Author Topic: New to it & have limited budget of $8k.  (Read 4657 times)

Offline Jasonbeerfridge

New to it & have limited budget of $8k.
« on: May 27, 2011, 06:49:19 PM »
G'day,
I'm new to the scene, looking at spending $8k tops, & considering new & 2nd hand options in a softie.
The bride & I are heading down to the show in Brisbane next month, for a look around & to learn a bit more.
The plethora of choices available makes it hard to choose & I'm not buying something unseen.
I'm obviously looking within the cheaper end of the market & am sticking to that budget.
I basically want something that is structurally strong, with "decent enough" canvas & an annexe.
I'm keen to option it up myself, I just want the strongest, most well built item in that price range to start from.
Standby for some stupid questions!
Jason. 

Re: New to it & have limited budget of $8k.
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2011, 06:50:32 PM »
Get a 2nd hand Trackabout, you won't regret it!

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2011, 07:01:03 PM »

« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2011, 07:02:16 PM »
Welcome to the Forum Jason, a second hand trailer would be your best bet, have a look at the show and see what takes your fancy and then find a well looked after one. Good luck on the search

Offline Campa

« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2011, 07:14:14 PM »
Customline build a great camper that's within your budget.

http://www.customline.com.au/cms-models/deluxe-off-road.phps

Offline Jasonbeerfridge

« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2011, 07:19:49 PM »
Thanks for the replies all,
A 2nd hand version of something just out of that $ range sounds ok & may well eventuate.
I'd be lying though if I said I wasn't curious to hear from anyone out there who has bought a new (insert brand name here) for that price range as well.
I'm all ears to anything you guys have to say & appreciate your input.
Jason.

« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2011, 07:24:10 PM »
Thanks for the replies all,
A 2nd hand version of something just out of that $ range sounds ok & may well eventuate.
I'd be lying though if I said I wasn't curious to hear from anyone out there who has bought a new (insert brand name here) for that price range as well.
I'm all ears to anything you guys have to say & appreciate your input.
Jason.

Heres a brand that fits in your budget, great strong trailers. I am a little biased

http://www.tambocampers.com.au/Cooper.html

« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2011, 07:25:22 PM »

Look, some of the cheaper units are OK, but as my colleagues have suggested, you'll do much better buying a quality second hand unit.

What are you planning to drag it with?

Offline Jasonbeerfridge

« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2011, 07:41:04 PM »
Big Jules, you asked "What are you dragging it with?"
A 2007 D4D Hilux 4WD.
I realised earlier that I probably should have said that I definitely want something to take off-road.

« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2011, 08:36:08 PM »
G'day Jason and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Offline squirell

« Reply #10 on: May 28, 2011, 05:41:49 AM »
Hi and welcome, we have an Ezytrail, paid $7K but can be bought for around $5-6K on Ebay with battery pack. We have been off road with it and the only problem we found was that it is a bit strong in the springs. Not flogging, just a thought, enjoy your time here.

Squirell/Graeme
Just spendin' the kids inheritence !!

Offline garbage

« Reply #11 on: May 28, 2011, 07:06:28 AM »
I bought 2nd hand a few months back for a 2 year old model well below your budget.  Bear in mind that a lot of second hand examples may have only been used a handful of times and would look literally new, so apart from the warranty, not much different to buying brand new.

Offline Monty94

« Reply #12 on: May 28, 2011, 07:32:57 AM »
There is a 2005 Trackabout HERE on eBay for $8500 or offer.  Could be worth a look if it's not too far.

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #13 on: May 28, 2011, 07:35:25 AM »
For that price you should be able to pick up a ripper Aussie s/hand unit.

There's heaps out there, if you've got cash and you're patient - bargains are about!

« Reply #14 on: May 28, 2011, 08:18:40 AM »
You can get a pretty good Jonnos for that as well. We did and love it. Tough as and great features. Very good canvas.

« Reply #15 on: May 28, 2011, 08:35:21 AM »
Welcome Jasonbeerfridge
Thats a top name lol

Offline Jasonbeerfridge

« Reply #16 on: May 28, 2011, 09:17:46 AM »
Gunna,
Cheers, it was just a light-hearted choice after previously racking up different names on other forums for motorbikes etc.
I should've stuck to the same one with a memory like a sieve...
I have a beer fridge in the shed, but currently rely on good quality eskies when camping.
SteveandViv, DANBRI, Monty94, garbage, squirell, Snow, & everyone else,
Thanks for the welcome & the input, I'm looking at all of your suggestions.
I'll be happy if I at least end up with something other than the typical chinese-friday-afternoon-special.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2011, 09:19:43 AM by Jasonbeerfridge »

« Reply #17 on: May 28, 2011, 09:18:40 AM »
Hi Jason and welcome to My Swag :cheers:

« Reply #18 on: May 29, 2011, 05:53:00 PM »
Hi Jason
Welcome to My Swag best of luck chosing a camper Happy Trails