Author Topic: SMOKING BANNED in ALL NSW National Parks - FANTASTIC  (Read 30554 times)

Re: SMOKING BANNED in ALL NSW National Parks - FANTASTIC
« Reply #75 on: November 20, 2014, 02:05:05 PM »
I think there are a couple of people making some full on statements about this subject and I feel it's time to point out a few home truths to them like it or not  ::)
1/  smoking is still a legal activity in the majority of outdoors areas
2/ Cigarettes are a legally sold product
3/ More fires are caused by unattended/left camp fires than by cigarette butts
4/ Not all smokers are litter bugs
5/ Not all smokers are inconsiderate of other non smoking people
6/ We live in a democracy here, not an authocracy, this rule will probably be revoked/overturned/reversed/ignored once the general public find out about it
7/ You can always move your seat a couple of feet away if a smoker is too close
8/ You could also ask a smoker to move around a bit because the smoke is bothering you

The word zealot comes to mind when describing some of Vk3bq's comments
Perhaps applies to a lot of other Fking things too ?

And just before you fire up at me I am a reformed smoker of some 30 years, I detest the smell of cigarette smoke, especially in my clothes, I hate the litter that a lot of them leave,and I think that people that smoke are being silly because of the health implications,but that's their prerogative,  and atm smoking is a legal activity and I will stand up and defend their rights to pursue that activity

Xcavator, I agree with you

My problem is not with the smokers or litter bugs or others, its with the attitude.
Yes they have a right to smoke, but not at a soccer field in front of my children. That's why they have these laws. The problem is that ignorant people ignore them.

I would suggest the problem is not the smokers, but plain and simply, ignorant people.

I drink, (not too excessively, but I drink) I don't do it where it can harm or affect others though.
I also fart, but I have the respect not to do it while sitting next to others while they enjoy a coffee or a meal.

So I do agree with you, they have rights too and these need to be respected. Also we need to stop judging the actions of all by the ignorant few.
The problem is inconsiderate ignorant fools.
Perhaps ignore their right to oxygen!!!

Offline GUEY

« Reply #76 on: November 20, 2014, 02:24:26 PM »
Glad I have a rule of walking away to have a smoke and a think before typing a reply that may be construed as insulting.  :angel:
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

« Reply #77 on: November 20, 2014, 02:45:30 PM »

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #78 on: November 20, 2014, 04:33:54 PM »
Glad I have a rule of walking away to have a smoke and a think before typing a reply that may be construed as insulting.  :angel:

Thats so true mate ..i have camped with you and your family and I never even knew you were a smoker....  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: to you buddy ,

Thats my whole point the law wont change people who are not as considerate as you.

I mean in the middle of the bush I am to call who exactly for a response to a smoker in my camp site....... I could not even get a ranger to respond when dudes were chainsawing a tree down for firewood in a no fire zone.

NSW could stop the supply of cigarettes ohh thats right just like every other govt they love smokers TAX $$$$$$.

Jet ;D

RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

« Reply #79 on: November 20, 2014, 06:51:12 PM »

I also fart, but I have the respect not to do it while sitting next to others while they enjoy a coffee or a meal.

What if it's a really good one ????   ;D  ;D

« Reply #80 on: November 20, 2014, 07:41:13 PM »

You don't share?????? ;D  >:D

« Reply #81 on: November 21, 2014, 01:41:19 AM »
Please bring this to Victoria!
Also cant wait till i can visit a local cafe and sit outside and have my lunch without breating in smoke from some inconsiderate prick.

Haven't got a dirty diesel particulate disseminator there have you? Ban em and their selfish owners from National Parks along with we petrolhead smokers eh?

Local café on a typical arterial road eh? You ride your griddley there or walk?
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #82 on: November 21, 2014, 01:56:08 AM »
Some peanuts remind me of the time I bought a packet of peanuts from the greengrocers and there it was-
WARNING- This product may contain traces of peanuts.
I certainly bloody hoped so.
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #83 on: December 21, 2014, 09:24:39 PM »
Well after an acquaintance extolled the virtue of ecigarettes (PC term is now vaping) I've been doing some homework on them and the bottom line is, we nicotine addicts should be switching to them and you non-smokers should be encouraging that, despite the protestations of the bedwetters and hypocritical Gummints that will listen to them because it suits their revenue raising.

Essentially vaping nicotine in safe e-fluid removes the deleterious health effects of ingesting tar and other carcinogens in burnt vegetable matter and similarly removes the social externality problem of passive smoking. What's more e-cigarettes removes the fire/bushfire risk and thereby removes any objection to vaping in National Parks. What say you nanny-staters? Are you really only concerned about the deleterious health effects, or are you really just a bunch of puritanical scolds and 'I don't like it!' Paulines and consequently oppose a switch to e-cigarettes for we addicts?

« Reply #84 on: December 22, 2014, 07:22:19 AM »
Happy to see e-fags legalised for the weak willed addicts on two provisos:
1/. These, gum and patches become the only ways addicts can access their fix - otherwise they are just a new method for the purveyors to gain new addicts; and
2/.  Given that they are being touted as 'safe', that said purveyors agree to be responsible for medical costs in the event that they prove to be otherwise.

If I could give up fags then anyone can!

UIZ733

« Reply #85 on: December 22, 2014, 07:41:30 AM »
A work colleague has a mate who is gay, tried nicotine patches on his penis. He got the habit down to two fags a day apparently.

« Reply #86 on: December 22, 2014, 08:32:27 AM »
A work colleague has a mate who is gay, tried nicotine patches on his penis. He got the habit down to two fags a day apparently.
Pmsl.

Offline Mik01

• Scenic Rim 4x4
« Reply #87 on: December 22, 2014, 08:33:47 AM »

Essentially vaping nicotine in safe e-fluid removes the deleterious health effects of ingesting tar and other carcinogens in burnt vegetable matter and similarly removes the social externality problem of passive smoking. What's more e-cigarettes removes the fire/bushfire risk and thereby removes any objection to vaping in National Parks. What say you nanny-staters? Are you really only concerned about the deleterious health effects, or are you really just a bunch of puritanical scolds and 'I don't like it!' Paulines and consequently oppose a switch to e-cigarettes for we addicts?

There is no proof that ecigarettes are not harmful to yourself over the long term, or others via the exhaling of the vapour.

But if we are distilling the argument down to smoking in national parks only, the argument is sound, in that it does remove the fire risk, and litter issue.
Contact me for special MySwag prices on 4x4 accessories!
http://scenicrim4x4.com.au

« Reply #88 on: January 03, 2016, 01:17:43 PM »
There is no proof that ecigarettes are not harmful to yourself over the long term, or others via the exhaling of the vapour.

But if we are distilling the argument down to smoking in national parks only, the argument is sound, in that it does remove the fire risk, and litter issue.

We're talking about harm minimization and not some nonsensical esoteric approach that we should never have switched from burning coal to natural gas until we were 100% sure the latter was safe. 95% will do just fine unless we want to ban steaming cups of coffee around minors in case they get a caffeine hit-
https://www.gov.uk/government/news/e-cigarettes-around-95-less-harmful-than-tobacco-estimates-landmark-review

Now about that candle soot with candles in restaurants and on kiddies birthday cakes...?

Offline KeithB

« Reply #89 on: January 03, 2016, 01:36:16 PM »
They should follow it up with some serious poo ticket legislation. Equally unenforceable - but good in principle.
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

« Reply #90 on: January 03, 2016, 01:43:40 PM »
Happy to see e-fags legalised for the weak willed addicts on two provisos:
1/. These, gum and patches become the only ways addicts can access their fix - otherwise they are just a new method for the purveyors to gain new addicts; and
2/.  Given that they are being touted as 'safe', that said purveyors agree to be responsible for medical costs in the event that they prove to be otherwise.

If I could give up fags then anyone can!

Generally I'm a live and let live man but it's a slippery slope you're on with determining who'll get Medicare care and who won't. I'm not overweight, driving a diesel or like the lad playing contact sport with his footy, etc.

Then again if I can take or leave wood fires with LPG onboard the Jayco then I guess we can all abide by a wood fire ban in the interests of community health eh?
http://www.who.int/mediacentre/news/releases/2014/air-pollution/en/
So marijuahana smokers take note here. You're really like living in Beijing along with nico addicts inhaling burnt vegetable matter regularly.

As for noobs taking up 4th generation vaping technology after the Chinese kicked it all off in 2008, firstly they have to get over their peer group pressure to become an extreme outlier among their friends and secondly they'll get no truck under 18 in any vape shop and why would they bother investigating the whys, wherefors and expense of vaping technology, when they can nip down to any supermart or servo and get puffing? As that UK study points out there's no evidence vaping leads to smoking. Quite the contrary if you ask any vaper/95% reformed smoker ;)

« Reply #91 on: January 03, 2016, 02:40:37 PM »
Generally I'm a live and let live man but it's a slippery slope you're on with determining who'll get Medicare care and who won't. I'm not overweight, driving a diesel or like the lad playing contact sport with his footy, etc.

Then again if I can take or leave wood fires with LPG onboard the Jayco then I guess we can all abide by a wood fire ban in the interests of community health eh?
http://www.who.int/mediacentre/news/releases/2014/air-pollution/en/
So marijuahana smokers take note here. You're really like living in Beijing along with nico addicts inhaling burnt vegetable matter regularly.

As for noobs taking up 4th generation vaping technology after the Chinese kicked it all off in 2008, firstly they have to get over their peer group pressure to become an extreme outlier among their friends and secondly they'll get no truck under 18 in any vape shop and why would they bother investigating the whys, wherefors and expense of vaping technology, when they can nip down to any supermart or servo and get puffing? As that UK study points out there's no evidence vaping leads to smoking. Quite the contrary if you ask any vaper/95% reformed smoker ;)

Are you bored or what  ??? ??? ??? ???

« Reply #92 on: January 03, 2016, 04:53:04 PM »
As bored as you reading it but it seemed better here than starting a new thread to get some folks up to date with the latest on the benefits of vaping over smoking but not all threads are of interest for some. I seldom drink alchohol nowadays but accept many do and hence the greater volume of threads and comments about that  :cheers:

Offline Rod Camping

• 2009 Lifestyle Extenda-2011 Nissan Patrol ST Wagon
« Reply #93 on: January 04, 2016, 11:17:22 AM »
Hopefully the national parks office has some notices they can hand out. As the above says. Education first. Then fines later. 

The trouble is. Smoking seems to make people so stupid/dumb/blind. They can't read the God dammed NO SMOKING signs anyway.

Maybe we chop off a finger per infringement. 10 chances stumpy.

Us non smokers are the majority. We should all rise up!!

I for one don't want your dangerous second hand smoke  covering my campsite! :))

Stick that in your pipes and smoke it. :)

Ok so i am a smoker and always dispose of my butts either in the bin or the campfire. When I am out and there is no bin I put in my pocket as I do when I am out field.

You smokers might be the majority, white caucasian christians are the majority in Australia as well, should we ban all non whites/christians from entering the country???? Where do we stop????

Since when does being a majority give you any more rights than those of the minority.

A simple case of discrimination to the minority. Wonder when a class action will start with this minority group, it's only a matter of time.

If you don't like what I have written that's your right, just as it's my right to smoke...
Cheers Rod.

Offline firefox

• Young Nomad, Travelling
    • Tripigy
« Reply #94 on: January 04, 2016, 11:36:35 AM »
threads been locked until one of the mods can come and clean up.

Please place nice and consider others on the forum and it's RULES!!!!!
2015 LC200 - Snowy - Sahara with all the mods.
Custom built Off-road Caravan.
The following users thanked this post: BigJules