Author Topic: Electronic rust protection - busted  (Read 30037 times)

Re: Electronic rust protection - busted
« Reply #50 on: November 27, 2015, 12:37:34 PM »
[quote ]
Not really, there is a minimum amount of time that the vehicle has to last.  If you take the case of fleet vehicles this is usually 3-5 years, so there has to be at least some effort to preventing rust.  Also consider warranty periods of 5 years are more common these days.
[/quote]

I have mates who turn over there 4WD's every 2 years for work reasons and these guys have been known to frequently drive in salt water because they know the car isn't going to rust in the 2 year period.

Offline scblack

« Reply #51 on: November 27, 2015, 12:39:04 PM »

Next thing they will do is try and prove that Brockies early model Hyclones don't work.
Polarizers?
VW Amarok Highline 2016
Jayco Swan Outback 2015

A man must believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer.

« Reply #52 on: November 27, 2015, 12:39:34 PM »
Polarizers?
hyclones are the sports model of the polarizer.

« Reply #53 on: November 27, 2015, 04:51:25 PM »

hyclones are the sports model of the polarizer.

Hsv version?  Hyclone special vehicle
The following users thanked this post: Gandalf the White

« Reply #54 on: November 27, 2015, 05:53:08 PM »
At the risk of being declared a cynic, don't forget that this report is put out by the Government.
The same people who miss out on the taxes and duties for every car sold that replaces rusted out old cars. Why would they do that?
It's bit like a dentist saying "Use X brand toothpaste, it will save you from cavities". However, all it consists of is a mint smelling abrasive that wears your teeth out, so you have to go to the dentist (the same bastards that told you to use it) to get caps or false teeth. Bloody hypocrites.
Put electronic rust preventative systems on the car and never have rust again. This way all you need to do is replace the worn out parts, or in the case of Jeeps, every part, and the Government can't waste your money on brothels, interstate travel to Lesbian weddings and the like.
Next thing they will do is try and prove that Brockies early model Hyclones don't work.

Bahahahahahahaha.  There's no risk mate  ;D

« Reply #55 on: November 27, 2015, 07:22:56 PM »
At the risk of being declared a cynic, don't forget that this report is put out by the Government.
The same people who miss out on the taxes and duties for every car sold that replaces rusted out old cars. Why would they do that?
It's bit like a dentist saying "Use X brand toothpaste, it will save you from cavities". However, all it consists of is a mint smelling abrasive that wears your teeth out, so you have to go to the dentist (the same bastards that told you to use it) to get caps or false teeth. Bloody hypocrites.
Put electronic rust preventative systems on the car and never have rust again. This way all you need to do is replace the worn out parts, or in the case of Jeeps, every part, and the Government can't waste your money on brothels, interstate travel to Lesbian weddings and the like.

Don't worry, tin foil hats will never be banned by the government.

Offline Snapman007

• Beer
« Reply #56 on: November 27, 2015, 08:24:59 PM »
Don't worry, tin foil hats will never be banned by the government.
Thank fk! One less thing for me too worry about. 👹

2003 V8 Sahara
2010 Lifestyle Extenda Elite
Great haircut

Offline Big Damo

• I work only for the holidays
« Reply #57 on: November 27, 2015, 08:40:30 PM »
I'm confused
Does this mean I won't be able to get an effective ERPS for my new Mux that is garaged 60km from the ocean
I hope it doesn't start to rust prematurely
I also hope the makers of these ERPS can find another system for me to buy as I do not want my pride and joy to rust
Maybe I should see if they are selling any of these cheap

XR6 and Lifestyle Extenda Elite

« Reply #58 on: November 27, 2015, 09:45:25 PM »
Obviously my totally redundant Couplertec system works... "PERFECTLY" for me....

That is provided I religiously, -- (I recall someone using that word recently); ....  send the truck in annually for a tickle and a touch up -- (which I actually do; lol).... for a generous under spray top up with the  black stuff.....

LOL

Shake&Bake BB

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #59 on: November 27, 2015, 10:33:36 PM »
Since when did modern cars rust like the old bangers in the sixties and seventies? Sweet Jesus when they watered the dirt roads up at Gove with salt water to keep the dust down in the Dry and then the mud packed up under them in the Wet, we were making stock cars out of them within 2 years. I haven't seen a rusty car on the road for years the way they put em together nowadays. You blokes with the extra protection are all suckers for the Ming Moll's big ti...err eyelashes and you deserve to be parted from yer hard earned. Compensation my eye. Fools and their money deserve to be parted. 
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #60 on: November 27, 2015, 11:31:13 PM »
Since when did modern cars rust like the old bangers ... I haven't seen a rusty car on the road for years the way they put em together nowadays.
You not live close to the ocean then Prod, either that or its the combination of salt air and humidity up here causes the Dreaded Tin worm to go to work .. plenty of later model rusties up here .

« Reply #61 on: November 28, 2015, 05:15:31 AM »
Hutchie has a bigger mallet and its on wheels and speaks only one word. Exterminate

Sorry I miss read I thought you said Hutchcy has a Big mullet. :)

« Reply #62 on: November 28, 2015, 06:54:22 AM »
Classic stuff

Offline Niley

« Reply #63 on: November 28, 2015, 08:58:23 AM »
Catholic protection works, if only your 4B spent 100% of its time in water
Landcruiser Prado & ?????

Offline grafy82

« Reply #64 on: November 28, 2015, 09:17:57 AM »

Catholic protection? Is that were the Pope prays over your vehicle to stop it rusting?  ;D
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

Offline Niley

« Reply #65 on: November 28, 2015, 09:23:18 AM »
Autocorrect, ya gotta love it.

ERP in the popemobile!
Landcruiser Prado & ?????

« Reply #66 on: November 28, 2015, 09:25:48 AM »

Mate that  gave me a good laugh especially with your user name. Love that autocorrect  ;D
« Last Edit: November 30, 2015, 06:36:46 AM by plusnq »

« Reply #67 on: November 28, 2015, 11:19:50 AM »
Just saw this on another forum:

"Couplertec which is one of the bigger names in the business reckon their devices are based on different science/methods to the ones currently being debunked."

So, trust us, it will work!  >:D

« Reply #68 on: November 28, 2015, 12:16:50 PM »
Soooo.....!!!! i bought a CAT111 electronic rust system !!!!!   It appears i'v been sucked in...is this true ??

??? ??? ???

« Reply #69 on: November 30, 2015, 06:34:25 AM »
My Tug, which I call "Rusty", is an example of a bolt on system that does not work.
The panel sections that had the spray on prevention products applied are good, the parts without it are gone.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2015, 10:06:50 AM by DaveR »

« Reply #70 on: November 30, 2015, 08:07:40 AM »
Soooo.....!!!! i bought a CAT111 electronic rust system !!!!!   It appears i'v been sucked in...is this true ??

??? ??? ???

I had to look up this system......I got 1/2 way through the 1st paragraph.......excess electrons....the paint is important to stop these electrons from dissipating and being lost .....blah, blah, blah !!!!

Have a read of this stuff....it seems like they actually believe the crap they wrote !!

Offline terravista

« Reply #71 on: November 30, 2015, 09:48:29 AM »
It comes at no real surprise that so many people can be so wrong.
This particular discussion quotes Science, Politicians, and a shi busload of detractors about ERPS.

Well, YOU MUST BE WRONG.

Mr 4x4, Pat himself, has ERPS in his newish VW Amarok, and after viewing his trip in the Simpson Desert onto Alice, I did not see much rust at all.
That settles it........it must work, now to go and buy a few. If one works well, just how good would three or four do?
Get in quick before they sell out because I can almost see these  wrapped up in Chrissie paper and sitting under the Chrissie tree for all 4x4 drivers.

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #72 on: November 30, 2015, 10:08:22 AM »
As I've said before in related threads I am mostly disappointed that the major "trustworthy" organisations such as ARB and Creek-to-Coast are promoting and selling these things as if they worked.   Did they just believe the Couplertec dude when he walked into their shop to spruik his product?  Why no check of the independent testing done on these devices?  Oh that's right, there isn't any independent testing. 
A lot of people will have wasted their money on these devices because ARB was selling them so I hope ARB and Creek-to-Coast(Channel 7 qld) and similar major organisations help out if/when it comes to a refund situation.

« Reply #73 on: December 01, 2015, 05:21:18 AM »
At least my "RainAway" electronic precipitation device works ok.

Ask those who attended the 2015 Nat Meet. The storms all went around us all except the one night I forgot to turn it on.
With all the storms in SEQ this week and we've had no rain here. Fluke.... I don't think so.

My Jeep has an electronic rust thingy fitted (not by me, previous owner) and seems to be doing alright.
Next week, we're fitting Hyclones to both cars.

Gotto go now, the nice men in white coats and a big butterfly net have just pulled up out front.
Time for me to put on my Shirley Temple outfit and try to outrun them.

Tra la la la la la la la la

They're coming to take me away ha ha.......

« Reply #74 on: December 01, 2015, 05:30:46 AM »
At least my "RainAway" electronic precipitation device works ok.

Ask those who attended the 2015 Nat Meet. The storms all went around us all except the one night I forgot to turn it on.
With all the storms in SEQ this week and we've had no rain here. Fluke.... I don't think so.

My Jeep has an electronic rust thingy fitted (not by me, previous owner) and seems to be doing alright.
Next week, we're fitting Hyclones to both cars.

Gotto go now, the nice men in white coats and a big butterfly net have just pulled up out front.
Time for me to put on my Shirley Temple outfit and try to outrun them.

Tra la la la la la la la la

They're coming to take me away ha ha.......

Don't run Jeepers! They've just come to fit a Brock Energy Polariser for you.

;D ;D