Author Topic: Gidday from Tassie  (Read 5928 times)

Offline Spud7017

Gidday from Tassie
« on: September 25, 2015, 05:41:11 PM »
Gidday,

Just a quick introduction to the site.  I'm Des (Spud), live in beautiful Tassie for the last ten years prior to that Far West NSW.  I am a long time Adventure Motorbike Camper.  Have ridden to most places of this fine country.  I retired early about 12 months ago and bought myself a new Amarok Highline with all the necessary camping and 4x4 bling.  My intention was to buy a hybrid van at the same time but I either couldn't find my wants or the price was excessive.  However, by chance came across a small independent builder in Newcastle and will collect my Van next Friday.  Comes fully kitted out for my independent off road adventures and am very excited.  Besides camping I have two beautiful grown Children and wife and a dog called Ellsie who has been s my constant companion since I got her 12 months ago.  Thanks for sharing your stories and I have learnt a lot already 

Cheers Spud

« Last Edit: September 25, 2015, 05:51:17 PM by Spud7017 »
These are a few of my favourite things.....😉
VW Amarok Highline
BRS Offroad Hybrid Van
Elsie the English Staffy
KTM 1190R Adventure

Re: Gidday from Tassie
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2015, 05:50:55 PM »
G'day Spud and welcome to the forum.  Very interested in your new hybrid.  Do they have a website?  Or name and contact number?

Offline Spud7017

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2015, 05:58:47 PM »
G'day Spud and welcome to the forum.  Very interested in your new hybrid.  Do they have a website?  Or name and contact number?

Gidday KB,

http://brsoffroad.com.au/ and https://www.facebook.com/BRS-offroad-757406264295520/timeline/

His spec sheet is little out of date as my Van comes with a 2 Ton Cruisemaster suspension and some other bits and bobs like Solar, inverter and ducted air but you'll get the basics.  Really impressive young Aussie bloke having a fair dinkum go.  Did his time with a caravan company on the central coast of NSW which is well known but I can't recall there name at the moment.

VW Amarok Highline
BRS Offroad Hybrid Van
Elsie the English Staffy
KTM 1190R Adventure

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2015, 06:06:02 PM »
Thanks Spud  :cup:  It looks great

The following users thanked this post: Spud7017

Offline Draggin

« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2015, 06:43:55 PM »
G'day Spud,
Welcome to the light side, congratulations - looks like a great set up. I hope you have many happy memories generated with this gera,
John
"Beneath the radiant Southern Cross"

Offline Spud7017

« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2015, 06:48:52 PM »
G'day Spud,
Welcome to the light side, congratulations - looks like a great set up. I hope you have many happy memories generated with this gera,
John

Hi John,

Thanks for the welcome and I see your a fellow statesman.  My first trip to try out the set up will be the Western Explorer so should give it a gentle introduction.

Cheers Des
VW Amarok Highline
BRS Offroad Hybrid Van
Elsie the English Staffy
KTM 1190R Adventure

« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2015, 10:55:10 PM »
G'day and welcome to Myswag Spud. 

Offline Trailer Bloke

• You never know what's around the corner
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2015, 06:22:58 AM »
G'day Spud very nice setup enjoy the forum.

« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2015, 10:04:38 AM »
......  My first trip to try out the set up will be the Western Explorer so should give it a gentle introduction.

nice looking camper, perfect for Tassie with the lack of canvas. Enjoy the Western Explorer, I really enjoyed our drive along there when we did it, stunningly beautiful country it is.

Offline Draggin

« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2015, 07:36:10 PM »
Hi John,

Thanks for the welcome and I see your a fellow statesman.  My first trip to try out the set up will be the Western Explorer so should give it a gentle introduction.

Cheers Des

That's a brilliant area for a test run Des, have a good look at some of the coastal tracks out there, you don't have to be a diehard 4wder to go part of the way between some of the access points. Pieman Heads for example  ;D
"Beneath the radiant Southern Cross"

Offline Spud7017

« Reply #10 on: September 26, 2015, 10:19:33 PM »
.........and such good fishing from the beach around the Pieman and Granville Harbour...... ;D
VW Amarok Highline
BRS Offroad Hybrid Van
Elsie the English Staffy
KTM 1190R Adventure