Author Topic: G'day from Canberra/Queanbeyan  (Read 3071 times)

Offline johnmm

G'day from Canberra/Queanbeyan
« on: October 28, 2011, 10:59:24 PM »
G'day All,

Just thought we'd say Hello. Currently have an old (but still good and solid) very early Complete campsite camper. Unfortunately the family have outgown the camper (9 foot I think), so we were looking for something bigger. My wife and I have narrowed it down to either the All Terrain or Complete Campsite trailers with the 16/17ft tent. We have three children (two boys and girl)10, 9 and 2.5 and a Great Dane....and looking forward to getting out more and let the kids see more of this great land. Would be very interested in any pro's/cons of either of these trailers from current owners.......

Thanks and happy camping.....

John & Heather
2000 HDJ-105 Landcruiser towing a Johnno's Dreamtime Offroad Camper.

Re: G'day from Canberra/Queanbeyan
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2011, 06:35:44 AM »
G'day John and Heather and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2011, 06:45:00 AM »
Welcome to the swag John & Heather, lots of goof info here to help you with your decision.

« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2011, 06:56:02 AM »
Hi John & Heather, welcome to My Swag

bubba :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2011, 07:34:20 AM »
Welcome to myswag
hope you enjoy thps site

morgansmall

« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2011, 07:50:57 AM »
Hi fellow Canberrarians (well, until we bugger off for our round Oz trip in March anyway!)

We also were v interested in the Complete Campsite and All Terrain when we were looking for a new camper but both were out of our price range.  Luckily we found a 3 year old CC Nomad in awesome condition!

We were put off the All Terrain because at the time we had an SUV as a towing tug and the AT sits quite high; annoyingly the fridge was on the opposite side to where you'd want it; and we also loved the stairwell in the CC.  However I thought I saw at the Canberra show last weekend that AT has now moved their fridge next to the kitchen .  We've also got a 4wd now (well, a ute), but if I was to toss up between the two I'd still have to say the stairwell in the CC wins it for us.

The only drawback to the CC over the other is that the CC is longer and lower, which can be a bit of an issue as we found out on a 4wd camper trailer course also last weekend (do it if you haven't done much off road work - Great Divide Tours in Braidwood - excellent weekend!).  IMO the AT would be a better trailer for serious off road work as the CC is too long.  However it does match our Navara well, and we're not aiming to go hardcore, just hoping we'll get through the OTT up at the Cape minus Gunshot, so it's ideal for us.  We're also putting a bigger, better set of tyres on to give us an extra inch and the same sidewall protection as the car - Neil at CC tells me there's an inch and a half of tolerance in the canvas, so we'll see if he's telling porkies next week!

PS if you do decide to keep or go another CC, don't pay $750 for their stairwell drawers.   If you don't mind putting a couple of screws into the wood panels and a bit of velcro on the floor carpet, those large Oates drawers (from Bunnings) fit perfectly height wise - 3 up and 3 across.  $270!  Just a tip after a few months of searching for something suitable and cheap  :cup:

Good luck with your decision.  Either will be good as long as you use it!

Hmm, edit - I see from the AT website the camper I saw at the show is in fact their new walk-up model.   Now it gets really hard. Good luck!!!!!

« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2011, 07:52:51 AM »
Welcome John and Heather good to see more members from the area, the family lives on the bed and the Great Dane needs the 18 ft annex ;D ;D ;D :D

« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2011, 09:44:11 AM »
Hi and Welcome, CC make a top camper :D

« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2011, 03:46:54 PM »
Hi John & Heather. Welcome to MySwag. My opinion ...... go the Complete Campsite  ;D

« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2011, 01:28:34 PM »
Hi and welcome, any chance you could psot some pics of your CC?

« Reply #10 on: October 31, 2011, 08:30:06 PM »
Welcome guys, was in your area last week but the invite from HRH went missing so we didn't there. Oh well, all the best

Offline johnmm

« Reply #11 on: November 01, 2011, 03:55:08 PM »

Thanks for the welcomes, also appreciate the comments and opinions so far.
I will endeavour to post some pics of our existing trailer (as soon as I find them), it is an older one (9ft I think) but with enclosed annex etc. I think it was one of CC very early hire trailers as well.

Another option I was thinking about was to put a bigger top on it, thinking about the customline top (12ft), but haven't seen them in the person yet. Unfortunately neither AT or CC do just camper tops anymore. Had quick look at the oz trail/imported ones but not keen on the round frame poles zips etc.

John & Heather
2000 HDJ-105 Landcruiser towing a Johnno's Dreamtime Offroad Camper.

Offline monahanajj

• Landcruiser Prado, YES, it's a Landcruiser....
« Reply #12 on: November 01, 2011, 11:30:46 PM »
Hi there John and Heather, Canberra has some fantastic locations to see only hours away, lucky you!

Look forward to seeing the new rig!

"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction." Albert Einstein "...Such as a Landcruiser..." Me

« Reply #13 on: November 02, 2011, 06:46:42 AM »
Welcome to the Forum John and Heather