Author Topic: Experiment time - with BEER  (Read 57507 times)

Re: Experiment time - with BEER
« Reply #25 on: October 10, 2014, 11:38:36 AM »
Quote from: Alan Loy
My current favourite is Becks in cans for travelling $56 from Dan's
I missed that last night

Interesting not being a big beer drinker but I only just noticed how few beers come in cans these days
That was another winner for Ottinger + 500ml cans = less trips to the fridge. :)

BigDog816

« Reply #26 on: October 10, 2014, 11:38:59 AM »
This is my favourite at the moment

I'll second that, this is a great drop.

« Reply #27 on: October 10, 2014, 12:20:26 PM »
I'll second that, this is a great drop.
Not to mention it has a pearler of a name. "My Wife's Bitter" Even SWMBO had a giggle about it

Offline broncos11

« Reply #28 on: October 10, 2014, 12:56:35 PM »
This is my current selection.  My preference lately is pale ales.  I like all the James Squires beers. Will probably tend towards the pilsners over summer, or the Asian beers, Tiger, Chang and the like

The pepper jack on the right is a mix of beer and Barossa Valley Shiraz. Bought 6. WOW beer and wine together, why hasn't this been done before!! One taste and you know why.  Gets "1 cap" which will probably stay on that bottle.

When you try your beers pour them in a glass to get the full benefit.

I love to try small breweries

Nillumbik Cellars in Diamond Creek has a very good selection.

Next time you go to Knockwood if you come in from the top, Mansfield IGA have Mansfield breweries pale ale which is nice.  A stop at Jamieson Brewery would be worth a stop.

The only Pale Ale.
2003 IFS V8 100 series
The following users thanked this post: Gunsrunner

« Reply #29 on: October 10, 2014, 02:25:04 PM »
The only Pale Ale.

drank that for a while, wasn't bad... but **** you put on the KG's with it..

Also don't mind this = but on tap

Offline berlitza

« Reply #30 on: October 10, 2014, 05:12:25 PM »
The James Squire one fifty lashes pale ale ain't a bad drop, drink it every now and then when it comes up on special, Oettinger or Becks I've been drinking for a while  very easy to drink

« Reply #31 on: October 10, 2014, 06:28:02 PM »
lf you need cheap thrills go the boutique stuff & enjoy    :cup:   :cheers:
 The next VB is the Best VB , Bring it on     :cheers:
& all others opinions are yours & yours alone      ;D   Enjoy                                 :cheers:

Offline jmorgan1981

• It was that last beer!!!!
« Reply #32 on: October 10, 2014, 06:36:24 PM »
I have been in to the Kosciuszko Pale Ale.
8/10. :cheers:
2017 Mazda BT-50 XT
2014 Kimberley Kamper LE

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #33 on: October 11, 2014, 06:43:50 AM »
I have been doing this for a while, will grab a single bottle to try when I grab my weekly beer run,  favourite would be lowenbrau  but vest bottle goes to lucky beer with the swing top grolsch also interesting

« Reply #34 on: October 11, 2014, 10:43:09 AM »
This stuff is pretty hard to drink  >:D super smooth, and at 9% alcohol it is actually good on a cold day  :cheers: Pity about the price in Aus tho  >:(

Chimay Blue 750mL

« Reply #35 on: October 11, 2014, 03:11:28 PM »
Gone with the VIKING from Iceland today - its a Pilsner 4.4 and a tiny 330ml bottle... Very cold compared to the last one.

Again tidy beer, doesn't leave that dead ass taste in your mouth that VB/Melb/Carlton/Peasant beer does. After you've drank it you don't know you have... good for having in the car at lunch at work :D

gets 8/10 would get more if they were in large cans...

Offline JCAT

• Live for today, you may not be here tomorrow.
« Reply #36 on: October 11, 2014, 03:58:38 PM »
I don't like drinking those standard CUB beers unless I really really have too eg: VB, Carlton Draught, Melbourne.

Back in 2009 we travelled to Port Douglas and while watching the footy at a pub one night I tried a beer called "Fat Yak" and I have never looked back.

My preferred beers in no particular order are Fat Yak, Little Creatures Pale Ale, Vale Pale Ale, James Squire 50 lashes, I really enjoy hoppy Pale Ales.

Recently James Squire started bottling "The Hop Thief," it has too be tasted to be believed. They had it on tap at James Squire Bounty in Tassie last year but when we were in The Kimberley they were selling it everywhere. Haven't been able to get it since I have been back.

I brew my own Fat Yak when I can and while it's not as good as the original it's better than VB.

2018 Prado GXL
2017 Vista Crossover XL

Offline Hdn96

« Reply #37 on: October 11, 2014, 04:46:07 PM »
I brew my own Fat Yak when I can and while it's not as good as the original it's better than VB.

Do you do a kit a full mash or (biab)

L.M.S.B.C

Offline JCAT

• Live for today, you may not be here tomorrow.
« Reply #38 on: October 11, 2014, 05:49:18 PM »

Do you do a kit a full mash or (biab)

L.M.S.B.C

Here is my recipe Hdn96

2018 Prado GXL
2017 Vista Crossover XL

Offline broncos11

« Reply #39 on: October 11, 2014, 06:04:23 PM »
drank that for a while, wasn't bad... but **** you put on the KG's with it..

Also don't mind this = but on tap

Back at Expo 88, a mate who was a strawberry farmer had a great year and was shouting all  of US pints of this with a shot glass of drambuie in it. It was called a depth charger I think. Bloody hell, what a night!!
2003 IFS V8 100 series

Offline Hdn96

« Reply #40 on: October 11, 2014, 06:05:29 PM »
Thanks for that

I did a copper tun kit a few months ago it came ok great the next one will be a (biab)
From grain

L.M.S.B.C

Offline MrHorsepower

« Reply #41 on: October 11, 2014, 06:26:35 PM »
I don't like drinking those standard CUB beers unless I really really have too eg: VB, Carlton Draught, Melbourne.

Back in 2009 we travelled to Port Douglas and while watching the footy at a pub one night I tried a beer called "Fat Yak" and I have never looked back.

My preferred beers in no particular order are Fat Yak, Little Creatures Pale Ale, Vale Pale Ale, James Squire 50 lashes, I really enjoy hoppy Pale Ales.

Recently James Squire started bottling "The Hop Thief," it has too be tasted to be believed. They had it on tap at James Squire Bounty in Tassie last year but when we were in The Kimberley they were selling it everywhere. Haven't been able to get it since I have been back.

Hop theif is a great beer, I have been swayed from my staple " Coopers Sparkling Ale" by hoppy pales and IPA's for the last year or so and Hop thief is one of the best  Vale Ale IPA is another good brew..Michael
« Last Edit: October 11, 2014, 06:37:28 PM by MrHorsepower »

Offline Mik01

• Scenic Rim 4x4
« Reply #42 on: October 11, 2014, 06:31:39 PM »
Try wiehenstephen - das ist gut!

Good for a beer experiment.

http://www.weihenstephaner.de/
Contact me for special MySwag prices on 4x4 accessories!
http://scenicrim4x4.com.au

Offline Mik01

• Scenic Rim 4x4
« Reply #43 on: October 11, 2014, 06:36:43 PM »
Or Duvel. It's Belgian, and at 8.5%, it's surprisingly smooth but with a knockout punch!!

http://www.duvel.com/en-gb/the-beer/duvel

I think duvel means devil. Last time I got stuck into this with mates, I ended up in hell the next morning, so I think it's true... >:D
Contact me for special MySwag prices on 4x4 accessories!
http://scenicrim4x4.com.au

« Reply #44 on: October 16, 2014, 07:19:02 PM »
Tonights brew..
Brok Export. https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_912039/brok-export-500ml.jsp;jsessionid=49B3C9B8F6D79C1C0A4BFC6BE836A9CD.ncdlmorasp1304?bmUID=kAjWgBg

Pours to an amazing head.. stunning flavour and no dead hops after taste.. very refreshing. I like it lots...

Lots of caps for this one.. best yet.

Offline BrettMG

« Reply #45 on: October 16, 2014, 07:35:13 PM »
lf you need cheap thrills go the boutique stuff & enjoy    :cup:   :cheers:
 The next VB is the Best VB , Bring it on     :cheers:
& all others opinions are yours & yours alone      ;D   Enjoy                                 :cheers:

Clearly not someone who enjoys "good beer".  >:D
As the man says though each to his own!
Currently working my way through a Russian Imperial Stout and an American IPA. In the fermenter ready to keg is a Golden Ale with heaps of American style hops.
2013 Ford Ranger XL
2012 Jayco Swan

« Reply #46 on: October 16, 2014, 07:44:23 PM »
Next went with Kingfisher

https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_904993/kingfisher-lager

Pours really smooth, not very bubbly, but has a nice head... nothing like good head.
VERY clean and crisp, nice clean after taste, again no dead cheap cat piss VB aftertaste....

Not as good as Brok..

6/10.

« Reply #47 on: October 16, 2014, 07:56:15 PM »
I don't mind beez neez but lately been buying the American  stuff millers or Budweiser. Seem to be able to drink heaps of it and wake up without a headache

« Reply #48 on: October 16, 2014, 08:02:06 PM »
Quote from: swannie
I don't mind beez neez
they were a good customer at work.. lovely brew!!

Marschy

« Reply #49 on: October 16, 2014, 08:03:31 PM »
Clearly not someone who enjoys "good beer".  >:D
As the man says though each to his own!
Currently working my way through a Russian Imperial Stout and an American IPA. In the fermenter ready to keg is a Golden Ale with heaps of American style hops.
I used to have me one of them Irish fridges. Heated up with a light globe and a heating thermostat. Fantastic for making home brew of consistent quality. And you can do the secondary fermentation with another batch at the same time.

A local pub close to home on Commercial Road in Salisbury was the ducks guts for home brew kits. They had a German Lager kit with hops that was to die for.

Pity I don't drink anymore. :'(

Adelaide residents who like their beer might want to visit the Bombay Bicycle Club. The front bar has a beer club with a list of around 100 beers. My son is working his way through the list for the second time. He forgot where he was upto the first time and started again. ;D
« Last Edit: October 16, 2014, 08:11:17 PM by Marschy »