Author Topic: Confined to barracks - what are we all planning for the next 6+ months?  (Read 11420 times)

Re: Confined to barracks - what are we all planning for the next 6+ months?
« Reply #25 on: March 28, 2020, 07:13:57 PM »
Sprayed the yard for lawn grubs
sprayed the yard for bind's
Pressure cleaned the deck ready for a coat of oil
played a game of monopoly with the family
had some beers and chatted to the neighbor over the fence

Thats day 1 taken care of............ :'(

Tomorrow will be oil the deck, fix a shelf in the wardrobe, got a pile of timber to de-nail................... how many weeks is there to go  ???

I've got a spare room/space in the backyard for your camper and a list of jobs that will keep you going for a few months.  ;D

« Reply #26 on: March 28, 2020, 07:19:35 PM »
Good opportunity to go through the house nad shed and clean them all out while I have the chance.

« Reply #27 on: March 28, 2020, 07:22:09 PM »
Good opportunity to go through the house nad shed and clean them all out while I have the chance.

Yup, problem is the tip is closed. I've got one hard rubbish collection left until July 1, I'm going to make it count :)

« Reply #28 on: March 28, 2020, 07:22:40 PM »
Copy that Bird!

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

« Reply #29 on: March 28, 2020, 07:29:20 PM »
Yup, problem is the tip is closed.......

Not on the proper side of town, it isn't.... ;D ;D

Probably go 2-morra. Got some tickets to use....

« Reply #30 on: March 29, 2020, 06:29:19 AM »
Spada you prompted me to quiz you on spraying lawn for grubs
Have you got a grub killing the grass?
I’m thinking I may have something killing the grass and suspect maybe a grub but they are not obvious.
What did you spray with?

Yeah mate, exactly what steffo said. Patchy brown spots (spreading every day) and all the leaf stripped off the runners. I sprayed the yard with Baythroid. If you go for a walk on dusk and a gazillion white moths come out of the ground, you've got a lawn grub infestation. Need to back it up in a fortnight to break the cycle.

Acelepryn GR comes in a 10kg bag and gives 6 month protection.

Thanks Mitch, hadn't heard of that one and I'd prefer not to use an insectacide spray (kills too many good bugs). Just ordered 2 bags  ;D

I've got a spare room/space in the backyard for your camper and a list of jobs that will keep you going for a few months.  ;D
Sounds like fun, but that would involve "unnecessary travel"  ;) besides, I've got enough s#1t to do already, byproduct of too much time spent camping I guess?
« Last Edit: March 29, 2020, 06:58:20 AM by Spada »

Offline Gandalf the White

• Wise Wandering Wizard
  • Feelin great with a 2.8
« Reply #31 on: March 29, 2020, 07:01:53 AM »
Its ok for us messy grubs. Weve got plenty of time to clean up, sort out and generally organise our sheds and yards.
Just spare a thought for those poor OCD bastards. Everything is already done. They must be going stir crazy already.
I know a few of those people, several that are on here😁
How to fall asleep in a chair
1 - sit in a chair
2 - be old

« Reply #32 on: March 29, 2020, 08:32:16 AM »

Acelepryn GR comes in a 10kg bag and gives 6 month protection.

My thanks too, Mitch. We'd never seen this product. As we're rura,l we take a lot of things into account such as native bees, birds and critters.

« Reply #33 on: March 29, 2020, 09:18:16 AM »
I'd forgotten how painful it is selling on ebay with the dumb questions and stupid offers..

even doing the ads is ****in painful now.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2020, 10:39:50 AM by Bird »

« Reply #34 on: March 29, 2020, 11:01:58 AM »
My thanks too, Mitch. We'd never seen this product. As we're rura,l we take a lot of things into account such as native bees, birds and critters.

Found a place at Yandina yhat has it for $109 a bag, everyone else seems to be around $140'ish  - https://fernland.com.au/syngenta-acelepryn-gr-granular-insecticide-10kg.html
The following users thanked this post: Steffo1

Offline Harbourmaster

• Hard floor camper
« Reply #35 on: March 29, 2020, 04:59:57 PM »
wondered about going camping. We have property between the road & beach could set up down there and walk back to the house for a shower each day. If I set up in sight of the road I could see if I get any enquiries as to what I doing there  :D
Lucky to see anyone on the beach best described as the last frontier.
2013 ex Telstra GU Patrol 2004 Kimberley Kamper

« Reply #36 on: March 29, 2020, 05:13:45 PM »
I'm going to be working from home, full time, for the foreseeable future.  Missus has been stood down for at least the next 4 weeks.  Told her I could write up a list of chores for her.   >:D

I'm sure the swelling will go down in a day or two.  :'(

« Reply #37 on: March 29, 2020, 05:16:19 PM »
I'm going to be working from home, full time, for the foreseeable future.  Missus has been stood down for at least the next 4 weeks.  Told her I could write up a list of chores for her.   >:D

I'm sure the swelling will go down in a day or two.  :'(

;D ;D ;D

« Reply #38 on: March 30, 2020, 08:59:04 AM »
Found a place at Yandina yhat has it for $109 a bag, everyone else seems to be around $140'ish  - https://fernland.com.au/syngenta-acelepryn-gr-granular-insecticide-10kg.html

Thanks, have ordered some, albeit a little too late :'(
I hope delivery isn't delayed.

« Reply #39 on: April 05, 2020, 01:38:20 PM »
Thanks, have ordered some, albeit a little too late :'(
I hope delivery isn't delayed.

Well, delivery was delayed but I can say that this stuff works. I left it on for 24 hours before watering in yesterday arvo.

Have seen several dead/dying grubs on the grass surface. In hindsight, I probably wasted a ¼ of it on already affected grass.

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #40 on: April 05, 2020, 04:20:51 PM »
Brewing lots of beer to get my stock back up, nearly finished building a trailer. Fixed my mig feed issues so now i can repair the small rust patches on the kombi, cleaning up the shed and under the deck and house. Might get a chance to work on my FC Holden.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline ADTradie

« Reply #41 on: April 05, 2020, 06:32:20 PM »
Like many I've got a backlog of jobs about home to keep me busy over the next few months, given that an extended holiday is not possible.
These include vehicle maintenance jobs for both the 4X4 and the Falcon; house painting (back verandah and garage extension-undercover area); a front door to paint and hang; finish rainwater tank plumbing after buying a new tank last week; + other about the home chores (joys of moving into a 'fixer-upper'er' house :))
There will be plenty of dog walking and cycling to keep fit.
Then there will be shopping as little as possible to minimize the chance of catching Covid-19.
I will probably find time to start wading through a life-time of photos and scanning favourites with a view to starting the family history.
And if I get really desperate for something to do I've got the second box of the complete X-Files television series to watch, having taken most of 2019 to get through the first box/half :)
A.D.
Colorado RG MY2014 dual cab ute, swag and tent

Offline Moggy

« Reply #42 on: April 05, 2020, 06:40:32 PM »
I just plan on either getting fatter & becoming an alcoholic, or losing weight & becoming a happy clapper, not sure at this moment

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #43 on: April 05, 2020, 06:48:07 PM »
I will probably find time to start wading through a life-time of photos and scanning favourites with a view to starting the family history.

My dad is 80+ and has been a photographer since he was a teenager. He has a garage full of negatives and has now got the time to sort and scan them :cheers:

The following users thanked this post: ADTradie

« Reply #44 on: April 05, 2020, 07:37:05 PM »
I just plan on either getting fatter & becoming an alcoholic, or losing weight & becoming a happy clapper, not sure at this moment

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
At lest ya honest :)

« Reply #45 on: April 06, 2020, 05:28:38 PM »
It's a plan.
:)

Offline moeite

« Reply #46 on: April 06, 2020, 06:01:31 PM »
Nope. Can't do that. We moved back in Sept and had a MONSTER cleanup then.
So far the car and camper have both been cleaned, inside and out, and serivced to within an inch of their lives. Every nut and bolt on the camper has been retensioned. We've done the back yard and sprayed the weeds in the front. We've rearranged the furniture and cleaned and polished the floors. We've even gone so far as to wash the walls down.

What we WERE planning was a trip to SA and NT departing here on 06/04 and by now (6.00pm 06/04) we should be sitting down to a meal in Sea Lake. But that's all firmly off the menu. Take aways from the local RSL and a decent bottle of plonk is the new order of the day.
It's only been several days and already we're bored spitless... Might just replace the injector loom and clean out the intercooler on the car just for something to do...:-)
Mark F...
VK3KW
2002 Discovery 2 Td5 auto
2004 Outback Sturt rear fold soft floor
Http://jandmf.com

« Reply #47 on: April 06, 2020, 06:14:32 PM »
Nope. Can't do that. We moved back in Sept and had a MONSTER cleanup then.
So far the car and camper have both been cleaned, inside and out, and serivced to within an inch of their lives. Every nut and bolt on the camper has been retensioned. We've done the back yard and sprayed the weeds in the front. We've rearranged the furniture and cleaned and polished the floors. We've even gone so far as to wash the walls down.

What we WERE planning was a trip to SA and NT departing here on 06/04 and by now (6.00pm 06/04) we should be sitting down to a meal in Sea Lake. But that's all firmly off the menu. Take aways from the local RSL and a decent bottle of plonk is the new order of the day.
It's only been several days and already we're bored spitless... Might just replace the injector loom and clean out the intercooler on the car just for something to do...:-)

Do you have a CDL stick. If not, maybe a good time to install. If so, I can't help too much.

« Reply #48 on: April 06, 2020, 08:51:44 PM »
:(

« Reply #49 on: April 06, 2020, 10:58:04 PM »
Dunno about confined to barracks.
I dont think Ive ever seen so many families walking/bike riding/groups of people out for a stroll in 40 years.