Author Topic: How do I get onto the Island ? Update - Who is coming from where  (Read 14879 times)

Re: How do I get onto the Island ? Update - Who is coming from where
« Reply #25 on: March 17, 2012, 10:06:10 AM »
Rusty ..... from what gregnleanne have said it sounds like a good way for people coming from up north to get onto the eastern beach. The worst thing that could happen is getting bogged so since your travelling with bundyfamily as long as you have recovery gear it should be a safe bet.

gregnleanne ........ do you guy's come out at Eurong when you go this way ?

Offline dooguss

• Prado Power
« Reply #26 on: March 17, 2012, 04:09:34 PM »
Yeh yogi it's a 2 way track for 90% of the trip across you go past central station and come in to the back of eurong. I'm pretty sure there is no barge to Moon point anymore the only other barge is into Kingfisher  but the track to the eastern beach isn't very trailer friendly and depending on what time you come across its busy with tourist buses and they hate to give way to 4x4"s. Hope this helps  :cheers:
« Last Edit: March 17, 2012, 04:32:29 PM by gregnleanne »
2006 Toyota Prado
2014 Stoney creek rear fold.

« Reply #27 on: March 17, 2012, 05:31:10 PM »
Thanks guy's ..... so Rusty just check you can still land at Moon Point other wise you might be better of driving down to Inskip Point.

Offline dooguss

• Prado Power
« Reply #28 on: March 17, 2012, 05:46:24 PM »
No mate don't go moon point I don't think there is a barge there anymore. You want to go to River Heads and get the barge that goes to Wanggoolba creek through past central and into the back of Eurong.
2006 Toyota Prado

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #29 on: March 17, 2012, 06:16:08 PM »
Just been looking at http://www.fraserislandferry.com.au/  and saw this ....

Barges and ferry services run daily from River Heads, south of Hervey Bay, and  from Urangan Boat Harbour in Hervey Bay to World Heritage-listed Fraser Island.

From River Heads the Fraser Venture runs three services daily to Wanggoolba Creek* and the Kingfisher Bay Ferry runs three services to Kingfisher Bay Resort.

From Urangan Boat Harbour the Fraser Dawn operates to Moon Point.  This is not a scheduled service,  so please make contact with us to check sailing times.

I'm waiting to see the tide times ( or better still ; what time I would get there )  , as a high tide would make it better to go this way .

I don't believe it's any longer from the south  ... is it ?

Maybe a one way ticket going up and come back to Inskip , etc .

Interesting the varying rates for Trailers between the two barges ....

" OWZITGAARN ? "

Offline dooguss

• Prado Power
« Reply #30 on: March 17, 2012, 06:33:05 PM »
Ute you have to take into account it's 3 hr drive to hervey bay so from bris I'd go Rainbow beach. The only reason we go through River Heads is all our family are in the bay and we stay in town the night before we go over so we are all together. All the barges from River heads are now owned by Kingfisher Bay resort.
2006 Toyota Prado

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #31 on: March 17, 2012, 08:16:39 PM »
I know the RACQ Trip Planner can be inaccurate at times , but it says :
Brisbane : Rainbow Beach = 3.15
Brisbane : Urangan = 3.30

Plus you can fill up with reasonable priced fuel at Hervey Bay , and be much further north ...

I might ring them about the Moon Point run ??

Just looking at all options , that's all .

" OWZITGAARN ? "

Offline dooguss

• Prado Power
« Reply #32 on: March 17, 2012, 08:22:42 PM »
Mate unless you know the western side of Fraser with its creeks and tracks it not an option IMO
2006 Toyota Prado

« Reply #33 on: March 17, 2012, 09:52:05 PM »

Plus you can fill up with reasonable priced fuel at Hervey Bay , and be much further north ...

Salisbury in Brisbane to the Rainbow turnoff on the highway at Gympie takes me pretty much right on 2hrs (non peak period and no accidents), Rainbow is roughly 45 minutes further on from there. the Matilda servo on the highway as you come into Gympie is usually cheaper then Brisbane when it comes to Diesel pricing if you want somewhere cheap along the way for fuel.
i've towed my camper trailer and our old 13ft 1970's Millard poptop caravan up Fraser numerous times via Inskip Point, i'd be going that route any day over dragging a trailer across the middle of the island if coming from the South. time your run for 2hrs before lowtide and the only soft sand you'll have to cross will be about 200mtrs worth going out to the barge at Inkip, and whatever you come across getting off the beach to your campsite further up the island. the going is so easy at that time frame, i used to tow in 2wd for the most part, the hard sand was like driving on concrete. obviously if the sand looked soft up ahead i'd shift into H4 on the run, but that wasn't very often that i needed to do that.

Offline Shane083

« Reply #34 on: March 18, 2012, 04:31:22 PM »
even if the moon point barge is running at that time the moon point happy valley road is rubbish, the worralie rd is alot better but unless you know coongul creek i would not advise crossing it, many vehicles have been lost trying. As i have said before the road from the creek to eurong is quite good and would be easy to tow a trailer on, it usually is around half an hour to cross so maybe 40 mins with a trailer.
If god didn't want you to play with it, he would have put it in the middle of your back

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #35 on: March 18, 2012, 05:35:57 PM »
Thanks Guys ....

Once again , proof that My Swag is the superior web site , in that you can assume and think something , throw the question out there , and get friendly advice to show you the best way ....

Thank You .

( now I just need help in getting my family up at 3 am to make the first barge on the Friday morning to work the low tide run  ;D )

" OWZITGAARN ? "

« Reply #36 on: March 19, 2012, 10:00:21 AM »
As others have said …… anyone thinking about driving on the beach on the western side of Fraser Island I would strongly recommend you don’t as the creeks are mostly tidle and some are very deep. Not to mention there is a lot of mangroves and very soft sand in places. If towing I would make your travel options as easy as possible ;D

« Last Edit: March 20, 2012, 09:40:03 PM by yogi »

Offline Niley

« Reply #37 on: March 20, 2012, 08:03:22 PM »

So darryl which way will you be going ? We are in Caloundra and planning to travel on friday morning so we would be keen on partnering up for the journey.

Neil
Landcruiser Prado & ?????

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #38 on: March 20, 2012, 10:13:00 PM »
G'day Neil ,

Due to the fact we are taking enough time already off work and school for the week , at this stage we might look at heading up Saturday morning .

And we will go Gympie , Rainbow and Inskip Point thanks to the info here .

Saturday will give us a low tide one hour and quarter later than Friday .

The only trouble with that is we will probably be last in , and therefore get the spot closest to the toilet or something .... :(

" OWZITGAARN ? "

« Reply #39 on: March 21, 2012, 07:13:47 AM »
I prefer Saturday...this allows me Friday to get organised and drive to parents farm which is 20min from rainbow. Can catch up on route.....make note try to arrive in front of Ute so we don't get the toilet spot

« Reply #40 on: March 21, 2012, 08:09:14 AM »
I would not worry to much about when you get there as if everone who has advised there coming turn up and we all beach camp, were going to have to be spread out a fair bit for all of us to fit in. But we will all have beach views and easy beach access ;D

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #41 on: March 21, 2012, 05:42:34 PM »
Oh , that's good .

Then can I request a place away from Jetcrew ... ( you know how he loses his pants through the night and can't remember anything about them .... :laugh: )

And CanCan , I'll be happy to be behind you and that Thumpin' big Hemi ! 

As long as you stop to pull me out ... hold on , maybe you could just tow me the whole way , so I can keep up !  :laugh:

" OWZITGAARN ? "

« Reply #42 on: March 21, 2012, 06:48:08 PM »
That's if we get the hemi ..want to sell the audi by Sunday week otherwise Will keep it which means we Will swap cars with my parents and i Will use there 100series for Fraser.

Offline Niley

« Reply #43 on: March 21, 2012, 07:35:43 PM »
Well it looks like we will travel on the saturday with Ute701 and Cancan as there is no need to rush for a spot. So yogi book us for Saturday to Wed/thursday. Departure to be confirmed.

Darryl, got a flag for the 4B so we can spot you!

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #44 on: March 21, 2012, 07:55:55 PM »
Do you mean flag or flag pole ...... :laugh: ( my flag pole is the biggest ! )

Let me decide where , when it gets closer ....

I'll have a UHF by then , or just do mobile numbers .

In the past , on early getaways , we have stopped for breakfast at either the Matilda at Kybong , or the Hungry Jacks at Gympie .

Low tide on the Saturday is 9.45 am , so this will work out fine .

" OWZITGAARN ? "

Offline Rusty

« Reply #45 on: March 22, 2012, 06:57:40 PM »
hi yogi can you put me down for inskip point on the Thursday morning will try for around 7.00am
2018 200 series landcruiser
2021 Jayco silverline outback

Offline bundyfamily

« Reply #46 on: March 22, 2012, 09:55:32 PM »
Hey yogi,
After discussions with Rusty we will be traveling together, we will be leaving from In skip point should be there around 7:00am, it should be around a 2 hour run for us from Bundy. We are going over on the Thursday 26th? And at this stage departing on the Sunday.
Live life on the edge buy a Hayabusa!!!

« Reply #47 on: March 23, 2012, 09:44:28 AM »
You guy's should have a good run up the beach at that time also good to see you guy's have buddied up for the drive 8)  .... I will be posting up a rough how to get there guide from Inskip to the camp spot a bit closer to the date.

Offline Niley

« Reply #48 on: March 24, 2012, 12:48:02 PM »
Do you mean flag or flag pole ...... :laugh: ( my flag pole is the biggest ! )

Let me decide where , when it gets closer ....

I'll have a UHF by then , or just do mobile numbers .

In the past , on early getaways , we have stopped for breakfast at either the Matilda at Kybong , or the Hungry Jacks at Gympie .

Low tide on the Saturday is 9.45 am , so this will work out fine .

Darryl, stop bragging about your pole! :laugh:

Two Irishmen were standing at the base of a flagpole,
looking up.
A blonde walks by and asked them what they were doing.
Paddy replied, 'We're supposed to be finding the fook'n height of
this flagpole, but we don't have a fook'n ladder.'
The blonde took out an adjustable spanner from her bag,
loosened a few bolts and laid the flagpole down.
She got a tape measure out of her pocket, took a few
measurements, and announced that it was 18 feet 6 inches.
Then, she walked off.
Mick said to Paddy, 'Isn't that just like a blonde!
We need the fook'n height and she gives us the fook'n length.

Offline ehsc

• FIRE EARTH MOON STARS THATS LIVING
  • JUST DO IT
« Reply #49 on: March 25, 2012, 08:19:25 PM »
Hi Yogi

I will be coming from inskip point , dont know date or time yet i will try to come with rusty and bundyfamiley , i told them going across the island would be silly towing a trailer, As it is not that much further to get to inskip Point and run strait up the beach to dundaburra.

Can you still come off the barge and head right around hook point , some one told me you now have to go up the inland road for first 5klms or so is this correct.

On my experience of fraser you would only do this if you get the wrong tide anyway hope i can get away from work as i havn't been to fraser for about 14yrs And am looking forward to it .

:cheers: ehsc
2017 Isuxu D-max
2003 Jayco Freedom Outback