Author Topic: Members web and blog sites (Universal Resource Locator) index  (Read 12539 times)

Offline albany_nomads

• Dylan..Mans best friend
    • John Grant Photography
Members web and blog sites (Universal Resource Locator) index
« on: November 17, 2010, 09:26:07 PM »
As I read articles and comments Ive notice some members have there own domains web sites and blogs and I have found some of these great.
Top Stories and photos as well as a insite to there other interests..faces to names etc.
(I gather the url is there for folks to visit otherwise you we wouldn't added to a signatures)  ??? ;D
Is it possible that we have a page where members names are listed with there websites and blog URL's
EG: I find it interesting popping through the "My Swag Gallery" where images are in members names
Just be useful if we could have a "My Swag URL's" page of Web and Blog URL's..make them easier to find
Just a thought...Kind Regards Albany Nomads
« Last Edit: November 17, 2010, 09:28:52 PM by albany_nomads »
Kind Regards: John, Nola & Dylan (The Albany Nomads )

MY BLOG:   http://johngrantphotography.wordpress.com/

Re: Members web and blog sites (Universal Resource Locator) index
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2010, 11:00:37 PM »
I agree completely.  I asked members to add their blogs in another forum I'm a member of.  What a fantastic experience it's been.  To see and hear about the places people have been.  My Bucket List is getting longer.

http://kit-ecamping.blogspot.com/  Not much at the moment, but this is for trips with my camper trailer ... it's mainly to keep my mates and family up to date with things I'm doing.  

Edit:  I've added a few more places to visit in SEQ & NNSW on mine since posting this.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2011, 10:26:19 PM by Kit_e_kat9 »

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2010, 12:22:35 AM »
Great idea, i love reading blogs of other people with similar interests.

Ours documents a lot of things we do in life, from camping, bike riding, 4w driving and party's etc.

www.gelstonfamily.com

« Last Edit: January 03, 2012, 07:21:23 AM by DannyG »

Offline Duchess

• "Its not as hard as you think, you know."
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2010, 07:46:24 AM »
*puts hand up*

I've got a blog but its more about my life than it is about camping. I'd not written to it for a while as it wasn't going in the direction I wanted it to but I'm going to keep adding to it as I've realised that my family are using it to see what I'm up to.

You guys are welcome to have a read of it too.

http://duchessandtheduke.blogspot.com/

DannyG...I love the layout of your blog. Is it a countdown to retirement on the left hand side?

Kit-e...the background photo behind your blog works really well too!
« Last Edit: November 18, 2010, 07:50:41 AM by Duchess »

"I've got one job on this ship. It's stupid but I'm going to do it!"

www.duchessandthedukeontour.blogspot.com.au

Offline toad

« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2010, 08:13:57 AM »
 Great blog Duchess, great photos and a moving story. I hope we can meet up one day.
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2010, 10:58:08 AM »
DannyG...I love the layout of your blog. Is it a countdown to retirement on the left hand side?

Thanks for the compliment. Its not to retirement as such but it is when we anticipate the last off our kids will be grown up and looking after themselves. So our plan is to leave our jobs, rent out our house and go on the road full time do whatever work we need to live (hopefully not much!).
We all need dreams right? LOL I hope this one comes true.....less than 10 years left :)

Offline 4wd26

« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2010, 01:45:39 PM »
I'm still trying to get my act together and write up some of my older travels, but here is a link to our "blog"
http://sites.google.com/site/australiagettingoutthere/home
I also have a galley that I use (from before photobucket and the like) I use a friends bandwidth so its going to be down ocassionally (when he goes on holidays)

http://publicgallery.stevenbowden.com/gallery/holiday2004

The trips folder contains the most relevant info, but posted the front page for the Dutchess- Yellow Ducati SS's rule  :cheers:
« Last Edit: June 20, 2011, 03:31:38 PM by 4wd26 »
'08 Mitsubishi Triton GLX/R Diesel Auto, with offroad accessories.
Windsor Rapid 472s Offroad
Not your usual camper trailer
Getting Out There<- BLOG

« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2010, 03:05:21 PM »
I've spent far too much time in front of this thing, LOL
I would hate to think how many hours I've put into our site, www.hairfysh.com
It has a bit of everything. From Our Travels and day trips.
I've spent that much time fooling around with my own site, I thought I might as well try my hand at earning a dollar from it.Hairfysh Web Design
Even have a few Laughs posted on it.
I also have a page for Manuals in the form of PDF files. Which is handy to have no matter where I am.
As I said, It consumes a lot of my time, but I get a kick out it.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2012, 05:22:37 PM by Hairs »

Offline Duchess

« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2010, 04:52:51 PM »
Great blog Duchess, great photos and a moving story. I hope we can meet up one day.

Thanks Toad...I look forward to that meet up too!  :cheers:

Steven...I loved your bike gallery! Thanks for posting that. Where was the big meet up of bikes at? Was it the DOC of QLD?

Hairs...it sure looks like you have some fun with your blog. Loved the page about where you've come from with your camping to where you are now. You should have also made mention of how you've gone from a family 2wd station wagon to a family 4wd station wagon!!

You guys have given me all heaps of reading to do!  :cup:

Offline 4wd26

« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2010, 05:07:59 PM »

Steven...I loved your bike gallery! Thanks for posting that. Where was the big meet up of bikes at? Was it the DOC of QLD?

Yep DOC Qld 30th anniversary ride to Chillingham (recreation of the original first ride by the club), from memory 2008.
That was the Brisbane meeting spot, a whole heap more joined us from the coast and northern NSW latter.
'08 Mitsubishi Triton GLX/R Diesel Auto, with offroad accessories.
Windsor Rapid 472s Offroad
Not your usual camper trailer
Getting Out There<- BLOG

Offline albany_nomads

• Dylan..Mans best friend
    • John Grant Photography
« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2010, 07:26:08 PM »
This is great  ;D..and I reckon its just the tip of the ice berg..What we need is a dedicated page that has alphabetical member names that you can click on to see their web and blogs URL's that they wish to attached to them..how do we go about it..as Im pretty computer thick when it comes to database and the like ???..
Kind Regards: John, Nola & Dylan (The Albany Nomads )

MY BLOG:   http://johngrantphotography.wordpress.com/

« Reply #11 on: November 18, 2010, 10:26:48 PM »
You should have also made mention of how you've gone from a family 2wd station wagon to a family 4wd station wagon!!

Cheers Duchess,
I've only been playing with my site for a couple of years now, and it is a work in progress, thanks for the idea, in fact I think it's opened up a can of worms LOL.
I try and embed Google maps of where we have been on each trip. and I must do more detailed trip reports, Fuel figures, K's traveled, you know that kinda thing.
The kids get a kick out of it it too, They can take the web address to school and show their classes where they have been.
Thanks again,
Hope you have a great weekend.

« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2010, 09:47:35 AM »
No my work but some great reading here, It was posted up on the Patrol forum

http://www.expeditionportal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=50799

« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2010, 04:18:06 PM »
Duchess

I have finally managed to sit down and read your blog...
My eyes are still all bleary.... tears still streaming....
I will be thinking of you and Seth over the coming days.

Offline agsmky

« Reply #14 on: December 07, 2010, 04:25:46 PM »
..What we need is a dedicated page that has alphabetical member names that you can click on to see their web and blogs URL's that they wish to attached to them..

The forum software contains a member's list where this information is displayed if you have submitted such information.  Check out http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?action=mlist;sort=websiteUrl;start=0 for the list.  Clicking on the columns allows sorting by that column.  :D

It's a start.  :cheers:

ags

Offline Duchess

« Reply #15 on: December 07, 2010, 10:14:36 PM »
Duchess

I have finally managed to sit down and read your blog...
My eyes are still all bleary.... tears still streaming....
I will be thinking of you and Seth over the coming days.

Thank you, dear lady. You don't know how much that means to me...but it means a lot.

« Reply #16 on: December 07, 2010, 10:36:30 PM »
Great idea.. I will also change ,my sig so it's easy to click.. I also love reading others blogs etc as you get the best details from them on where and what to do.. Not that I believe everything I read.. If you did that you would never go any where  ;D

Offline hookedon4wding

• My Videos
« Reply #17 on: June 20, 2011, 12:52:00 PM »
Just got mine up and running and thought I'd post it here. I'll be adding all my future trip reports, photo, videos and rants here.

www.hookedonadventure.blogspot.com

Cheers, Sam.

Offline Tadpole

• Offsider to Bullfrog
« Reply #18 on: June 21, 2011, 06:35:11 AM »
Hey All,
love the idea, but now I am going to ask, what it the best domain/blog to get.....I think the BF needs a blog site..... ???

The kids get a kick out of it it too, They can take the web address to school and show their classes where they have been.

never thought of this that the kids could have taken out trips as a show and tell.....great idea Hairs

but now I have some reading to do  ;D

CYa
Judy

I wanna go camping.......:}

« Reply #19 on: June 21, 2011, 06:54:59 AM »
Hey All,
love the idea, but now I am going to ask, what it the best domain/blog to get.....I think the BF needs a blog site..... ???

never thought of this that the kids could have taken out trips as a show and tell.....great idea Hairs

but now I have some reading to do  ;D

CYa
Judy

Hi Judy,
I've seen some use Blogspot, and others have used Google's Blogger. Blog Services Review I've never used either.
The kids have taken the link to school and put it up on the big E/white board thing and presented our family tree. the teacher think it is a great idea as well.
What we will do is on our month long trip, I'll up load to a page or pages what we have been up to and email the school the link, and their class mate can follow what the kids have seen and done.
We truly live in an amazing time.
I remember being in year 6, 1977 and a class mate went to Papua New Guinea for two weeks and they had brought back slides of the villages and film of the dancing and stuff, Blow me away.
A great way to stay in touch with people.
Hope this help Judy.

Offline hookedon4wding

• My Videos
« Reply #20 on: June 21, 2011, 08:11:02 AM »
Blogger and Blogspot are the same thing. Both owned by Google. Blogspot is just the address you get with your Blogger blog. The other main blogging platforms are Wordpress, Tumblr and Posterous although there are others.

Offline Duchess

« Reply #21 on: June 21, 2011, 08:42:11 AM »
Judy,

I think that Blogger is easy to learn and use. It also has some good features where you can "follow" other bloggers. Its been my main blog. I have a copy of my blog over at Wordpress but I've not really used it as much as it was not as straight forward as blogger.

If you have some basic html knowledge, then you'll get by with blogger no worries. It does most things for you anyway code wise and I don't think you'll have too much trouble learning it.

Have a look around though...the "blogosphere" is huge!  ;D

« Reply #22 on: June 21, 2011, 09:39:55 AM »
Hi hookedon4wding & Duchess,
I knew someone would jump in a set Judy straight.
I haven't used either or even other sites for hosting., Really don't have any idea about it.
Since having my own site, I haven't had a need to even look at that kinda thing.  Might have to do some reading a learn about them.

Offline hgmonaro

« Reply #23 on: June 21, 2011, 01:43:41 PM »
On our recent trip to the US, my kids classes followed their travels in the classroom via our webpage.  Doing it while on the trip is hard work though.  All internet connections were not created equal and when trying to upload files if your including photos can be both time consuming and frustrating.

« Reply #24 on: June 21, 2011, 04:55:56 PM »

With my "blogspot" you can set it up so you can email the wording through and then add photos at another time.  Easy as.  You can do your emails offline, then go online to press send.  Couldn't think of anything easier ... except maybe drinking too much whilst you are camping and wording your blog.   ;D  Oh the dreaded spelling error!!