Author Topic: Anyone had an old Valiant?  (Read 11474 times)

Re: Anyone had an old Valiant?
« Reply #25 on: October 06, 2017, 12:00:34 PM »
Quote from: Mace
Yeah, but take your time and wait until they come up.

Last week down in Hobart an XP Falcon sedan  came up on Facebook.  I would have called it in fair condition.  Registered until a month ago, driveable, minimal rust. Paint was faded, but if your into patina, it was fine.  It was offered for $4500.  It sold in the time it took for me to show it to the missus and then send a message to the poster. Literally two minutes.  Sometime things like that come up, but you need to have the $$ ready.  :cheers:
agree totally - bargains always come up when you have no cash around too :(

So you learnt from this - don't worry about the missus approval next time just do it!   ;) ;) ;)

« Reply #26 on: October 06, 2017, 12:50:34 PM »
Quote from: nab
I'm a Ford man and have been looking at Falcons/Fairlanes but half decent ones are $20k minimum.
like old holdens?
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/dirty-creek/cars-vans-utes/ej-eh-holden-windowless-panel-van/1160272902/

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #27 on: October 06, 2017, 03:30:28 PM »

Here's my old Val. Sold it about 3 months ago. This sold for 19k.

I nearly had this Pacer in the shed but I missed it because I sat on it to long. Sold for 10k. I had plans of doing a full mechanical resto on it but leave the body the way it was.
Cheer, Mike.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2017, 03:32:54 PM by Coolblue80 »
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

Offline rusty gates

« Reply #28 on: October 06, 2017, 05:45:35 PM »
I know it's not a Valiant, but I've got one of these.....

Offline fc_holden

« Reply #29 on: October 06, 2017, 06:18:26 PM »
should have read whole of thread before replying 😔
« Last Edit: October 06, 2017, 06:20:09 PM by fc_holden »
Live One Day At A Time For Tomorrow May Never Come, Homemade camper trailer with roof top tent, 2014 Landcruiser 200 series Altitude and Coromal 611 caravan

[img width=50 height=33]http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g114/tuggeranong/Southern%20Glen%20Helen%20Gorge/DSC_2219-2.jpg[/im

« Reply #30 on: October 06, 2017, 09:56:31 PM »
Awesome pics guys!

If I was ready to buy I would jump on something like this at $14k. Any reason not to? An equivalent ford would be $25+. Or maybe a CM. Not into the early 60s models. Some nice 6s for under $10k but for me it has to be a V8, had plenty of 6s in the past...

https://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/Chrysler-Valiant-1967/SSE-AD-4811554/?Cr=30

Offline galah

« Reply #31 on: October 07, 2017, 07:02:25 PM »
no, for the older valiants, the 265 is the engine of choice.

We towed a rally car on an A frame with a valiant ute with a 265.   Going to the rally, with just tools in the back, the ute was crap.  No traction anywhere.  Coming back, with a rally car locating the rear end on the a-frame, that ute would overtake anything!

Then it got a bit older and less cared for. I recall burning 20 litres of oil driving from Sydney to Brisbane.  2 or 3 stops to refill the oil for each fuel stop..
The following users thanked this post: Ragman

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #32 on: October 07, 2017, 07:12:34 PM »
Awesome pics guys!

If I was ready to buy I would jump on something like this at $14k. Any reason not to? An equivalent ford would be $25+. Or maybe a CM. Not into the early 60s models. Some nice 6s for under $10k but for me it has to be a V8, had plenty of 6s in the past...

https://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/Chrysler-Valiant-1967/SSE-AD-4811554/?Cr=30
That is Sh#t. A VIP is supposed to be classy. That is anything but.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

« Reply #33 on: October 07, 2017, 07:15:30 PM »
Unless its a pacer or six pack its gotta be a 318, or a 340 if you want to get a bit more serious.

« Reply #34 on: October 08, 2017, 09:14:08 AM »
That is Sh#t. A VIP is supposed to be classy. That is anything but.

I tend to agree, a nice car let down by poor taste.

Its in the ballpark $ wise, and if its a genuine 318 matching numbers car will increase in value if returned to original.

Dont take the recommendation it has to be a 265 too seriously, there are some really nice 160hp 225 slant 6s out there from earlier years, and Mopar 273 and 318 V8s are becoming rarer.

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #35 on: October 08, 2017, 10:49:21 AM »
I tend to agree, a nice car let down by poor taste.

Its in the ballpark $ wise, and if its a genuine 318 matching numbers car will increase in value if returned to original.

Dont take the recommendation it has to be a 265 too seriously, there are some really nice 160hp 225 slant 6s out there from earlier years, and Mopar 273 and 318 V8s are becoming rarer.

Yep. And as they get older and fewer are around, I think originality is where it's at. By all means modify them if you want, but do it in a way that can be returned to original.
Cheers, Mike.

« Reply #36 on: October 08, 2017, 07:16:31 PM »
I am all for original, original sale papers and logbooks would make me drool! In the one I linked to, I imagined returning it to stock would be removing the rear black stripe, 2x bonnet scoops and standard wheels. I can look past the wheels and stripe but the bonnet scoops are awful.

Gotta be a V8 too, 6s are not on the shopping list although some are quite tempting.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2017, 07:21:44 PM by nab »

« Reply #37 on: October 08, 2017, 07:41:30 PM »

Offline GrumpyOne

« Reply #38 on: October 12, 2017, 07:45:22 AM »
My first car was a 1966 VC AP6, with a slant 6.

Sold it to my cousin for next to nothing buy an XE Falcon and regret it everyday since. He subsequently killed it as a paddock basher!!

Have recently become interested again and have convinced the better half that I need one.  Just gotta find something half decent.

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #39 on: October 12, 2017, 01:08:59 PM »
There was a really neat one for sale in Shep recently - check Gumtree ....Not mine i just look ....a lot !

I have no more room till i build or extend my shed .
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff
The following users thanked this post: GrumpyOne

« Reply #40 on: January 30, 2021, 03:20:58 AM »
Bit of a thread dig (found the thread looking for something else) but thought I would update.

Finally got myself a chrome classic March 2020. Valiant prices had taken off, anything Aussie was stupid money, add a V8 and price jumps exponentially again. Ended up with a 1975 Mercedes 280S. Fantastic condition, all original, runs and drives great. Previous owner spent $14k doing things like tyres, bearings, oil leaks, brakes etc etc so all the hard work was done. Only a 6cyl but for $7.5k I couldn't say no!!!

« Reply #41 on: January 30, 2021, 04:02:54 AM »
It looks good too.

They drive nice too.
Make sure you use a mechanic that knows those ol girls.

If I owned that, i'd get a guy to do some white wall stripes on the existing tyres or fit a set of proper white wall tyres.

A set of whites would really make the car pop.

« Reply #42 on: January 30, 2021, 10:18:37 AM »
Steffo1 had maybe an AP6? ??? ??? back when he had shoulder length non grey hair ;D
Back in the dinosaur days  :laugh:

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #43 on: January 31, 2021, 07:48:51 AM »
Bit of a thread dig (found the thread looking for something else) but thought I would update.

Finally got myself a chrome classic March 2020. Valiant prices had taken off, anything Aussie was stupid money, add a V8 and price jumps exponentially again. Ended up with a 1975 Mercedes 280S. Fantastic condition, all original, runs and drives great. Previous owner spent $14k doing things like tyres, bearings, oil leaks, brakes etc etc so all the hard work was done. Only a 6cyl but for $7.5k I couldn't say no!!!

I do like the early Mercs. I do like original cars but I would love to do an engine conversion on one. LS or N/A Barra. Nothing outrages horsepower wise, just a bit of modern poke.
Cheers, Mike.

« Reply #44 on: January 31, 2021, 08:16:20 AM »
Back in the dinosaur days  :laugh:
Steve had Hair?????

« Reply #45 on: January 31, 2021, 11:20:30 AM »
I do like the early Mercs. I do like original cars but I would love to do an engine conversion on one. LS or N/A Barra. Nothing outrages horsepower wise, just a bit of modern poke.
Cheers, Mike.

It’s not n the cards if this motor carks it. Neighbour has a ba falcon he doesn’t use anymore and was going to take it to the wreckers, I got first dibs when he gets rid of it....