Author Topic: Hi, New Member  (Read 5705 times)

Offline Grey Roamer

Hi, New Member
« on: May 15, 2011, 12:03:18 PM »
Hello, My name is Mike and I call myself The Grey Roamer on-line.

I am a "Grey Nomad" and I have been on the road full-time since December 2008, when I retired, sold-up, bought a Jayco Penguin Outback, hitched it to my 2008 Kia Sorento 4WD and hit the open road.

I will admit that some wise heads would call a Penguin-type rig a 'caravan' but according to the Jayco literature the whole range of wind-ups such as the Penguin, Hawk, Eagle etc. are officially described as Camper Trailers, so while I recognise that a camper trailer is generally thought of as being the 'tent-on-a-trailer' style of rig, I can only say in defence of the Penguin Outback, that I haven't been able to find anywhere so far where it won't go.

In the last 2 1/2 years it has been up the Great Central Road, across the Plenty and Donahue Highways, up the Oodnadatta Track (twice) across the Savannah Way, down the Gibb River Road, up the Balladonia Track, into the Bungle-Bungles, up the Tanami Track and down the Buchanan.

I concede that the Anne Beadell or the Canning Stock Route may be beyond my capabilities, but I would suggest that this is more due to my towing vehicle than my camper.

I stumbled across this forum by accident only yesterday, had a quick look and saw a few references to Jayco's and the like and decided to throw my hat into the ring. I started off from Perth, where I had been living for 25 years prior to retirement and as of today, I have been on the road for 884 days and let me tell you it seems like only a couple of months. I spent the majority of the first ten months travelling, covering 27,000 kms in that time, but since 30th October 2009,(563 days) I have slowed right down and spend more time camping and less time driving. In that time I have only covered 24,000 kms. My intention is to keep travelling until I fall off the perch sometime, hopefully, in the distant future.

I have tried a couple of other forums, but they seem to be dominated by people with campervans and caravans rather than camper trailers, so hopefully I will find more like-minded correspondents on this forum. I have to confess that at the end of a long run, when the temperature is in the high 30's, and the flies are teeming, that it might be nice to have a "normal" caravan or campervan, so I could just pull up and open the door and get into bed or make a cuppa, rather than have to set up the rig, but I am more than happy to trade that off against the ability to go to places that the caravan or campervan simply can't access.

I have been recording my travels in a blog, which because of the places I get to where there is simply no mobile coverage, can often go for several weeks without a post, but I try and update the blog when I get the opportunity. If anyone is interested, you can find my blog at http://www.thegreyroamer.blogspot.com/ and I am more that happy to receive e-mails at leif47@y7mail.com

I am currently in Alice Springs after travelling up the Oodnadatta Track and I am leaving tomorrow morning to head up the Tanami to Halls Creek and then on to the Gibb River Road. I guess I won't be in mobile range for about 6 weeks (I like to really take my time), but I look forward to diving deeper into this forum once I hit civilisation again.

It would appear that I can only insert photos from a website, rather than simply upload them from my computer (is this correct?), so I will have to wait until I create a set of albums in the gallery before I can do this. There are heaps of photos on my blog, however.

See you soon
The Grey Roamer

See you soon
The Grey Roamer

Re: Hi, New Member
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2011, 12:25:38 PM »
G'day & Welcome Mike.

I think you've just found the forum for you, and yes, you've got a camper, no doubt about it.

Once you've finished the intro, how about putting up some photos of your journey so far.

Offline envee

• Retired !! grey nomading.
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2011, 12:45:39 PM »
Hi and welcome Mike. Sounds like you have the life that many of us are looking forward to & dreaming about. Look forward to reading about your exploits. I havn't uploaded many pics on here, but I'm sure you can do it from your computer.

Go to the "Additional Options" button at the bottom of the post window.
Click the down arrow on the left and then "browse".

I think they can only be a maximum of 500k. Hope that helps, I'm sure someone with more expertise than me will set you right if I have put you crook  ;D

'14 Disco SE  '15 Complete Campsite Exodus 14

https://destinationpotatopoint.blogspot.com/

Offline Grey Roamer

« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2011, 12:48:35 PM »
Hi Julian, thanks for that, I'll give it a try

« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2011, 02:30:11 PM »
Welcome to myswag Mike :cheers:

On the road for 884 days, we've finally found someone to beat GU Rich  ;D

« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2011, 02:40:20 PM »
G'day Mike and welcome to Myswag. Consider yourself at home with like minded folk here. Great to have you aboard.  :cheers:

« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2011, 03:31:42 PM »
Hi Mike Welcome to My Swag what a great intro can,t wait to see some pics  :cheers:

« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2011, 03:50:05 PM »
Welcome Mike,
Sounds like you lead a great life in retirement. :cup:
I look forward to your future posts.
I will check out your blog.

« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2011, 04:18:45 PM »
Mike  Welcome to MySwag , we look forward to hearing of your travels as you go . Good seasons good miles  :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2011, 05:17:57 PM »
Hi Mike
just had a look at your blog
Excellent reading & great pics

Offline Chris J

• My OKA - 166
« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2011, 05:45:06 PM »
HI Mike,

Welcome on board, hope to see you on the road some day

Chris.
Chaos, Panic, Disorder - My work is done here.

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2011, 06:10:18 PM »
G'day Mike and welcome. You'll find a wealth of knowledge here. Look forward to hearing a few of your own trip reports.

« Reply #12 on: May 15, 2011, 06:45:17 PM »
Hi Mike and welcome to My Swag :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: May 15, 2011, 06:50:36 PM »
Welcome to myswag Mike. Looking forward to hearing and seeing more about your travels.

Offline squirell

« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2011, 08:45:01 PM »
Hi and welcome, so this is what I have to look forward to in retirement, bring it on, enjoy your stay.
Just spendin' the kids inheritence !!

Offline rescue1

• D40 Navara [HIS] T31 X-Trail [HERS]
« Reply #15 on: May 15, 2011, 08:53:03 PM »
G'day Mike and welcome safe travels

Offline buildermidwife

« Reply #16 on: May 15, 2011, 08:53:24 PM »
Hi Mike
Welcome to Myswag .
Very envious of your travels . We were working in Leigh creek in April and staying in the caravan park in a cabin
supplied by employer . We had our Jayco hawk in the car park . I think you were set up opposite in the park .
Will have to check out your blog . Happy travels . Will say hello if we see you again .
Cheers Paul
04 dx 3.0 patrol Goldstream Explorer st

« Reply #17 on: May 17, 2011, 02:39:55 PM »
Hi Mike
Welcome to My Swag Happy Trails and many Sunsets

Offline flamingo

« Reply #18 on: May 17, 2011, 06:58:13 PM »
  Gday Mike! And welcome.. Plenty of Jayco owners here,, Mate ide love to do the trip your doing!!   :cheers:  Phil
Go Tigers!
2005 Navara
2011 Jayco Flamingo

Offline AussieBob

« Reply #19 on: May 20, 2011, 08:53:41 AM »
Hi Grey Roamer, have enjoyed reading your travel diary, currently up to Dec2010.
Have a couple of questions,
-what consumption are you getting with the camper in tow??
-also what happened re the fused wiring in Mt Isa, was it just the camper and/or the car wiring that was repaired??

Your internet reception would be improved greatly if your modem is  capable of attaching an external aerial, they are cheap and are very effective..refer this link .. http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=9023.49 and/or just do a search for "external aerial" ..there is lots of info.

Enjoy your travels...Bob

« Reply #20 on: May 22, 2011, 12:42:11 AM »
  Gday Mike,
 Love it mate, live the dream. And welcome to the myswag forum.