Author Topic: Electronic rust protection - busted  (Read 29962 times)

Re: Electronic rust protection - busted
« Reply #75 on: December 01, 2015, 06:02:52 AM »
Don't worry, tin foil hats will never be banned by the government.

They will starve us of tinfoil  , You watch  :laugh: :laugh:
The following users thanked this post: banksy69

« Reply #76 on: December 01, 2015, 07:16:59 AM »
Mr 4x4, Pat himself, has ERPS in his newish VW Amarok, and after viewing his trip in the Simpson Desert onto Alice, I did not see much rust at all.

Don't know about that - I saw it as well & I could see red all over the car, so I think it was possibly already starting to rust!   ;D  >:D

« Reply #77 on: December 01, 2015, 07:23:27 AM »
Don't know about that - I saw it as well & I could see red all over the car, so I think it was possibly already starting to rust!   ;D  >:D

Lol, I saw a bit of it too, and reckon it's not the only thing. Pat himself I reckon is starting to rust. In fact I had to turn it off, as it seems like 1 big informorcial, and the way he talks these day, I went down to the garage and shoved my head in the vice.

Online plusnq

« Reply #78 on: December 01, 2015, 08:39:23 AM »
Don't forget to keep turning the handle till the pain stops  >:D

Offline terravista

« Reply #79 on: December 01, 2015, 09:02:44 AM »

Being a Volkswagon, maybe the rust was hidden by the diesel fumes put out from the worlds most efficient pollution avoidance application.

« Reply #80 on: December 01, 2015, 02:06:08 PM »

Being a Volkswagon, maybe the rust was hidden by the diesel fumes put out from the worlds most efficient pollution avoidance application.

Yes, I just realised that's it ...

VW haven't announced it yet, but they weren't fiddling the anti-pollution laws, they've actually been working on a new, self-renewing, permanent anti-rust treatment!

You see, diesel is oil-based & their wonderful new system is designed to continually cloak the car in a cloud of fine oil vapour, which will then adhere to the metal & prevent it from rusting!

My god, quick, where's the contact details for the Patent Office, just in case the haven't got the design listed yet  >:D

« Reply #81 on: December 02, 2015, 07:59:45 AM »
And on his Fraser Coast episode the following week it was telling people hitting the beach to spray lanolin or oil based stuff under the vehicle to stop it rusting away.

As for the oil mist corrosion prevention system; Isn't this a similar system that Landrover pioneered in the '60's??
« Last Edit: December 02, 2015, 08:01:57 AM by Hoyks »

Offline terravista

« Reply #82 on: December 02, 2015, 08:42:50 AM »
As for the oil mist corrosion prevention system; Isn't this a similar system that Landrover pioneered in the '60's??

I didn't think garage floors rusted much anyway.

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #83 on: December 02, 2015, 09:29:01 AM »
I just checked out the Couplertech Facebook page for laughs...

https://www.facebook.com/couplertec.rustproofing/?ref=ts&fref=ts

in the last 24 hours they've posted over 60 times. (in previous months, they looked to have averaged only around one or two a day)

around 40 of those had the same copy and pasted block of text and a random pic of a 4wd in mud/water/whatever...

Damage control mode?

"Only Couplertec has been tried, tested and proven to work by scores of Australian Surf Life Saving Clubs on vehicles that almost live on the beach and in the surf, as well as fleet vehicle management companies supplying vehicles to mining industry giants where rust and corrosion is a major cost every year. In addition, government departments and thousands of 4WD vehicle owners around the world trust Couplertec because it is the only technology that works. Couplertec is NOT cathodic. It is a unique technology, that has international patents approved!! To learn more about Couplertec please visit www.Couplertec.com.au or Free Call 1800-300-999. Please note the list of dealers is also at teh web site. With more than now 800,000 systems systems sold, it is important to remember If it is NOT a Couplertec it is NOT a genuine Electronic Rust proofing Device. ONLY TRUST COUPLERTEC!"

I remember a 4wding mate of mine asking my engineer business partner about electronic rust devices back in the late 90's... back then the opinion was that they were quackery and snake oil salesmen...

only took 15+ years to have it confirmed...

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
2018 GXL 78 Troopy with Alu-Cab conversion
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56

Offline hempo

« Reply #84 on: December 02, 2015, 03:30:27 PM »
There is nothing on the Motorone Facebook page or their website.  According to the documentation they were supposed to post on their website an Important Notice for Consumers
2016 Holden Colorado LS Cab Chassis with 2011 Jimboomba Condamine Camper Trailer

Offline braydle

« Reply #85 on: December 02, 2015, 09:29:07 PM »
Had one of these things on the new family sedan many years ago. The manufacturer of said sedan had to remove a piece of rust the size of your thumbnail from the bonnet after 18 months. My mind was made up then and have never worried about putting one on the 4by.

« Reply #86 on: December 03, 2015, 05:42:31 AM »
There is nothing on the Motorone Facebook page or their website.  According to the documentation they were supposed to post on their website an Important Notice for Consumers

Hempo the notice is on their fleet page http://www.motoronefleet.com/home.php

There is a white text box on the right hand side towards the top of the screen

Rod
The following users thanked this post: hempo

Offline Big Damo

• I work only for the holidays
« Reply #87 on: December 03, 2015, 09:42:39 PM »
Hempo the notice is on their fleet page http://www.motoronefleet.com/home.php

There is a white text box on the right hand side towards the top of the screen

Rod

I tried clicking this box new tab opens and then closes instantly maybe technically posting but I was not quick enough to read it

XR6 and Lifestyle Extenda Elite

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #88 on: December 03, 2015, 09:49:29 PM »
I'm still trying to find the independent tests that prove Couplertec works.  Does it exist? 

« Reply #89 on: December 03, 2015, 09:56:07 PM »
I'm still trying to find the independent tests that prove Couplertec works.  Does it exist?

???  ???

Who knows, but what is the warrenty on it?  I mean if my car started rusting after 10 yrs, 20yr? Or is it for ever

« Reply #90 on: December 04, 2015, 06:01:22 AM »
I tried clicking this box new tab opens and then closes instantly maybe technically posting but I was not quick enough to read it
Not sure what the problem is mate. When I click on it the document opens up as a pdf

Rod

« Reply #91 on: December 04, 2015, 06:21:59 AM »
Not sure what the problem is mate. When I click on it the document opens up as a pdf

Rod

Here ya go Hempo .copy n pasted
HIGH PERFORMANCE CORPORATION PTY LTD (HPC) and MOTOR
ONE GROUP PTY LTD (MotorOne) supplied the Defense Pak
Computerised Electronic Corrosion Inhibitor units (CECI Units) to
consumers through various retailers in Australia.
In supplying the CECI Units, HPC represented that the CECI Units could
drastically reduce the rate at which rust forms and MotorOne represented
that by using the CECI Units the rate at which rust forms could be reduced
by as much as 80%, effectively doubling a vehicle’s life span of the vehicle
against rust.
The Commissioner for Consumer Protection (WA) (Commissioner)
considers that there was no reasonable basis for these representations
and that HPC and MotorOne have contravened the Australian Consumer
Law.
The Commissioner has accepted an undertaking from HPC and MotorOne
under which HPC and MotorOne will cease advertising and supplying the
CECI Units in Australia. Additionally, HPC and MotorOne are offering
consumers who have purchased a CECI Unit between 1 January 2011
and 31 December 2013 a refund of the purchase and installation costs.
If you have purchased a CECI Unit, you can obtain a refund by providing
proof of your purchase to HPC or MotorOne:
1. by post: 275 Canterbury Road, Canterbury, Victoria 3126; or
2. by email: refund@motorone.com, or
by telephoning the MotorOne hotline on 1300 801 917.
You can obtain further information by telephoning HPC or MotorOne on
« Last Edit: December 04, 2015, 06:26:01 AM by edz »
The following users thanked this post: hempo

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #92 on: December 04, 2015, 03:34:46 PM »
Do they put these things on cars where they drive around on salted roads? You know, to prevent ice.

For all the claims that they work by average Joe I'm only going to believe it if they have two of the same vehicle, one with the thingy fitted and then driven side by side until rust kicks in.

Offline 99disco

« Reply #93 on: December 05, 2015, 11:33:45 AM »
Next will be the hi clone under the microscope.

« Reply #94 on: December 05, 2015, 04:53:26 PM »

Try emailing them, and asking for a copy of their proof.

Should be good for a laugh.

Next will be the hi clone under the microscope.

For older carbies the hi clone does at least have a bit of science behind it.  ERPS doesn't.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2015, 04:59:36 PM by Symon »

Offline hempo

« Reply #95 on: December 07, 2015, 01:13:33 PM »
thanks guys. 

I'll admit, as it's on my 4wd page anyway, I had one installed on my patrol by the dealer when new.  I have emailed motorone a refund application so wait and will see what happens.  I am sure there will be others on here who also purchased.

2016 Holden Colorado LS Cab Chassis with 2011 Jimboomba Condamine Camper Trailer

bully

« Reply #96 on: December 08, 2015, 01:54:03 PM »
Well look at them all come out of the wood work now. I told you so they say. Well I was one who purchased an ERPS and put it on the cruiser when I purchased it new in 2010 because I plan to keep this rig until I retire so it has to last another 20 years. I was suss if they worked or not but thought it would be better than nothing. I just glad that no one else has ever bought something that didn't work or wasn't up to the specs they thought it was. Lucky I'm the only one In This life that was cond Into this.

« Reply #97 on: December 08, 2015, 03:25:24 PM »
G'day Bully,

Don't sweat it mate as a couple of us have admitted to being conned. If it makes people feel better to throw a few darts at others that have made a bad decision so be it. Can't change the decision now only hope that I can get out of it.

You might be one of the lucky ones as you may fall into the allowable dates for a refund. I bought mine with the rig earlier this year and they are only refunding up until Dec 2013 purchases so it looks like I am up s**t creek without a paddle  :'(

It's nearly Christmas mate so be happy  :cheers:

Rod

« Reply #98 on: December 08, 2015, 05:18:12 PM »
G'day Bully,

Don't sweat it mate as a couple of us have admitted to being conned. If it makes people feel better to throw a few darts at others that have made a bad decision so be it. Can't change the decision now only hope that I can get out of it.

You might be one of the lucky ones as you may fall into the allowable dates for a refund. I bought mine with the rig earlier this year and they are only refunding up until Dec 2013 purchases so it looks like I am up s**t creek without a paddle  :'(

It's nearly Christmas mate so be happy  :cheers:

Rod

Well said sir.   :cup: :cup: :cup:

Ave ya self a great chrissy. :cheers:

« Reply #99 on: December 08, 2015, 07:40:41 PM »
I just glad that no one else has ever bought something that didn't work or wasn't up to the specs they thought it was.
Fortunatly Ive never bought anything like what you describe.
Unfortunatly I married it  ;D
Bi?l
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"