Author Topic: New member  (Read 5059 times)

Offline Tandem Camper

« on: May 25, 2011, 02:58:47 PM »
Hi All
I have been looking at this forum for a little while now and thought i would introduce myself.
I live in the south eastern suburbs of Melbourne with my wife and 2 kids aged 10 & 12.
We built our first camper 12 years ago which was a soft floor camper and had many happy trips
About 2 years ago i got a bit bored and decided it was time to upgrade so we built a tandem hard floor camper.
The camper body is 3m in length and 2m wide with a 1.8m draw bar.

Craig

Re: New member
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2011, 03:02:12 PM »
Welcome to MySwag TC, that is one impressive looking unit, enjoy your stay

« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2011, 03:05:09 PM »
Welcome to myswag Craig. That is an impressive camper, do you have any build pics?

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2011, 03:07:56 PM »
Very impressive, look forward to seeing some more pics also of the build.
2012 MAZDA BT50 GT AND 2010 OUTBACK EXPANDA

« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2011, 03:36:45 PM »
That is the daddy of all hardfloor campers.  Looks like a brilliant set up, and well finished off as well.  Well done.

Does it close up easy enough with the help from the struts, or do you use some sort of winch to assist?

« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2011, 04:20:55 PM »
Welcome to the forum Craig , that's an awesome camper , enjoy

« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2011, 04:33:50 PM »
G'day & Welcome. Strewth, that is one big CT!

Offline squirell

« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2011, 05:32:17 PM »
Hi and welcome, now that's a camper, do you have much trouble fitting on normal C/P sites?? Enjoy your stay

Squirell/Graeme
Just spendin' the kids inheritence !!

« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2011, 06:11:20 PM »
welcome craig
thats a good lookin unit u got there wots it weigh in at

« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2011, 06:44:36 PM »
Hi Craig, what a fantastic looking CT :cup:

Welcome to My Swag :cheers:

Offline flamingo

« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2011, 07:33:50 PM »
   Gday Craig  Welcome to myswag!! Mate thats a great looking camper you have there!!   phil  :cheers:
Go Tigers!
2005 Navara
2011 Jayco Flamingo

« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2011, 07:43:27 PM »
Welcome to MySwag  strap in & enjoy the ride  :cheers:

« Reply #12 on: May 25, 2011, 07:43:48 PM »
Very impressive, look forward to seeing some more pics

« Reply #13 on: May 25, 2011, 10:11:30 PM »
Welcome to the forum Tandem Camper.   What an amazing looking ct you have there.  Well done with the build.  Your family must be very proud of your effort.
Sharyn  :D

« Reply #14 on: May 26, 2011, 10:15:48 AM »
Hi Craig
Welcome to My Swag thats one mean looking camper you have
Happy Trails

Offline buildermidwife

« Reply #15 on: May 26, 2011, 10:42:16 AM »
WOW
04 dx 3.0 patrol Goldstream Explorer st

Offline Crookedpete

« Reply #16 on: May 26, 2011, 04:51:11 PM »
Suffering an inferiority complex here.

Welcome

pete

« Reply #17 on: May 26, 2011, 04:51:50 PM »
Welcome Craig,
Geez mate, what do you tow that with. That's not a number plate on the back, It's a God Damn post code  ;D
And I thought our Swan was a heavy sucker at 1380kg dry.
with 3 Billy Lids of our own, it's amazing the gear ya gotta take.
Anyway, You're out there having a go. Good stuff.
You'll have to swing down to the Clarence Valley mate, heaps of not to shabby places around here to make camp.

Offline Crazy Dog

• Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity
« Reply #18 on: May 26, 2011, 05:00:34 PM »
Holy snappin Duck sh@t... what a monster,

You would need double headed Toyota diesel's loco to pull that but hey ! Think of all the beer it can carry... Maybe the NISOTA eh John??

Welcome Craig...Sorry should have welcomed you first..

Bloody hell - Wot a wopper..

Grrr!!! >:D
Cairns FNQ - I love poor little defenseless animals, especially in gravy.

Offline Chris J

• My OKA - 166
« Reply #19 on: May 26, 2011, 05:22:32 PM »
Hi Tandam camper, Welcome on-board, great looking camper rig that will turn heads and make the others jealous
Chaos, Panic, Disorder - My work is done here.

Offline Tandem Camper

« Reply #20 on: May 26, 2011, 08:28:28 PM »
Thanks for the welcome and comments
I have a heap of photo's of the build so when i get some time I will put them into a My camper trailer build.
We tow the camper with a GU3 Nissan Patrol 3.0 Diesel you don't feel the camper on the back until you hit a hill and then it tends to slow down a little.
The weight of the camper is about 1100 kg dry.
We spent the last school holidays at Twofold Bay near Eden and had no problems fitting onto site. We had rain for the first 3 or 4 days but because of its size we didn't get under each others feet.
I do use a braked winch to raise and lower the floor but with the gas struts and the roof rack that acts as a counter balance my 10 year old son can raise and lower it.

Offline whoosha

« Reply #21 on: May 26, 2011, 11:54:10 PM »
What a camper!!!
2005 GUIV Patrol 3.0L manual
Family tent

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
« Reply #22 on: May 27, 2011, 06:16:06 PM »
You could put my KK in one of your storage boxes. Awesome. Put them into production I will sign up.......Welcome to my swag mate there are plenty of good people here.

Offline swanny

• Lets go Camping......!!!!!!!
« Reply #23 on: May 27, 2011, 06:40:21 PM »
Hey mate and welcome, WOW wat a camper, u got the tug right as well.

Enjoy the forum, its awesome and heaps of great advice.