Author Topic: Items to remember to pack when camping on Fraser Island  (Read 14676 times)

Offline Boo Boo

Items to remember to pack when camping on Fraser Island
« on: July 14, 2012, 11:44:48 AM »
Thought we'd start a new topic listing those important items you need to remember to pack for Fraser, as there are numerous topics covering such.

Food / Beer / your choice of drink  :cheers:
Recovery gear - Snatch strap/s and D shackles
Long Handle Shovel
Firewood for the Pigs (untreated, milled timber)
Fishing gear
MySwag Fraser Fiasco 2012 Stubbie Cooler/s
UHF radio
First Aid Kit
Sand pegs
Camera
Cocktail night gear - ingredients, Hawaiian shirt
“The Fraser Cup” Tatts, Tiaras and Tutus gear, decorating gear for the SeaHorses
Money towards the donations for RFDS

No doubt this list will grow, this is only the start  .....

Amanda
« Last Edit: July 14, 2012, 08:48:08 PM by Boo Boo »

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
Re: Items to remember to pack
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2012, 12:23:26 PM »
Food? Or will we rely on fish?

Offline Boo Boo

Re: Items to remember to pack
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2012, 12:51:59 PM »

Very true that food is important  ;D

« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2012, 01:28:19 PM »
don't forget the fishing gear then or you will starve ;D

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
Re: Items to remember to pack when camping on Fraser Island
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2012, 01:36:52 PM »
Dingo fence ?
Going back to basics - sort of ...

Offline griz066

« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2012, 01:56:03 PM »
Thought we'd start a new topic listing those important items you need to remember to pack for Fraser.

Beer / your choice of drink  :cheers:
Recovery gear
Shovel
Firewood for the Pigs

No doubt this list will grow .....

Amanda

Just be aware,

Campers who want a campfire in the communal fire rings provided, must bring their own firewood. However it must be untreated, milled timber (e.g. mill off-cuts), not bush timber, as this reduces the risk of introducing foreign pathogens and other pests into the park. Visitors are reminded that all flora in protected areas, including dead trees or fallen limbs, is protected by law and therefore cannot be cut or collected.
Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2012, 02:11:39 PM »
Dingo fence ?

Yogi's snoring will keep them away.  :-*

Offline Boo Boo

« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2012, 02:15:37 PM »

There's no doubt about that  ;D 

Offline Boo Boo

« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2012, 02:26:53 PM »
Just be aware,

Campers who want a campfire in the communal fire rings provided, must bring their own firewood. However it must be untreated, milled timber (e.g. mill off-cuts), not bush timber, as this reduces the risk of introducing foreign pathogens and other pests into the park. Visitors are reminded that all flora in protected areas, including dead trees or fallen limbs, is protected by law and therefore cannot be cut or collected.

Thanks grizz066 I did forget to add in the details for the type of wood.  Thank you for the contribution.  Yogi and I always come away from Fraser hopefully leaving it better then when we arrived, as we collect a lot of rubbish left behind by others.

Offline griz066

« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2012, 03:28:10 PM »
Thanks grizz066 I did forget to add in the details for the type of wood.  Thank you for the contribution.  Yogi and I always come away from Fraser hopefully leaving it better then when we arrived, as we collect a lot of rubbish left behind by others.
Good show, if everyone did that it would clean up nice.
Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834

« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2012, 04:21:26 PM »
you'd want to make sure you take some decent sand pegs and possibly something for the tent poles to sit on to stop them from sinking into the sand aswell

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2012, 07:06:59 PM »
Gotta take the camera.  I am sure there will be some funny moments to capture.

Offline nick 08

« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2012, 10:23:34 PM »
Extra alcohol  :cheers:
08 Triton GLX R with all the gear
Trackabout Deluxe tourer camper

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2012, 08:10:48 AM »
I guess we shouldn't forget the wife and kids, so boys put that on the list.  >:D also don't forget, shower setup, rope for clothes line.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2012, 08:19:43 AM by DAZnBEC »

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2012, 08:15:22 AM »
I guess we shouldn't forget the wife and kids, so boys put that on list.  >:D

I had them on the list , but down in the group that's called :

" Only if there's extra room ! "      ;D ;D

" OWZITGAARN ? "

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #15 on: July 17, 2012, 09:26:52 PM »
The hot showers nearby ....

Did I read they take coins to work ?

If so which coins ?

If like some parks , the nearby shops only have a few spare , so bring a bag load of your own .

And memo to self : get in and out of the shower before Theo ... we still never heard the true story from Sandy Creek !

" OWZITGAARN ? "

Offline Boo Boo

« Reply #16 on: July 17, 2012, 09:42:08 PM »
Yogi and I have always used the showers at the Dundubara camp ground which takes $1.00 coins for a three minutes hot shower, which is a 5 to 10 minute drive from camp.  We have heard that you can pay at the office of Catherdal Beach camp ground to use there showers, but last time we were at Fraser we tried and got told no as they were full - but I guess there is no harm in asking.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2012, 09:43:55 PM by Boo Boo »

« Reply #17 on: July 17, 2012, 10:00:31 PM »

I'll help you defend the camp Yogi. :D

« Reply #18 on: July 18, 2012, 10:48:50 AM »
I have rapid fire function too ;D

« Reply #19 on: July 23, 2012, 08:13:53 AM »
Don't forget hat's for the kids and sun screen 8)

« Reply #20 on: July 23, 2012, 09:25:13 AM »
Mozzie repellant
Bucket for washing feet before bed
citronella candle
As much fuel as you can carry
1 million chap sticks (the sun sand and salt air dries you out)
Lots of drinking water (refer previous point)
Sunscreen and more sunscreen
Solar shower (good for that freshwater rinse if a full tub is not required)
Ratchet straps ( the dingos can open an esky wrap the strap around it)
If camping in a group one of those communal gazebos are handy
Tide chart (you kind of plan your day around the tides)
Ski biscut (for floating down eli creek kids will love you)

« Reply #21 on: July 23, 2012, 10:29:59 PM »
dust pan brush and dust pan for sweeping the sand out of the camper

« Reply #22 on: July 23, 2012, 10:41:05 PM »
A pack of zip ties, and a roll of 100mph gaffa tape, for those times you might need to repair or improvise...Good for building garbage bag kites for the kids too.

Offline Squalo

• "Two Wheels Good"
« Reply #23 on: July 24, 2012, 04:47:43 AM »

Just on that, if you want to get some firewood on the way up I can recommend Davidsons Sawmill at North Arm - between Yandina and Eumundi and not far off the Bruce Hwy. Good quality milled hardwood that burns nice and clean, $15 a bag. No affiliation just a satisfied customer :)

Maybe ring beforehand and arranged to have some wood put aside in your name to make it easier, and to make sure they are there when you come through - it's a small operation.

270 Bunya Rd, North Arm QLD 4561, Australia
Phone number(07) 5472 8636

You can leave the Bruce at Yandina and rejoin it at the Eumundi onramp.

As far as what to take - if you want to rinse your vehicle in Dundubara campground once or twice during your visit, they have taps (Fraser has huge freshwater reserves so don't feel bad about that), so take a garden hose and fittings.

I also have a decent stick I carry when going walking with my kids (ages 4, 5 and 8), for a little peace of mind if we come across any of the local dishlickers. I got it on Fraser in fact and it made a nice walking stick so I brought it home and it goes back for a visit to its rellies from time to time.

As said earlier, a good supply of $1 coins for showers (and they are damn good showers at Dundubara).

If you plan to venture to the western side of the island, be well prepared for sandflies - Bushmans is ok but Aerogard seems to work better. Or make up a triggerbottle mix of 1/3 citronella, 1/3 metho and 1/3 Dettol.

Some hessian or shadecloth packs flat and can be useful for unbogging your vehicle.

Some money to take a flight with Fraser Air (they can land at The Maheno to pick up and drop off). The cost is surprisingly reasonable given the fact that you won't find a joyflight like it anywhere else.

A gold bar or two in case you need to buy fuel or groceries on the island.

If you plan to walk the sandblows etc. take plenty of drinking water, I have a 2.5 litre bottle on a strap that is perfect - more than enough water for the kids and Mr and Mrs Squalo on any decent walk, and easy to simply sling over your shoulder. We also have a sports drinkbottle for everyone in the family, but we always carry the big bottle as well even if it's just to refill the smaller bottles. And try and get young kids to carry their own drinking water... the big bottle is an older version of this:

http://www.californiainnovations.com/hydration/water-bottle/item/az-12-gallon-icecold-hydration-jug.html?category_id=84

Lastly, a few tips

- before you set up camp, have a think about where the water will run if it rains - in my experience on Fraser more water stays on top of the sand than is absorbed into it during a decent storm (in the campgrounds at least), and that water has to go somewhere

- don't plan to swim or surf on the eastern side, that's the side the sharks like

- if you are male, be prepared for the odd slap from the missus when the backpacking girls are around

- when you see a Toyota troopie with 8 European girls and a local Aussie driver, consider that the grin on his face is roughly equivalent to half his weekly wage

- Lake Mckenzie is everything it is said to be, but get there early (before 9:30am) or late (after 3pm) otherwise there is nowhere to park, and you literally cannot stay once all the parking is taken up. Otherwise Lake Birrabeen is nearly as nice (in fact you'd hardly know the difference) and far quieter

- If your vehicle is up to it, go to Sandy Cape, go up on a runout tide so you have plenty of time to savour its beauty

- all of the main campgrounds have a garbage depot close to their access roads (on the beach, fenced to keep dingos out). You can take your bags of garbage to these

- Hook Point is dangerous - do not go anywhere near it within two hours either side of high tide, go inland instead. The road between Hook Pt and Eurong is awful - rough and corrugated and with nothing but weatherbeaten scrub to see - but it's better than losing a vehicle and trailer

- Print this out before you go: http://www.derm.qld.gov.au/register/p01663aa.pdf

- Buy your permits etc. online with enough time to print them out and take them to Kwikcopy who can laminate them (at least the camping permit that you have to tie to your tent/trailer)

2007 Jimboomba Maddison Staircase
1995 GQ DX Patrol TD42

Offline Smoko

« Reply #24 on: July 24, 2012, 05:51:31 PM »
Read through the lists even tho I can't go cause of work which sucks 1 thing I haven't seen is .....dunny paper

Cause ya know what happens when the dawn breaks............ya get a dirty finger

Smoko
2009 Vacation Camper 2015 Triton