Author Topic: Can I have a fire on Fraser ?  (Read 7296 times)

Can I have a fire on Fraser ?
« on: February 27, 2012, 06:23:33 PM »
Open fires: fires are prohibited on Fraser Island. The only exception to this prohibition is in communal fire rings provided by Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service at Dundubara and Waddy Point camping areas. Refer to Bushfire Safety when planning your trip. Campers wishing to use these fire rings must supply their own clean, untreated milled timber for firewood and firelighters for ignition. It is an offence to collect living or dead plant materials in the national park. Fuel stoves are recommended for cooking.

(We have used an OzPig on the open beach with out issue from the Rangers as long as there is not a total fire ban and you bring your own timber)

Has anyone got an OzPig or equivalent ? I am hopping to make or borrow one for the trip more would be better.

Re: Can I have a fire on Fraser ?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2012, 06:27:11 PM »
You can have fires at Dilli Village also........ ;D

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2012, 06:33:16 PM »
Yes true .... do they supply wood or have any for purchase ?

« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2012, 06:40:28 PM »
No, you supply. We loaded our roof racks up and had fire every night for a week.........

Yes true .... do they supply wood or have any for purchase ?

Offline nick 08

« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2012, 10:55:27 PM »
This is mine we have used last 2 yrs on fraser rangers liked it to ;D
Its a couple inches rounder then 9kg model but only 30cm high plus legs

Full of hot stuff

If i dont end up coming ill swing it round the corner to symons if you like
i made it so it packs up in it self as well to not take up much room
08 Triton GLX R with all the gear
Trackabout Deluxe tourer camper

« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2012, 07:26:53 AM »
nick08 ........ That would be most appreciated ....though we would prefer to see your guy's in person ..... as long as the better half leaves the nikko pens at home ;D

Offline bluejay

« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2012, 07:53:04 AM »
Hi All

I rang the DERM and also qld National parks and they told me that the only place a fire can be lit on Fraser Island is in the communal fire rings as stated in the above posts and that under no circumstances can a OZ pig or any similar device be used with a flame /fire in it if that fires source of fuel is from wood or any other material that can be set to ignite by a match. The only exception is if the pig has a gas ring in it.  All to confusing??
Bluejay

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2012, 08:11:18 AM »
No, you supply. We loaded our roof racks up and had fire every night for a week.........

and we still left wood behind at the end of it all :)
Cheers, Craig

« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2012, 10:17:27 AM »
Bluejay ...... that is the letter of the law. As above I and others have for many years had small contolled and contained fires with out issue from rangers. Compared with what I have seen others do we are the least of the rangers worries. It can all depend on the ranger and your attitude too ;D

Offline jaycamrie

« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2012, 11:03:52 AM »
 It can all depend on the ranger and your attitude too ;D

[/quote]   That is so true we asked rangers if it was ok for small fire so the kids could roast marshmellows  at a camping spot we had been going to for years and they made it a no fire zone, his reply was ok keep it contained and there was no probs . other people we talked to said he was a bum a this and that  but i bet there approach was different .

Offline nick 08

« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2012, 11:30:08 AM »
The last 5 yrs we have been to Fraser we have had a fire in some sort of Oz pig style drum with no worries from the rangers we bring our own milled Hard wood being an ex chippy I had a unlimited supply,
 we also brought pressed manmade logs and beads which is what the rangers prefer you to burn.
 Nick
« Last Edit: February 28, 2012, 11:32:22 AM by nick 08 »

« Reply #11 on: February 28, 2012, 05:09:04 PM »
ever since they introduced the fire ban on the beach, we have been taking a drum cut in half length ways with a grate in the middle of it for the fire sit on, and feet on it that makes the drum sit about 30 cm up off of the sand (so as not to heat the sand below it, as per the old requirements). we only use heat beads and sawdust logs in the fire and have never had a problem with the Rangers. last year a Ranger asked what i was using as the fuel source, i showed her the heat beads and sawdust logs and she was happy with that. all they say is make sure you take the ash with you when you leave the island. this Ranger paid the neighbouring campsite a visit and fined them for burning timber, they obviously complained about me having a fire and the Ranger made a return visit, which is when i showed her the fuel source we used.
now in saying that, i see they have rewritten the wording of their fireban on the website since last year, so i'm not 100% sure if the same rules apply.

« Reply #12 on: February 29, 2012, 09:42:10 AM »
OK ........ so to be safe we should look at only bringing milled timber, compressed logs and heat beads. Maybe we could all bring a couple of packets of compressed logs each .... the ones from Cole's ect Redheads are only
$6-$10 a packet.

Offline seqfisho

• So much Australia, Never enough Holidays
« Reply #13 on: March 01, 2012, 02:35:18 PM »
Have Pig and will bring, after last time it was one of the reasons we bought one :cup:
2007 Rodeo VCDi DCab, Reasonably stock no longer ;-)
Now Camperless

« Reply #14 on: March 01, 2012, 02:43:08 PM »
Sounds good ..... me and a mate are currently knocking up our own version 8)

Offline nick 08

« Reply #15 on: March 02, 2012, 05:36:54 PM »
We could have a fire ring of oz pigs and burners might have to bring extra wood now  ;D
Bunnings is also the cheapest for the fire logs and heat beads

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #16 on: March 26, 2012, 11:47:17 PM »
We've been going to Fraser for quite a few years now.  Last year we went to the trouble of taking half a 44 gallon drum along with bricks to sit it on to get it up high enough and used mainly heat beads in it.
2 lots of separate rangers (4 total rangers) had a go at us about it.  They said it needed to have a SOLID lid on it.  I queried this and asked if they meant while it was going and they said yes (both sets of rangers - very similar discussion).  Buggered if I know how a fire would keep going with solid walls and solid lid around it.
This was a different story to previous years where we had no problem with a similar setup  - although we hadn't bothered in 2010.  I don't know when their attitude changed or if it will be different this year.  More than likely it'll be dependent on the ranger that's on patrol when you're camping and how they are feeling at the time. 

« Reply #17 on: March 27, 2012, 08:46:39 AM »
The "BUSH PIG" is almost finished .... then it's time for a test run prior to the trip :D

« Reply #18 on: April 03, 2012, 07:53:43 PM »
This is mine we have used last 2 yrs on fraser rangers liked it to ;D
Its a couple inches rounder then 9kg model but only 30cm high plus legs

Full of hot stuff

If i dont end up coming ill swing it round the corner to symons if you like
i made it so it packs up in it self as well to not take up much room

[/quote
We used a similar set-up to this when we were up there in Feb this year and had no issues with the rangers
« Last Edit: April 03, 2012, 07:56:36 PM by waz65 »

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #19 on: April 03, 2012, 07:57:48 PM »
OK ........ so to be safe we should look at only bringing milled timber, compressed logs and heat beads. Maybe we could all bring a couple of packets of compressed logs each .... the ones from Cole's ect Redheads are only
$6-$10 a packet.

You can pick a box at Bunnings for about $15. Might have to throw on a couple of boxes.

« Reply #20 on: April 03, 2012, 08:35:43 PM »
You can pick a box at Bunnings for about $15. Might have to throw on a couple of boxes.
You can also buy 20 kg bags of milled hardwood at the cathedral beach store (not sure on the price though but going by the price of fuel and other stuff I'd say it wouldn't be cheap ) better to get wood before you go over there