

I got to go to the pub early.

Sounds like the wife six years ago, all prepped ready to go in to have a deep brain stimulator fitted, cancelled last minute due to surgeon called to an emergency. Head shaved, psyched for the op which is performed 80% whilst awake. Oh well, luckily it was only a fortnight’s delay.

Good luck with the knee.

Online Fizzie

« Reply #112 on: June 25, 2025, 07:11:18 AM »
Yep, had the same a few years ago, but "just" for an endoscopy.

Difference was I'd been there since 10.30 for a 1pm slot, done all the checking in, changed into the gown, & been sitting in the lounge for a few hours before being told at 3pm that something had happened so the Doctor wouldn't be able to do me, please ring his rooms & rebook :-\

The nurse also said always go for morning bookings, because they usually work, but the later in the day, the more chance that something will break, another procedure goes over time etc so you get bumped >:(

« Reply #113 on: June 25, 2025, 05:40:03 PM »
Fizzie, I thought being booked in for 9am, I would be near first cab off the rank .
Usually has been good when I have my colonoscopy.
Kick off at 9am, home by lunch time.
I know A Knee replacement is a lot different, so I'm figuring someone needed attention greater then me.
I look forward to preparing for the 9th of July.
Anyway, with the help of two contractors we got a kitchen removed, new one half installed.
Just waiting for the sparky & plumber to rough in.
Then the test of the cabinets can be installed, the Splash back tiled, Trims installed.
Should be out of there Friday Lunch time.
I'm fortunate to have good mates who I trust.

The following users thanked this post: flossy