General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2012 Cape York Members Trip => Topic started by: McGirr on June 14, 2012, 04:53:13 PM

Title: So are we getting excited yet !!
Post by: McGirr on June 14, 2012, 04:53:13 PM

Not long now !! Why are the days dragging on ;D

Post by: Glenno on June 14, 2012, 07:31:22 PM
Hanging in the region!!!!  Waiting, waiting.... Just as well it's nice up here in FNQ
Title: Re: So are we getting excited yet !!
Post by: dooguss on June 14, 2012, 09:34:27 PM
2  days of work left  :cheers: :cheers:  ;D
Post by: Malcur on June 15, 2012, 08:29:07 AM
Finished work yesterday!!  Today we finish packing, will set the tent up to fit some more stuff on the beds and load the fridge into the walkway. Put the roofrack on the car, load the car, go to the club for tea tonight then head off tomorrow morning.

Mal
Post by: Beachman on June 15, 2012, 09:55:51 AM
I’m excited and I’m not even going. I’m excited about getting to read the trip reports and look at all the photo’s.

I loved going to the Cape and sure you guys will too.
Post by: idlegossip on June 15, 2012, 05:24:20 PM
 :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(    I'm sad. Really really sad...     :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(

This time last year I was doing exactly what the rest of you are doing today. Finalizing everything as we were heading off in the morning. Oh well, not this year but to all those heading off, hope you all have a great time and you send us lots of pics to tell us what we are missing out on. Hope a great trip is had by all, and watch that McGirr character. He will lead you astray. Any he is constantly consulting with Mr XXXX. Couldn't make a disision on his own if his life depended on it. ;D ;D ;D

Safe Travels.
Post by: Malcur on June 15, 2012, 05:32:30 PM
So much for planning!!  Had thought to finish packing tonight then make a relaxing start tomorrow morning. But the packing didn't get finished, so I guess it's up early tomorrow to put the last few things in the car (plus the fridges/eskies) then go. Off to the club tonight for tea with 2 sons & daughter-in-law.

Mal
Post by: blackcat on June 15, 2012, 06:00:08 PM
I'm on the road! currently sitting in Parkes :)
Post by: jetcrew on June 15, 2012, 06:16:46 PM
I am running way way behind , if you look in my car and it looks like I just threw it all in then you will prob be corectt..LOL ;D ;D

Getting very excited now too..annaconda had 50% off self inflating matts so the kids are not on the floor now ;D ;D

Can't wait ..

Jet ;D
Post by: Malcur on June 15, 2012, 10:00:39 PM
Still need to finish packing. Only job left after that is to renew registration on the Prado  ???  The renewal papers arrived today, which was just as well as I had forgotten as rego expires on 5th July. Got the inspection done this afternoon, but had a fight with AAMI CTP system so have to ring in the morning  :'(

Hope to get it all done and hit the road by 9:00am

Mal
Post by: hen on June 16, 2012, 12:54:50 PM
2 more days of work.  Pete's putting in air bags this weekend.  Nothing like cutting things close.  feeling very jealous of you lot already on the way and keen to catch up with you. ;D
Jayne
Post by: McGirr on June 16, 2012, 01:35:03 PM
Not including today I have sort of 3 maybe 4 days of work...no make it 3 more days.

Camper and car partially packed , just have to do a food run and the most important one is the alcohol collection  :cheers:

I hope mr great northern beer gives me the right advice as Mr XXXX did last year otherwise we could end up lost  ;D

Post by: dooguss on June 16, 2012, 04:09:29 PM
Today was suppose to be my last day of work but half day tomorrow will knock it off, load the fridges after shopping and load the roof rack and Monday head for hervey bay first stop
Post by: pigd4d on June 16, 2012, 04:40:45 PM
im getting excited for you's and im not even going(hopefully next year) :D enjoy it u lucky buggers
Post by: McGirr on June 16, 2012, 04:57:17 PM

I hope mr great northern beer gives me the right advice as Mr XXXX did last year otherwise we could end up lost  ;D

If if that does not work I will consult ( God ) Johnnie Walker  :cup:

Post by: Symon on June 16, 2012, 05:33:33 PM
Flew back home this morning, stripped out everything in the truck toolboxes ready to repack with camping gear tomorrow.

Thursday can't come quick enough.
Post by: bert56 on June 16, 2012, 09:06:50 PM
Loaded roofrack today, back tomorrow and back seat Tuesday.

Bert
Post by: dooguss on June 17, 2012, 08:49:17 PM
Finished work at 1:00 this afternoon mowed the yard and a tip run as well, 95% packed just got clothes  into the side box to do in the morning with a quick check over everything and by 9:00 in the morning we"ll be on the road north see you in cairns on Thursday afternoon. Let the holiday begin :cheers: ;D
Post by: McGirr on June 18, 2012, 04:09:37 PM
Car 90% done. Green garbage bags covering some items on the roof to keep the dust off.

(http://img.tapatalk.com/31b042bb-c5d1-54bd.jpg)

Camper 90% done

(http://img.tapatalk.com/31b042bb-c5f1-ebc6.jpg)
Post by: Symon on June 18, 2012, 06:13:07 PM
What is all that water doing there? Thats talking up beer room!
Post by: McGirr on June 18, 2012, 06:29:09 PM
What is all that water doing there? Thats talking up beer room!

It's there to add depth of field for the photo !!

Beer run is wed 4 cases will take up some of that area  :cheers:

Post by: MarkGU on June 18, 2012, 07:19:17 PM
nope...cant say on here what needs to be said to you MM

(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-talk034.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

:P
Post by: MrCruza on June 18, 2012, 10:00:25 PM
You're just jealous, Goldie   ;D

Finally, FINALLY packed... Hit the road tomorrow morning. Cairns on Thursday afternoon.

Would supply photos but it's too bloody dark and cold....

BRING IT ON!!!!!
Post by: Offroad 4x4 Accessories on June 18, 2012, 10:12:33 PM
Just need to get the gas bottle refilled in the morning and I am nearly ready to go
Post by: Glenno on June 19, 2012, 07:06:01 AM
Been hanging out around Innisfail, then Lake Tinaroo, Atherton, and now Port Douglas. All ok , especially Lake Tinaroo, but honestly could take or leave PD. bit too busy and 'resorty'. Would rather be in the bush!!
Cairns tomorrow for final restock and prepare.

Safe travels all. See you there
Post by: Symon on June 19, 2012, 07:25:20 AM
You're just jealous, Goldie   ;D

Finally, FINALLY packed... Hit the road tomorrow morning. Cairns on Thursday afternoon.

Would supply photos but it's too bloody dark and cold....

BRING IT ON!!!!!

Give us a call when you pass through Mackay and say G'day!
Post by: Kirsty on June 19, 2012, 09:58:25 PM
Well I know at least one traveller who will be well armed to capture all of the photographic evidence from this years' Cape Tripl  (Depending on how 'well hydrated' everyone is)

Sym may mention that our Cruiser has had one or two 'birthdays' to prepare for this trip....$$$....... :cheers:

Post by: Offroad 4x4 Accessories on June 20, 2012, 04:05:48 AM
Just about to leave home to start our trip. Will be meeting up with JK at brissy
Post by: jk on June 20, 2012, 04:35:30 AM
We're off...................early start to meet Tim and then it's on to Mackay  ;D . cool down the beers McGirr hear we come  :cheers:  see you on Friday at Lake Placid.
Post by: McGirr on June 20, 2012, 05:51:54 AM
We're off...................early start to meet Tim and then it's on to Mackay  ;D . cool down the beers McGirr hear we come  :cheers:  see you on Friday at Lake Placid.

Mate I have arranged a ticker tape parade for you.....the beers are on ice  :cheers:

Post by: barraboy on June 20, 2012, 12:31:14 PM
Drive safely Boys.  The weather is fantastic up here at present with min 17 and max about 26.  Should be hotter the further up the cape we go.
Post by: McGirr on June 20, 2012, 04:29:52 PM

Well after numerous beers this afternoon and looking at the tyres on the camper I decided to ring my mechanic and get some new shoes for it tomorrow.

$230 each for new all terrain tyres makes me feel more at ease except for my credit card but I know if I have to buy any up there I will pay a hell of a lot more.

Back to my beer now !! ;D

Post by: Kirsty on June 21, 2012, 05:25:13 AM
Finally, F-I-N-A-L-L-Y - the boys trundled off 20 minutes ago...................to meet JK and Mick at Hungry Jacks Mackay.......   :police:

Have an awesome trip guys....  :cheers:
Post by: becboo on June 21, 2012, 06:20:18 AM
Drive safely Boys.  The weather is fantastic up here at present with min 17 and max about 26.  Should be hotter the further up the cape we go.

Nope not hotter up here.  About the same temps.

Becboo
Post by: waxhead on June 21, 2012, 10:58:13 AM
Leaving in 5 hours.
Hope to run in to some of you up there.
Post by: McGirr on June 21, 2012, 05:35:57 PM

I will visit my disciples tomorrow at coconuts and see the others tonight at lake placid for the inaugural blessing  :cheers:

Post by: Kirsty on June 21, 2012, 07:02:00 PM
I will visit my disciples tomorrow at coconuts and see the others tonight at lake placid for the inaugural blessing  :cheers: Mark

....And The Great (My Swag) Messiah has spoken....  ;D