Author Topic: To Pajero or not to Pajero...  (Read 31379 times)

Offline Sicilianmama

To Pajero or not to Pajero...
« on: May 22, 2012, 03:39:30 PM »
So I've got it in my head that we need a shiny new Pajero to match the shiny new Swan ;) However hubby is a bit harder to convince ???
Anyway I've just stumbled across a 2011 febuary plated pajero RX for $49990 turbo diesel auto, nudge bar, tow ball, Anderson plug, electric brakes. And about 49000klms on clock. So pretty much ready to go, we wouldn't need to do a thing! The thing is, it seems a bit too good to be true? Should I be worried? Could there be anything wrong with it?

I've also been looking at new ones and they are pretty good deal ATM too with the end of financial year blah blah, plus they have platinum editions out which are a bit blingy too.
2007 Holden Rodeo with 2012 Jayco Swan Outback :)

Re: To Pajero or not to Pajero...
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2012, 03:44:17 PM »
They're a good rig and now is the time to buy a car as the dealers and manufacturers are needing sales.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2012, 03:46:34 PM by D4D »

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2012, 03:44:59 PM »
Whats wrong with the Guy ???

If my SHMBO pointed me in that direction i'd take the hint.   ;D

Just run in and ready to roll.

Offer him $47k.

« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2012, 03:45:30 PM »
While some will say it is and some will say it is not, that can be a lot of kays for a just over 12 month old vehicle. Look out for flood damage.

« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2012, 03:50:41 PM »
Yeah, agreed, its done a few ks quickly.

Our workplace is full of similar sedans and SUV's.  They last 18 months and we trade pre 50k.  Fully serviced, executive driven.

Dealers cant wait until we trade, some staff buy them before they leave at trade price.

wouldnt let that put you off as long as service records are there, hopefully the rig has a second set of boots on bu now that are in good nick. Otherwise, bargain down.

Offline Sicilianmama

« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2012, 03:56:32 PM »
If we were going to go ahead I would get my mechanic to look at it 1st he would be able to see if it had flood damage etc wouldn't he? Also as far as the Klms go, as long as its been serviced it would be okay right?

Oh I wish I hadn't gone an looked at it, sigh now I want it or one just as good :(

« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2012, 04:37:16 PM »
We have a 2010 Pajero with 48,000kms and WE LOVE IT!!!

I get mine serviced every 4 months regardless of km's travelled even through they specify every 12mnths/12,500kms.

They are a great, reliable, capable, and comfortable vehicle.

For all things Pajero head to the Pajero Forum:  http://www2.pajeroclub.com.au/forum/index.php

Offline db

« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2012, 04:58:55 PM »

I get mine serviced every 4 months regardless of km's travelled even through they specify every 12mnths/12,500kms.

Let me know when you want to sell it John. 
Modcon Quattro
NW Pajero GLX-R

« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2012, 05:03:40 PM »
You must have more money than me...

« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2012, 05:04:38 PM »
We have a 2010 Pajero and it has never let us down. Keep them serviced and the engine will go for years. They are also greatly under rated as a 4 wheel drive.
How does that price compare once you add stamp duty etc. to a new one on road?

Offline Eureka

« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2012, 05:18:53 PM »
The kays indicate  a sales person use pattern, the options would suggest a company lease or factory demonstrator. A good look underneath for any off road dings, scrapes etc  would be good. If any, argue teh price down heaps! Get the VIN if you can and do the interstate  write off checks. But they do devalue pretty quickley so the price is OK, the options make it worth looking at.
 Mechanic check is  good idea. But at those kays the vehicle has a lot of life left in it. And despite what many Toyota and Nissan owners will say, the Paj is a very capable 4WD and good tow horse.

If life is stranger than you think, then it means you need to let your imagination off the leash more.

Offline Sicilianmama

« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2012, 06:23:03 PM »
We have a 2010 Pajero and it has never let us down. Keep them serviced and the engine will go for years. They are also greatly under rated as a 4 wheel drive.
How does that price compare once you add stamp duty etc. to a new one on road?

Hi Trevor this is what I'm finding on carsales and they are driveway price, however, no bullbar, no tow ball, no Anderson plug, no electric brakes, no floor mats, no sidesteps. Not sure how much all that other stuff would cost. Am gonna go get a price on a new one with what I need I think...

Offline Sicilianmama

« Reply #14 on: May 22, 2012, 06:58:29 PM »
Maybe you should talk to my missus, I tried to by her a Jeep Grand Cherokee but she doesn't want it...

Offline Withy

« Reply #15 on: May 22, 2012, 07:04:13 PM »
Maybe you should talk to my missus, I tried to by her a Jeep Grand Cherokee but she doesn't want it...

I'm happy if you buy me another one D4D. :laugh:

Mike.
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 70th Anniversary 3.0 CRD, 2012 JK Unlimited Wrangler CRD,Complete Campsite Kakadu 13ft

« Reply #16 on: May 22, 2012, 07:06:01 PM »
I'm happy if you buy me another one D4D. :laugh:

I don't think you would provide the 'benefits' she does  ;D

Offline Withy

« Reply #17 on: May 22, 2012, 07:09:07 PM »
I don't think you would provide the 'benefits' she does  ;D
Leave it at that :cheers:
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 70th Anniversary 3.0 CRD, 2012 JK Unlimited Wrangler CRD,Complete Campsite Kakadu 13ft

Offline Sicilianmama

« Reply #18 on: May 22, 2012, 07:09:39 PM »
I would be happy enough if you bought me a Jeep Grand Cherokee as long as its white ;)

« Reply #19 on: May 22, 2012, 07:26:01 PM »
Thanks dazzler I hadn't seen that site

Do what I did, get a quote for a new one in town first and then go country. Saved me 5k by driving two hundred kms

Offline Sicilianmama

« Reply #20 on: May 22, 2012, 07:53:39 PM »
Do what I did, get a quote for a new one in town first and then go country. Saved me 5k by driving two hundred kms
Yeah I've already wiped the local dealers, nothing but w@n&ers. Stood there for 3/4 hour and not even a hello won't be long. Got the sh!ts left & went back later, this time asked if I could get served only to be helped by some moron who couldn't even pretend to be helpful & when I asked for a trade price for mine offered a ridiculous amount. Im surprised they are still in business actually.

Offline becboo

• take nothing but pics leave nothing but footprints
To Pajero or not to Pajero...
« Reply #21 on: May 22, 2012, 07:55:21 PM »
I reckon you should talk to my hubby.  He's a shocker for buying stuff and then telling me after. Like the time he bought a cruiser ute.  I was half way between townsville and mt isa coming home from dropping the kids off at boarding school when he told me!!
Aussie Swag Camper towed by an awesome 100 series with goodies!!

Education & Intelligence accomplish nothing without action....

Offline onallfour

« Reply #22 on: May 22, 2012, 08:14:51 PM »
I have a 2009 pajero diesel and for me is better than other cars available for the price. You can check out www.redbook.com.au to compare prices of new/second hand cars to see if you are getting a good deal. Also http://www2.pajeroclub.com.au/ is a great help fpr pajeros too

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #23 on: May 22, 2012, 08:34:27 PM »
$49k is too much to pay for a 2011 model with 49k kms.I think anyway.
Seriously check for flood damage, also check for any noises from the body when you put one wheel upn the gutter, creaks/groans etc.
If noisy stay away.

Mine had 37k km for $41k and 2 years old. Paj's depreciate more than a Plado, thats why they are better to get used.

As far day to day driving and weekend fun goes, cant be beat for value.
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

« Reply #24 on: May 23, 2012, 10:45:49 AM »
Thanks dazzler I hadn't seen that site

Hi,  your welcome. I have used that site for two new vehicle purchases.  For those of us who cant or dont like to bargain with salesman that site is not bad.