Author Topic: Lurker - out of the campfire shadows, into the warmth of the fire!  (Read 6513 times)

Hi guys
Have been lurking on here for a while now. Haven't been around a campfire for a few years & time to get back into it. I used to ride Jap 4's in the 70's & 80's to many rallies around NSW so have an affinity to a cold one & a campfire (although Stones Green Ginger was easier to carry in the gearsack). Now have an old Patrol & looking for a CT to see more of SEQ & beyond. Not sure whether to go "new & basic" or "second hand & upmarket a bit". Would like to get something strong so maybe a 2nd hand Trackabout might be the go. Oh how I wish I could afford a new one.
Anyhow* (to quote a great man of old), I hope I'm around for a while to share a coldie with some of you over a fire someday.
Noel :cheers:

Re: Lurker - out of the campfire shadows, into the warmth of the fire!
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2011, 01:27:08 PM »
Welcome to myswag Noel, good luck with your camper search. Keep an eye out on the for sale section as some good campers pop up there.

Offline Crazy Dog

• Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2011, 01:29:08 PM »
Hey Noel,

welcome to this place of learning and refined pisspots!!

Give JT (Johny Trackabout - he is a pisspot 2  ;D)  a ring.. He may know of one apart from his new ones.. Mate they are the Bee EE Ess Tee trailer by far..

I know - I had one...

Grrr!!!
Cairns FNQ - I love poor little defenseless animals, especially in gravy.

« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2011, 01:38:52 PM »
Thanks guys for the welcome
I've been down to see Johnny & drool ever so gracefully at his wares. I'm looking at a 2003 model elsewhere this weekend if it is still for sale & I can con SWMBO to open the purse far enough it might be the go. Otherwise it is more interwebby thingy looking. (says someone who does I.T. for a living).

« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2011, 02:01:18 PM »
Welcome to the forum Noel

« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2011, 02:03:43 PM »
Welcome to the show Noel, hope you enjoy your time here.

Carindale is just up the road from here  :cheers:

Offline squirell

« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2011, 02:18:14 PM »
Hi and welcome, sit back, look, buy and enjoy the ride.

Squirell/Graeme
Just spendin' the kids inheritence !!

« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2011, 03:09:12 PM »
G'day Noel.

You'll fit right in around here mate.

Offline Tracey family

« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2011, 04:58:27 PM »
Welcome to myswag Noel,

Tell your wife I said she'll be a very happy girl if you buy the Trackabout. Best money I ever spent that's for sure - it's my home away from home (I just can't reverse it - hubby has to do that  :-[)

Best of luck wife the purchase :D

:cheers: Glenyse

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #9 on: May 26, 2011, 07:18:03 PM »
Glenyse, I agree Trackabouts Rule, and so do girls. hehehe  Mate its dead easy to back a trailer, it just takes time and patience and do it slowly, as its only a frame of mind that says you cant do it.  My uncle recommends that we put the 4x4 in low range that way it doesnt go very fast.  I find it easier to use both mirrors as well.  Cheers Norelle

Offline gruesome

• Don't follow me I'm LOST
« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2011, 07:58:38 PM »
Welcome to the forum Noel, you will love this site
cheers Andy  :cup:  :cheers:
« Last Edit: May 26, 2011, 08:01:58 PM by gruesome »
2001 Prado OME coils and springs, bfg 265/75/16, UHF, Warn 9000lb winch
dual batteries, snorkel, draw  system, TJM bar, hella lights
Complete Campsite trailer

« Reply #11 on: May 26, 2011, 08:11:55 PM »
Welcome aboard Noel  :cheers:
Look forward to reading about your travels mate  :cheers:

« Reply #12 on: May 26, 2011, 08:47:18 PM »
Hi Noel and welcome to My Swag  :cheers:

Offline TroyE

• you can't buy experience
« Reply #13 on: May 26, 2011, 08:55:24 PM »
Hidyho Noel, always good to see another patrol owner ;D

Troy
you can't polish a turd, BUT you can roll it in glitter...

« Reply #14 on: May 26, 2011, 10:08:39 PM »
Thank you one & all for such a warm welcome. I'm sure I'll have a long association with this forum.
Noel
This forum is  :cup:

Offline timneva

• Prado GXL and Cub CT
« Reply #15 on: May 27, 2011, 09:47:22 AM »
G'day Noel and welcome to you.

Good luck with your search mate. It's the first part of some great times ahead.

« Reply #16 on: May 27, 2011, 11:08:35 AM »
Hi Noel
Welcome to My Swag good luck with your search for a camper
Happy Trails

« Reply #17 on: May 27, 2011, 04:14:10 PM »
G'day Noel and welcome to Myswag. I used to do the rally scene in the 80's and early 90's. Used to ride with SCUM tourers out of Nowra.  :cheers:

« Reply #18 on: May 31, 2011, 09:41:31 PM »
Well I did it! Put down a deposit on a 2nd hand trackabout. An oldie but I hope a goodie. It just ticked all the boxes I needed it to and looks like it hasn't been used too much. It has got the obligatory stone chips etc but I can live with that. Now just gotta wait till the weekend to do the swapsies (money for hardware).
Hardest bit will be where to go for first outing.

Yes I know :worthles: I'll post some as soon as I pick it up

« Reply #19 on: June 01, 2011, 08:15:56 AM »
Well done!

« Reply #20 on: June 06, 2011, 10:38:42 PM »
Picked up the CT late Sunday arvo. Trackabout 2003. Now comes the fun.

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #21 on: June 06, 2011, 10:45:47 PM »
Noice Trackabouts are just stylish arent they

Offline Ebo

« Reply #22 on: June 06, 2011, 11:36:14 PM »
well done mate , nice looking unit. enjoy the first trip and send some pics. :cup:
Trak Shak camper GU patrol

« Reply #23 on: June 07, 2011, 03:06:43 AM »
Thats a pretty tidy CT for an '03, doesn't look like it's had too much knocking about........ probably best you get out there and give it a good workout!!

« Reply #24 on: June 07, 2011, 04:51:30 PM »
Thats a pretty tidy CT for an '03, doesn't look like it's had too much knocking about........ probably best you get out there and give it a good workout!!

My plan exactly, a few fixits & mods in the next couple of weeks and then a few days somewhere on the beach in northern NSW with my 15 yo son during the school holidays. Can't beleive how solidly these things are built. Hope the Patrol can tow it!!!! It has enough trouble getting itself along.