Author Topic: Another wannabe retiree coming out to play.  (Read 4297 times)

Offline Passport2Travel

Another wannabe retiree coming out to play.
« on: February 25, 2012, 09:11:23 PM »
This looks like a great forum, might I say the best I've read. By way of introduction my wife Di and I are not camping novices having owned a couple of different trailer campers one with no floor pull out framed tent and annex and another basic one with fold out bed end flies "companion", we took both of these into some lovely places but always wanted to go beyond their limits. We have also tent camped even cycling and treking in India and Nepal.
 I have also owned a 18ft caravan that I abused and effectively destroyed taking it many places it was definitely not designed to go and we are now the owners of a 6.5 metre 2 berth bus that I have had fitted out and is now on caravan registration.The limitations of this unit would be obvious to most on this forum. We are now in the market for something that will test the limitations of our petrol Pajero exceed.
 Two  important thing I have learned is big is not always better and corrugations are the enemy. We are both interested in getting off the beaten track fossicking for gemstones, bush walking and being able to free camp appeals.
I find the more I look through different forums, dealers and types of camper - soft floor, hard floor and crossovers the more confused I become. We are therefore hoping this site will help in making a decision

The limitations / realities.
  Tow vehicle - Pajero Exceed, 3.8 lt V6 petrol.
  Storage limitations at home, sloping site, no storage area at front
  Drive through garage height limit 2200mm another garage down the back for under cover storage.

The compromises

Wind up such as the Jayco camper range can be bought with an Outback package. (not an off road van) Not an option in my mind however I am open to all views. Goldstream make a much more rugged crown unit that I would class as marginal off road. This is the unit Di and I had some common ground with untill Irealising the bed was to short and the stove and benches to low. I am 6'2". Crossovers outside our budget, that leaves the HF and SF options. Budget started at $16,000 now around $30,000 and looking like blowing out some more. ....hands still firmly in pockets while sorting the chaff from the straw. All may change tomorrow as Di's mind changes like the wind and I am as fluid as the ocean. I will be a keen observer at next months C&C show at Caulfield.

Looking forward to searching some more through this site and maybe contribute something as an owner perhaps as I become more comfortable with this medium.

Cheers...............Ken @ Mount Clear. 3350.
Pajero exceed and AOR Quantum Camper.

Re: Another wannabe retiree coming out to play.
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2012, 09:14:14 PM »
Welcome to myswag Ken, there's a perfect camper out there you just have to find it!

« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2012, 09:15:23 PM »
Welcome to the Forum, heaps of info available, ask away and join in the banter

« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2012, 09:15:37 PM »
G'day Ken and Di,
welcome to the forum

Mike and Brenda

Online Mace

« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2012, 09:32:39 PM »
Welcome Ken & Di,

Caulfield is a good place to start, you will find someting suitable with that type of budget.

Happy hunting.

« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2012, 04:44:43 AM »
Hi mate, welcome to the forum.

You could check out the classified's here but I know Gronk has a KK for sale [tell him he owes me if you buy it] LOL

« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2012, 04:54:29 AM »
G'day Ken & Di
Welcome to the forum.Good luck with the camper choice.
The fun begins  :laugh: You're right when you say it's the best forum
too mate.

« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2012, 07:31:09 AM »
G'day Ken and Di and welcome to Myswag. Regardless of what configuration you arrive at the main question is. do you want heaps of canvas or not? If you are good with dealing with canvas then, do you want ease of setup in the shortest time? If you do then a hardfloor is the ticket.

I have to agree with Hem, Gronk's KK is the ducks guts and he fitted in it no worries....and he is 9'10'' as well. ;D ;D

Another wannabe retiree coming out to play.
« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2012, 08:49:59 AM »
G'day & Welcome. Nice intro.

Here's a third vote for Gronk's KK. You wouldn't find a neater example anywhere.

It will go anywhere, perfect for two people and the Paj will tow it easily though excessive speed will cost you. You don't sound like the kind of bloke who needs to speed though.

Offline Passport2Travel

« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2012, 09:53:00 AM »
Thanks all
Will PM gronk, does look like a very nice unit.

« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2012, 06:43:05 AM »
Thanks all
Will PM gronk, does look like a very nice unit.

Bugger, does that mean one  :cheers: & 3 straws????

« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2012, 06:52:22 AM »
Hi Ken & Di, welcome to My Swag. Looks like you are about to start on a very exciting chapter in your lives.
I have also seen Grongs KK, and it is a top unit.

Offline Passport2Travel

« Reply #12 on: February 27, 2012, 10:56:07 AM »
HEM19X nah still a dry argument, with my hands still firmly in my pockets. Gronks KK some 900km away so a bit hard to drive over and have a quick look. ticks most of the boxes however a good bit over my budget but a very good base line to work from. The photos look great, wonder what the ball weight would be with all those batteries up front, maybe balanced out by a full load of water. The KK is advertised all over now and I am sure it will go soon.

« Reply #13 on: February 27, 2012, 05:43:31 PM »
Hi Ken Welcome to My Swag

« Reply #14 on: February 27, 2012, 06:20:57 PM »
Hi Ken and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #15 on: February 28, 2012, 07:54:58 AM »
Hi Ken and Di,

Brett and I have just been through the decision making process - though ours was a little easier as we both agreed that we wanted a hard floor (we just had to decide which one).

My advice is not to get too "emotional" about what you see at the C&C Show at Caulfield.  Don't let yourself get caught up in the moment - see things as they are and unless you have really done your homework prior to going DON'T buy on the day.  Wait a few days and see if you feel the same way about whichever CT it was you had your heart set on.  Most manufacturers will honour their "show" prices for a few days afterwards anyway.

Have fun!

« Reply #16 on: February 28, 2012, 08:54:10 AM »
G'day Passport2Travel,

Good luck with your search, and as mentioned, ask if your unsure.
That's what makes Myswag, The information is great.

Offline whitey1

• Mr and Mrs Whiteys Great Oz Trek
« Reply #17 on: February 28, 2012, 10:18:19 AM »
900km? Is that all? We bought our AORC from someone in Brisbane when we lived in Albany WA. Only saw photos of it before putting down a deposit and then met them halfway in Port Augusta SA to take ownership. Nice drive :D

Toyota Prado D4D towing an custom built off road caravan
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mr-Mrs-Whiteys-Great-Oz-Trek/23574764645

Offline Passport2Travel

« Reply #18 on: February 28, 2012, 04:46:51 PM »
I bought a 1948 Morris 840 tourer, sight unseen from Brisbane. Drove all the way to pick it up, it's still sitting in my garage waiting parts that were meant to be with it. Lesson learnt. In no big hurry, happy to pick the combined knowledge available on this forum. Still have the double swag............seems to be getting a little snug though.