Author Topic: WHAT'S MAKING NEWS TODAY? 2012 edition  (Read 383258 times)

Offline becboo

• take nothing but pics leave nothing but footprints
WHAT'S MAKING NEWS TODAY?
« Reply #250 on: July 17, 2012, 06:13:51 PM »
Titanic 2 !!  Clive Palmer is building a new one with a casino. Wonder how much for the ticket when it's launched? 
Aussie Swag Camper towed by an awesome 100 series with goodies!!

Education & Intelligence accomplish nothing without action....

Re: WHAT'S MAKING NEWS TODAY?
« Reply #251 on: July 17, 2012, 09:13:50 PM »
$80,000 a ticket, it was on the news tonight, as he said pensioners would be banned from the casino, what pensioners can afford $80,000 each.
He is already taking orders for tickets, if you want to go.

« Reply #252 on: July 18, 2012, 11:51:07 AM »
I am making no comment about this whatsoever!!!

ShearEwe Advertisment for Tasmanian Sheep Shearing Company.

http://www.dailylife.com.au/news-and-views/disturbing-ad-labelled-a-work-of-art-20120717-2281n.html

« Last Edit: July 18, 2012, 11:57:38 AM by Mace »

« Reply #253 on: July 18, 2012, 12:42:13 PM »
Quote from: Mace
I am making no comment about this whatsoever!!!

ShearEwe Advertisment for Tasmanian Sheep Shearing Company.

http://www.dailylife.com.au/news-and-views/disturbing-ad-labelled-a-work-of-art-20120717-2281n.html
Non biased article eh...

"First the good news: some awesome person complained to the Advertising Standards Body about it and explained that, after mistaking it for porn, they looked closer and guess what? Still found it to be gross.

“The objectification of women, the sexual positioning of the woman, the representation of a woman as an animal and the restraint used were offensive. I actually thought this was someone’s idea of a sick joke.”

Bravo, awesome person, bravo!"

Surely nobody on earth could mistake this for Porn could they??????????? Honestly??

« Reply #254 on: July 18, 2012, 12:52:43 PM »
Surely nobody on earth could mistake this for Porn could they??????????? Honestly??

I don't know....the shearer on the left and the position of the sheep...that could look like porn in some places

« Reply #255 on: July 18, 2012, 01:44:44 PM »
I don't know....the shearer on the left and the position of the sheep...that could look like porn in some places
Tassy, Unzud... suppose... ;)

« Reply #256 on: July 19, 2012, 10:14:25 AM »
HEAD FOR THE HILLS..

Stars will disappear, the sun will go out and then the Earth and our bodies will be ripped into pieces.

This Big Rip, Nobel Laureate Brian Schmidt says, might be the way our universe ends and it may happen "on literally a human time scale".

At a public talk by the Australian Astronomical Observatory in Sydney last night, Professor Schmidt - a joint winner of the 2011 Nobel Prize for Physics - described how our universe is rapidly expanding.
The expansion, Professor Schmidt said, will eventually force our neighbouring galaxy - Andromeda Spiral - to merge with our Milky Way in about three billion years.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/technology/sci-tech/universe-could-end-with-big-rip-20120719-22bbl.html#ixzz211TSirx1

« Reply #257 on: July 19, 2012, 12:21:09 PM »
Teenager charged over Cross killing
I wonder what p155 poor excuse will be used for why the kid did it.

"Police have refused to comment on whether Mr Loveridge was under the influence of drugs or alcohol that night."
I just hope this isn't the excuse used.

« Reply #258 on: July 19, 2012, 12:22:45 PM »

I was angry because my mum didn't iron my going out flannelette shirt

Marschy

« Reply #259 on: July 19, 2012, 12:26:05 PM »
Caught a glimpse of Julia Gillards earlobes on Sky News last night, wow, they look like, nothing I've ever seen before quite frankly. I notice they have made Nine News as well. Good quality journalism that. Nine News - Julia Gillards earlobes, doesn't get any better.

« Reply #260 on: July 19, 2012, 12:27:24 PM »
Teenager charged over Cross killing

"Police have refused to comment on whether Mr Loveridge was under the influence of drugs or alcohol that night."
I just hope this isn't the excuse used.
look where he was caught - central Shitville.... no surprise..

« Reply #261 on: July 19, 2012, 12:58:03 PM »
G'day D4D & Lost,
This thing really p15535 me,
I was assaulted 15 odd years ago as I left the local RSL club, thrown around like a rag doll by a 6'8" 18 year old Islander who played footy for the local club on a visa,  he had been on the turps.  I'm 6'3' and weigh about 115kg and can look after myself, but not against a monster like this kid.
He was Identified by his team mates, and by mates of mine, but was never charged.
Surprise surprise, the young Copper who attended that night, played footy with him.
The Copper showed me a picture of the first grade team, asked me to identify the person who assaulted me, When I pointed to the thug, he questioned me about knowing him. WTF
He went on to play rep footy with Western Suburbs.
I suffered a burst aneurysm, brain hemorrhage 12 months later.
I was told it was a big chance that it was caused from the assault.
Spent 4 weeks in intensive care nearly died twice, missed my eldest daughter taking her first steps, Fysh didn't know she was pregnant with our second and I couldn't work for 12 months.

Every time I hear someone has died or seriously injured from an assault like this I shudder.
Same as the Craig Field incident at kings Cliff.
Alcohol and drug fueled violence should have ZERO Tolerance.
Sorry for the rant, I do have an axe to grind over this kinda thing.  >:D

« Reply #262 on: July 19, 2012, 01:28:26 PM »
Hairs I was being flippant but I agree with you 100%. There is no room in society for thugs like this and he should be made an example of. However his legal counsel will get him off on a technicality.

« Reply #263 on: July 19, 2012, 01:32:24 PM »
Hairs I was being flippant
Sorry mate, if that came across that way.
I wasn't having a go at you or Lost.
I took what you said in jest,  :cheers:

« Reply #264 on: July 19, 2012, 01:33:48 PM »