Author Topic: Anyone had an old Valiant?  (Read 11477 times)

Anyone had an old Valiant?
« on: October 03, 2017, 11:24:13 PM »
I've been thinking about getting an old car, something from the 70's with a V8. Probably a couple of years away yet but I like to keep my eye on the market. I'm a Ford man and have been looking at Falcons/Fairlanes but half decent ones are $20k minimum. I don't mind the old Valiants (old man had one) and they are much better value for money.

I'm all over the Fords regarding models/engines/trannys etc having owned a few back in the day but I don't know much at all about the Valiants except I like them.

Anyone had one?
What are spares parts like to find (any recommendations in WA)?
Any forums/websites to check out?
Anything to look out for other than rust?

Offline Ragman

Re: Anyone had an old Valiant?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2017, 11:51:18 PM »
had a couple the VJ ute and VM ELB Regal, the 265 six is the best motor ever made in those days.
I tried to be a holden man but in honestly the Valiants were way better in every way.

tip (pulled the ELB ignition dizzy and chucked in a std points unit easy fix.)

« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2017, 04:22:00 AM »
The VC VIP was a very good car from back in 67. Plenty of nice trim, a tidy little 273 V8 and auto. Really nice to drive.

In the era of the 70's, there was issues with rust around the steering box mountings. Most by now would have been plated and braced, as it was a common problem. They also had fairly light power steering at highway speeds.

You could always shoot for an old SV1 or RV1 from the early 60's, the first model had the fake spare wheel cover on the boot.
Everyone reckons they look like a garbage bin lid bolted on the boot.

You'll also find, on the Aussie websites like Just Cars and the like, lots of cars for sale that have been sold years ago. When I was Caddy hunting, the number of people who said they'd asked numerous times for cars to be removed was a pain.

Don't rule out a Lefty form the good ol USA either, look under Plymouth Valiant on either Hemmings or Carsales.com.

Some good cars, way more to choose from and USAtoAUS can get it here for ya.

Oh, and left hook is piss easy to drive too.

https://www.hemmings.com/classifieds/cars-for-sale/plymouth/valiant/1948242.html
« Last Edit: October 04, 2017, 05:53:01 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2017, 10:33:59 AM »
I had two 66/67 VC Valiants as a young lad, the standard slant 6 225 and a VIP V8, power wise not a big difference really when you drove the cars, lots of performance were available for them too, still are I think, not that they really needed them, they were alot more powerful in standard trim than the standards or hotted fords and Holdens from the era.

When looking for these search Dodge 106 also, they came in 3 variants, Ute, Wagon and Sedan, good honest car.

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2017, 05:10:08 PM »
Vals are slowly climbing in price. Would help if you knew what model your thinking of. Good Pacers are out of your budget. So are any of the Chargers. Parts are easy to come by. Pentastar Parts, Elko and Hemi Performance are the main players. I'd stick with Pentastar Parts, good service and price. Good panels can be hard to find depending on the model. Get the car with the least amount of rust. Body work gets expensive when chasing rust. Mechanicals are simple and easy to work on.
Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2017, 07:37:46 PM »
We had a CM 265 auto wagon for 13 years. Couldn't kill it.
Sunstone = Chrysler Aust speak for ORANGE
I'm a blue oval fancier, but after owning one the Vals are now a favourite.
I bought it 'cos it was 1 owner, low k's, shiny and cheap, but it really grew on me. Nothing flash, just a very honest car.
One of 3 previous drives that I regret selling....

« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2017, 07:53:22 PM »
Hi Nab, I know bugger all about them but my two brother inlaws have a few SV1s completely restored between them they are great looking old car, Criag

Offline broncos11

« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2017, 08:01:51 PM »
Steffo1 had maybe an AP6??????? back when he had shoulder length non grey hair ;D
2003 IFS V8 100 series

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2017, 09:56:30 PM »
Get one !
I've had fords n holdens from the mid sixties to late 70's all of my youth ( I am still youthful ...... )
Got a Val  approx 10 yrs ago , still have it !

It's my favourite car , has been everywhere , is not pretty but wears it well .
Slant 6 , poo brown , cream vynil roof - doesn't get any better .
1969 VF VIP .
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2017, 10:38:04 PM »

770 two door coupe running a 318. A Mexican if you can find one.
Tell me this aint a sweet ride.

Or if you can find one a CH or CJ Chrysler by Chrysler 2 door.

« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2017, 11:22:20 PM »
Saw one of those Val coupes on a truck going up the highway  yesterday [  part done " complete "project car by the looks ] Thought it had the CL / M type front clip on it though . There was also a Mazda 929 / RX-4 coupe [ Looked a complete period survivor car, mags,  spoilers  etc  ]  and an out of place early 2000's  model falcon .

Offline shakey55

« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2017, 04:13:35 AM »
I learnt to drive in an AP5 - push button automatic

A bloody long time ago

« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2017, 05:42:09 AM »
If you are on Facebook then join a page called unfinished projects. The Val pops up from time to time but usually "projects" but sometimes a complete or near complete car.

« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2017, 05:48:10 AM »
Holy Crap.... the HQ sedan is a bit rough around the edges.  ;D

« Reply #15 on: October 05, 2017, 08:05:35 PM »
My Speedway Valiant.
Won point score 4 out of 5 years.
3rd in state tittles out of 35 cars.
Lap record at Lismore Speedway.

« Last Edit: October 05, 2017, 08:08:23 PM by MarkGU »

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #16 on: October 05, 2017, 08:55:44 PM »

Always wanted one these tbh

Offline vern

« Reply #17 on: October 06, 2017, 05:11:11 AM »
Out of all the cars from the 60's and 70's i have owned (30odd) i miss my CL770 charger, factory 4 speed and 265 hemi, and my VG coupe with 318 i built into a reasonable 13sec sleeper the most

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #18 on: October 06, 2017, 07:40:52 AM »
770 two door coupe running a 318. A Mexican if you can find one.
Tell me this aint a sweet ride.

Had one of those for a while, but with a 360. Really enjoyed it.

I'd reckon body parts would be harder to find but finding engine parts shouldn't be too hard, especially performance bits.

« Reply #19 on: October 06, 2017, 08:25:44 AM »
I learnt to drive in the 4 door version of the above car with a the 6 cylinder. It needed at least a litre of oil and one of the engine mounts broke, so the motor was leaning on the inner guard for 12 months, but didn’t affect its performance and shamed many Fords/Holden’s leaving the lights. 

« Reply #20 on: October 06, 2017, 09:26:12 AM »
Anything with 2 doors (except a ute)  will be big $$.  I sold my VG Pacer Coupe 10 years ago, it would now cost me 3 x the dosh to buy in back.

A lot of people ask big money for them, however it is possible to buy a reasonable Val to use daily  from anywhere between $8 and $10k.  This would cover anything from a AP5/VC thru to the final CM's.

There a a couple of good FB pages that I have seen a few come up on:

Valiant VE VF VG -fans of the Aussie A Body

farm wrecks rusty relics & old car sales australia

Valiant cars

This sale was a reasonable result considering it was a non matching numbers vehicle.  If it had retained its original V8 it may have gone for 2 - 3 times the price.

https://www.shannons.com.au/auctions/2017-shannons-melbourne-spring-classic-auction/XD9775X07D9IGYB3/

Happy Hunting.

« Reply #21 on: October 06, 2017, 09:30:13 AM »
Quote from: Mace
This sale was a reasonable result considering it was a non matching numbers vehicle.  If it had retained its original V8 it may have gone for 2 - 3 times the price.

https://www.shannons.com.au/auctions/2017-shannons-melbourne-spring-classic-auction/XD9775X07D9IGYB3/
That looks very nice! Any idea how much it went for?

this went for $7k which I reckon is cheap
https://www.shannons.com.au/auctions/2012-shannons-melbourne-autumn-classic-auction/BK591Y38QW579E50/

« Reply #22 on: October 06, 2017, 10:26:22 AM »
That looks very nice! Any idea how much it went for?

It made $6000.

$7k for the matching numbers AP5 is good value, some are seen selling for $10 - $15k.

It all gets down to what someone wants to pay.  People want to have a reminder of their childhood and pay over the top $$

« Last Edit: October 06, 2017, 10:28:23 AM by Mace »

« Reply #23 on: October 06, 2017, 10:27:06 AM »
Quote from: Mace
It made $6000.
Less than I thought :) Maybe there are some bargains to be had in Old Val's if you pick the right one

« Reply #24 on: October 06, 2017, 10:33:03 AM »
Less than I thought :) Maybe there are some bargains to be had in Old Val's if you pick the right one

Yeah, but take your time and wait until they come up.

Last week down in Hobart an XP Falcon sedan  came up on Facebook.  I would have called it in fair condition.  Registered until a month ago, driveable, minimal rust. Paint was faded, but if your into patina, it was fine.  It was offered for $4500.  It sold in the time it took for me to show it to the missus and then send a message to the poster. Literally two minutes.  Sometime things like that come up, but you need to have the $$ ready.  :cheers: