Author Topic: Storm damage  (Read 33126 times)

Re: Storm damage
« Reply #25 on: November 28, 2014, 02:02:39 PM »
Swannie will be busy for the next year!

theres still debris and Shit everywhere... just drove past a BMW dealership, and theres at least 15 totally rooted cars ....

Offline Axl

« Reply #26 on: November 28, 2014, 04:02:17 PM »
My wife and I are away in the camper at Somerset dam north of Brisbane, 140km / hr plus winds me and the wife hanging on for dear life, most of the annex poles are stuffed, tropical roof was ripped of one side and I think the main bows are now bent to the left. I need to call the insurance company when we get home, thankfully we are alive it was the scariest 20 minutes of our lives, I will post some pics when we get home can't do it from the mobile, unbelievable to say the least
Cheers Axl

2010 14.44.3 OB Jayco Expanda
2018 Dual Cab LS-M Isuzu D-max
2013 Lifestyle Camper Trailers Explorer (Sold)

« Reply #27 on: November 28, 2014, 04:17:05 PM »
Gees, glad that wasn't me.  Scary enough just sitting in the car let alone trying to hang off a camper.  Hope you get some satisfaction from your insurer.

« Reply #28 on: November 28, 2014, 04:21:28 PM »
No hail & only 4.9 mm rain but did it blow! No damage except for the fence. Lucky with the paddock gate & lean to. More firewood for next winter I suppose!

« Reply #29 on: November 28, 2014, 04:35:46 PM »
Seem to be a lot more / severe storms in the past 4-5 years.

« Reply #30 on: November 28, 2014, 04:38:38 PM »
My wife and I are away in the camper at Somerset dam north of Brisbane, 140km / hr plus winds me and the wife hanging on for dear life, most of the annex poles are stuffed, tropical roof was ripped of one side and I think the main bows are now bent to the left. I need to call the insurance company when we get home, thankfully we are alive it was the scariest 20 minutes of our lives, I will post some pics when we get home can't do it from the mobile, unbelievable to say the least

Judging by the strength wind looking out of our work windows, I’m surprised the camper is even in one piece or wasn’t tipped over. Agree it would have been very scary.

« Reply #31 on: November 28, 2014, 04:44:35 PM »
Seem to be a lot more / severe storms in the past 4-5 years.

It's Tony Abbott's fault....... ;D

« Reply #32 on: November 28, 2014, 05:52:04 PM »
Came through Coopers Plains, Rocklea, Fairfield and Salisbury on my way to work this morning.
Wow. Looks like a bomb has gone off in places. We faired pretty well in Runcorn. Few small hail dents on the work ute and that's about it.
We live at Salisbury and i worked at Annerley today so drove through the same areas...we got off lightly at out place looking at the damage around Annerely i reckon

Few pics from the carnage....

ST BRENDANS FOOTBALL CLUB AT ROCKLEA AS THE STORM IS ABOUT TO HIT

OUR FRONT BEDROOM WINDOWS (after seeing Annerley today i'm glad it's only those windows broken at our place, we got off lightly)

TODAYS FUN AT WORK WAS CLEANING THIS STUFF UP IN A COUPLE OF UNITS, VACUUMING UP THE WET CARPET AND BOARDING THE WINDOWS UP ASWELL (that carpet was installed 2 days ago...lol)

« Last Edit: November 28, 2014, 05:53:44 PM by Rumpig »

« Reply #33 on: November 28, 2014, 05:53:24 PM »
Bugger about your place mate.

« Reply #34 on: November 28, 2014, 06:00:54 PM »
Bugger about your place mate.
:cheers: Olly....yeah sucks that it happened, but looking at the news footage  and seeing first hand the damage around Annerley today we got off lightly. Just some cleaning up of the glass and mopping up the water afterwards in our bedroom yesterday was all we had to do really, we lost an alarm clock and the gutter guard needs replacing i saw when i climbed on the roof this arvo, but that's it really. Our insurance company is onto the windows for us and we need to inform them of the gutter guard yet, but i can't complain really when i've seen houses today that are unliveable and seen hundreds of vehicles hail damaged and many of them likely to be written off, not to mention all the trees down about the suburbs also.....we've just had a minor inconvenience compared to many others, still plenty of places with no power yet either, where as we never lost ours at all luckily.

penski

« Reply #35 on: November 28, 2014, 06:15:13 PM »
My daughter and her partner watched their cars being trashed at Highgate Hill before the windows they were watching through started smashing. All part of living in Queensland, Beautiful One Day......

« Reply #36 on: November 28, 2014, 06:28:43 PM »
Rolling in past Hemmant.  :o

« Reply #37 on: November 28, 2014, 06:37:40 PM »
Yeah too right mal. Just being catching up on the news now. Crazy. They are good photos foo, scary looking stuff

Offline Elky

« Reply #38 on: November 28, 2014, 07:42:24 PM »
Looks like I should go to brissy and do some reglazing! Most of the highrise buildings will have 10mm toughened, laminated or even toughened laminated glass and this stuff can take some serious hits, pretty scary stuff from what I have seen on the idiot box, lets hope the the insurance companies don't stuff around!

I have heard already that some wont get the assessors around till next week because they don't work weekends! Seriously?

2010 TTD Landcruiser, i have added stuff but can't remember what! Slowly gettin quicker at setting up the brumby but breaking camp is another matter....

Offline MR MAC GU

« Reply #39 on: November 28, 2014, 07:55:23 PM »
We copped it pretty bad at home but luckily no damage to the house.
But the land cruiser I picked up only a week ago got absolutely smashed by hail and debris as the wife was driving home from Toowoong. She was in the Fairfield/ sailsbury area when it hit. Car is stuffed. Not drivable due to the smashed windscreen and several hundred dints. Hail was golf ball to cricket ball size. Dints the size of your fist.
A street sign bounced of the car and then into another car before wrapping itself around a power pole. Tree branches bouncing off the car everywhere.
The wife is ok but very traumatized. She thought she was going to die. Especially when the road she was stuck on started to flood.

Sent from Behind you...BOO
"I live with Fear everyday and sometimes She lets me RACE"

The Motley Crew 4x4 and Social Club of Australia inc
www.themotleycrew.com.au

2004 GU Patrol ST Wagon with all the good touring gear.
"Lifted Locked and Loaded"

2010 Kimberley Platinum Extreme with "extras"

« Reply #40 on: November 28, 2014, 08:05:30 PM »
Not good mate. Hope Amanda is alright.

Offline MR MAC GU

« Reply #41 on: November 28, 2014, 09:26:55 PM »
Yeah mate...she's just shaken up pretty bad

"I live with Fear everyday and sometimes She lets me RACE"

The Motley Crew 4x4 and Social Club of Australia inc
www.themotleycrew.com.au

2004 GU Patrol ST Wagon with all the good touring gear.
"Lifted Locked and Loaded"

2010 Kimberley Platinum Extreme with "extras"

Offline scrubber

« Reply #42 on: November 28, 2014, 09:31:25 PM »
I live north west of Brisbane and barely got anything - a little bit of rain (3.5mm), very little wind and no hail.  Theres one thing that I've learnt over  the years is that if there is a decent storm 8 times out 10 the south side will get plastered.   The storms generally  loose a lot of their sting by the time the hit north of the river.
I was 23 storey up in CBD right on the river and it sounded like a jet taking off and visibility was nil.  I didn't get home until 10 that night.
If only we could get a bit of rain though  - its dry as ^%# here and my tanks are nearly empty.
“Some national parks have long waiting lists for camping reservations. When you have to wait a year to sleep next to a tree, something is wrong.” George Carlin

« Reply #43 on: November 28, 2014, 10:04:47 PM »
Theres one thing that I've learnt over  the years is that if there is a decent storm 8 times out 10 the south side will get plastered.   
Rarely does it hit our suburb though, we have lived here 15 years and the only hail we've had here would be pea sized at best and i could count the number of times on one hand i reckon in that 15 year period. Most of the big storms split and go around us here, they usually come from the West and split and will hit places like Logan or the Western suburbs, we don't normally get storms here that have tracked from the South heading North and then hit us here like what happened yesterday.

« Reply #44 on: November 28, 2014, 10:08:38 PM »
Some amazim fotoz...

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #45 on: November 28, 2014, 10:37:48 PM »
we are at NINGi and got some decent hale right at the start of the rain, back yard covered in ice, as the wind hit with the rain the hale dropped in size and then we got 28mm of rain.

Standard fare storm up here but I think it had lost its puff after smashing Brisbane. 

I did collect some hale and we put it in the freezer for my Rum tonight ;D ;D ;D ;D

my son thinks God is telling me to drink... (we are non religious but my mother is full on so he gets the god stuff from her).

I took great amusement in his recital to her tonight that Jesus and God gave dad free ice for his rum ....  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Best of luck to all who got smashed up....

Jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

« Reply #46 on: November 28, 2014, 11:04:40 PM »
We copped it pretty bad at home but luckily no damage to the house.
But the land cruiser I picked up only a week ago got absolutely smashed by hail and debris as the wife was driving home from Toowoong. She was in the Fairfield/ sailsbury area when it hit. Car is stuffed. Not drivable due to the smashed windscreen and several hundred dints. Hail was golf ball to cricket ball size. Dints the size of your fist.
A street sign bounced of the car and then into another car before wrapping itself around a power pole. Tree branches bouncing off the car everywhere.
The wife is ok but very traumatized. She thought she was going to die. Especially when the road she was stuck on started to flood.

Sorry to hear. Probably lucky that she was in the cruiser for her protection.
One of my guys Jeeps got smashed....but its a jeep so deserved it.  >:D

« Reply #47 on: November 29, 2014, 07:37:12 AM »
all our vehicles were under cover thankfully, ran out of daylight and need to get up on roof to see how the solar panels faired aswell as the roof itself also
Brisbane has been smashed big time this arvo , massive damage about town
Mal
Sorry to see the damage to your & others property. We got off light! As a matter of interest (I'm hoping they escaped unscathed), how did the solar panels fare?
I hope the insurance blokes toe the line here.

« Reply #48 on: November 29, 2014, 06:05:37 PM »
some of the car yards between eagle farm and the motel in brissy there are some majorly smashed cars... the bloke at the new office his 3 week old Merc is worth jack shyte now.... and 25 cars at the dealer he got it from are toast too...

« Reply #49 on: November 30, 2014, 08:11:49 AM »
Mal
Sorry to see the damage to your & others property. We got off light! As a matter of interest (I'm hoping they escaped unscathed), how did the solar panels fare?
I hope the insurance blokes toe the line here.
Hey Steve,
Got up on the roof the next day and the solar panels appear to be fine, which did surprise me as they are laying flat on a 5 degree pitch roof. Maybe that pitch helped some though due to the angle the hail was coming in on with the 140kph wind blowing at the time, probably skidded off the panels as they hit (pretty sure they design them to be hail proof also). The gutter guard we had installed to save me climbing up on the roof of our high set house regularly has been destroyed and needs replacing, and the garage door on the shed needs replacing also i've noticed due to the hail dents in it. The Maverick lost it's side mirror and has a few hail dents in it i've noticed in the past few days, but it's just a cheap work ute and i won't get it repaired other then fixing the mirror myself.  I've actually just finished downloading the pics of the gutter guard and door onto our computer a few minutes ago, so will get onto informing them about that damage ASAP.
As to the insurance....we've been pretty happy with them so far, i haven't told them about the gutter guard and garage door yet but they sorted the window stuff out quickly and we've had several follow calls from them and the glass people in the past few days to keep us informded with what's happening, so can't ask for more at the moment.