General => General Discussion => Topic started by: corndog on September 18, 2017, 02:10:19 PM

Title: Mariage law survey forms
Post by: corndog on September 18, 2017, 02:10:19 PM
Have just noticed that these forms have 2 bar codes on them. First one on the cover  page with my name. Second  on the vote form. Each are individual and unique. Does this mean that our secret ballots are not that secret? Is this just more data that they can store relating to us? Not that I really give a s**t but you just got to wonder.
Title: Re: Mariage law survey forms
Post by: marvellous_matt on September 18, 2017, 02:12:27 PM
I think it is just to prevent them being photocopied and used multiple times.
Post by: NewieCamper on September 18, 2017, 02:19:40 PM
Make sure you lick the envelope so they can get a sample of your DNA as well when you send it back.
Post by: rossm on September 18, 2017, 02:45:15 PM
Make sure you lick the envelope so they can get a sample of your DNA as well when you send it back.

Priceless  :cup:
Post by: Steffo1 on September 18, 2017, 02:53:26 PM

I'll get one of the dogs to lick the envelope.
Post by: corndog on September 18, 2017, 03:07:08 PM
S**T. Never thought of that. I've sealed the envelope. Now they got 1 more thing on me. I thought I was smart wearing gloves when I handled it.
Post by: Bird on September 18, 2017, 03:22:08 PM
(https://i.ytimg.com/vi/yv7kWQ5cmaI/maxresdefault.jpg)
Post by: NewieCamper on September 18, 2017, 04:38:32 PM
I thought it was a bit weird they say you should mark one box only, but don't tell you specifically whether you should be marking the box you support with a tick. If I wanted to vote Yes, but I put a cross in the No box I have technically done wha they asked, but would be counted wrong.
Post by: DaveTrees on September 18, 2017, 05:14:57 PM
I thought it was a bit weird they say you should mark one box only, but don't tell you specifically whether you should be marking the box you support with a tick. If I wanted to vote Yes, but I put a cross in the No box I have technically done wha they asked, but would be counted wrong.

No you wouldn't.  As long as only 1 box is "marked" - you could colour the box in if you wanted to ! - your selection is clearly shown and your "vote" is valid.
Post by: Bird on September 18, 2017, 06:45:48 PM
Why cant they just make it simple..

2 boxes marked No and No - circle the one you want and post it off.

I haven't even looked at the form yet... should chuck it up on ebay :D
Post by: Moggy on September 18, 2017, 07:08:13 PM
I'm putting mine through the shredder.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Post by: corndog on September 18, 2017, 07:14:35 PM
I looked on the form. Couldn't see a box marked 1.
Post by: Bird on September 18, 2017, 07:17:24 PM
is this the form? Surely nobody can find that challenging to fill in???
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DJa4HTQV4AAoVR0.jpg)
Post by: edz on September 18, 2017, 07:36:17 PM
Wheres the normal Politically correct  appease everyone neutral " Undecided " Box . ;D ..  And does it come with a slip of paper in 23 languages describing what its all about .. If not some will argue they havent been able to have a say and been discriminated against ..  ;D ;D
Post by: KingBilly on September 18, 2017, 07:45:12 PM
The instruction page comes in multiple languages.
Post by: corndog on September 18, 2017, 08:04:22 PM
See someone tried to sell their form on ebay.
Post by: speewa158 on September 18, 2017, 08:35:38 PM
Did you lick the envelope  ??? Was it handled with bare hands  ( finger prints )  ??? Did they post it to your home address  ( They know where you live ) ??? Might even know about MySwag as well   >:D   Tell them what ever they want to know it might go well for you ,,,, or not .                      :cup: :cup: :cup:   They know about    :cheers: :cheers: so drink up .
                                               :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: 03GV on September 18, 2017, 09:07:59 PM
If your identity is attached, its not secret! And just so you know, I heard the ABS keep all the info for 60 days!
Post by: Bird on September 18, 2017, 10:55:55 PM
See someone tried to sell their form on ebay.
8)
Post by: PWE on September 19, 2017, 07:57:52 AM
The Government already know who you are if you receive a letter.

If you do not trust the Government, nothing anyone can say will change that, so no point in explaining that the barcode on the envelope and the one on the letter are not link and the one on the letter is to ensure that the letter is used once only. Must admit that the two barcodes does not help the trust issue.

It could be worst, we can be in North Korea where the State knows everything about you and tells you what you may know about yourself!
Post by: PWE on September 19, 2017, 07:59:09 AM
I'm putting mine through the shredder.

Why?
Post by: Steffo1 on September 19, 2017, 08:18:30 AM
...............and you can see the boxes through the return envelope using a torch  :D
Post by: edz on September 19, 2017, 08:25:50 AM
^^ I'm guessing as a tax payer, He figures he has paid for it in a roundabout way,  so he owns it and its his choice to do what ever he wants with it . 
Could have wiped his bum with it  and then sent it back I suppose if he wanted   ;D ;D

Post by: paul.o on September 19, 2017, 09:17:45 AM
^^. 
Could have wiped his bum with it  and then sent it back I suppose if he wanted   ;D ;D

I reckon they'd take that as a "Yes"!
Post by: Fizzie on September 19, 2017, 09:43:12 AM
Have just noticed that these forms have 2 bar codes on them. First one on the cover  page with my name. Second  on the vote form. Each are individual and unique. Does this mean that our secret ballots are not that secret?

Got to admit that we wondered exactly the same thing ???

If you do not trust the Government,

No! >:D

It could be worst, we can be in North Korea where the State knows everything about you and tells you what you may know about yourself anything!

FTFY!  :D
Post by: rossm on September 19, 2017, 10:06:41 AM
Got to admit that we wondered exactly the same thing ???

No! >:D

FTFY!  :D

Secret ballot? whoever said it was that? It's an opinion poll.
Post by: Bird on September 19, 2017, 10:19:00 AM
Quote from: PWE
If you do not trust the Government

I do not know one single person who does... or anyone who trusts a single politician.
Post by: PWE on September 19, 2017, 10:31:04 AM
...............and you can see the boxes through the return envelope using a torch  :D
I do not mind if people see what I vote and what I stand for.
Post by: PWE on September 19, 2017, 10:35:57 AM
^^ I'm guessing as a tax payer, He figures he has paid for it in a roundabout way,  so he owns it and its his choice to do what ever he wants with it . 
I believe it is a cultural thing for me, coming from the 3rd world were voting is a privilege and not a burden.
I have always voted since I arrive in Australia and cannot complain whom ever is in charge (money is not wasted like in the 3rd world). Also I am use to at least a couple thousand deaths during any political campaign.
Anyway great to be an Australia!
Post by: Moggy on September 19, 2017, 10:38:50 AM
Why?
Because I work my arse off, pay taxes & resent the govt spending $120m on something I don't give a rats arse about, but the lousy bastards only offer $29m in cyclone damage funding. Seems to me something wrong with their priorities. The other thing is that if the "no" team get up, you know the "yes" team will be carrying on like pretentious spoilt brats until they get their way, it's always the same Shit just different topics

Post by: PWE on September 19, 2017, 10:41:48 AM
I do not know one single person who does... or anyone who trusts a single politician.
I don't want to discuss politics on this forum because there are forums for it, but it always interest me how many 1st world citizens do not trust their Government or Political leaders.
Anyway, as I said before it is a cultural thing for me to understand the 1st world.

What type of person do a politic need to be to be trustworthy?
Post by: Bird on September 19, 2017, 11:32:52 AM
Quote from: Moggy
The other thing is that if the "no" team get up, you know the "yes" team will be carrying on like pretentious spoilt brats until they get their way, it's always the same Shit just different topics
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: tryagain on September 19, 2017, 11:34:53 AM
I don't want to discuss politics on this forum because there are forums for it, but it always interest me how many 1st world citizens do not trust their Government or Political leaders.
Anyway, as I said before it is a cultural thing for me to understand the 1st world.

I lived in a 3rd world country for a bit over a year that had an unelected leader, Since I have returned I haven't really complained about our politicians or our hospitals, Not saying they are perfect, because they certainly aren't, but I think a lot who complain don't have any real comparison to know how good we actually have it here.
Post by: Bigfish on September 19, 2017, 11:42:07 AM

What type of a person does a politician need to be to be considered trustworthy?  Exactly the same qualifications as any human bean!  Honesty, loyalty and humility are what I would expect from a politician. 99% are career politicians now. Ruled by their bank accounts and how much dough they can get out of the trough. 1st world or 3rd world...politician are generally greedy scum that look after their own interests first. Vast majority of the worlds country leaders are millionaires in their own right.  All pandering to multi-national corporations and banks. It starts at the local council, rises to state politics, moves onto federal politics and then the greedy buggers try and get onto the international scene complete with all the perks.  Yep,these same bastards cant organise our power, health, education, superannuation, transport, security or homelessness...yet get paid handsomely for being 3rd rate employees of the Australian public. Scum the lot of em....rant over    >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Tim - Stratford on September 19, 2017, 11:44:11 AM
Anyway great to be an Australia!

Sums it up well!  :cup:    :cheers:

Tim
Post by: Pete79 on September 19, 2017, 12:08:00 PM
Hahaha, they don't even trust themselves.... ;D

His comments have drawn criticism from Liberal senator Eric Abetz , who believed the Treasurer was asking Australians to have blind faith in Parliament.
"Well the Treasurer has basically said 'if you vote yes, you can trust us to protect religious freedoms'," he said.
"I'm not as trusting of politicians as the Treasurer is ... "
Post by: Bird on September 19, 2017, 12:15:00 PM
Quote from: Pete79

:cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: prodigyrf on September 19, 2017, 12:43:57 PM

Not as silly as it sounds by all accounts as it definitely doesn't pay to advertise-
http://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/ssm-canberra-kids-party-organiser-ditches-entertainer-who-said-its-ok-to-vote-no/ar-AAs9HGP (http://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/ssm-canberra-kids-party-organiser-ditches-entertainer-who-said-its-ok-to-vote-no/ar-AAs9HGP)
Post by: jw2170 on September 19, 2017, 12:48:40 PM
My 'theory' is that, even if there is a resounding "No" response, this is not a vote.

The Pollies will still pass the amendments to appease a belligerent minority....  >:( >:( >:(
Post by: rossm on September 19, 2017, 12:55:09 PM

remember Abbott used the same "you can't trust politicians" line to  beat the republic referendum. 
Post by: Bird on September 19, 2017, 12:56:37 PM
Quote from: jw2170
My 'theory' is that, even if there is a resounding "No" response, this is not a vote.

The Pollies will still pass the amendments to appease a belligerent minority....  >:( >:( >:(
Sad but true.
Post by: Bigfish on September 19, 2017, 01:30:13 PM

Whats the argument if its a resounding "yes"?
Post by: kylarama on September 19, 2017, 01:35:19 PM

if the "no" team get up, you know the "yes" team will be carrying on like pretentious spoilt brats until they get their way, it's always the same Shit just different topics

And if the yes team get up, I can't imagine the religious loons rolling over.  The rednecks have short attention spans and will move on, but the churchies have financial and political clout.

If only the Libs had some gonads to make a call either way we'd all be 129mil better off. Instead they want to find out what will win them the next election.

Post by: Bird on September 19, 2017, 01:38:24 PM
Quote from: kylarama
If only the Libs had some gonads to make a call either way we'd all be 129mil better off. Instead they want to find out what will win them the next election.
we have a winner
Post by: tryagain on September 19, 2017, 01:50:42 PM

And if the yes team get up, I can't imagine the religious loons rolling over.  The rednecks have short attention spans and will move on, but the churchies have financial and political clout.

I think if the 'yes' vote gets up most churches will accept it as long as they aren't forced to participate, I cant in any way see the yes campaign accepting an (unlikely) 'no' vote win and leaving the issue alone for more than about a week.

The Liberal party as a whole just want this off the table one way or another before the next election. If 'yes' gets up, they will put it to a conscience vote and it will go through if 'no' wins they can say they took it to the Australian population and they rejected it (not the Liberal Party).

Whereas Labor would love it the issue to still be unresolved for the next election and the could label them self as the party of 'equality'.
Post by: alnjan on September 19, 2017, 01:58:33 PM
Problem for a lot of people both Yes and No camps is just what 'equality' are they voting for.  In reading a lot of stuff on line most people are not aware of what 'rights' they already have. 

https://www.dss.gov.au/our-responsibilities/families-and-children/programs-services/recognition-of-same-sex-relationships (https://www.dss.gov.au/our-responsibilities/families-and-children/programs-services/recognition-of-same-sex-relationships)

Just a case of know what you already have and preparing accordingly. 

The whole issue should be reduced to changing the definition of marriage to not just be a man and woman. 

As we don't trust politicians, what concerns me more is just what else may be changed along the way with the definition of marriage.
Post by: Bird on September 19, 2017, 02:26:30 PM
Wouldn't it be nice if politicians and Aussies gave this much Shit about something that actually matters... possibly education... health... unemployment... homelessness... etc etc
Post by: rossm on September 19, 2017, 02:35:46 PM
Wouldn't it be nice if politicians and Aussies gave this much Shit about something that actually matters... possibly education... health... unemployment... homelessness... etc etc

This Aussie  cares about all those things. The ME opinion poll is a useful diversion for politicians who are either incapable or unwilling of doing anything about the real problems.   
Post by: Bird on September 19, 2017, 03:59:15 PM
Quote from: rossm
The ME opinion poll is a useful diversion for politicians who are either incapable or unwilling of doing anything about the real problems.
agree... I just wonder what things they will slide through while the masses are engaged in stupidity
Post by: corndog on September 19, 2017, 04:53:18 PM
There's a black van across the road with a dude looking at me through binoculars pointing an umbrella looking thing. And I haven't even posted my vote yet.
Post by: rossm on September 19, 2017, 07:44:28 PM
agree... I just wonder what things they will slide through while the masses are engaged in stupidity

Stuff like this

http://www.theage.com.au/comment/how-malcolm-turnbull-has-trashed-the-liberal-party-record-and-betrayed-our-oceans-20170908-gydy2d.html (http://www.theage.com.au/comment/how-malcolm-turnbull-has-trashed-the-liberal-party-record-and-betrayed-our-oceans-20170908-gydy2d.html)
Post by: speewa158 on September 19, 2017, 07:58:32 PM
Why doint we let Whomever  marry Whomever  & if it works Good  .     :cup:   
      lf Whomever decides that its Overforever   , then Whomever can be as Unhappy as Some are till Whomever gets the Decree NiceA . & p155off Whomever  .
  This is getting complicated or is it just a scam to raise the divorce numbers  to further reduce the relevance of marriage .
lm off to the Engal for another  :cheers: . This is beyond me to work out    :cheers:   :angel:
Post by: NewieCamper on September 20, 2017, 09:19:24 AM
This is getting complicated or is it just a scam to raise the divorce numbers  to further reduce the relevance of marriage .

I'll bet all the divorce lawyers are voting yes.
Post by: Bird on September 20, 2017, 09:47:55 AM
Quote from: speewa158
  to further reduce the relevance of marriage
relevance ?? maybe in 1850's...
most people these days hook up, live together for years, fire out a few kids, then get married and it all turns to Shit in a year or 2
Post by: tryagain on September 20, 2017, 10:25:50 AM
most people these days hook up, live together for years, fire out a few kids, then get married and it all turns to Shit in a year or 2

I remember reading that if you were cohabitating, and then decided to get married, your chance of separating increased over what they would have been if you just remained cohabitating, the hypothesis was that people expected getting married to change things for the better, but in reality, they strayed the same. A little surprisingly, those that didn't cohabitate before marriage were more likely to stay together, contrasting the "try before you buy" idea of cohabitation.
Title: Mariage law survey forms
Post by: Pete79 on September 20, 2017, 10:29:55 AM
relevance ?? maybe in 1850's...
I hear heaps of those stories (and personally know a few that did exactly that, actually they hardly lasted a couple of years after the marrage).

My wife is my wife to everyone except the church.
13 years of happiness together, 2 great kids, just got no signatures on a useless piece of paper and did't get some pedo priest to 'bless' our union....
Post by: Bird on September 20, 2017, 11:22:53 AM
Quote from: Pete79
and did't get some pedo priest to 'bless' our union....

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Rumpig on September 20, 2017, 11:29:40 AM
I hear heaps of those stories (and personally know a few that did exactly that, actually they hardly lasted a couple of years after the marrage).

My wife is my wife to everyone except the church.
13 years of happiness together, 2 great kids, just got no signatures on a useless piece of paper and did't get some pedo priest to 'bless' our union....
Don't need a priest or a church...there's plenty of celebrants out their to perform marriages, and thousands of other locations to perform the nuptials at...leave the religion out of it altogether I reckon
Post by: Snow on September 20, 2017, 02:58:32 PM
Could see the mud slinging coming from a mile away.

Thread locked.