Author Topic: Cabin Fever  (Read 23739 times)

Re: Cabin Fever
« Reply #100 on: April 07, 2020, 06:33:30 PM »
I don’t know about this getting bored thing, today was as busy and stressful a day as I’ve had in the last 12 months.
My phone started at 7am and didn’t stop all day. Even with only stopping for 10 minutes to slam down a tuna sandwich for lunch I still couldn’t complete all of my tasks by 5:30 this arvo.

The only reason I stopped was because the misses dragged me out of the office to go for a walk with the whole family and the dog.

While out walking I was extremely impressed with how much good old family time I saw happening around our little town again.
I can’t remember the last time I walked around the streets seeing and hearing so many kids and parents laughing and playing in their yards.

If nothing else this virus has forced a lot of us busy people to slow down and spend time with our families again.

Now we just need to sort out the a**holes that have taken to driving around our streets like a race track and narrowly missing the kids riding on their bikes and scooters. :(

« Reply #101 on: April 07, 2020, 06:36:55 PM »
If nothing else this virus has forced a lot of us busy people to slow down and spend time with our families again.

« Reply #102 on: April 07, 2020, 06:48:38 PM »

While out walking I was extremely impressed with how much good old family time I saw happening around our little town again.
I can’t remember the last time I walked around the streets seeing and hearing so many kids and parents laughing and playing in their yards.

Yep, my shed is getting sorted after a very long time, whilst I was out the back yesterday afternoon doing a bit more in there, one daughter was catching ladybugs, the another was just sitting on the swing watching the birds, I think it's helping to enjoy the small things as we aren't so busy rushing from place to place. To be honest, I'm not hating or even disliking the lockdown yet.

Offline tombie

« Reply #103 on: April 07, 2020, 07:06:57 PM »
COVID-19 helping families be families again.

And parents raising their children rather than Child Care Centres.

So many families really have been “permanent part time” the last few decades.

« Reply #104 on: April 07, 2020, 07:08:36 PM »
COVID-19 helping families be families again.

And parents raising their children rather than Child Care Centres.

So many families really have been “permanent part time” the last few decades.

This is the Reset.

Offline hainess

« Reply #105 on: April 07, 2020, 07:41:25 PM »
This is the Reset.

For some maybe.
For others....

I'm in my late 50s. As is the missus.
Daughters wedding postponed and she and partner are moving back in with us for a while.
Thats about it.
Grass is still growing and I'm still mowing.
This years holidays may be a miss but i can keep on mowing.
I've never used an uber.
Haven't seen a movie this century.
Last time we ate out was August at the Birdsville Hotel.
The roads are like school holiday time but with more kamikaze cyclists.
Frankly, life is not a lot different to normal.

Except for the live sport......

Rod

« Reply #106 on: April 07, 2020, 08:37:02 PM »
For some maybe.
For others....

I'm in my late 50s. As is the missus.
Daughters wedding postponed and she and partner are moving back in with us for a while.
Thats about it.
Grass is still growing and I'm still mowing.
This years holidays may be a miss but i can keep on mowing.
I've never used an uber.
Haven't seen a movie this century.
Last time we ate out was August at the Birdsville Hotel.
The roads are like school holiday time but with more kamikaze cyclists.
Frankly, life is not a lot different to normal.

Except for the live sport......

Rod
Hey Rod,
I'm just 54, youngest is 18 at the end of the month.
Financially, we are in a good place, even tho my work has near stopped.
I am looking at working smarter, body is wearing out, farming more work out.
I am also rethinking how we live, what we have, what do we need, little things to start with.

Take care and safe travels.

« Reply #107 on: April 08, 2020, 10:03:43 AM »
Quote from: Hairs
This is the Reset.

Bloke called MMM just now, who is a addicted gambler on pokies. Doesnt do the online gig - walking into clubs is his gig.

He was sayin this is a god send for him, he has never had a good life cause of gambling, and always broke, lives with his mum, sounded like he was in his 40's
Has tried many times to clean up, has seen dr's specialists, psychologists etc... 

So maybe something decent will come of this Shit in 2yrs when its all cleared up

« Reply #108 on: April 08, 2020, 01:07:19 PM »
Bloke called MMM just now, who is a addicted gambler on pokies. Doesnt do the online gig - walking into clubs is his gig.

He was sayin this is a god send for him, he has never had a good life cause of gambling, and always broke, lives with his mum, sounded like he was in his 40's
Has tried many times to clean up, has seen dr's specialists, psychologists etc... 

So maybe something decent will come of this Shit in 2yrs when its all cleared up

Yes some people may clean up their act. I am concerned about the drug affected and what happens once they can’t access their meds , prescription or otherwise, with an increasing lockdown.

« Reply #109 on: April 08, 2020, 01:13:16 PM »
the drug affected and what happens once they can’t access their meds , prescription or otherwise, with an increasing lockdown.

Yes, that'd make for an interesting chat!

:police: "Where are you off to, driver"?

"Oh, I'm just heading down to my local drug dealer ..." >:D

« Reply #110 on: April 08, 2020, 01:15:17 PM »
Yes, that'd make for an interesting chat!

:police: "Where are you off to, driver"?

"Oh, I'm just heading down to my local drug dealer ..." >:D

There was a guy in the UK caught returning from his drug dealer at night. Conversation was very similar. 😂😂😂

« Reply #111 on: April 08, 2020, 02:12:40 PM »
So cops are looking through windows now ???

quote]Three friends received a $1652 fine each - a total fine of almost $5000 - for playing video games in a lounge room

Those hit with a $1652 fine for gathering unnecessarily include "three mates who were playing video games in a lounge room and did not live together", four people "found walking the streets seeking drugs" and a group of friends who were "hanging out in a park", police said.[/quote]

« Reply #112 on: April 08, 2020, 02:19:00 PM »

quote]Three friends received a $1652 fine each - a total fine of almost $5000 - for playing video games in a lounge room

Those hit with a $1652 fine for gathering unnecessarily include "three mates who were playing video games in a lounge room and did not live together", four people "found walking the streets seeking drugs" and a group of friends who were "hanging out in a park", police said.
Source ?

« Reply #114 on: April 08, 2020, 02:28:49 PM »

Those hit with a $1652 fine for gathering unnecessarily include "three mates who were playing video games in a lounge room and did not live together", four people "found walking the streets seeking drugs" and a group of friends who were "hanging out in a park", police said.
I assume it was in the newly founded communist state of Victoria

Makes me happy I live in Qld. Our premier is a lady of very few words, a quick sound bite here or there and leaves the rest if us to get on with life. Seems like Daniel Andrews on the other hand wants to be everywhere, even in your loungeroom

« Reply #115 on: April 08, 2020, 02:34:37 PM »
Health modelling on the spread of coronavirus had initially predicted at least 30,000 Queenslanders would die if the virus was not contained.
Key points:

Premier says the modelling shows why such tough measures are needed
    She says strict limits on movement must remain in place
    Queensland Health cannot yet pinpoint the extent of community transmission of COVID-19

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk revealed the shocking figure while pleading with Queenslanders to adhere to social distancing rules.

"The initial modelling I was shown, if we didn't flatten the curve, it was over 30,000 Queenslanders could have lost their lives," she said.

"That keeps me up at night, thinking about how I can save people's lives.
Coronavirus update: Follow the latest news in our daily wrap.

"I don't like these restrictions as much as you don't. I can't see my family and friends, it's tough — but this is about saving people's lives."

Another nine cases of COVID-19 were confirmed in Queensland on Wednesday, taking the state's total tally to 943.

Five Queenslanders have died from the coronavirus and 11 people are being treated in intensive care.

But the Premier said the numbers of coronavirus cases had been trending downwards, which was a positive sign for the projected death rate.

"The reality is the virus is still here and we are still going to see tragic loss of life," she said.

"But we're going to get new modelling for the states and territories and we will see that [number] come down dramatically.

Restrictions to stay for six months

While the daily tallies of new cases have been falling dramatically over the past week, the Premier insisted restrictions must remain in place over coming weeks.
Qld COVID-19 snapshot

Confirmed cases so far: 943
    Deaths: 5
    Patients tested: 58,696

Latest information from Queensland Health.

"There's no discussion at this present point in time about easing restrictions, let me make it very clear, " Ms Palaszczuk said.

"We've only just begun this journey. We are looking at six months here of these types of restrictions, in terms of the social distancing, the isolation, the quarantining, to flatten the curve.

"We have a good story in Queensland at the moment, so let's keep it up."

« Reply #116 on: April 08, 2020, 02:36:56 PM »
I traveled 620 kilometers in country Victoria yesterday/today.
I saw one police car [stationary in main street of a country town]
The Calder Freeway was a joy to use, a few trucks and the odd car.
But this mornings return trip saw a couple of CT's and about a dozen vans heading north.

« Reply #117 on: April 08, 2020, 02:43:43 PM »
Seems like Daniel Andrews on the other hand wants to be everywhere, even in your loungeroom

Nah it's Lisa Neville the Police Minister having a power trip

Offline MB TD42

• Retroform Carpentry and Joinery
« Reply #118 on: April 08, 2020, 03:02:39 PM »
So they all start paying taxes from now on?
Well most of the giant corps have over 1000 workers who dedicate themselves to the cause...They can now apply to be approved religions.

Surely

We're all ere coz we ain't all there.

We're all hear coz we ain't all there...

« Reply #119 on: April 08, 2020, 03:20:14 PM »
Health modelling on the spread of coronavirus had initially predicted at least 30,000 Queenslanders would die if the virus was not contained.
Key points:

Premier says the modelling shows why such tough measures are needed
    She says strict limits on movement must remain in place
    Queensland Health cannot yet pinpoint the extent of community transmission of COVID-19

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk revealed the shocking figure while pleading with Queenslanders to adhere to social distancing rules.

"The initial modelling I was shown, if we didn't flatten the curve, it was over 30,000 Queenslanders could have lost their lives," she said.

"That keeps me up at night, thinking about how I can save people's lives.
Coronavirus update: Follow the latest news in our daily wrap.

"I don't like these restrictions as much as you don't. I can't see my family and friends, it's tough — but this is about saving people's lives."

Another nine cases of COVID-19 were confirmed in Queensland on Wednesday, taking the state's total tally to 943.

Five Queenslanders have died from the coronavirus and 11 people are being treated in intensive care.

But the Premier said the numbers of coronavirus cases had been trending downwards, which was a positive sign for the projected death rate.

"The reality is the virus is still here and we are still going to see tragic loss of life," she said.

"But we're going to get new modelling for the states and territories and we will see that [number] come down dramatically.

Restrictions to stay for six months

While the daily tallies of new cases have been falling dramatically over the past week, the Premier insisted restrictions must remain in place over coming weeks.
Qld COVID-19 snapshot

Confirmed cases so far: 943
    Deaths: 5
    Patients tested: 58,696

Latest information from Queensland Health.

"There's no discussion at this present point in time about easing restrictions, let me make it very clear, " Ms Palaszczuk said.

"We've only just begun this journey. We are looking at six months here of these types of restrictions, in terms of the social distancing, the isolation, the quarantining, to flatten the curve.

"We have a good story in Queensland at the moment, so let's keep it up."
But I still haven’t heard of cops looking through people’s lounge room windows in QLD.

Maybe the clock fiddling down south last weekend had some unintended consequences

« Reply #120 on: April 08, 2020, 04:06:34 PM »
Quote from: D4D
Nah it's Lisa Neville the Police Minister having a power trip

https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/police-fine-man-1652-for-driving-to-a-bike-trail-then-withdraw-it-20200407-p54hye.html

the confusion is - it should be all - or none..
You can go to bunnings, but you cant go for a pushy ride.. ???

But still no fines for the Apsen Crowd.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2020, 04:34:16 PM by Bird »

Offline MB TD42

• Retroform Carpentry and Joinery
« Reply #121 on: April 08, 2020, 04:42:25 PM »
The fact that feral cats and animals can transfer the virus hasn't been made public either...

A dogs nose can transfer the virus from one person to.another without be suseptable...

They sniff everything.

It's made clear in our self isolation packs not to interact with animals.

We're all ere coz we ain't all there.

We're all hear coz we ain't all there...

« Reply #122 on: April 08, 2020, 04:53:10 PM »
the confusion is - it should be all - or none..
You can go to bunnings, but you cant go for a pushy ride.. ???

So I didn't need to do a ninja run to Bunnos yesterday to stock up for my weekend DIY
https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/can-i-go-to-bunnings-diy-run-gets-tick-under-stay-at-home-rules-20200407-p54hwf.html

Victoria Police Deputy Commissioner Shane Patton told 3AW's Neil Mitchell on Tuesday that visiting a shop was a sufficient reason for being outside, as long as the retail business was not restricted under the Chief Health Officer's guidelines.

"Because Bunnings is open, I can go to Bunnings and buy a can of paint?," asked Mitchell.

"It would seem so at this stage, that's the way it would appear," Mr Patton said.

« Reply #123 on: April 08, 2020, 05:21:49 PM »
Maybe the clock fiddling down south last weekend had some unintended consequences

I totally misread that sentence....  :o

« Reply #124 on: April 08, 2020, 05:23:29 PM »
I totally misread that sentence....  :o
You too :)