Author Topic: New Patrol unlikely to ever offer a diesel engine  (Read 30273 times)

New Patrol unlikely to ever offer a diesel engine
« on: July 24, 2012, 09:09:51 AM »
This article in drive.com.au suggest a diesel donk won't ever go into the new Y62, due on sale next year. Rather, Nissan will continue to sell the GU as the diesel option.

Wow! Good thing they didn't invent the Model T.

Re: New Patrol unlikely to ever offer a diesel engine
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2012, 09:14:44 AM »
I dont know why everyone gets so upset about this in global terms Australia is a tiny market compared to US and saudi etc which is the power market and fuel is so cheap there why would you want diesel

Offline Scolers

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2012, 09:22:12 AM »
Maybe they are ackowledging the issues they had with the deisel motor by not offering one in the new range?

Does it say what size V8? If it's bigger than the 4.7ltr in the Toyota then they might have a new customer. If they can put a 5.7V8 in the US 200 series then they should offer it here.

8)

Scol.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
veni vidi vici

Offline Ozdakar

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2012, 09:29:17 AM »
 They say its a 300kw 5.6l V8 & if you read the article they are aiming it at the upper end of the market where most sales are petrol not diesel, So made to suit a market I would think.

Andrew
GU 4.8L Patrol & Outback Eagle camper

Offline Scolers

« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2012, 09:29:20 AM »
Jusst read the full article ... 5.6ltr V8 ... Unless Toyota lift their game Nissan could have a new  customer.

:D

Scol.

veni vidi vici

« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2012, 09:35:22 AM »
The Y62 has a 5.6L 300Kw petrol V*. I doubt performance will be an issue.

Manufacturers have been putting diesels into most new models, even micro cars, so it's absence here is against the trend. I am not upset, just interested. I own a petro V8 Cruiser, though I would have preferred the diesel if I could have afforded the ridiculous price premium.

If I owned a GU I'd be cheering now, as their resale just went back up a bit.

Offline Scolers

« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2012, 09:41:18 AM »
I own the V8 toyota from choice and was hoping that Toyota would bring the bigger motor out here. Ive been waiting a long time but if it doesnt look they will then I will  likely get the new Nissan. Toyota have been too slow bringing the 5.7 V8 donk out in their 200 series imo.

Scol.

veni vidi vici

« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2012, 09:43:33 AM »
Petrol only, big flop coming up

Offline Campa

« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2012, 09:51:59 AM »
The good old days of car manufactures keeping global markets happy with different engine choices are gone.

« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2012, 09:52:27 AM »
I own the V8 toyota from choice and was hoping that Toyota would bring the bigger motor out here. Ive been waiting a long time but if it doesnt look they will then I will  likely get the new Nissan. Toyota have been too slow bringing the 5.7 V8 donk out in their 200 series imo.

And in fact they downsized the 4.7L to 4.6L this year so the 5.7L seems even further away. Possibly they are keeping it for Lexus only.

Offline Scolers

Re: Re: New Patrol unlikely to ever offer a diesel engine
« Reply #10 on: July 24, 2012, 09:58:38 AM »
And in fact they downsized the 4.7L to 4.6L this year so the 5.7L seems even further away. Possibly they are keeping it for Lexus only.

Looks like Toyo are pandering to the deisel market and Nissan is going the other way. Sorta makes you wonder if there was any collaberation ... :o

Scol.

veni vidi vici

« Reply #11 on: July 24, 2012, 10:23:07 AM »
The Y62 and the Lexus LX570 are going for the pony club market. And why wouldn't they, the best customer is one with money.

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #12 on: July 24, 2012, 10:45:04 AM »
I can't see Nissan selling too many of these but then again I don't think they care.  They still have the GU for the bulk of their sales.  They'll probably take a few sales away from the 200 series and Disco 4 brigade but I don't think Toyota will be too scared.

I wonder if ARB (and co) will even bother with aftermarket gear for the new Patrol?

« Reply #13 on: July 24, 2012, 10:53:27 AM »
Quote from: BigJules
The Y62 and the Lexus LX570 are going for the pony club market. And why wouldn't they, the best customer is one with money.

If 20 people are will to pay thru the ring for this hideous thing, and dont care how bad the fuel economy is, then all the power to nissan.. As Jules says, perfect for towing the living glue pots around.

But as in anything, never buy the first model of anything that comes out.. The Grenade is a prime example of that.

« Reply #14 on: July 24, 2012, 11:06:39 AM »
But as in anything, never buy the first model of anything that comes out.. The Grenade is a prime example of that.

As these have been sold in other markets, but particularly the middle east for some time, one would imagine that we're not getting a new model necessarily.

I wonder if ARB (and co) will even bother with aftermarket gear for the new Patrol?

I was wondering the same thing, but then again considered that it is sold into other markets, and even though they're an Australian company I'd also imagine that ARB does more business outside Australia these days, and may have already developed gear for this vehicle.

« Reply #15 on: July 24, 2012, 11:31:56 AM »
Quote from: BigJules
As these have been sold in other markets, but particularly the middle east for some time, one would imagine that we're not getting a new model necessarily.
yes, but the big fail unit was sold in other markets too... Personal preference..

I was wondering the same thing, but then again considered that it is sold into other markets, and even though they're an Australian company I'd also imagine that ARB does more business outside Australia these days, and may have already developed gear for this vehicle.
When we did the club tour the other day, he said they had this model there 2yrs ago.. some rich sandy sent them his unit for a demo, and he got it back fully loaded for his troubles...
The parts are already in stock waiting...

Offline DX grunt

« Reply #16 on: July 24, 2012, 11:41:03 AM »
Not for sale......My 2005, 4.2 TDi GU DX ute.  lol   :cup:

No frills, hose in hose out model, but very reliable. 
Nissan Patrol ute - ex Telstra - pod has heaps of 'glamping equipment', but not enough to be overloaded.

« Reply #17 on: July 24, 2012, 01:49:46 PM »
Since when in the last decade has Nissan made decisions based on good marketing advice? They murdered their small car sales by dropping the Pulsar. They dropped the 4.2 Patrol and ute and lost a heap of sales. The US like diesels too, Petrol there ain't dirt cheap and it's going up.

Tassie devils

« Reply #18 on: July 24, 2012, 02:16:37 PM »
Petrol only, big flop coming up

great photo D4D I was checking out the girl sitting on the mud bank, but if you look closely there's some dude doing a belly flop in the mud  :cheers:

« Reply #19 on: July 24, 2012, 07:15:29 PM »
Since when in the last decade has Nissan made decisions based on good marketing advice? They murdered their small car sales by dropping the Pulsar. They dropped the 4.2 Patrol and ute and lost a heap of sales. The US like diesels too, Petrol there ain't dirt cheap and it's going up.

Yeh Nissan is a great forward thinking car company     NOT  !!!!

I'm surprised there are still people buying that 3ltr bomb......

Pity we don't pay a proper price for our own oil, as the 4.8 Patrol is a cracker..

« Reply #20 on: July 24, 2012, 07:30:19 PM »
I am in a happy place, long live the 4.2    ;D

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #21 on: July 24, 2012, 07:50:58 PM »

Pity we don't pay a proper price for our own oil, as the 4.8 Patrol is a cracker..

No argument thier mate, I am quiteley kicking myself I decided to pull out of one 16mths ago whan my mate and I both had one lined up here in BNE, They were the last 2 avail and he took his and I bowed out.

To say it's a cracker of a truck is spot on. I would happily swap the 100 for one.

The thing is from my perspective , is that the D trucks are designed outside of aust and everyone I talk too who works in D tells me that our D is crap compared to the rest of the world, so all the CRD motors and such have all sorts of probs with longevity of injectors and pumps, and from the mates I have that have late model D engines ,(1 has a fleet of 14 , 79 series utes and is a D fitting company) Tells me that for the average punter the cost of P is still not far enough above D to justify the extra cost of buying a D let alone the long term running costs.

I am no expert at all in motors but I have a big thirsty P and I love it. Was cheap to by and maintain and over the 100K we have done it, it still is yet to have cost enough to have gone the D option,.

All comes down to personal situation but for $7500 I can rebuild my entire motor not just my injectors and pump. These are things to consider if buying a used truck etc.

Just my uneducated thoughts but its all about $$$ in the end and I like to factor the cost of repairs into car choices.

Jet ;D ;D

RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

« Reply #22 on: July 24, 2012, 07:55:28 PM »
probably lose some sales if this is the case... why would you buy an old tired design.......

New Patrol unlikely to ever offer a diesel engine
« Reply #23 on: July 24, 2012, 08:16:38 PM »
I would happily swap the 100 for one.
  ;D ;D

Stay off the sauce Theo. :) . A 4.8L Patrol makes our 100s look economical most times.

Offline WogsRus

« Reply #24 on: July 24, 2012, 08:20:50 PM »
I have it on good authority to make the following comments, i cannot release to much info, but i have it on good ground to say that the GU will be in production and sale in Australia and indeed Europe, until 2015. A updated GU9 will be release in October with a new updated interior and an updated power plant, i know which one, but i can;t say. I will say it has more then 4 cylinders. Wink Wink.

I love being in the know. LOL.

HAD 2007 NS GLX Pajero, 3.8L grunt, ex Cop,

NOW 50th Anniversary Simpson Edition Poootrol wit some fruit

"Speed doesn't kill. It's the sudden stop at the end"
"Live everyday as if it was your last, and some day it will"