Matson
DownUnder
Gasmate
Companion
BushBoy
Aldi, the wonder fridge
Techni Ice
Kings

Author Topic: What Fridge do you use Poll.  (Read 265539 times)

Offline xmasbaby67

Re: What Fridge do you use Poll.
« Reply #225 on: October 10, 2011, 09:47:19 AM »
Primus for us too!!!!  Had it for a couple of years now and works really well....it also goes to jobsites when it's not camping.  :cup:
2009 12ft CUSTOMLINE towed by 2005 VX Prado

Offline 87Bravo

• See My Build - 87Bravo's Home built Camper
« Reply #226 on: October 15, 2011, 10:20:12 PM »
I'm a greedy bastard!! I have 3 :cheers:

60ltr Engel that I use as a Fridge, 39ltr 3 way Electolux that I use on gas as a freezer when set up for an extended stays, and a Cf50 49ltr Waeco that is used as a freezer for shorter stays.

I think between the Engel and Waeco, the Engel is more efficient.
 Its certainly tougher. It came off a ute at 60 klmh and cartwheeled down a sealed road. Although it looks a bit worse for wear, it still works perfectly :cup: Cant say the plastic Waeco would of faired the same :-*
« Last Edit: October 15, 2011, 10:21:58 PM by 87Bravo »
Built NOT Bought!

Offline Quent

« Reply #227 on: October 23, 2011, 10:35:23 PM »
We use a companion fridge, nothing top of the range but works excellent very happy with it.

« Reply #228 on: October 24, 2011, 06:02:12 AM »
We use a companion fridge, nothing top of the range but works excellent very happy with it.

I've added that option in the poll to enable you to vote.

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
« Reply #229 on: October 24, 2011, 08:36:37 AM »
FINALLY able to add to the Poll..

60L Engel Fridge-Freezer. Purchased new on Saturday.

Love it!  Bye-bye ice, sopping wet food, and warm drinks!!!

Offline LJs GU

• My Camel has 3 little humps...
    • The Jackson 5 On Tour
« Reply #230 on: October 24, 2011, 09:01:46 AM »
We picked up an 18l Waeco from the Sandown show to use as a freezer. 
It compliments our 40l Engel.  So far the Waeco has told the Engel it has nice eyes!  ;D
LJ (the fence sitter)
I'm not so good with advice... can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?

Offline monahanajj

• Landcruiser Prado, YES, it's a Landcruiser....
« Reply #231 on: November 02, 2011, 05:05:02 PM »
I went Waco because even though i have others this has been the most reliable for me.

Didnt want to open the can of worms but hey....whadya do!

"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction." Albert Einstein "...Such as a Landcruiser..." Me

Offline joefish

« Reply #232 on: November 03, 2011, 06:58:26 PM »
Just brought a Waeco CF-40 , it was cheap and has 5 yr warranty so i thought bugger it . Im not a brand person , just whats the right price with a warranty , i hope it works well.

joel.

Offline 6knights

« Reply #233 on: November 10, 2011, 06:53:47 PM »
Added a vote for the ARB.... there are not many of us, picked up a 47L one today paid $1100 inc the bag, while there we also got the tiedowns for it, we looked long and hard at the 60L but it was just to big for what we wanted to do with it.

Trev.
2006 100 series towing a 2012 modcon HFA  🙂

« Reply #234 on: November 10, 2011, 06:56:44 PM »
They are a top bit of kit joefish :cup:

Offline danielhobby

« Reply #235 on: November 14, 2011, 09:41:42 PM »
no other bush boys?
The sights,...the smells,...the companionship,...the thrill of the steep downhill,when I'm old I'll have it all

Offline Alesco

« Reply #236 on: November 14, 2011, 10:45:07 PM »
I'm a greedy bastard!! I have 3 :cheers:

60ltr Engel that I use as a Fridge, 39ltr 3 way Electolux that I use on gas as a freezer when set up for an extended stays, and a Cf50 49ltr Waeco that is used as a freezer for shorter stays.

I think between the Engel and Waeco, the Engel is more efficient.
 Its certainly tougher. It came off a ute at 60 klmh and cartwheeled down a sealed road. Although it looks a bit worse for wear, it still works perfectly :cup: Cant say the plastic Waeco would of faired the same :-*
Me three...
Dometic F/F 3way 50L, Finch Fridge 30L and Waeco CF18.
The Waeco did several rolls in the back of a Toyota Ute ::) - Lid broke off, bottom corner left looking at the compressor had a 1 1/2 inch lift. :o The compressor leg was bent up about one inch and the frame was also pushed up but it will freeze a cup of water on twelve volt from room temperature in approx 1/2 hour. ;D And I got it for free. Bit of panel beating and now sits on four legs. :cup:

Unfortunately I can't add these into the List for some reason.

Steve.

« Reply #237 on: November 15, 2011, 06:49:23 AM »
no other bush boys?

Added to the list, vote away

Offline Alesco

« Reply #238 on: November 15, 2011, 07:37:10 AM »
Added to the list, vote away
My mistake I should have said I can't vote - perhaps I already voted a while ago and can't remember.
If I did then the dometic and the Finch will be on the list.
Memory like a 10 inch gill net.

Offline explorer

« Reply #239 on: November 25, 2011, 11:17:44 PM »
Hi there. I had a 50L Waeco that was great. Purchased one of those 80L Ebay ones - Easy Cool - and it is fantastic! For $742 I paid for it, delivered, it is truly a bargain. I have a Dometic in the van but the 80L stays in the car. When I go shopping I put it on before I go and throw all the frozen food in and it is already below Zero after a 15 minute drive.

There are some Yum Cha fridges around that look the same but the Easy Cool has a different compressor and a few other nicey's. Eg it has a lid for the 50L fridge section and a lid for the 30L freezer. You can take the lids off and they can both act as freezers or fridges. it doesnt use a lot of power either. Someone on Exploroz did a full review on it and gave it a big thumbs up.  :cheers:

Offline Mexico

• Packing the KK for a trip....
What Fridge do you use Poll.
« Reply #240 on: November 25, 2011, 11:30:56 PM »
Waeco 80. Does the job with 2 adults and 3 kids. Plus it was a good price when we got it.
If I was to do it again, I would go for two 40l fridges.
Merrigum Mexicans

Offline danielhobby

« Reply #241 on: December 03, 2011, 11:21:45 PM »
must have voted before so my new bushboy doesnt get counted.
The sights,...the smells,...the companionship,...the thrill of the steep downhill,when I'm old I'll have it all

Offline ondaboat

« Reply #242 on: December 28, 2011, 12:42:49 AM »
2x40L Engels for me. But no 3 is on its way for the new camper just have to decide what to buy....hmmmm

Regards Adam

Camprite TL8s towed by 2007 D4D Prado with lots of goodies.

Offline FZJ

« Reply #243 on: January 13, 2012, 02:33:16 PM »
Just bought a new evakool 70lt (the yellow ones) and have had a down under 73lt icebox for 8 years.

The down under box is brilliant.We have just got back from a week away with every day over 30 deg and it was well over 40 in the annex a couple of those ( my thermometer goes to 43 and it was way above that).I loaded it with 3 servo blocks and 2 3lt frozen waters.I keep a wet towel on top all the time and a small rectangle of soundproofing rubber (about 15 mm thick) ontop and it works a treat keeping it cool. I drain the water off untill the last couple of days.There was still a small amount of ice  in the melted water and was 4 deg  on day 6.

The evakool had its maiden voyage as well in this heat.It was on 5 (out of 9) for 5 days keeping it in fridge freezer mode,then back to 3 for the last 2 days and still everything stayed frozen.Bloody brilliant.Had a wet towel on that as well,I reckon it helps quite a bit.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2012, 02:49:36 PM by pedeosar »
I dont mind going to work, its the 8 hours  i have to wait to go home again that annoys me.

Camel bushman....

Offline PradoProud

« Reply #244 on: January 28, 2012, 05:23:56 PM »
ARB

Offline GaryV

« Reply #245 on: February 04, 2012, 01:16:16 PM »
Might be a bit off topic . I have a Waco in the van and an Engle on the drawbar and am constantly running them even when parked at home. Do any other swaggers do the same? I thought about turning them off and just running them  say once a month for a few days. What do others think?
Gary

Offline Kimberley Mob

« Reply #246 on: February 04, 2012, 07:44:24 PM »
Got the 40lt Waeco
Went that way cause I managed to score a brand new one for free so no contest really
Then bought one of their CF11 to mount in between the front seats of the patrol so we always have cold drinks on hand (hey, it gets hot in the Kimberley what can I say)

Offline Smokey2.8

« Reply #247 on: February 04, 2012, 09:28:00 PM »
Might be a bit off topic . I have a Waco in the van and an Engle on the drawbar and am constantly running them even when parked at home. Do any other swaggers do the same? I thought about turning them off and just running them  say once a month for a few days. What do others think?
Gary

I understand it's always best to run a fridge all the time. I have always with all my fridges 12 and 240v. Never had a issue. Gas settles, deals go hard etc etc. More so Engels I have heard they don't like being sat idle off. 
1998 GU PATROL 2.8 

Never underestimate the mighty 2.8!

Offline Fun Police

« Reply #248 on: February 05, 2012, 08:26:13 AM »
Anybody have one of these and know what they are like??

http://www.techniice.com/2011/iceboxes/index_iceboxes_car_fridges.asp
You can't spell 'funeral' without 'fun', nor 'manslaughter' without 'laughter'

Offline OffRoadDave

• If I think I can build it I will!
« Reply #249 on: February 05, 2012, 01:07:42 PM »
Anybody have one of these and know what they are like??

http://www.techniice.com/2011/iceboxes/index_iceboxes_car_fridges.asp

No idea what they are like, they look they fell out the back door of the Waeco Factory, but since they don't say Danfoss compressor I would probably give it a miss.