General => General Discussion => Topic started by: krisandkev on August 06, 2015, 12:56:52 PM

Title: Last Taxi To Darwin
Post by: krisandkev on August 06, 2015, 12:56:52 PM
Just came back from seeing the new Aussie movie, ‘Last Taxi To Darwin’.  What a brilliant movie.  Great Australian scenery and I am sure all travellers will recognise the locations and iconic pubs.  Another superb performance by Michael Caton as well from all the actors/actresses.  Do yourself a favour, go see it at the movies!  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:   Kevin
Title: Re: Last Taxi To Darwin
Post by: gronk on August 06, 2015, 01:31:21 PM
How much was the fare ???   ;D
Post by: Bird on August 06, 2015, 01:54:48 PM
yea heard a review on this last night on SEN .. sounds awesome..
Then I reckon Michael Caton is very underrated actor...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VdzkJL37db8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VdzkJL37db8)
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/entertainment/movies/review-last-cab-to-darwin-starring-michael-caton-warms-the-heart/story-fni0bv7o-1227471254147 (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/entertainment/movies/review-last-cab-to-darwin-starring-michael-caton-warms-the-heart/story-fni0bv7o-1227471254147)

On at the Dromana Drive in  -> http://www.drivein.net.au/index.htm (http://www.drivein.net.au/index.htm)
Post by: tk421 on August 06, 2015, 02:14:16 PM
Just came back from seeing the new Aussie movie, ‘Last Taxi To Darwin’.  What a brilliant movie.  Great Australian scenery and I am sure all travellers will recognise the locations and iconic pubs.  Another superb performance by Michael Caton as well from all the actors/actresses.  Do yourself a favour, go see it at the movies!  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:   Kevin

Yup the old staple, the Daly Waters Hotel makes it in there.
Post by: dazzler on August 07, 2015, 04:38:14 PM
Are the following used more than once;

Sheila, strewth, flamin heck, coldie, clacker, shazza, nipper or 'on me pat malone'?

:D
Post by: Rumpig on August 07, 2015, 05:40:16 PM
Are the following used more than once;

Sheila, strewth, flamin heck, coldie, clacker, shazza, nipper or 'on me pat malone'?

:D
you forgot... Drier then a dead dingos donga.... in that lot also  ;D
Post by: dazzler on August 07, 2015, 05:41:23 PM

Post by: Bird on February 24, 2016, 10:59:32 AM
Forgot about this.. would still love to see it..

Love Michael Catons acting.

Wonder if its on DVD or available anywhere

http://www.lastcab.com.au/lastcab.com.au/Home.html (http://www.lastcab.com.au/lastcab.com.au/Home.html)
Post by: Bad Scott on February 24, 2016, 11:07:28 AM
Forgot about this.. would still love to see it..

Love Michael Catons acting.

Wonder if its on DVD or available anywhere

http://www.lastcab.com.au/lastcab.com.au/Home.html (http://www.lastcab.com.au/lastcab.com.au/Home.html)

Got it on DVD bruce
Post by: Bird on February 24, 2016, 11:11:11 AM
Got it on DVD bruce
I'll have a copy thanks :D I mean can I keep that offsite storage copy for you at my place?
Post by: Bad Scott on February 24, 2016, 11:15:58 AM
I'll lend you the DVD. :D But you'll have to wait till I'm back from interstate. (4 months)
Post by: stevem on February 24, 2016, 11:28:21 AM
Brillient movie - took the missus and kids plus my parents to see it at the movies. Brought my old man a copy for chrissy... and unbeknown to me they got me a copy for chrissy for me too :)

One of those flicks like Red Dog, The Castle etc that are great Aussie flicks you watch over an dover and not tire of seeing.
Post by: Bird on February 24, 2016, 11:39:52 AM
Brillient movie - took the missus and kids plus my parents to see it at the movies. Brought my old man a copy for chrissy... and unbeknown to me they got me a copy for chrissy for me too :)

One of those flicks like Red Dog, The Castle etc that are great Aussie flicks you watch over an dover and not tire of seeing.
:cup: :cup: some good movies there too.. :)
yea that's how I read it.. not one bad review

Watched Sunday too far Away few days ago.. another awesome Jack Thompson movie.0
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0073765/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1 (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0073765/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1)
Post by: Robbo on February 24, 2016, 11:52:51 AM
Yep, Michael Caton, "Brilliant" Still watch re runs of "The Castle" and "Strange Bedfellows" with Paul Hogan. Two of my favourite old classics. Will look foward to seeing this new one. :cup:
Post by: cetacean on February 24, 2016, 04:13:31 PM
Great Aussie Movie, plenty of familiar places en route :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on February 24, 2016, 04:34:09 PM
Watched Sunday too far Away few days ago.. another awesome Jack Thompson movie.0

Yep...excellent fillum... :cup: :cup:

The shearer's wife's lament....."Friday too tired, Saturday too drunk, Sunday too far away....."

Enjoyed Last Taxi as well.
Post by: Moggy on February 24, 2016, 04:48:32 PM
Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr the internet is your friend for this movie

Post by: Bushman on February 24, 2016, 06:54:42 PM
Saw it when it came out then bought the DVD  for the beater half, great movie
The pommie nurse was quite cute too :angel:
Post by: Bird on February 25, 2016, 09:14:15 AM
Saw it when it came out then bought the DVD  for the beater half, great movie
The pommie nurse was quite cute too :angel:
This one?
(http://ia.media-imdb.com/images/M/MV5BMjIwNjA0MTAwN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTgwNDU2NTE@._V1_UY317_CR53,0,214,317_AL_.jpg)
Post by: gclan on February 25, 2016, 09:16:31 AM
Yep, a great Aussie movie. I've got it on DVD too.

Unfortunately, and rather ironically, the lead actress in this movie was refused a ride in several taxis in Sydney because she was an Aborigine
http://www.abc.net.au/triplej/programs/hack/secret-river-taxi-discrimination/7140958 (http://www.abc.net.au/triplej/programs/hack/secret-river-taxi-discrimination/7140958)
Post by: tk421 on February 29, 2016, 06:52:01 PM
Fun little movie and available on Foxtel Movies on demand until Weds 2nd March
Post by: Bird on January 14, 2017, 09:20:02 PM
Quote from: stevem
So has anyone seen the new "Red Dog" movie???
Thoughts?
Post by: achjimmy on January 14, 2017, 11:23:28 PM
Yep, a great Aussie movie. I've got it on DVD too.

Unfortunately, and rather ironically, the lead actress in this movie was refused a ride in several taxis in Sydney because she was an Aborigine
http://www.abc.net.au/triplej/programs/hack/secret-river-taxi-discrimination/7140958 (http://www.abc.net.au/triplej/programs/hack/secret-river-taxi-discrimination/7140958)

Funny can't imagine too many dinky Di Tru blue taxi drivers in Sydney!
Post by: achjimmy on January 14, 2017, 11:24:22 PM
Thoughts?

Was going to last evening but the 44c put me off.
Post by: xvprado on January 15, 2017, 06:10:04 AM
Thoughts?

Yep, first rate, very different to the first, but ties together a great story....and a few life lessons that are worthwhile
Highly recommended

Take a tissue.....for the boss of course
Post by: BaseCamp on January 15, 2017, 08:05:31 AM
^^^   thanks for the tip re the tissues...   the last taxi and red dog movies were real tissue jobs - even muriels wedding...  (for the misses of course)...   

Post by: krisandkev on January 15, 2017, 08:13:27 AM
So after you see the Last Taxis movie then you need to go to Broken Hill and drive past the house that was in the movie.  ;D
We were in Broken Hill last October and did that.

Saw the new Red Dog movie last week and loved it.  :cup:

Kevin
Post by: Bird on February 24, 2017, 08:08:44 PM
Just watchin it again...

What a great movie/story, and **** I love Caton's acting... dude is heaps underrated.
Post by: Bird on March 10, 2021, 09:04:53 PM
Slow evening in life....
Just chucked this on again... Still love it as much as the first time I saw it.

Shame that Ningali Lawford died... she did good too in this.
Post by: Fox67 on March 11, 2021, 06:39:36 AM
All great movies, but don’t forget to add in “The Dish”, even though Michael Caton wasn’t in it.
Post by: Robbo on March 11, 2021, 05:01:08 PM
All great movies, but don’t forget to add in “The Dish”, even though Michael Caton wasn’t in it.
Also add to that Strange Bedfellows with Michael Caton and Paul Hogan.
An oldie but a beautie.

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk