Author Topic: WHAT'S MAKING NEWS TODAY? 2012 edition  (Read 383255 times)

Re: WHAT'S MAKING NEWS TODAY?
« Reply #200 on: July 05, 2012, 02:18:18 PM »
So...
rescue the bloke lose your job
dont rescue the bloke, he dies, get sued by family.

Awesome!

Only in Shitville USA

A young lifeguard in Florida has lost his job after rescuing a drowning man in a section of beach he was not assigned to patrol.

Tomas Lopez, 21, was manning his post on Hallandale Beach, north of Miami, on Monday afternoon (local time) when a beach-goer alerted him to a swimmer struggling in an "unprotected" part of the beach.

"It was a long run, but someone needed my help. I wasn't going to say no," said Lopez, quoted by the South Florida Sun-Sentinel newspaper and WFOR television on their websites.

The unidentified man was rescued, then rushed to hospital where he remains in intensive care. But when Lopez went to file an incident report, he was fired for leaving his assigned area.

"They didn't tell me in a bad way. It was more like they were 'sorry, but rules are rules,"' Lopez said. "I couldn't believe what was happening."

"We have liability issues and can't go out of the protected area," explained a supervisor for the private contractor that supplies lifeguards for Hallandale Beach, a popular destination for Canadian winter holiday makers.

"What he did was his own decision. He knew the company rules and did what he thought he needed to do."

No longer in a job that pays US$8.25 an hour, Lopez said he would do what he did again if he had to. "It was the moral thing to do," he said. "I would never pick a job over my morals."
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/united-states/news/article.cfm?l_id=110&objectid=10817535

« Reply #201 on: July 05, 2012, 03:45:11 PM »
New Nissan Altima goes onsale in USA this month.  Mid 2013 for us.

2.5 & 3.5 (201kw) versions.

Wonder wat the new 5.6 V8 will be? It its the same as the Armada/Patrol it will be 275.

http://www.nissanusa.com/altima/?next=Homepage.pfa.Altima_Micro.Altima_Micro.button

« Last Edit: July 05, 2012, 04:02:34 PM by Mace »

« Reply #202 on: July 05, 2012, 04:06:25 PM »
that patrol photo has been around for about 2-4yrs now..

although ARB did admit they had one over 18mths ago....

« Reply #203 on: July 05, 2012, 04:23:12 PM »
Here's another one with an uglier nose!

An a live shot of an Altima

Tassie devils

« Reply #204 on: July 05, 2012, 05:45:17 PM »
Breaking news Bigjules canned all political threads :cheers:

« Reply #205 on: July 05, 2012, 06:09:18 PM »
Breaking news Bigjules canned all political threads :cheers:
Good move but its scuttled my chance of being PM . l can see it now CTs on the national health plan , extra days off to use it , subsidised grog . It could work ld vote for it  :cheers:

« Reply #206 on: July 05, 2012, 08:46:40 PM »
Good move but its scuttled my chance of being PM . l can see it now CTs on the national health plan , extra days off to use it , subsidised grog . It could work ld vote for it  :cheers:

and you can give yourself a pay rise each year once your PM

« Reply #207 on: July 05, 2012, 08:53:20 PM »

« Reply #208 on: July 06, 2012, 07:27:50 AM »
and you can give yourself a pay rise each year once your PM
Only if your more use than a speed bump  :cheers: & free Swaggwer camping in Canburra on the grassy nole  :cheers:

« Reply #209 on: July 06, 2012, 09:45:00 AM »
Wouldnt it be nice to see suppliers take on Coles/Woolies.. and destroy them.
But it wont happen, everyone will jump up and down, stomp their feet, and wait for the ACCC to save them... Sort of like Burke and Wills really...

SUPPLIERS to Woolworths claim they have been given two weeks to cut their prices by up to 10per cent or have their goods removed from  shelves — with no commitment from the supermarket giant to lower prices to consumers.

The squeeze on suppliers — described by one of them as "the most brutal negotiations...  in my three decades in the industry" — is being mounted by Woolworths to help fund its price war with Coles.

Independent senator Nick Xenophon, an outspoken critic of the combined 80 per cent market share of Woolworths and rival Coles, said yesterday he would be calling for Woolworths to be pulled before a Senate inquiry to explain its actions.

Advertisement: Story continues below

Woolworths and Coles are already facing scrutiny from the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission which, The Age can reveal, has been contacted by more than 50 suppliers in response to its call for confidential complaints.

Five months after ACCC boss Rod Sims called on aggrieved companies to "dob in" the supermarket giants, suppliers to Woolworths have been told to slash prices by between 5 and 10 per cent, or face the prospect of removal from the aisles.

"We were told straight out to find a reduction ...  or we wouldn't be stocked any more," said a managing director of one company that supplies to Woolworths.

Industry body the Australian Food and Grocery Council this week issued a briefing note to its members advising them of the cost cuts sought by Woolworths.

The note said Woolworths justified the cuts by claiming it was "effectively subsidising unreasonably high profits in smaller companies".

Woolworths is believed to have used a consultant's report to justify the cost cuts, the letter said, but has not released details of that report to suppliers.

"In most cases ... companies have been asked to respond within two weeks to the request," the letter said.

Woolworths spokeswoman Claire Kimball said there was no two-week completion cut-off in its negotiations and "nothing unusual happening at the moment ... When we put our position to vendors we often ask them to come back to us in two weeks with their response. However it is a negotiation and this often necessitates ongoing discussions."

Ms Kimball added: "Negotiating terms of trade is something we do day in and day out. Any conclusions reached in negotiations have to be mutually agreed."

The grocery council also said it had  shared its concerns with Andrew Hall, director of corporate and public affairs at Woolworths, and Tjeerd Jegen, head of Woolworths' supermarket and petrol division.

Senior managers at Woolworths and Coles have denied claims they use their market dominance to pressure suppliers. The grocery council briefing, however, notes "the disconnect between commentary from senior executives within Woolworths and the behaviours of trading teams and buyers".

Yesterday, the boss of a major supplier told The Age that due to a recent loss of market share to Coles, Woolworths had been "using their dominant size in the industry as a blunt negotiating instrument to demand list price reductions.

"They have no interest in understanding the impact that their unreasonable demands would have on our business, but are using their 40 per cent-plus share of the market as a brutal implied threat," he said.

"This is only about boosting Woolworths' margins ... there has never been any discussion about passing the cost reductions onto consumers. These are the most brutal negotiations that I have experienced in my three decades in the industry."

The ACCC, after being contacted by more than 50 suppliers with complaints about the supermarket chains, said yesterday its confidential talks were progressing well. The watchdog is expected to report its finding by the end of the year.

Senator Xenophon said the 50 figure was just the "tip of the iceberg". He noted that ABC TV's Lateline had contacted 100 suppliers in vain to speak out publicly.

"The ACCC should urgently investigate," Senator Xenophon said. "I'll be calling for Woolworths to explain themselves as a result of this latest piece of correspondence."

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/business/woolies-accused-by-food-suppliers-20120705-21k9m.html#ixzz1znJxcLdM

Offline tjrobbo

« Reply #210 on: July 06, 2012, 04:59:35 PM »
Wouldnt it be nice to see suppliers take on Coles/Woolies.. and destroy them.
But it wont happen, everyone will jump up and down, stomp their feet, and wait for the ACCC to save them... Sort of like Burke and Wills really...

The ACCC seem pretty toothless. I reckon woolies and Coles must laugh at them

« Reply #211 on: July 08, 2012, 09:42:08 AM »
What is the world coming to?

http://www.news.com.au/top-stories/facebook-bashing-threat-ends-in-king-hit/story-e6frfkp9-1226419760600

A junior rugby league player warned on Facebook that he would be bashed during a match had his jaw shattered after he was punched and kicked in the head.

Offline Big Nath

• "hows ya bum for grubs"
« Reply #212 on: July 08, 2012, 09:51:12 AM »
Here's another one with an uglier nose!

An a live shot of an Altima

That pathfinder looks like a great wall.....WTF
NAKED 2012 Pathfinder ST in Auto, Scan Guage, Polyair Airbags, 80CH Uniden UHF, Leisure Matters Camper!

« Reply #213 on: July 08, 2012, 11:17:12 AM »
That pathfinder looks like a great wall.....WTF

Not a pathy, an Armada.  Patrol sized, complete with 5.7litre V8!

see:

http://www.nissanusa.com/armada/?next=header.vlp.postcard.picture.thumbnail.

Offline Big Nath

• "hows ya bum for grubs"
« Reply #214 on: July 08, 2012, 11:37:24 AM »
still looks like a bloody great wall.....

although the V8 changes things a little :-)
NAKED 2012 Pathfinder ST in Auto, Scan Guage, Polyair Airbags, 80CH Uniden UHF, Leisure Matters Camper!

« Reply #215 on: July 08, 2012, 05:41:37 PM »
What is the world coming to?

http://www.news.com.au/top-stories/facebook-bashing-threat-ends-in-king-hit/story-e6frfkp9-1226419760600

Police have decided not to press charges,but send him to a youth conference.?? Is it a sport or organised mayhem.. in all my years of Footy, never was there a bashing,or even threats of violence

What's the world coming to??

Thursday night I called police, twice, after it sounded like the drunk next door was beating a woman, also drunk blood curling screams. Lung busting shouts and threats.
First phone call took police 45 mins to arrive, 1215am arrived 1am. Didnt do anything.
315am, another call to police and they arrived ad hour later, 415 am.. by this time it sounnded like he had already beat her black and blue and they were both passed out. Police arrived and left again when nobody
« Last Edit: July 08, 2012, 05:43:12 PM by cruisindub »

« Reply #216 on: July 08, 2012, 05:50:43 PM »
Last week across the kids across the road had a party Wednesday night....Thursday night...Friday night...so by Saturday night we were sick of listening to doof dooof doof dooof all night long so called the  police and no one turned up.

I think the mother is sick of all the neighbors complaining as there was no noise this weekend....first in decent sleep we have had in months

« Reply #217 on: July 08, 2012, 05:58:41 PM »
Last week across the kids across the road had a party Wednesday night....Thursday night...Friday night...so by Saturday night we were sick of listening to doof dooof doof dooof all night long so called the  police and no one turned up.

I think the mother is sick of all the neighbors complaining as there was no noise this weekend....first in decent sleep we have had in months
No wonder no cops turn up to noisy parties or out of control parties, when all these reports of cops vetting bashed and patrol cars trashed by party goêrs.
Are cops running scared or just cautious and wary?

Rather sad really.

« Reply #218 on: July 08, 2012, 06:06:21 PM »
Rather sad really.
I personally reckon Cops are fed up with the courts not backing them.
Just My 2 Bobs worth.

« Reply #219 on: July 08, 2012, 06:09:25 PM »
I personally reckon Cops are fed up with the courts not backing them.
Just My 2 Bobs worth.

x999

Slap on wristbands good behaviour or suspended sentence.
wheres the incentive to stay out of trouble.
Most knowthey wont get anything, so they think they can do whatthey like.

« Reply #220 on: July 09, 2012, 10:21:44 AM »
Quote from: cruisindub
No wonder no cops turn up to noisy parties or out of control parties, when all these reports of cops vetting bashed and patrol cars trashed by party goers.

5 mins of rubber ammo, then into live ammo fixes that.
NO respect for cops or the public, **** em.

« Reply #221 on: July 09, 2012, 10:28:04 AM »
No wonder no cops turn up to noisy parties or out of control parties, when all these reports of cops vetting bashed and patrol cars trashed by party goêrs.

Rather sad really.
Sorry mate, I forgot to address this the other day.
Hmm this happened in Yamba, a patrol car gets torched.
Doesn't look like anyone will be charged and the will be a class action against the cops for wrongful arrests.

« Reply #222 on: July 09, 2012, 10:30:40 AM »
5 mins of rubber ammo, then into live ammo fixes that.
NO respect for cops or the public, **** em.

I like ya thinking mate.

« Reply #223 on: July 09, 2012, 10:51:39 AM »
I like ya thinking mate.

Wrong Thread!!  Should be in "I".

« Reply #224 on: July 09, 2012, 10:58:03 AM »
I'm cross posting  ;D