Author Topic: CTA Camper Trailer of The Year  (Read 7427 times)

Offline jkwpajero

CTA Camper Trailer of The Year
« on: March 05, 2014, 09:13:14 AM »
I watched the CTA DVD on Camper Trailer of The Year last night and what a waste of time it was. I think it was poorly produced and over acted, surely the people involved aren't really like that in real life. It gave very little real information about the campers, but lots of driving footage, and very little about the pro's and con's of each camper.  Some of the comments made about the campers were completely different to the comments published in the magazine articles. The DVD had glowing comments as opposed to the critiques published.  The editing was appalling and the sound quality was very variable.  My personal opinions is the CTA is not the same quality now as it has been in the past. It is now sharing articles with Caravan World, from the same publisher, but lacks the quality compared to it's stablemate.

James
Growing older but not growing up.

2014 Pajero VR-X
2014 Jayco Starcraft Outback

Re: CTA Camper Trailer of The Year
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2014, 09:18:46 AM »

CTA Camper Trailer of The Year
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2014, 09:27:34 AM »
Damn, I haven't watched my copy yet and now I know the storyline/outcome.

I had similar issue with latest edition of Overland 4wd. I had to flick through 3 times only to find 4 articles that weren't supplier editorials
« Last Edit: March 05, 2014, 09:39:05 AM by scarps »

« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2014, 09:51:57 AM »
Yeah I must agree, I bought the mag cause I bought the DVD would be interesting to watch, but it was very poor and gave next to no insight into any of the campers shown. They just read it all of the sales brochure for each trailer I think.

Offline Yimmy

« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2014, 08:01:04 PM »
Damn I hadn't watched mine either >:(

Well that fixes that then, time for a  :cheers: instead

nbd73

« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2014, 08:15:18 PM »

Lost, I normally agree to disagree with you, especially when it comes to footy and a club I love that you love to hate, but just this once I must concur and sit on your side of the fence, and break my own personal rule on commenting in a negative fashion.  But really guys, this has been done a billion billion times before (well, probably only 900 or so but who is counting besides Lost?!).  Is anyone really surprised that the DVD is garbage?  Why buy the mag(s)?  Not even going to explain why.  My 2c to add to Lost's classic....

Offline chookduck

« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2014, 08:31:38 PM »
What I want to know is how the 'finalists' are selected for CTA CTOTY? What criterion doo they use?  I do know that one of the CT manufacturers was told they could be a finalist but it was going to cost $$$$, which supposedly was about covering editorial and photography of the CT.

Do they only pick from CTs that they have reviewed during the year?

Is it by invite? 

He/she who pays enough money?
1994 Landcruiser RV 80 and 2014 Ultimate Xplor, previously a Trak Shak Midway

theins

« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2014, 09:16:16 PM »
What I want to know is how the 'finalists' are selected for CTA CTOTY? What criterion doo they use?  I do know that one of the CT manufacturers was told they could be a finalist but it was going to cost $$$$, which supposedly was about covering editorial and photography of the CT.

Is it by invite? 

My questions exactly...would be great if they provided the criteria for selection. Similar to what 4x4 does.

read the articles in the mag and really appreciated them. Being a newbie they provided a fountain of information.

Very disappointed with the DVD.  Sound quality appalling and no real assessment of the CT'S.  Essentially just a presentation of the features. And did I mention that the DVD Failed?   Could not open the section on hybrids...

Offline jkwpajero

« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2014, 09:15:04 AM »
Lost, I normally agree to disagree with you, especially when it comes to footy and a club I love that you love to hate, but just this once I must concur and sit on your side of the fence, and break my own personal rule on commenting in a negative fashion.  But really guys, this has been done a billion billion times before (well, probably only 900 or so but who is counting besides Lost?!).  Is anyone really surprised that the DVD is garbage?  Why buy the mag(s)?  Not even going to explain why.  My 2c to add to Lost's classic....

Not wanting to sound rude, but if your completely uninterested why bother to comment? I just posted my own thoughts, as I reckon the magazine is going downhill. The forum has a large community now and plenty of people new to our pastime may think that CTA is a worthwhile read.  I used to think so too  :-[ Good thing the DVD was free, as it was nearly useless. Just my 5 cents worth (accounting for inflation) and I am happy to bail out of the thread now.

James
« Last Edit: March 06, 2014, 09:17:54 AM by jkwpajero »

2014 Pajero VR-X

nbd73

« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2014, 09:57:29 AM »
Not wanting to sound rude, but if your completely uninterested why bother to comment? I just posted my own thoughts, as I reckon the magazine is going downhill. The forum has a large community now and plenty of people new to our pastime may think that CTA is a worthwhile read.  I used to think so too  :-[ Good thing the DVD was free, as it was nearly useless. Just my 5 cents worth (accounting for inflation) and I am happy to bail out of the thread now.

James
The main point was that there have been countless posts about magazines going downhill, so not sure who you are sharing your thoughts with as everybody has read them and posted them before.  The majority of the posts from myswag members that I have read conclude that all commercial media is biased these days.
You're correct, its a free domain and I normally overlook anything that does not interest me, but why oh why people keep complaining about this topic is something that not so much interests me but absolutely bewilders me.  Its a bit like starting the whole "Patrol v Cruiser which is better 4wd"  debate again. 
If you have taken offence then I am sorry. Peace offering made. :-[

Offline jkwpajero

« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2014, 12:48:57 PM »
No offence taken and your exasperation noted.  :laugh:  A once decent magazine is now on the slide and that's a shame.

James

2014 Pajero VR-X

Offline chookduck

« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2014, 05:45:24 PM »
The main point was that there have been countless posts about magazines going downhill, so not sure who you are sharing your thoughts with as everybody has read them and posted them before.  The majority of the posts from myswag members that I have read conclude that all commercial media is biased these days.
You're correct, its a free domain and I normally overlook anything that does not interest me, but why oh why people keep complaining about this topic is something that not so much interests me but absolutely bewilders me.  Its a bit like starting the whole "Patrol v Cruiser which is better 4wd"  debate again. 
If you have taken offence then I am sorry. Peace offering made. :-[

Cruiser anyday over a Patrol.  he he he he

« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2014, 05:47:15 PM »
Cruiser anyday over a Patrol.  he he he he

Lucky you are soon to own the best camper on the market.  ;D

« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2014, 05:56:26 PM »
Are you buying A Complete Campsite

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Offline chookduck

« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2014, 06:15:31 PM »
Are you buying A Complete Campsite

Nope.  But stay tuned as I pick it up tomorrow ....

Offline Carlisle Rogers

• www.4wdtouring.com.au
« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2014, 06:20:07 PM »
Market Direct Campers won its category...

???

Is it by invite? 

Living the Dream

« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2014, 06:24:04 PM »

???

Don't poke the bear ;)

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy

« Reply #17 on: March 06, 2014, 06:30:37 PM »

???

Suppose they have their place

Offline Carlisle Rogers

• www.4wdtouring.com.au
« Reply #18 on: March 06, 2014, 06:34:48 PM »
Seriously, though - self aggrandizing aside, check out www.4wdtouring.com.au magazine. It is everything I ever wanted to read in a magazine.
It takes what I helped CTA do once and does it much, much better. No boss, no budget, just living the dream.

Carlisle

No offence taken and your exasperation noted.  :laugh:  A once decent magazine is now on the slide and that's a shame.

James
Living the Dream

Offline ozbogwam

« Reply #19 on: March 06, 2014, 06:46:11 PM »

Damn, I haven't watched my copy yet and now I know the storyline/outcome.

I had similar issue with latest edition of Overland 4wd. I had to flick through 3 times only to find 4 articles that weren't supplier editorials

Well now it's an EMG mag like 4wd Action not really surprising

Offline toad

« Reply #20 on: March 06, 2014, 07:00:17 PM »
Seriously, though - self aggrandizing aside, check out www.4wdtouring.com.au magazine. It is everything I ever wanted to read in a magazine.
It takes what I helped CTA do once and does it much, much better. No boss, no budget, just living the dream.

Carlisle

Hi Carlisle,
 At least as an independent, you live or die on your own talent and ability. To make ends meet, sponsorship is mandatory almost everywhere these days, so good on you for getting out there, doing what a lot of armchair travellers only dream about. You deserve to do well.
 We actually crossed paths in the Kimberley last July at one of the stations on the way to Mitchell Falls.
 We had a white cruiser and an AOR Odyssey.
Great piece of gear that Oddy, but now replaced with a new AOR Quantum.
Gary

Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

« Reply #21 on: March 06, 2014, 10:31:31 PM »
Quote from: chookduck
I do know that one of the CT manufacturers was told they could be a finalist but it was going to cost $$$$,

Surely they don't have to pay to be in the competition - that defeats the purpose, and leads to my socks not to believe the whole thing is legit....

So if THE best camper manufacturer said Go **** yourself, that means it wouldn't win ???

Offline Carlisle Rogers

• www.4wdtouring.com.au
« Reply #22 on: March 06, 2014, 11:40:11 PM »
Lost...

What you said, mate.
Living the Dream

Tractor88

« Reply #23 on: March 07, 2014, 09:41:16 AM »
That's just sad and pathetic. We are scraping the bottom of the barrel just to sell imported bloody campers now. Where are we headed next?  ???

Offline woolgoolgaoffroad

• Hardfloor
« Reply #24 on: March 07, 2014, 12:50:28 PM »

But NOW we are lucky now to have a flash new mag where even the owner jumps on here for feedback, comps and even donating a prize to our raffle.... ;D
« Last Edit: March 10, 2014, 11:51:24 AM by woolgoolgaoffroad »
Kev

http://woolgoolgaoffroad.blogspot.com.au
Landcruiser + Ultra Breakaway