Author Topic: new to camping  (Read 4962 times)

Offline no4x4

new to camping
« on: June 05, 2011, 10:12:00 PM »
Hi my name is Gary i just bought a ezytrail camper tent to go on our own trailer. I didnt buy the camper trailer because i wanted it light because we will be towing it behind our old holden i made a frame to go onto the trailer that way we can take it of when we need the trailer because it wont be getting used that much i havnt figured out how to set the rest of it up yet i used this site when looking around for one

Re: new to camping
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2011, 10:28:57 PM »
welcome

Suprised there arent more setups like yours with removable gear...
lots of people with no room at home for 2 trailers

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2011, 10:32:39 PM »
Welcome to myswag Gary. Look forward to hearing how the maiden trip go's.

« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2011, 10:38:50 PM »
G'day Gary,

Welcome mate....... have fun!!

« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2011, 06:13:27 AM »
Hi Gary and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2011, 06:34:22 AM »
Welcome Gary,
I look forward to hearing about your travels.

« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2011, 07:19:38 AM »
Welcome to My Swag Gary you will figure it all out soon enough  :cheers:

« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2011, 08:03:17 AM »
Welcome to the Forum Gary, heaps of info available, sit back and let your mouse do the walking

Offline hargs

« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2011, 04:18:43 PM »
Looks like a clever setup !! Have Fun.
Life is to short not to...............

« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2011, 04:22:32 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Garry 

« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2011, 04:57:21 PM »
Hi gary, and welcome :)

Curious. How do/will you go about lifting it on/off the trailer?
Close to what Lost wrote, but mine is a case of I don't see the point of 2 trailers, & have been thinking along the lines of what you've done - on a frame for easy(ier) removal. But the tent itself is quite heavy,

Offline no4x4

« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2011, 04:59:53 PM »
welcome

Suprised there arent more setups like yours with removable gear...
lots of people with no room at home for 2 trailers
When we were looking around there wasnt many on any forums that we could look at and it only set us back $1030 on ebay brand new. Next thing i probably do is get a high sided trailer and have it set on it all the time .  but im trying to keep the weight down i cant have it to heavy  Next thing is trying to fix gas struts to make is easyer to open it up and put it away .
Cheers Gary

Offline no4x4

« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2011, 05:03:07 PM »
Hi gary, and welcome :)

Curious. How do/will you go about lifting it on/off the trailer?
Close to what Lost wrote, but mine is a case of I don't see the point of 2 trailers, & have been thinking along the lines of what you've done - on a frame for easy(ier) removal. But the tent itself is quite heavy,
Yeah mate it is quite heavy but i only had to lift it of once and my father in law gave me a hand. But we have got an enless chain now set up in the shed to lift it of and place it on the ground  Cheers Gary

« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2011, 05:12:29 PM »
Welcome to Myswag Gaz  :cheers:

Offline no4x4

« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2011, 09:22:04 PM »
I just got a question our matress smells of  rubber  im just wondering how to getrid of it

« Reply #15 on: June 07, 2011, 03:23:03 AM »
In my younger day, if i was in bed and smelt rubber (particulary burning rubber) i'd slow the pace and apply more lube......... not sure if this is your current problem???.......... Anyway, all that's behind me now, anyone seen my Dencorub, my lower back is killin' me!! ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #16 on: June 07, 2011, 09:46:00 AM »
Hi Garry
Welcome to My Swag Happy Trails with your camper

« Reply #17 on: June 07, 2011, 01:19:46 PM »

WRT the mattress, camp more, the smoke from the fire will becoming the predominant odour fairly quickly. Seriously, I'd be leaving it out in the sun for a day or so, if it still smells it might be time for another.

Offline no4x4

« Reply #18 on: June 07, 2011, 08:38:44 PM »
the bed is new with the camper and we havnt been out in it yet i have the bed sitting in my spare bed room trying to get rid of the smell

Offline gazza66

« Reply #19 on: June 07, 2011, 08:48:29 PM »
Welcome to My Swag,  Gary :cheers:
NP PAJERO, CAMEL CAMPER and a PASSION TO EXLPORE

Offline squirell

« Reply #20 on: June 07, 2011, 09:16:35 PM »
Hi and welcome, better set up than our's, we have 2 campers, 1 trailer and 5 cars, guess what?? we're running out of room.

Squirell/Graeme
Just spendin' the kids inheritence !!

Offline no4x4

« Reply #21 on: June 09, 2011, 09:57:08 PM »
I hooked the camper up to the car today