Author Topic: Any truth in this?  (Read 40660 times)

Offline Ratbag

Re: Any truth in this?
« Reply #75 on: August 08, 2014, 07:43:30 PM »
You could have fooled me ::)

Ah, I see, maybe .

Would you please clarify what you mean by that?

Or have I misinterpreted what you said, or how you said it.

« Reply #76 on: August 08, 2014, 07:44:37 PM »
I might go into the shackle business, anyone want to buy one...

I also heard that if you don't have a myswag sticker on the back of your car and camper/caravan you can be fined also..... Talk about revenue raising.... ;D

« Reply #77 on: August 08, 2014, 07:45:20 PM »

I got no idea what anyone is saying on this topic!!!

« Reply #78 on: August 08, 2014, 07:46:58 PM »
I got no idea what anyone is saying on this topic!!!

That's ok, neither do they :)

« Reply #79 on: August 08, 2014, 07:47:31 PM »
I was informed by Cub Campers when I picked my new Cub Daintree LE about 10 weeks ago of this very issue. I therefore assumed that this was correct and that rated shackles are required now and I gather are being enforce in some jurisdictions.  I have since done a search on the web and found many pages confirming the requirements for RATED shackles.

Hey dexter, you are right, there are standards for rated shackles but the regulations don't require you to have one connecting the safety chain to the towbar... Probably should be though...

Offline JD-120

« Reply #80 on: August 08, 2014, 07:50:15 PM »
That's ok, neither do they :)
Doesn't matter. It's cheap entertainment

« Reply #81 on: August 08, 2014, 07:53:35 PM »
Would you please clarify what you mean by that?

Offline Ratbag

« Reply #82 on: August 08, 2014, 07:57:45 PM »

Am I to take it that the rest of you is smart as well?

« Reply #83 on: August 08, 2014, 08:19:08 PM »
Ratbag, are you  related to ProdigyRF?

Good on you pal, worthwhile debate.

« Reply #84 on: August 08, 2014, 08:19:59 PM »

I was actually thinking Barry

« Reply #85 on: August 08, 2014, 08:20:39 PM »
What happened to prodigyrf?

« Reply #86 on: August 08, 2014, 08:21:42 PM »

Unrated shackles got him.......

Offline Ratbag

« Reply #87 on: August 08, 2014, 08:25:47 PM »
Gidday Mace

Good on you pal, worthwhile debate.

Not that I know of. It's been a very long time since I lived in Adelaide, assuming his location is accurate. In fact, I haven't even visited there for some years now. Too long. My sister and a few very good friends live there and in the general vicinity.

« Reply #88 on: August 08, 2014, 08:27:43 PM »
Sorry, still laughing my guts out at the last few posts!

Ratbag, well done mate, you sustain a great argument in the face of adversity, Prodigy e would be proud of you.

« Last Edit: August 08, 2014, 08:29:25 PM by Mace »

Offline Ratbag

« Reply #89 on: August 08, 2014, 08:29:48 PM »
Gidday Swannie

According to his user profile, he was last active on 6 August this year. So it would appear that nothing's happened to him, AFAICS.

Being an admin on another forum, one does get rather used to checking things out as a matter of routine.

« Reply #90 on: August 08, 2014, 08:31:23 PM »
That's great, funny how people come & go. Just haven't seen him post for awhile

Offline Ratbag

« Reply #91 on: August 08, 2014, 08:35:01 PM »
G'day again Mace

Sorry, still laughing my guts out at the last few posts!

Ratbag, well done mate, you sustain a great argument in the face of adversity, Prodigy e would be proud of you.

Thank you. I try to stay on topic, and try to ignore the wilfully ignorant.

Unfortunately, I am not a crossing of Mother Theresa and the Dalai Lama ...  ;) .

One of our close friends has me listed as "Mr Grumpy" in her mobile phone ...

At 65+, and with what has been done to me to keep me alive (for which I am extremely grateful to all concerned, I might add  ;D ), I reckon that I've earned the right to be a little curmudgeonly at times. I try not to be, but sometimes things just get up one's left nostril ...  ;) :o .

« Reply #92 on: August 08, 2014, 09:26:16 PM »
To the OP.

Offline Ratbag

« Reply #93 on: August 08, 2014, 09:50:48 PM »
Gidday Mark

You should know better than to allow the facts to get in the way of some really hot BS, backed up by "the social media" as 'evidence' ...  ;) :o  ROTFL ... .

At least it's better than one forum I am more than a little familiar with, where one of the most egregious trolls ever whelped quotes himself as a reference - now that takes a pathological personality with delusions of grandeur and he also has more than just a smidgeon of paranoia thrown in for good measure. It also takes more than just a little chutzpah:laugh:   :-X

Offline grafy82

« Reply #94 on: August 08, 2014, 10:07:06 PM »
This is too funny. Haven't heard this much legal talk since the naughty 3 letter name guys got their knickers in a knot  ;D
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

Offline Wunderlust

• NoSetPlan.com.au
« Reply #95 on: August 09, 2014, 12:20:59 AM »
Rated shackles and chain great - it means they are tested or at least batch proof tested, hence stamped and should theoretically have a certificate to confirm this.

Now here's the bit that makes no sense what so ever.. The chain weld to the aframe. This should also be specified to a minimum specification (australian standards) on the weld quality, length, inspection etc.. and tested to meet the equivelent 'all connectors to be rated'.

Have I missed something?
No Set Plan - Our Aussie Adventurehttp://www.nosetplan.com.au

Offline gordo350

« Reply #96 on: August 09, 2014, 07:28:16 AM »
Being Saturday can we all go and buy new shackles from your preferred supplier and shut this thread down. my head hurts
Gordo 350
2015 Ford Ranger Super Cab
Aussie Jays Big Red
everyone is entitled to my opinion

« Reply #97 on: August 09, 2014, 07:39:20 AM »
Being Saturday can we all go and buy new shackles from your preferred supplier and shut this thread down. my head hurts

I agree mate, had enough of it all...but I'm not buying new shackles... ;D

« Reply #98 on: August 09, 2014, 07:56:52 AM »
So...  A tow hitch on a trailer legally needs to be load rated, a tow ball legally needs to be load rated, a tow bar on a car legally needs to be load rated and safety chains legally needs to be load rated. 

Yet people are unsure if the shackles connecting the load rated chains to the load rated tow bar need to be load rated?

« Reply #99 on: August 09, 2014, 07:59:12 AM »
So...  A tow hitch on a trailer legally needs to be load rated, a tow ball legally needs to be load rated, a tow bar on a car legally needs to be load rated and safety chains legally needs to be load rated. 

Yet people are unsure if the shackles connecting the load rated chains to the load rated tow bar need to be load rated?

The question nobody has answered is, do I need rated shackles to keep the wife chained to the kitchen?