Author Topic: Pearls of Wisdom.. (or what I learnt the hard way)  (Read 34606 times)

Re: Pearls of Wisdom.. (or what I learnt the hard way)
« Reply #100 on: March 19, 2012, 09:46:42 PM »
and don't take a leek before you wash your hands (very well) yep learnt that one the hard way in my first year as an apprentice chef
troy
When your young playing rugby you learn quickly to have a leek before applying deep heat

Offline TroyE

• you can't buy experience
« Reply #101 on: March 19, 2012, 10:10:24 PM »
When your young playing rugby you learn quickly to have a leek before applying deep heat
;) yep
you can't polish a turd, BUT you can roll it in glitter...

Offline johnyd

« Reply #102 on: March 19, 2012, 10:25:09 PM »
Don't take a bet about throwing rocks across rivers while in Northern NSW (Walgett), unless of course you brought an appropriate sized rock with you that is, or the other person is the one claiming they can throw it >:)

Also make sure said river isn't flooded at the time.  Mate had heard about it, and bet me in town (thinking it was the first time I'd been out there as well), he pulled out his rock when we got back in the ute and bounced it from hand to hand the entire way out of town.  We got the the "river" which had well and truly broken it's banks.  I got accused of cheating him :O

« Reply #103 on: March 19, 2012, 11:19:36 PM »
Cruisin Dub, where abouts are you, I may be able to help get your glass replaced?
South West WA, a bit far away from you Greg, though Many Thanks anyway.
Dont know anything about rendering, brick paving, painting, new kitchens,  new bathrooms, new laundrys, landscaping etc etc,

Yep, house refurb and its a pain in the ass,
Rather be drinking, rather be relaxing, all be worth it in the end. Patience is my virtue, hence the broken window........

Cheers for your offer,
you'll find me here everyday from sun up till when ever my patience runs out....

« Reply #104 on: March 20, 2012, 06:08:46 AM »
South West WA, a bit far away from you Greg, though Many Thanks anyway.
Dont know anything about rendering, brick paving, painting, new kitchens,  new bathrooms, new laundrys, landscaping etc etc,

Yep, house refurb and its a pain in the ass,
Rather be drinking, rather be relaxing, all be worth it in the end. Patience is my virtue, hence the broken window........

Cheers for your offer,
you'll find me here everyday from sun up till when ever my patience runs out....

Cheers mate, I actually have collegues over WA, so if you ever need glass just ask

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
« Reply #105 on: March 20, 2012, 08:50:35 AM »

And don't scratch after either.

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

Offline bushrat

• TRV 2
« Reply #106 on: March 24, 2012, 04:33:22 PM »

When ones wife comes home form work in a not so good of a mood and you ask her how her day was
and she replies "I've worked my butt off today." DON'T, I mean really DON'T reply as she is walking past
"A little longer at work wouldn't of hurt."
Some mistakes are too much fun to make only once.

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #107 on: March 24, 2012, 04:50:24 PM »
Wsa just doing the preparations for tonights stir fry, and just finished cutting the chillies.  The phone rang so I answered it, and after a few minutes chatting, hung up and went to the littlest room in the house.  Quickly realised that I did not wash my hands first, only one appropriate word.....OUCH !

« Reply #108 on: March 24, 2012, 06:34:23 PM »
Wsa just doing the preparations for tonights stir fry, and just finished cutting the chillies.  The phone rang so I answered it, and after a few minutes chatting, hung up and went to the littlest room in the house.  Quickly realised that I did not wash my hands first, only one appropriate word.....OUCH !

You catch on quick ,,,,,,nop,,,,, >:D

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #109 on: March 24, 2012, 06:49:55 PM »

You catch on quick ,,,,,,nop,,,,, >:D

Not nice Speewa, I made a mistake and suffered the consequences.  Keep that up and I won't hold the stubbies, I will make it cans instead.

Offline Crockett

« Reply #110 on: March 24, 2012, 07:04:38 PM »

If brut force and ignorance don't work,,,, get a bigger hammer

« Reply #111 on: March 24, 2012, 07:47:48 PM »
Not nice Speewa, I made a mistake and suffered the consequences.  Keep that up and I won't hold the stubbies, I will make it cans instead.

You can can me anytime ,  ;D ;D ;D    :cheers:

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
« Reply #112 on: March 24, 2012, 08:18:23 PM »

And wipe his chilli covered hands over the top of the can. ;D ;D ;D

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

Offline Campfire

« Reply #113 on: March 24, 2012, 08:53:54 PM »
OK this relates to careers and professional development.

You can have 1 year worth of experience 20 times over or you can have 20 years of experience.

Secondly:  I've found education opens many doors and exciting opportunities.

This is something which I am reinforcing with kids as they go through high school.

A job / career with good conditions means $$$$ for a nice flashy camper trailer.

Campfire
« Last Edit: March 24, 2012, 08:59:00 PM by Campfire »

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #114 on: March 25, 2012, 12:47:07 AM »

Many moons ago, a friend was cutting chillies for a curry. His significant other (SWMBO) walked naked through the kitchen on her way to the shower.  He gave her a little Tweak as she passed. 

Almost instantaneously, she realised she'd need to sit in the bath, rather than have a shower!
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #115 on: March 25, 2012, 01:23:31 AM »
Many moons ago, a friend was cutting chillies for a curry. His significant other (SWMBO) walked naked through the kitchen on her way to the shower.  He gave her a little Tweak as she passed. 

Almost instantaneously, she realised she'd need to sit in the bath, rather than have a shower!

Um, let me guess, he didn't do that a second time.

Pearls of Wisdom.. (or what I learnt the hard way)
« Reply #116 on: March 25, 2012, 10:14:52 AM »
Not did she :(

« Reply #117 on: April 04, 2012, 01:47:14 PM »
It's best not to bend over quickly just after inserting a suppository  ;) they turn into really slippery little tackers very quickly  :-[

Offline outback jack

« Reply #118 on: April 04, 2012, 01:51:17 PM »
It's best not to bend over quickly just after inserting a suppository

a doctor gave me some suppositories once and for all the good they were i may as well have shoved them up my ar5e

« Reply #119 on: April 04, 2012, 02:37:37 PM »
a doctor gave me some suppositories once and for all the good they were i may as well have shoved them up my ar5e
spose you put em in your back passage ?  ;D

Offline outback jack

« Reply #120 on: April 04, 2012, 04:14:18 PM »
spose you put em in your back passage ?  ;D

no i swallowed them (just joking)  :cheers:

Offline Mojo

« Reply #121 on: August 31, 2014, 07:15:22 PM »
Just back from our first trip in our new CT and I have learnt 2 valuable lessons....well one for me and one for the wife...

1, when the Kid wants something at 2 am it may be prudent for the missus to use the step up option rather than just get out of bed.....5ft is a long step..

2, when the wife steps / falls out of bed NEVER EVER LAUGH! her pain soon becomes yours, even at 2am....

Mojo.....still tending my bruises. :'( :'(

Offline Shelbyright

« Reply #122 on: August 31, 2014, 09:46:27 PM »
Never have a conversation with a wotkmate while you mobile phone is in your pocket. It may accidentally speed dial home and leave a very long message on the answering machine. Which your very angry wife will play to you over and over when you get home, while you bable and blunder your way into a deeper abyss.

You are born, you will die.
What are you doing in the meantime?

Landcruiser HDJ100, Complete Campsite Kakadu

« Reply #123 on: September 01, 2014, 06:16:08 AM »
1- Empty metal jerry cans make a lot of noise in the holder when your getting frisky with the Misses at night.
2- On a nice peaceful night the sound of metal banging on metal carries all through the camping area.
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #124 on: September 02, 2014, 07:17:43 PM »

Just back from our first trip in our new CT and I have learnt 2 valuable lessons....well one for me and one for the wife...

1, when the Kid wants something at 2 am it may be prudent for the missus to use the step up option rather than just get out of bed.....5ft is a long step..

Mojo.....still tending my bruises. :'( :'(

That's what kids safety rails are for