Author Topic: The Random Question of the Day Thread...  (Read 319940 times)

Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #1025 on: May 18, 2020, 10:44:18 AM »
I supply - or they supply.. So if they supply the bags should I refuse to touch the bags too?
I've also touched all the items they are scanning too... twice. Once off the shelf into trolley - once onto the thing for them to scan in.

as Champ says, it just slows the whole lot down, I mean having 18 checkouts, and only 2 open helps that too...

but the stuff from the shelf may have come from a 'safer' environment than your personal bags... ?

maybe the packaging plants for those items are being cleaned/fumigated?

i don't know.  i'd take my chances with a new grocery item, than someone's personal bag that hasn't ever been washed...

in the end, i think it's a small price to pay...  i don't have an issue with it.  keep your distance and it shouldn't be a big problem.

haven't seen too many grocery stores/kmart/etc,  up here that have a heap of people lining up, with hardly any checkouts open.  the opposite has applied actually.  they want to get you in and out ASAP...

« Reply #1026 on: May 18, 2020, 11:29:47 AM »
Why do Coles etc expect you to pack your own bags at the checkout? FFS.......

Yep especially after they have cross contaminated your goods with their one pair of gloves for the day

Makes more sense to use the self serve, scan and pack yourself.   

Offline Champin

« Reply #1027 on: May 18, 2020, 11:51:30 AM »
I've picked up from a majority of supermarket distribution centres in and around melbourne and delivered to most supermakets big and small around gippsland and I personally have not witnessed a great amount of hygiene either before or since the virus hit. I don't worry about something I have no control over,  I just deal with it and wash my hands every time I leave a shop.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1028 on: May 18, 2020, 11:53:15 AM »

i don't know.  i'd take my chances with a new grocery item, than someone's personal bag that hasn't ever been washed...

You mean the grocery item that you've just carried around the store in one of their grotty green baskets  >:D

Offline Champin

« Reply #1029 on: May 18, 2020, 11:55:54 AM »
Years ago I used to deliver flour to shops around melbourne and some of the dirtiest rat infested shops were in toorak and prahran. It's the old storey, if you like a food, don't see how it's made. Same then as now, personal hygiene is the key.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1030 on: May 18, 2020, 12:11:01 PM »
You mean the grocery item that you've just carried around the store in one of their grotty green baskets  >:D

nah mate... don't use those baskets...

in the end, if packing your own groceries is the biggest issue you have in the world at the moment, you're doing ok...

« Reply #1031 on: May 31, 2020, 09:09:57 PM »
Seeing as pubs have been shut all of this time, did any of them take the opportunity to clean their stinking carpets and bar mats?

« Reply #1032 on: May 31, 2020, 09:37:59 PM »
Could never figure carpets in a place that smelt like it should be tackled with a 1 inch hose.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1033 on: May 31, 2020, 09:59:40 PM »
Seeing as pubs have been shut all of this time, did any of them take the opportunity to clean their stinking carpets and bar mats?

Worked in a couple of pubs in Carlton and Fitzroy in the good old days, if any problem started, down came the roller shutters untill all the noise stopped, then out came the fire hoses to clean things.  ;D No carpets and no bar mats,no blood, all gone constable 

« Reply #1034 on: June 02, 2020, 07:16:40 PM »
Please let me know if I have this wrong.
I believe the media, through their masters are controlling our emotions.
Local newspapers have closed shop, near everyone gets their news online, a captive audience.
What would happen if we all turned our tv's off, turned FB off, actually phoned someone(btw, thanks to the swaggers that I get phone calls from), dropped in and said G'day, how do you reckon our communities would change?

« Reply #1035 on: June 02, 2020, 07:58:20 PM »
Local newspapers have closed shop, near everyone gets their news online, a captive audience.
What would happen if we all turned our tv's off, turned FB off, actually phoned someone(btw, thanks to the swaggers that I get phone calls from), dropped in and said G'day, how do you reckon our communities would change?

Local newspapers closing has more to do with printing costs V sales. Why would you spend money producing a product that people don't buy?
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #1036 on: June 02, 2020, 08:02:06 PM »
Local newspapers closing has more to do with printing costs V sales. Why would you spend money producing a product that people don't buy?
our local community news paper here adn back home was free.

« Reply #1037 on: June 02, 2020, 08:14:13 PM »
Yep, a free one here has taken the opportunity to increase thier market.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2020, 08:17:25 PM by Hairs »

« Reply #1038 on: June 02, 2020, 08:28:56 PM »
Yep, a free one here has taken the opportunity to increase thier market.
our local here is nothing but an infomercial. not worth reading.

one back home was ok
https://www.theleader.com.au/

« Reply #1039 on: June 02, 2020, 08:29:21 PM »

I don't watch television too much, probably an hour a week max, mainly Shaun the Sheep, but I have to laugh when people hang Shit on 'Reality TV' programmes and then watch the news with 'Oohs, aahs and tsk tsks' going on.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2020, 08:30:53 PM by Steffo1 »

« Reply #1040 on: June 02, 2020, 09:54:47 PM »
I don't watch television too much, probably an hour a week max, mainly Shaun the Sheep,

Don't know what Shaun the Sheep is, but an hr of tellie a week would put you in the 0.1% of people who don't watch it.

Have a friend who doesn't own a computer, and doesn't know how to access the internet on his phone either. But he has a tellie...and a smart one at that, but only uses it for netflix.

Offline moeite

« Reply #1041 on: June 04, 2020, 11:42:46 AM »
It was never "free". Local "free" papers are the same as "free" to air TV.
You, the consumer, is the product and the TV channel and the paper are a way of delivering you to the advertiser.
The way it works is that the local paper or TV channel go and have a talk to their media buyer about what they are publishing / airing. The media buyer then goes to the advertiser and asks for advertising for products that will appeal to the demographic that will likely watch the programme or read the paper.
Money changes hands, the paper is printed and delivered to your letterbox and you are delivered to the advertiser.
Mark F...
VK3KW
2002 Discovery 2 Td5 auto
2004 Outback Sturt rear fold soft floor
Http://jandmf.com

« Reply #1042 on: June 05, 2020, 06:34:17 PM »
Ok, so QLD have shut boarders(because NSW has a higher number of cases of covid19), yet we see here(northern NSW) many QLD plated vehicles(without the big window thingy) towing caravans, trailers.
So these lot come to NSW, camp, holiday, go back to Canetoad country and all is good.
Am I missing something here?

« Reply #1043 on: June 06, 2020, 01:54:14 AM »
Quote from: Hairs
Am I missing something here?

Your trying to work out what cant be worked out.

« Reply #1044 on: June 06, 2020, 08:52:05 AM »
By my understanding of the rules (which I openly admit may be way off!) if even Qld residents in Qld vehicles don't have a border pass, they won't be allowed back in ???

« Reply #1045 on: June 06, 2020, 09:55:03 PM »
By my understanding of the rules (which I openly admit may be way off!) if even Qld residents in Qld vehicles don't have a border pass, they won't be allowed back in ???

They are allowed back in.   No real dramas.   It is only if they have been to the declared hot spots they have to isolate for the 14 days.   

https://www.health.qld.gov.au/system-governance/legislation/cho-public-health-directions-under-expanded-public-health-act-powers/border-restrictions

« Reply #1046 on: June 07, 2020, 06:28:09 PM »
Ok,
Not trying to start a Shite fight,
In the current climate, BLM, and the increasing violence and the anger in the communitty.
I have tried to find/google statists on how many people have lost their life in custody over the last 30 years.
All I find is references to Aboriginal deaths, there must be a record somewhere.
Considering the prison system is predominantly aboriginal, wouldn't' the numbers be high regarding this?
Grafton Jail is about to be opened, out of curiosity I looked at the advertised positions  that were on offer.
Every position(some 200), had in the application form, must be or identify as an Aboriginal as the first question asked.

Like I said, I haven't posted this to start a Shite fight.

« Reply #1047 on: June 07, 2020, 06:53:15 PM »
It was never "free". Local "free" papers are the same as "free" to air TV.
You, the consumer, is the product and the TV channel and the paper are a way of delivering you to the advertiser.
The way it works is that the local paper or TV channel go and have a talk to their media buyer about what they are publishing / airing. The media buyer then goes to the advertiser and asks for advertising for products that will appeal to the demographic that will likely watch the programme or read the paper.
Money changes hands, the paper is printed and delivered to your letterbox and you are delivered to the advertiser.

Then the paper was put in m,y mail box..FREE.

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #1048 on: June 07, 2020, 07:18:54 PM »
Hey Hairs, Check this site out. It may answer some of your questions, even though it is not for a 30 year period.
https://www.aic.gov.au/publications/tandi/tandi309
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #1049 on: June 07, 2020, 08:24:38 PM »
Hey Hairs, Check this site out. It may answer some of your questions, even though it is not for a 30 year period.
https://www.aic.gov.au/publications/tandi/tandi309
Cheers mate,
Will read it all tomorrow.
Appreciate the link, I have been sent a couple more as well, Member messenger.

I don't mind if someone doesn't want to comment, I'm trying to understand it.