Author Topic: Electric chainsaws????  (Read 1161 times)

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
Electric chainsaws????
« on: August 29, 2011, 12:57:40 PM »
Hey guys

I recently sold my Stihl 044 chainsaw as I now longer have a wood fire and it was over kill for a camping saw. I was considering replacing it with a smaller Stihl pruning type saw for camping duties.

However I also has a thought that for this job a cheap electric saw may do the job. I always take my generator with me (Honda eu20i) so i have a reliable power source.

The benefits that I see are no need to carry fuel/tools etc for the saw, they are very compact and would fit more easily into the CT, I already take the Genny and extention cables, they are cheap. They would also be quiet. 

The negative are, well they are a toy. But for fire wood duties it could be a goer.

You thoughts or experiences.

http://www.bunnings.com.au/products_product_makita-uc3520a-electric-chainsaw_460.aspx

Re: Electric chainsaws????
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2011, 01:02:29 PM »
You could try one of these
http://www.usbchainsaw.com/

I have an up sized one similar

« Last Edit: August 29, 2011, 01:04:01 PM by darren »

Offline Jason B

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2011, 01:08:00 PM »
You are a unit Darren.  :cheers:

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2011, 01:10:25 PM »
Theres several chainsaw threads that have good words to say about battery (using drill batteries) operated saws...
Cant see why electric wouldnt work

but you'd be pist if you got to a point with a tree over track and you couldnt turn around and only had the electric or battery saw.

Offline rodw

« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2011, 01:12:44 PM »
Probably not much more to buy an Ozito chain saw from Bunnings. My neighbour has one for camping and we used it the other day to chop a tree down. Not a bad little saw, very compact but not swapping my Stihl 090 for it  ;D

I reckon if you are used to a motorised one, the electric one will give you the Sh1ts. I always cut my firewood to size as I gather it and would not like to have to take a Gennie with me to do that!

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2011, 07:25:14 PM »
Jas,

Can't see why not bit of a different approach, but hey any saw beats an axe .

I genrally swing the axe for a bit just to remind me how furtunate I am that I got a job and bought a chainsaw LOL.

People might look a bit bewildered hearing the geny going and an electric chainsaw but I know every dude in the bush swinging the axe will still be envious of you, even if they are a little perplexed.

Jetcrew :D :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline Jason B

« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2011, 08:12:37 PM »
Jas,

Can't see why not bit of a different approach, but hey any saw beats an axe .

I genrally swing the axe for a bit just to remind me how furtunate I am that I got a job and bought a chainsaw LOL.

People might look a bit bewildered hearing the geny going and an electric chainsaw but I know every dude in the bush swinging the axe will still be envious of you, even if they are a little perplexed.

Jetcrew :D :D

I agree mate I would have to have a chuckle at myself. My thoughts are more along the lines of light weight easy to cary and pack. Would do the job (dont have to recharge it). In most cases I manage to collect all the wood I need and rarely need a saw.

Offline heathydee

« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2011, 07:22:15 AM »
I bought one of the Ozito saws from Bunnings (Bathurst) last week for $135 . Great piece of gear . Light as . Only weighs 10 or 12 pounds and packs back in its box for storage . It has found a permanent home in the front of the camper/trailer .

« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2011, 10:21:04 AM »
So if you go off to collect wood your going to pack the Genny in the back of the fourby ??? I would have thought that would be a pain as some times you have to walk into the bush a bit to get to a log to cut. I suppose back at camp you would be OK as you are close to the Genny then.

Offline Jason B

« Reply #9 on: September 03, 2011, 03:35:29 PM »
So if you go off to collect wood your going to pack the Genny in the back of the fourby ??? I would have thought that would be a pain as some times you have to walk into the bush a bit to get to a log to cut. I suppose back at camp you would be OK as you are close to the Genny then.

I agree mate, however I already take the Genny with me and it would save lugging a pertol powered, stinky, oily saw with me as well as every thing else. Not to mention I would have to carry 2 stroke as well. Its just a thought as I hardly ever require a saw however I was wondering if others have gone down this trak. Thet are much smaller and lighter and may well be up to the job.

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2011, 11:56:51 AM »
Stihl have released a battery saw.
Get 35min cutting from it and a 12inch bar.
Not cheep though. $450 for the saw the the battery and charger is about another $400.
Regard
Crisp Image

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

Offline trekkn

« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2011, 10:20:41 PM »
we use the electric stihl chain saws out here on site every day
we run the biggest that stihl makes and they do a good job but very expensive

Offline Bennlexx

« Reply #12 on: January 28, 2012, 04:09:30 PM »
The value of the electric saw is it doesn't require the maintenance of a petrol saw.  Looked at the possibility of running an electric saw off an inverter once.  Turned out that the inverter would need to be huge!!! (3000w from memory)  A generator would overcome that problem but don't travel with one.  I like the idea of the battery saw.  Wonder how it would go being recharged on 12v.

2003 Aussie Swag Rover Ultra & 2012 Prado GXL D4D

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2012, 12:09:19 AM »
Considering the battery is 36v not too well.

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

Offline james2115

« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2012, 06:28:35 AM »
I have one of the 18v Ryobi One+ chainsaws.  It has a 10" blade and has cut everything I've thrown at it.  It's not as fast as a petrol one, but it just goes.
Each battery (the smaller ones) runs for about 20+ mins - enough to do the hard work, the block splitter can do the rest.

I've even used it in a National Park as it's almost silent!

It recharges fine via an inverter as it the charger only draws 85w and I have a 160w solar setup anyway.

As with any chainsaw, it's down to the chain - keep it sharp and it will be fine.

Online austastar

« Reply #15 on: January 29, 2012, 08:17:57 AM »
   I was gathering wood with another camper at Newman's rocks, dragged a few dead limbs back to camp and went to get the trusty bow saw.
"Don't bother", he said, and fired up the genny, pulled out a 9" grinder.

When the smoke finally cleared, I could see that yes, the wood was cut into nice lengths.

Offline Bennlexx

« Reply #16 on: January 29, 2012, 11:25:41 AM »
You have to smile  ;D

I've often thought about the 18v Ryobi One+ set ups and wondered how they go.  You happy with the whole concept James?

Offline james2115

« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2012, 10:01:57 AM »
I've often thought about the 18v Ryobi One+ set ups and wondered how they go.  You happy with the whole concept James?

I have a few of the 18v tools now and having the same batteries on all of them is a great help.  I bought the drill first and then the chainsaw, even a torch!  I like that they simply stop when there is not enough juice left rather than draining the battery to zero.  The recharge time of 45mins really helps, along with having 4 batteries means that I very rarely have to wait for a battery to charge.

The fact that the tools are a little cheaper as you're not buying the batteries as well helps justify buying each tool - I think the car vac was only $70.

Offline Bennlexx

« Reply #18 on: January 30, 2012, 01:51:36 PM »
Sounds like the Ryobi chainsaw is a pretty good option if one was to go down that line.  Thanks for the comments James.