Author Topic: OH F*#K, i order a KK, Hello MYSWAG  (Read 4212 times)

Offline LUXUS

OH F*#K, i order a KK, Hello MYSWAG
« on: March 30, 2012, 08:24:53 PM »
Hey Everyone,

Thought I'd introduce myself. In a sort of last minute decision i will soon be a camper trailer owner. So i've now started to do some research and found this useful forum. Now i fill you in on why I'm buying a CT.

About November last year i had one of those "what the F*#K an i doing with my life moments" and told the misses i won't to bugger off from Adelaide for a year or so and travel a OZ and work. She said "no worries, when do we leave". So that was all good, we were going to travel and work (a little bit), Me the misses  and our dog, a year old german shepherd.

Eventually reality caught up with us and we realised we wouldn't be able to see to much of OZ with my best mate, due to national park restrictions, plus I think it would be safer for him at home due to snakes, ticks, crocs etc.

So now the plan is to see and experience as much of the northern parts of OZ in the best time (June to November) in a 6 month trip, hopefully without working and we were going to be using my OZ Tent (which i love) for accommodation. Until the misses finally got her way, for better or worse. She didn't like the idea of putting up with a tent every day and no hot water.

So now we will come forward to the start of march 2012 and we just order a new Kimberly Kamper Limited Edition (ouch, that hurt the pocket). We started looking for a second hand KK initially but due to the high resale prices and a show special we reason it was better to go new (plus i like the new kitchen better than the old).

So the deliver date is mid May and our the departure date is the start of June. i hope KK is on schedule and the sale man wasn't bull s#*ting me with the delivery date just to get a sale  ???

The tow vehicle is a 05+ Hilux, which i will post a build thread on hopefully when i get time. I don't think l will start a thread on the KK until i get it and then I'm going to have zero prep time anyway, so hopefully everything is sorted and right from day dot. But thats life, i see back packers driving around Oz in junker 4x4's and vans so i think we will be fine, If not, thats part of the experience. Whats the point of going if it was easy and you knew what's going to happen.

Anyway thats a reasonable rant.

Cheers Tj

Re: OH F*#K, i order a KK, Hello MYSWAG
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2012, 08:48:27 PM »
G'day Tj
Welcome to the forum and congrats on the KK.
Happy travels ahead mate.Enjoy the chat.

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2012, 08:56:18 PM »
Welcome to the Forum Tj, few KK hiding around here.

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2012, 08:57:18 PM »
Welcome TJ,

happy reading, and happy travels when the time comes.

Offline frahmbell

• Car here, waiting for trailer
OH F*#K, i order a KK, Hello MYSWAG
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2012, 09:01:19 PM »
Hi tj
That is one hell of a spur of the moment decision bit a good one though.  My cousin travelled around Australia for 2 years in a hiace camper van that he decked our himself and he loved every minute of it
Take advantage of what Australia has to offer and get out there and see as mush of it as you can.

Offline LUXUS

« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2012, 09:24:08 PM »
Cheers fellas.

I'll post up a trip plan soon with the direction where planning on traveling. Hopefully i can get some advice on routes to take. i was always planning on 'winging it' but now i've looked in to all the place to visit up north I'm starting to get a bit of itinerary sorted.

I can't wait, but really under the pump trying to get the ute sort plus trying to plan packing without having, or ever own the accommodation where planning on staying in, plus trying earn the cash to pay for all this.

Such is life. I think this is a once in a life time trip for a lot of people, including me. So i may aswell do it right and enjoy it.

Chris F

« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2012, 11:37:12 PM »
Hi Tj,

I know exactly how you feel about committing to buying a new KK, I am waiting for ours too due in mid April. What you said mirrors my feelings exactly; not worth buying second hand when a new one doesn't cost that much more and the new kitchen is the deal clincher.

Good luck with it and I'll be watching with interest.

Chris.

« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2012, 07:48:05 AM »
Welcome to myswag Tj

Good luck with the new camper hard floor is the way to go on
 a extended trip now for the wait

Cheers Gr

Offline hargs

« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2012, 08:04:08 AM »
Welcome.................................and great move !! ( camper and trip ). I'm very jealous !! Hope all goes well, will be watching posts with interest !! If your down this way .............
Life is to short not to...............

« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2012, 08:07:31 AM »
Welcome and yep, also know where you are coming from.
 I recall in 2010 we were in Kakadu, staying at Jabiru, and my wife said I should take a helicopter flight. She had previously done a fixed wing flight.  The full helicopter flight was going to cost about $500.  I said no, it is too expensive. She said it is a once in a life time thing and she gave me the option.  Either I take the flight or she will put the $500 in my coffin. (I think she meant a long way, hopefully, down the track when I pass away from old age?)
Well I took the flight and it was one of the best experiences of my life.  Worth every cent.
So go for it...   Kevin

« Reply #10 on: April 01, 2012, 07:26:48 AM »
G'day Tj,

Plenty here to help you with all kinds of stuff.
Happy & Safe travels

Offline Dreama

« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2012, 11:13:34 AM »
G'day TJ,
All I can say is, Bloody well good on ya.  :cup:
Awesome decision, hope you have the time of your lives.

Offline ausiwaz

• I've got a KKK and I'm not affraid to use it!!
« Reply #12 on: April 02, 2012, 12:35:22 PM »
Welcome fellow KK owner
Comming to a National Park near you!!!

« Reply #13 on: April 02, 2012, 03:22:46 PM »
G'day & Welcome TJ.

Good on you both, had a dream, making it happen. Not to mention it sounds like your wife is a bit smarter than you, insisting on a new KK,  ;D. As good as your OzTent is, a camper makes traveling and stopping so much easier and more enjoyable.

I hope you'll have time to share your adventure with us all on here.

« Reply #14 on: April 02, 2012, 03:25:45 PM »
Welcome aboard TJ, plenty of fellow KK owners ont his forum....

Enjoy, and keep us in the loop with any mods, trips etc

Offline lilstookie

• Traveling Lab Rats
    • http://facebook.com/thewanderingjocks
« Reply #15 on: April 02, 2012, 03:42:20 PM »
Hi TJ,

Don't let the dog stop you...that's what boarding kennels and contacts are for ;) We're leaving shortly for an around Oz trip with the furkid in tow. Where there's a will, there's a way (Stookie tells me I'm too much of an optimist  :laugh: ).

Lil :)
If the spelling and grammar are good, it's a post from Lil. If not, the mad Scot is on the keyboard ;)

Add us on facebook and keep up to date with our big lap .
www.facebook.com/TheWanderingJocks or follow our blog

« Reply #16 on: April 09, 2012, 10:00:15 PM »
Hi Tj and welcome to My Swag