General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Hairs on April 10, 2020, 05:39:38 PM

Title: What am I Grateful for today.
Post by: Hairs on April 10, 2020, 05:39:38 PM
I am grateful today because I have a pretty awesome friend/wife.
Fysh came home from work with a kilo of sea prawns.

:)
Title: Re: What am I Grateful today.
Post by: Marcus73 on April 10, 2020, 06:27:32 PM
I’m grateful for the memories of naked man cuddles around the campfire with DannyG

Post by: D4D on April 10, 2020, 06:29:11 PM
I’m grateful for the memories of naked man cuddles around the campfire with DannyG

(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-uuR-fhXKHuI/UQi_Hi7J3_I/AAAAAAAABq0/Ms4HcB-iffk/s1600/my+eyes.jpg)
Post by: GeoffA on April 10, 2020, 06:30:11 PM

I'm grateful that the pair of you are locked away on the little island.....
Post by: Hairs on April 10, 2020, 06:52:06 PM

Now,
You are just being a,
People don't need those pictures.
I am grateful I wasn't there.
Post by: GeoffA on April 10, 2020, 06:52:54 PM
I'm grateful today (and every other day) for the camps Kay and I have attended, the trips we've enjoyed, and the many firm friends we've made through this forum.

Just last night we had a social call from a couple we met on a MySwag trip in 2013. It's was not an unusual occurrence from them, or others we have met.

To say our lives have been enriched would be an understatement.....

:cheers: :cheers:

Post by: Marcus73 on April 10, 2020, 07:01:14 PM
Now,
You are just being a,
People don't need those pictures.
I am grateful I wasn't there.

I’ll let Danny know not too post the pics then?

Post by: macca on April 10, 2020, 07:12:19 PM

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: noel_w on April 10, 2020, 07:17:47 PM
Am grateful that I took 6 weeks leave at the right time. My work is considered essential but I don't want to be there as I am in the high risk age group. Unfortunately I will have to go back to work soon and will have to toss up whether more leave is a wise move or not. Is it worth risking a possible death sentence to support ICT issues for an educational institution. I think not.
Had planned to do lots of stuff during this break but fires and the covid19 put paid to that.
Am totally grateful that in these days of physical isolation we have the luxury of virtual communication.
Am grateful I am still not infected.
Post by: xcvator on April 10, 2020, 07:17:51 PM
I woke up this morning and was still able to get out of bed   :cup: :cup:
Post by: Champin on April 10, 2020, 07:27:44 PM
I am grateful I  am still alive and kicking today. My dad reckoned I  wouldn't make it to my twenties. I think I must have had a bit of a "tude" when I was struggling through my teens. Proved him wrong didn't I? Me dear old mum used to say "don't matter how bad you think your life is, there is always someone got it worse". That has always stuck with me and got me through some tough Shit. I know it sounds as corny as all get out, but it works for me. I acknowledge people are going through some super tough times right now, but we still live in the lucky country. We have people on this great forum to provide a laugh, a shoulder to lean on, and yes a vent for our frustration. My generation ( I'm 57 ) is the first in my knowledge to never have to go to war. ( conscription I'm talking about ). No one in this country has starved to death. I know we have issues, like physical and mental health, homelessness etc. But we also have alot of helping hands out there.
 And for that....I am grateful.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

Post by: rossm on April 10, 2020, 07:49:53 PM
I'm grateful that I don't have a job to lose. Many many thousands are not so lucky.

I'm grateful that I am reasonably healthy and because I live alone social distancing is almost par for the course.

And I'm grateful I live in Australia. For all the things that I think are wrong in this country we seem to have a handle on dealing with the virus. Probably a large amount of luck involved (being an island helps) but when you look at the numbers from overseas it's scary. Very scary.

Take care people. 

Post by: McGirr on April 10, 2020, 08:41:07 PM
Where do I start:
Grateful for the job we do in remote communities, even though we got a bad one this time. But the places we have been to have been spectacular.

Grateful my kids are going great and very proud.

Grateful I have an incredible wife.

Lastly, grateful I have met so many people on the trips I have organised over the last 11 years on myswag. People I am privalidged to call great friends. Sharing a campfire with them and having a laugh.

Post by: Craig Tomkinson on April 10, 2020, 09:04:25 PM
I am grateful for every breath I take, and for my lovely wife and our 4 beautiful kids, The rest I have worked my gusts out for so I deserve that, Craig
Post by: MB TD42 on April 10, 2020, 09:09:29 PM
Greatful just to have a job still...my kids are driving me crazy...lol

We're all ere coz we ain't all there.

Post by: Wukkers on April 10, 2020, 09:26:36 PM
I am grateful I found this forum a few years ago.  I'm grateful for the forum having a lot of people more than willing to assist with any advice, experience and encouragement to those who need it.  I am grateful I have the strength to ignore those who choose to attempt to make this an unhappy place.  Never met one person from MySwag in person but I feel I have friends here, and I'm grateful for that.
Post by: #jonesy on April 10, 2020, 09:39:27 PM
I'm grateful I have a job that is secure given what is going on. The wife's has reduced by a day, but a build up of her leave will supplement that.
At the same time my job (Emergency services) I reckon I have a 50/50 chance of catching it. So be it. If I get sick, I'll get better and get back to it.
I'm also grateful for this site as it gives me somewhere to retreat and think of the next outdoor adventure, like I am at the moment. Sitting around a campfire, having a beer and about to crawl in to the swag, even if it is only 20 metres from the back door.
Post by: edz on April 10, 2020, 11:35:38 PM
The mindset  to Improvise, Adapt, Overcome and Persevere, passed down and  impressed into me growing up, by strong willed obstinate ancestors  .
Has come in handy once again in the current state of afairs / challenges we face . .. Thanks Pop . R.I.P.
Post by: Pottsy on April 11, 2020, 08:38:33 AM
I am grateful for pigs and bacon. ;D
Post by: Bigfish on April 11, 2020, 11:23:17 AM
Grateful that I own everything, have a good superannuation policy and we are both reasonably healthy.  Ecstatic over the fact that I live in Oz and have seen more of the remote than most thanks to an extremely good job.  Happy to know that once this pandemic allows us to lead somewhat a normal life...I can go camping/fishing/exploring again. Grateful also for all the work our medicos, cops, emergency services, ambos, firies etc.etc are doing at great personal risk. Hopefully this pulls the nation together more and we get our spirit back.
Post by: doc evil on April 11, 2020, 12:16:13 PM
I am grateful to have my health, my job and my family even tho I'm 4500km from home and the missus.
I'm stuck in an apartment where I am working from.

I am grateful to have this forum to have a laugh and the banter makes me think that I'm around a campfire somewhere with mates.
Post by: Hairs on April 11, 2020, 01:51:24 PM
Today I am grateful for being able to attend a job this morning. I installed hand/grab rails in an ensiute and main bathroom for an elderly lady and her son, who is her carer and has his own mobility issues.
I have my health.

Post by: Bigfish on April 11, 2020, 02:19:54 PM
I am grateful to have my health, my job and my family even tho I'm 4500km from home and the missus.
I'm stuck in an apartment where I am working from.

I am grateful to have this forum to have a laugh and the banter makes me think that I'm around a campfire somewhere with mates.

Thats what I treat it like...a campfire discussion..complete with humour, insults, knowledge, wit, information, banter, sarcasm, jokes etc.  and not taking life too seriously.  If ya cant smile ya might as well be dead.
Post by: Wukkers on April 11, 2020, 07:05:10 PM
Today I'm grateful that I have teeth.  They're not all home grown, but some are, and they're all looking forward to this evenings bbq.
Post by: Hairs on April 11, 2020, 07:35:05 PM
Today I'm grateful that I have teeth.  They're not all home grown, but some are, and they're all looking forward to this evenings bbq.
Thank you.
You made me smile.
Cheers to your good health, enjoy you chewing.

Post by: MarkGU on April 11, 2020, 07:44:29 PM
Glad we live on an acre and can do this.Social distancing with the neighbours and empty containers as well :)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200411/6161dee87ed796bc7b42143a076d5330.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200411/fdf2bdc1f3d2c6a10d0b2d54481c9626.jpg)

Sent from my T85 using Tapatalk

Post by: Pottsy on April 12, 2020, 08:58:42 AM
I am grateful for our ambulance and health care services, my wife who has issues with walking at times took a fairly nasty tumble yesterday, needed the help of SA Ambulance who were fantastic with their response time and care, as were the hospital staff. Thankfully no lasting damage done but the leg is in a splint and crutches are mandatory for a week at least.
Post by: Hairs on April 12, 2020, 09:10:00 AM

I am grateful for our ambulance and health care services, my wife who has issues with walking at times took a fairly nasty tumble yesterday, needed the help of SA Ambulance who were fantastic with their response time and care, as were the hospital staff. Thankfully no lasting damage done but the leg is in a splint and crutches are mandatory for a week at least.

Wishing her a speedy recovery.
Take care guys.
Title: Re: What am I Grateful for today.
Post by: Jillsy on April 12, 2020, 08:50:38 PM
Today I am thankful for technology. It meant that even though we couldn’t physically spend Easter with any of our extended family, we were still able to connect via text, phone calls and FaceTime. It didn’t matter that our families are spread as far North as Horn Island, West to Moura and South to Everton Park, we could still share snippets of each other’s day and for that we were extremely grateful.
Post by: bullfrog on April 12, 2020, 09:11:12 PM
Agree Pottsy. From what I see at work Ambos / Paramedics are a special breed for all the right reasons. hope the cook is well again soon.
Post by: Mace on April 12, 2020, 09:20:45 PM
Im grateful to the Taspol officer who detected me doing 60 in a 40 roadworks zone on the way back from the local IGA supermarket and said to me there are a lot more important things to worry about now other than hitting people with speeding fines...  Asked me the full set, where you been, where you going, etc.

Lucky the shopping was visible in the back seat.  Only went 4km there and back (went to buy female and baby products for those is the know...) , but our finest are pretty switched on.

Post by: duggie on April 13, 2020, 07:36:29 AM
I am grateful that I/we( myself and my four grandchildren ) survived the great bog roll shortage of 2020 .
Post by: Hairs on April 13, 2020, 07:54:01 AM
I am grateful for this guy.Benji
He keeps me company, he like us, loves going camping, so last night we had a fire in the backyard pit.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200412/fadf224b7e4ca84be32ac25e74e3b684.jpg)
Post by: chester ver2.0 on April 14, 2020, 08:47:51 AM
I am grateful my wife just likes to get out in the boat for a run

As i have found even with a 15 year break i am as useless as a fisherman as ever
Post by: wakychapmans on April 14, 2020, 09:38:44 AM
I'm grateful for my family. They keep me sane. (even though both of them are crazy)

Post by: Bird on April 14, 2020, 10:09:59 AM
I am grateful that I/we( myself and my four grandchildren ) survived the great bog roll shortage of 2020 .
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Beachman on April 14, 2020, 11:49:53 AM
Without sounding like a D!ck as it isn’t meant to be, but I’m grateful we got our 4-week holiday in last Xmas. 75% of our holidays are camping, but around 4 years ago we decided we wanted to splurge on a trip to Europe with the kids because soon they will be at the age where going away with your parents isn’t cool.

I’m the type of person who refuses to get a loan for holidays, so over the course of the past 4 years we lived a simple lifestyle and put away as much money as we could. We also researched where we wanted to go, but also what attractions we could do ourselves without needing to go on expensive guided tours.  (It’s amazing how many attractions/places you can see yourself just buy doing a bit of research – IE: one tour in Germany would have cost $550, doing it ourselves cost $75)

I have to say getting public buses and trains in different countries can be daunting, but you also get to experience so much more because you see the real city and just not the pretty streets the tour companies use. Plus you get to speak with locals who are normally willing to help with advice.

So mid-December we left for our trip to Paris, Munich, Austria, Finland and then the highlight was a White Xmas at the home of Santa Clause in Rovaniemi which is located in the Arctic Circle.

For us, if we put it until say this year then most likely the trip would never happen because this year all overseas travel is cancelled, then next year could well be either priced out of our reach or I might be unemployed. So it would have been a shame if the years of making sacrifices was for no reason, but more importantly the memories we made on the holiday were priceless and something the kids will never forget. 
Post by: Mitch92 on April 14, 2020, 05:08:35 PM
I'm grateful for my beautiful wife. She pushes me in a good way and I'm very lucky to have her.
Also grateful for our (relatively) good health. Sometimes crap happens but in general we are healthy happy people.
Post by: Hairs on April 14, 2020, 05:22:43 PM
Awesome Mitch92.
The littke things hey.

I am grateful that I was able to earn a dollar or 2 today.
Tomorrow is looking promising aswell.
Post by: tedota on April 14, 2020, 06:42:50 PM
I'm grateful that we all live in Australia. I don't think anyone would like to be in The U.S. of A. at the moment.
Post by: Fizzie on April 14, 2020, 07:15:57 PM
I don't think I'd like to anywhere else full stop!
Post by: Hairs on April 14, 2020, 07:51:45 PM
I'm grateful that we all live in Australia. I don't think anyone would like to be in The U.S. of A. at the moment.
We are doing pretty good compared.
Stay safe.
Post by: Bird on April 15, 2020, 10:24:03 AM
Quote from: tedota

I just wish everyone would stop trying to rush and pressure for the "easing of restrictions" - the chance of reinfection to me is very concerning...
Latest whingers is some symphony orchestra thinking they are an essential service and need to be allowed... no bands are essential services..
Post by: Fizzie on April 15, 2020, 10:29:59 AM
I just wish everyone would stop trying to rush and pressure for the "easing of restrictions" -

Yep - the medical people are all saying September, so let's work on September, & if it gets brought forward, then that's a bonus!
Post by: Bird on April 15, 2020, 10:54:02 AM
Quote from: Fizzie
Yep - the medical people are all saying September, so let's work on September, & if it gets brought forward, then that's a bonus!

Lets say no time frame, when it happens it happens.
May for Stupid NRL talk about delusional...
Sept for the dreamers...
Post by: Hairs on April 15, 2020, 04:56:14 PM
I am Grateful for the happy people I came across today.
Mostly all were trying to see the positive in life atm.
Stay positive people  :)
Post by: GeoffA on April 15, 2020, 04:59:52 PM
I am Grateful for the happy people I came across today.
Mostly all were trying to see the positive in life atm.
Stay positive people  :)

Always look on the bright side of life..... ;D
Post by: Pottsy on April 15, 2020, 06:07:18 PM
I am grateful for the smiles and laughter of my grandkids, even at only seven and eight months old.
Post by: Hairs on April 15, 2020, 06:52:10 PM
I am grateful for the smiles and laughter of my grandkids, even at only seven and eight months old.
We aren't grandparents yet, have many friends who are, and they all mention the joy they receive listening to the kids laugh.
Happys days.
Post by: glenm64 on April 15, 2020, 07:24:51 PM
no bands are essential services..

If Pink Floyd or Led Zep were still going I may well beg to differ. Fortunately we dont need to have that discussion.

In the good old U.S. of A they reckon WWE is an essential business??
Wonder how much they pay to get that label.
https://www.espn.com.au/wwe/story/_/id/29031903/wwe-deemed-essential-business-florida-mayor-says (https://www.espn.com.au/wwe/story/_/id/29031903/wwe-deemed-essential-business-florida-mayor-says)
Post by: Kangaron on April 15, 2020, 08:16:25 PM
If Pink Floyd or Led Zep were still going I may well beg to differ. Fortunately we dont need to have that discussion.

https://www.espn.com.au/wwe/story/_/id/29031903/wwe-deemed-essential-business-florida-mayor-says (https://www.espn.com.au/wwe/story/_/id/29031903/wwe-deemed-essential-business-florida-mayor-says)

I have tickets to see the Doors Alive in October, hate to miss out.

https://www.ticketmaster.com.au/the-doors-alive-tickets/artist/40478?datestart=2020-10-10 (https://www.ticketmaster.com.au/the-doors-alive-tickets/artist/40478?datestart=2020-10-10)

https://youtu.be/u6YaJMrmxFM (https://youtu.be/u6YaJMrmxFM)
Post by: tedota on April 15, 2020, 09:56:29 PM
I'm hearing you Glen. Might have to get the windows rattling over the weekend.
Post by: Hairs on April 16, 2020, 07:06:24 AM
I have tickets to see the Doors Alive in October, hate to miss out.

https://www.ticketmaster.com.au/the-doors-alive-tickets/artist/40478?datestart=2020-10-10 (https://www.ticketmaster.com.au/the-doors-alive-tickets/artist/40478?datestart=2020-10-10)

https://youtu.be/u6YaJMrmxFM (https://youtu.be/u6YaJMrmxFM)
In one of the question thingies that went around FB. Asked, who is no longer alive that you would to sit down with and have a chat with.
I answered, Jim Morrison.
Love the Doors music, love his poetry.
Post by: alnjan on April 16, 2020, 08:08:38 PM

Like some business musso's need to reinvent the way they do business.   

Like I see on Facebook Bruce Springsteen  live streaming from home.

https://canoe.com/entertainment/music/bruce-springsteen-to-livestream-concert-from-home-on-wednesday (https://canoe.com/entertainment/music/bruce-springsteen-to-livestream-concert-from-home-on-wednesday)
Post by: Fizzie on April 16, 2020, 09:02:00 PM
Blood tests coming back clear to say no heart problems found ;D

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57068.msg1013096#msg1013096 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57068.msg1013096#msg1013096)

Waiting on Covid test results tomorrow :-\
Post by: jwb on April 17, 2020, 06:40:29 PM
Blood tests coming back clear to say no heart problems found ;D

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57068.msg1013096#msg1013096 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57068.msg1013096#msg1013096)

Waiting on Covid test results tomorrow :-\

Great news!
Post by: Fizzie on April 18, 2020, 08:22:22 AM
Great news!

& sorry, forgot to mention it in this thread :-[

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57068.msg1013190#msg1013190 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57068.msg1013190#msg1013190)
Post by: Hairs on April 18, 2020, 07:37:37 PM
I am graful that I got to finish off the job in Yamba this morning, re the hand rails.
She was over the moon.
It is awesome to help others.
Enjoy every moment.

Post by: alnjan on April 18, 2020, 07:50:22 PM
I am grateful the Bride had earlier contacted our GP, complaining of a cold and as usual after a couple of days her 'cold' goes to her chest.  Due to COVID 19 the consultations are done over the phone.  Our GP was pretty confident it was just a 'cold' and advised her to keep going with her treatment but due my new job taking me into other COVID 19 hot spots the GP sent her off to have a COVID 19 swab.   

The GP rung back to say the result was negative. 
Post by: Hairs on April 18, 2020, 08:17:58 PM

Awesome news mate.
Take care guys.
Post by: Fizzie on April 19, 2020, 08:44:54 AM

Good to hear :cup:

Takes a load of the mind, doesn't it :D
Post by: alnjan on April 19, 2020, 10:14:22 AM
Good to hear :cup:

Takes a load of the mind, doesn't it :D

Yeah it does.  We were pretty confident it was just a 'cold' but at least this week she is Rona free. 
Post by: Mitch92 on April 19, 2020, 12:27:21 PM
Yeah it does.  We were pretty confident it was just a 'cold' but at least this week she is Rona free.

Good to hear mate. Not something that people want to get
Post by: Hairs on April 20, 2020, 06:02:42 PM
The world has changed in the past few months, learning how to work within the new 'way of doing things' is certainly a challenge, but we are getting there.
I am grateful that I still have work, My wife still has work, our eldest and her boyfriend still have work, Numbet Two has 2 jobs and her boyfriend is picking up the odd shift at a tavern(because they have ramped up theur takeawaybusiness).
And young Jack started at the local supermarket on weekends carrying groceries to customers vehicles. He is doing year 12, which is a non event at this moment, I know he is stressing.
I am grateful for a lot of things, I am more than grateful that my family have their health, work and we talk every day.
Take care all.
Post by: Hairs on April 22, 2020, 06:17:57 PM
I am Grateful today, that when I came home, the wheelie bins had been brought in,
the washing had been brought in,
The Barkers nests had been picked up.
I think our son is starting to get it, we work as a team.

Post by: Hairs on April 25, 2020, 07:40:12 AM
I am Grateful today,
For the sacrifices that so many Australians have given,
Which affords me the life that I have today.
Lest We Forget.
 (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200424/9a606af50f87f5ad378fc1509e862812.jpg)
Post by: tedota on April 25, 2020, 10:22:08 AM
I am grateful  that of the 12 family members who served ( 1 at Gallipoli, 10 In WW2, and 1 in Vietnam) they all returned to continue their life in this great country. Although only one remains the memories will last forever.
Post by: Hairs on April 28, 2020, 05:34:12 PM
I am grateful  that of the 12 family members who served ( 1 at Gallipoli, 10 In WW2, and 1 in Vietnam) they all returned to continue their life in this great country. Although only one remains the memories will last forever.
That is very special mate.
Post by: Hairs on April 28, 2020, 05:37:48 PM
I'm grateful for having this bloke in our lives.
Jacked turned 18 yesterday.
He is doing year 12 atm, love him so much.
Yes Jack, you can keep the Myswag Stubbie Holder.
 (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200428/4e4d508869c0b60dde8c36ec5620564e.jpg)
Post by: tedota on April 28, 2020, 06:51:07 PM
That is very special mate.

It's quite ironic really because the great uncle that went to Gallipoli and the whole Egypt campaign was a member of the original 10th Light Horse that was formed in 1914 in W.A.  When I was a young fella full of it and bulletproof I joined the 10th Light Horse in the early eighties none the wiser what a legend he was. He came home with a MM for gallantry in the field for his efforts.
Post by: Fizzie on April 29, 2020, 08:16:16 AM
Yes Jack, you can keep the Myswag Stubbie Holder.

Happy Birthday, Jack ;D

& to misquote

"Greater love hath no man than to give his stubbie holder to his son" ;D

Post by: Fizzie on April 29, 2020, 08:18:24 AM
As for myself, I'm extremely grateful that the dose of s^*'z that I've had for the last 4 days finally seems to have settled down! :D
Post by: Pottsy on April 29, 2020, 08:21:40 AM
As for myself, I'm extremely grateful that the dose of s^*'z that I've had for the last 4 days finally seems to have settled down! :D
Nothing FIZZIE about that!
Post by: Fizzie on April 29, 2020, 08:41:04 AM
Nothing FIZZIE about that!

Nup, certainly wouldn't describe it that way ;D :'(
Post by: Bigfish on April 29, 2020, 09:42:06 AM
Nup, certainly wouldn't describe it that way ;D :'(

HAHA...Now you will wish it was you who hoarded 300 dunny rolls.... :cheers:
Post by: Fizzie on April 29, 2020, 11:20:38 AM
Didn't need that many! ;D
Post by: jw2170 on April 29, 2020, 03:45:30 PM
I  am grateful that I still have a job, and the technology to work from home.

An the CT mods should be completed by time we are able to travel again.

This week we were due to visit our daughter in Qld..... >:(
Post by: Fizzie on April 29, 2020, 04:36:07 PM
Sorry JW, that ain't happening for a while yet :'(

http://www.mygc.com.au/one-new-covid-19-case-in-qld-but-fight-not-over-yet/

['However the Premier has ruled out reopening the borders anytime soon ... "No not straight away, we would have to see long periods of almost zero before we get to that point"']
Post by: Pottsy on April 29, 2020, 06:08:37 PM
Today and in the future I will be grateful for NDIS approval for financial assistance for the wife’s Parkinson’s. We can look toward some household changes to ensure we can stay in our own home and ongoing therapy to try and slow the disease. The last few months have been pretty confronting to say the least.
Post by: Hairs on April 29, 2020, 06:31:35 PM
Today and in the future I will be grateful for NDIS approval for financial assistance for the wife’s Parkinson’s. We can look toward some household changes to ensure we can stay in our own home and ongoing therapy to try and slow the disease. The last few months have been pretty confronting to say the least.
That's awesome.
It will make a world of difference to you guys.
I contract to a NDIS Provider, I install home aids, ramps, grab rails in showers/bathrooms & toilets, these alone make life just that little bit mpre easy.
The smiles on people's faces when I have finished.
So many things we take for granted.
That's awesome Pottsy.

Post by: Pottsy on April 29, 2020, 06:49:27 PM
That's awesome.
It will make a world of difference to you guys.
I contract to a NDIS Provider, I install home aids, ramps, grab rails in showers/bathrooms & toilets, these alone make life just that little bit mpre easy.
The smiles on people's faces when I have finished.
So many things we take for granted.
That's awesome Pottsy.
Those are the things we are looking forward too, fall prevention is a real issue, we have a meeting tomorrow to start the ball rolling towards a full assessment of the house by an occupational therapist.

Post by: plusnq on April 29, 2020, 06:52:13 PM
I am grateful that my Father is out of ICU in Canberra after having emergency surgery for a dissecting aortic aneurysm at 79 years of age. Not out of the woods yet but a lot better than it looked three days ago.
Post by: Ozsnowman on April 30, 2020, 11:38:51 AM
I'm actually grateful for Centrelink. For the first time in my life at 48, I needed to register for benefits because of this damn virus, and it has actually gone rather smoothly. So I do not have to survive on the two days a week income that I am currently getting.
Post by: Talawana5 on April 30, 2020, 09:13:50 PM
I am grateful that after years of saying I am going to learn to play the Ukulele that in Feb i joined a local group and had lessons all before this "Challenge in life" that we are all going through. I now have another fun thing to do whilst in Iso, and by the way I am still enjoying learning another skill. Keep safe and happy.
Marion
Post by: Bird on April 30, 2020, 11:13:37 PM
I am grateful that my Father is out of ICU in Canberra after having emergency surgery for a dissecting aortic aneurysm at 79 years of age. Not out of the woods yet but a lot better than it looked three days ago.
Hope it all goes well mate. its always stressful when ya olds have serious issues like that..
Post by: plusnq on May 01, 2020, 02:17:56 AM
Hope it all goes well mate. its always stressful when ya olds have serious issues like that..

Thanks mate. Fingers crossed.
Post by: Hairs on May 02, 2020, 01:06:58 PM
I am grateful that I have a life long friend that sends me things like this.

Decide what it is you want,
Write it down.
Make a plan and work on it every single day.

Post by: Bigfish on May 02, 2020, 03:50:46 PM
I,m grateful that things are looking good for Australians. Low death rate and a seemingly slowing down of infection rates means we may get back to a relatively normal life in the coming months...and that means CAMPING AGAIN.....bring it on!!!
Post by: Hairs on May 02, 2020, 04:16:10 PM
I,m grateful that things are looking good for Australians. Low death rate and a seemingly slowing down of infection rates means we may get back to a relatively normal life in the coming months...and that means CAMPING AGAIN.....bring it on!!!
Yes, we have faired better than first thought and way better than other countries.
Yep, itching to go camping, even to have a club meeting,  catchup with others.

Post by: Bigfish on May 02, 2020, 04:30:02 PM
Yes, we have faired better than first thought and way better than other countries.
Yep, itching to go camping, even to have a club meeting,  catchup with others.

Like hundreds of thousands of other aussies we are itching to get out and do the things we love.  Thats why I get pissed off with the head dead who go out and flaunt the rules.  Hopefully July-August things might be good enough for the bush to be open again :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on May 02, 2020, 05:07:54 PM

Like hundreds of thousands of other aussies we are itching to get out and do the things we love.  Thats why I get pissed off with the head dead who go out and flaunt the rules.  Hopefully July-August things might be good enough for the bush to be open again :cheers:
For work yesterday I went to Talumbi, on the way from Gulmarrad to Brooms Head, as I came back(3.30pm), 4x 4x4's towing dual axel caravans were heading towards Brooms Head, all were qld plated vehicles,
What are they doing? Where do they think they are going?
Anyway that is for the rant thread.
Post by: gronk on May 02, 2020, 07:00:33 PM

My mum who is 91, is in a hospital ward after going through a major op for colon cancer 2 weeks ago. She had another major op 50 years ago for the same thing. Chemo wasn't even invented back then. Funny how it can take 50 yrs to return ??
Expected to make a full recovery and be back home ( on her own ) in a matter of weeks !!
Post by: Hairs on May 02, 2020, 07:39:42 PM

Expected to make a full recovery and be back home ( on her own ) in a matter of weeks !!
That's great news to hear.
Awesome.
Post by: Bird on May 02, 2020, 07:55:39 PM
My mum who is 91, is in a hospital ward after going through a major op for colon cancer 2 weeks ago. She had another major op 50 years ago for the same thing. Chemo wasn't even invented back then. Funny how it can take 50 yrs to return ??
yea amazing how far medicine has come in some areas.
good news on the recovery dude.
Post by: gronk on May 02, 2020, 11:44:12 PM
yea amazing how far medicine has come in some areas.
good news on the recovery dude.

A lot of it has come along in leaps and bounds.....but the basics are still the same....open them up, cut it out and sew em back up.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 03, 2020, 04:00:39 AM

My Mum had the same thing at 89.

She's 97 in August and going strong.
Post by: GeoffA on May 03, 2020, 06:32:49 AM
My mum who is 91, is ....

My Mum had the same thing at 89.
She's 97 in August and going strong.

Wonderful that you still have them, and even better that they are still self-propelled.... :cup: :cup:

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 03, 2020, 07:13:15 AM
Wonderful that you still have them, and even better that they are still self-propelled.... :cup: :cup:

Try and zip my Mum for 10 cents in her change and see how self propelled she is.
It won't just be her being propelled.  :D
Post by: GeoffA on May 03, 2020, 08:17:19 AM
Try and zip my Mum for 10 cents in her change and see how self propelled she is.
It won't just be her being propelled.  :D

Sounds like my dear old mum. Many a salesperson came unstuck thinking that the quietly-spoken little old lady they were dealing with was an easy target... ;D ;D
Post by: Fizzie on May 03, 2020, 08:32:34 AM

Good to hear, mate :cup:
Post by: Hairs on May 05, 2020, 07:31:44 PM
I am grateful today for that I have good mates thst look out for me.
Clutch in the 80 is starting to slip, 485000km, orginal.
Monday next week, she gets a new one, flywheel grind, all for under $1100 and I don't have to touch a spanner.
Thanks guys.
PS, when this crap is over we are catching up.
Post by: GeoffA on May 05, 2020, 07:48:17 PM
......Clutch in the 80 is starting to slip, 485000km, orginal.......

Warranty claim??.... :P
Post by: Hairs on May 05, 2020, 07:50:09 PM
Warranty claim??....
Ahahaha,
Thought about it,
I'm not the orginal owner, although I have all the records :)
Post by: Hairs on May 06, 2020, 09:01:12 PM
I am grateful today,
Because I have 4 quotes accepted.
I will need to subcontract a few trades, manage these works.
Maybe some things I have worked on over the last two years are starting to fall into place.
Post by: Fizzie on May 08, 2020, 08:00:36 AM
My grateful (& happy) is that today marks 2 weeks since I stopped living on a constant intake of news ;D

The constant doom & gloom was starting to have an effect, so I stopped reading / listening to anything to do with Covid, & I've since noticed the difference mentally & physically 8)

Yep, I still check the news for anything else, & another bonus is that that only takes 5 minutes a day! ;D
Post by: Hairs on May 08, 2020, 08:31:35 PM
My grateful (& happy) is that today marks 2 weeks since I stopped living on a constant intake of news ;D

The constant doom & gloom was starting to have an effect, so I stopped reading / listening to anything to do with Covid, & I've since noticed the difference mentally & physically 8)

Yep, I still check the news for anything else, & another bonus is that that only takes 5 minutes a day! ;D
Yep, I reckon the news is most of the problem.
The 24/7 news cycle makes it's own exisstance.
Post by: Marcus73 on May 08, 2020, 09:41:23 PM

Yep, the less you listen, the less stressful the whole thing is to deal with

Post by: Pete79 on May 09, 2020, 07:50:56 AM
I actually think this current time is by far the most fact based news we seen in many, many years.

I have seen signs that the shouty opinions are starting to push their way back into the news cycle recently. But personally I’ve been enjoying not hearing that dribble for the last little while.

As soon as we are let out of isolation, you can be guaranteed the ferrels will be all over our TVs again shouting at us telling us what we should be thinking and how we should be feeling about everything.
Post by: Hairs on May 09, 2020, 07:25:48 PM
I am grateful for being surrounded by good people who keep my grounded.
A few are Swaggers, others I have known since I was 16.
I'm grateful for their friendship.
Cheers to you Guys & Girls.
Thank you.
Post by: Hairs on May 20, 2020, 06:39:32 AM
I've not posted for a bit,
I have been busy, life can get like that.  I have plenty of work atm, things look positive for my family, for which I am Grateful.
Take care Swaggers, we'll get to camp again soon.
Post by: noel_w on May 20, 2020, 09:07:50 AM
I've not posted for a bit,
I have been busy, life can get like that.  I have plenty of work atm, things look positive for my family, for which I am Grateful.
Take care Swaggers, we'll get to camp again soon.
I am grateful that Hairs is busy. Who knows what shenanigans he would be up to if he had nothing to do and couldn't go camping.  :cheers: :cheers: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Looking forward to having a campfire and a Ginger Beer (alcoholic of course) when all this Shite is over.

Post by: Fizzie on May 20, 2020, 11:11:31 AM
Looking forward to having a campfire and a Ginger Beer (alcoholic of course) when all this Shite is over.

Think we're all doing that Noel! :cup:

Our plans are looking like Bigriggen after the school holidays are over, & the first rush has (hopefully) settled down ;D

Post by: noel_w on May 20, 2020, 03:33:56 PM
Think we're all doing that Noel! :cup:

Our plans are looking like Bigriggen after the school holidays are over, & the first rush has (hopefully) settled down ;D

Let us know when you are going if you need some company.
Post by: Fizzie on May 20, 2020, 04:57:23 PM
Let us know when you are going if you need some company.

Us & BiL were both going to go out for probably a week, & likely to grab a couple of powered sites 8)

May have to throw a general invitation out ??? ;D
Post by: Hairs on May 20, 2020, 06:10:53 PM

I am grateful that Hairs is busy. Who knows what shenanigans he would be up to if he had nothing to do and couldn't go camping.  :cheers: :cheers:
Hi mate,
Will let you know when we can camp again.
Looking forward to it mate.
Happy Days ahead.
Post by: speewa158 on May 20, 2020, 07:21:18 PM
 :cheers: l am now cleaning the Cub to put it on the market  , so it can create memories for others . We have our  & we want to pass the protentional to others  . Treg Up & Make Dust    :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on May 20, 2020, 07:35:07 PM
:cheers: l am now cleaning the Cub to put it on the market  , so it can create memories for others . We have our  & we want to pass the protentional to others  . Treg Up & Make Dust    :cheers:
Happy days.
Onward & upward.
Safe travels mate.
Post by: Hairs on May 22, 2020, 08:32:20 PM
I am grateful today because I made someone's world a little easier today.
Fixed a sticky timber gate,  pressure cleaned their paved steps.
Simple things to us, for them it was a world of difference.
Post by: Pottsy on May 22, 2020, 09:23:15 PM
I am grateful today because I made someone's world a little easier today.
Fixed a sticky timber gate,  pressure cleaned their paved steps.
Simple things to us, for them it was a world of difference.
And I am grateful for people like yourself, we have started using support workers thru NDIS just this past few weeks and it makes a real difference.
More power to you.
Post by: Hairs on May 23, 2020, 08:52:51 AM
And I am grateful for people like yourself, we have started using support workers thru NDIS just this past few weeks and it makes a real difference.
More power to you.
Hey Pottsy,
I love seeing the smiles on folks faces when their struggles are eased.
I was have a chat yesterday with a bloke in Maclean, who has diecided to change careers, he is an aircraft fitter, come handyman/carpenter, now he has rented a office block and is setting to help people that have depression, struggle with life.
From teenagers through to the elderly.
He has financed the whole gig himself, because he feels that passionate about peoples wellbeing.
He's asked me drop in from time to time, which I will to lend a hand.

I hope you enjoy your day mate.
Post by: Pottsy on May 23, 2020, 01:24:30 PM
Hey Pottsy,
I love seeing the smiles on folks faces when their struggles are eased.
I was have a chat yesterday with a bloke in Maclean, who has diecided to change careers, he is an aircraft fitter, come handyman/carpenter, now he has rented a office block and is setting to help people that have depression, struggle with life.
From teenagers through to the elderly.
He has financed the whole gig himself, because he feels that passionate about peoples wellbeing.
He's asked me drop in from time to time, which I will to lend a hand.

I hope you enjoy your day mate.

It sometimes the small things that mount up, trimming edges, sweeping paths, cleaning gutters, washing cars etc, things that you may have done regularly but now let go because other things become priorities. Our new lawn mowing bloke trimmed the bushes etc, when I said you don’t need to do that, he just replied you pay for an hour, you get an hour, I’ll keep your garden in top shape.
Sure put a smile on my face.

Cheers, enjoy your weekend.
Post by: Hairs on May 23, 2020, 03:24:27 PM
That's awesome mate.
Title: What am I Grateful for today.
Post by: Jillsy on May 24, 2020, 07:14:37 PM
Today I am grateful that my Dad taught me most of the same things he taught my brothers (even though he was raised pretty "old school") ie how to drive a HR truck and dog, use a rifle, change a tyre, how to use a drill, how to change a gas bottle, measure 3 times and cut once etc.  The knowledge he has passed on to me has meant that I am confident to do a variety of tasks that are sometimes considered "a man's job".  This comes in handy due to Brett working away for half the year.  Plus I am a stubborn turd who loathes asking for help to do something  ;D.

Today I mounted a storage rack on the wall of our garage to hang the Tin Lids bikes and scooters on.  I am on an iso mission to claim back the back patio!

Thanks Dad.... :cup:

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200524/94cc1c17e08d387c269f4af581f20712.jpg)
Post by: Hairs on May 25, 2020, 05:55:31 AM
Awesome Jillsy.
Well done.
Post by: glenm64 on May 25, 2020, 11:31:11 AM
You would put most metrosexual city blokes to shame nowadays Jillsy. More power to women I say. Then us fellas can sit back even more while you shoot, gut, butcher and cook dinner right after you finished repairing the truck that broke down while you were driving back loaded with timber to build the new shed.

Post by: Hairs on May 25, 2020, 07:31:36 PM
I am Grateful for Today
Trip home after a big day.
I live in God's Country.
Life can be good.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200525/3c3fc3b2bb6301c60bb1a1113d091f88.jpg)
Post by: Hairs on May 25, 2020, 08:20:56 PM
I'll just add,
I am so very Grateful for the phone calls this evening and the last week, from not only mates and Swaggers,(yes you Farkers are) as well as  from people I know through our 4wd club, guys that I have known for yonks in the building game, And from my teenage days.
That means heaps, Thank You.
To all Swaggers, you are Family.

Post by: briann532 on May 26, 2020, 05:45:28 PM
I'm grateful that despite everyone slagging whichever government in is at the time.....

Lets face it everyone slags whoever for doing the wrong thing, as if anyone could do a better job, (Except the Greens of course - they would Eff it up well and proper not a half arsed eff up like the others!!!)

.....back to the point.
I'm grateful that despite the media and the usual responses, our government has done a good effort to keep us plodding along and restrict the spread. (I won't use the C word as it conficts with beer I like and should be in another thread if I use that word.)

But hey guys, thanks and job well done.
Education kept going, money still got spend, and the economy is still running.
The world didn't end.

Now I will sit and wait to be shot down in flames for having an opinion  :-[  which no doubt is wrong and people will disagree, but I am grateful I live here and they have done what they have done.

Oh and "Thank God", now I have religion thrown in as well so I don't miss out upsetting anyone!!!!
(nailed religion and politics in one)
Post by: Hairs on May 27, 2020, 06:12:46 PM
I'm grateful that despite everyone slagging whichever government in is at the time.....

Lets face it everyone slags whoever for doing the wrong thing, as if anyone could do a better job, (Except the Greens of course - they would Eff it up well and proper not a half arsed eff up like the others!!!)

.....back to the point.
I'm grateful that despite the media and the usual responses, our government has done a good effort to keep us plodding along and restrict the spread. (I won't use the C word as it conficts with beer I like and should be in another thread if I use that word.)

But hey guys, thanks and job well done.
Education kept going, money still got spend, and the economy is still running.
The world didn't end.

Now I will sit and wait to be shot down in flames for having an opinion  :-[  which no doubt is wrong and people will disagree, but I am grateful I live here and they have done what they have done.

Oh and "Thank God", now I have religion thrown in as well so I don't miss out upsetting anyone!!!!
(nailed religion and politics in one)
Happy Days, you have Nailed it.

What am I Grateful for today.
A few things,
I have cold beer,
I worked today along side a bloke that I have known for nearly 18 years, he's an awesome bloke, besides being a fantastic tradie.
Hmmm,
Bring on tomorrow :)
Post by: noel_w on May 28, 2020, 11:50:02 AM
I am grateful for having Micro$oft in my life (not).
Their own mobile app for email (Outlook) does not search the Global Address List in Exchange for peoples contact details whereas other 3rd party apps will search it happily and return all information.  ??? ??? ???
No wonder I am going grey and bald.
Bring on retirement I say.
Post by: speewa158 on May 28, 2020, 08:10:54 PM
lm still here ,,,,
Post by: MB TD42 on May 28, 2020, 09:15:24 PM
Still breathing, Wife hasn't left me...kids still talk to me...have a home to live in...can still pay the bills...just...

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: Hairs on May 29, 2020, 05:48:00 PM
Caught up with a bloke I know, we aren't mates, but we bump into each other every now and then, today I went out of my way to see him.
He doubts himself, he get despessed, but he provides for his family, doesn't have a trade, self employed, hmmm.
Spent a good two hours with him.
I am grateful that I left him in a better place this arvo, and not one drop of grog was to be had.
Sometimes, a kind word goes a long way.
Take care Swaggers.

Post by: Hairs on June 11, 2020, 04:39:08 PM
This was the view from my job site today after the fog lifted.
I am grateful today for living in the best country on the planet.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200611/b907a391493445a628c43a39b9c58c05.jpg)
Post by: Bird on June 11, 2020, 07:18:19 PM
This was the view from my job site today after the fog lifted.
I am grateful today for living in the best country on the planet.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200611/b907a391493445a628c43a39b9c58c05.jpg)
didnt know you lived at Kurnell ???
Post by: Hairs on June 11, 2020, 07:45:05 PM
didnt know you lived at Kurnell ???
Nah,
That's the Great Dividing Range in the background, our back yard.
Post by: rags on June 11, 2020, 08:58:33 PM
Nah,
That's the Great Dividing Range in the background, our back yard.

No that’s not the Great Dividing Range, Anna has moved it,  she calls it the Qld Border.
Post by: Hairs on June 12, 2020, 06:30:27 AM
No that’s not the Great Dividing Range, Anna has moved it,  she calls it the Qld Border.
Ehehehe
Post by: Hairs on June 14, 2020, 04:19:34 PM
Our youngest is growing into a good young man.

Post by: GeoffA on June 14, 2020, 05:54:29 PM
Our youngest is growing into a good young man.

:cup: :cup:

Never in doubt, Jon... ;D
Post by: D4D on June 14, 2020, 06:04:05 PM
I'm grateful to hear the family up the road is safe after their house burnt down last night. One of the family members is quadriplegic and needs 24x7 care, so we were worried when we heard the emergency services and were alerted to the fire on the emergency app. We had a power outage in the area and they lit a candle in a bedroom upstairs, the rest as they say is history.
Post by: Hairs on June 14, 2020, 06:12:17 PM

Never in doubt, Jon... ;D
Thanks mate.
Were are blessed with three awesome kids.
Happy Days

You & Kay travel safe mate.
Post by: Hairs on June 22, 2020, 12:44:46 PM
I'm grateful that we live in an awesome country.
Lunch time view.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200622/327a5deb1457c95b9cd333a91e6e8bb4.jpg)
Post by: Hairs on June 24, 2020, 05:33:12 PM
I am grateful today, because I got to work along aside a top bloke.
He has had his share of Shite storms, he is an honest, hard working, genuine bloke.
Makes my day.
Happy Days.
Post by: Hairs on June 25, 2020, 06:19:14 PM
Spent another day doing the same.
When you come home, it feels good that I've had an awesome day.
No stress, laughs all day, no ego's.
The job gets done, finished, the customer comments that it was great to hear tradies having fun, and getting the job done.
It's always a great thing to hear feed back like that from people.
Post by: Hairs on June 28, 2020, 05:19:24 PM
Spent 8 hours doing the first stage of becoming an RFS member.
What a selfless group they are
They range in from 76 year old to 18 yesr olds.
They are there, just to be part of their Communitty.
I have a head full info, it will take months to learn the ropes and years to have the knowledge that some of these guys & girls hold.
I'm always learning, to think you can just jump on a truck and you're right to go is foolish.
Look forward to the next training day.
Post by: Hairs on July 06, 2020, 09:21:34 PM
What am I grateful today?
I had a swagger call me today.
Asked me a few questions about a project they are planning.
Happy to help you out

Post by: Hairs on July 06, 2020, 09:22:51 PM
Also grateful I have a warm house to come home too.
That also includes my family.
Post by: Frawls on July 07, 2020, 08:39:02 PM
Another six weeks of lockdown  >:( >:(
Post by: Hairs on July 07, 2020, 08:43:43 PM
Sheeesh,
I really feel for all.
Just because some can't think of others.
Take care.
:(
Post by: speewa158 on July 07, 2020, 10:05:05 PM

Has anybody done the math on how much grog we need to collect to do 6 weeks lockdown ??
Post by: glenm64 on July 07, 2020, 10:11:03 PM
When the chips are down and friends step up for you. Never take them for granted.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

Post by: alnjan on July 07, 2020, 10:12:34 PM

and according to Uncle Dan you all deserve it.   

Premier of the year
Post by: Fizzie on July 08, 2020, 07:22:29 AM
Take care.

& that applies to all the Swaggers in harm's way down there :'(

Please stay safe!
Post by: Beachman on July 08, 2020, 12:14:20 PM
Has anybody done the math on how much grog we need to collect to do 6 weeks lockdown ??

When you go to the bottle shop every couple of weeks you look like a normal person buying a little bit of this and a little bit of that, but when you need to buy 6 weeks worth in one go it's frightening how much is in your trollies  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on July 08, 2020, 12:26:33 PM
Quote from: alnjan
and according to Uncle Dan you all deserve it.   

Premier of the year
To be honest, he is right...

If people took it seriously instead of 'its all bullShit to control people' rubbish, videos on youtube of people being interviewed saying its all blown out of proportion....  to more people out shopping than I've seen in years, just as much traffic as ever on the Eastlink/Monash etc - we would be in a much better place than we are right now.

I think he did a good job, theres no user manual he can check to see what the **** hes supposed to be doing.
Post by: edz on July 08, 2020, 12:29:20 PM

2 X cans a week x 6  = 12 ...  + 18 spares if it goes longer,  easy  ....     :cup:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 08, 2020, 01:08:27 PM

If people took it seriously instead of 'its all bullShit to control people' rubbish, videos on youtube of people being interviewed saying its all blown out of proportion....  to more people out shopping than I've seen in years, just as much traffic as ever on the Eastlink/Monash etc - we would be in a much better place than we are right now.

I think he did a good job, theres no user manual he can check to see what the **** hes supposed to be doing.

Nailed it....
Post by: Robbo on July 08, 2020, 02:33:01 PM

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk

Post by: Fizzie on July 08, 2020, 03:57:58 PM

2 X cans a week x 6  = 12 ...  + 18 spares if it goes longer,  easy  ....     :cup:

Mind you, Edz is talking about cartons when he says 2 x cans a week ...  >:D

:cheers: ;D
Post by: Ozsnowman on July 08, 2020, 04:55:54 PM
Grateful that I am not in Melbourne but in regional Vic
Post by: Hairs on July 08, 2020, 05:00:12 PM
Grateful that I am not in Melbourne but in regional Vic
Stay safe mate.
Post by: Ozsnowman on July 08, 2020, 05:18:52 PM
Stay safe mate.

Thanks mate! Trying our best lol - luckily we are in a small town
Post by: Champin on July 08, 2020, 05:23:49 PM
Mind you, Edz is talking about cartons when he says 2 x cans a week ...  >:D

:cheers: ;D
Yeah I thought he was talking kegs

Post by: briann532 on July 08, 2020, 05:28:22 PM
Yeah I thought he was talking kegs

Obviously he just misspelt kegs or it was that damn autocorrect!!!! ;D ;D ;D
Post by: edz on July 08, 2020, 11:14:39 PM
Nooo you lot ...   Usualy two cans a week, rough week it may get stretched to four  .. Fraser trip it goes to two a day ..   ;D ;D
Post by: Hairs on July 09, 2020, 07:43:42 AM

Fraser trip it goes to two a day ..   ;D ;D
You Rebel you ;)

Post by: Ozsnowman on July 10, 2020, 11:21:15 AM

Fully agree Bird - now more than ever people have to have some damn responsibility for their own lives and the consequences of f%^&&ng around...
Post by: Hairs on July 10, 2020, 04:43:33 PM
I'm Grateful today, because I have beers in the fridge, work in front of me, good mates, great kids, anwesome wife who puts up with my Shite, and a warm fire tonight.

Take care Swaggers.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200710/ff35285e9f3b150d12467be41bdfe574.jpg)
Post by: speewa158 on July 10, 2020, 08:12:54 PM

Well if he stopped pandering to his Union Overlords that are calling the tune thats a start . lf it wasnt for them Dan would be sweeping Flinders Street . Please establish Lock Down  by security people that dont " Pork " the locked down . After said act they go out into the community to become  " Super  Spireaders "  . Pandering to Union Mates keeping the jobs  " ln house " & not with the ADF . The ADF know what security really is , as they protect us as they should  .
Post by: glenm64 on July 11, 2020, 05:45:49 PM

Pandering to Union Mates keeping the jobs  " ln house ".

Most security would have been $10/hr rent a cops not even smart enough to know shagging lepers isnt a good idea. Guarantee they are just casual labour, cheap as you can get, read this page and now your inducted professionals.
Everyone wants to blame someone, when if the truth is told, everyone directly involved is trying to get on top of this regardless of were they sit on the political spectrum. Pity everyone else doesnt try to do their bit. Thats were we should be focusing, keeping peer pressure on the selfish pricks causing the problem. Need to stop reading Sky News mate, more facts in a Phantom cartoon book.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200711/a8a102f5077a8ada203f6e7c5de8feae.gif)

Post by: alnjan on July 11, 2020, 06:18:56 PM

Most security would have been $10/hr rent a cops not even smart enough to know shagging lepers isnt a good idea. Guarantee they are just casual labour, cheap as you can get, read this page and now your inducted professionals.
Everyone wants to blame someone, when if the truth is told, everyone directly involved is trying to get on top of this regardless of were they sit on the political spectrum. Pity everyone else doesnt try to do their bit. Thats were we should be focusing, keeping peer pressure on the selfish pricks causing the problem. Need to stop reading Sky News mate, more facts in a Phantom cartoon book.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200711/a8a102f5077a8ada203f6e7c5de8feae.gif)

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:   more then just Sky News saying it.

A lot of questions being asked by many people with no answers being given.   

Post by: bmwfreak on July 11, 2020, 06:31:44 PM

Thats were we should be focusing, keeping peer pressure on the selfish pricks causing the problem.

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Troopy_03 on July 12, 2020, 12:06:25 PM
Well if he stopped pandering to his Union Overlords that are calling the tune thats a start . lf it wasnt for them Dan would be sweeping Flinders Street . Please establish Lock Down  by security people that dont " Pork " the locked down . After said act they go out into the community to become  " Super  Spireaders "  . Pandering to Union Mates keeping the jobs  " ln house " & not with the ADF . The ADF know what security really is , as they protect us as they should  .

I disagree with that. Most ADF are trained to do their job either as Tech Professionals, or Combat Troops. They don't do much in the way of general crowd control and policing. And they don't have any official authority, as far as the Australian public is concerned, unless military law has been proclaimed. Not an easy thing to do either.

Their medical and logistics specialists are exemplary in what they do though, and can be effectively used to bolster civilian staff in that field.
Post by: Troopy_03 on July 12, 2020, 12:07:43 PM
I'm grateful my hangover isn't too bad this morning.....  :-[  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on July 12, 2020, 12:10:35 PM
I'm grateful my hangover isn't too bad this morning.....  :-[  :cheers:
Yep,
Feeling a little dusty myself :(
Post by: Hairs on July 13, 2020, 08:18:59 PM
Sheeeesh,
I have helped a retired couple for a few years now,  I haven't under cut myself, felt a bit guilty for charging them a few times, considering it was for something minor
I have learnt a lot from them, and enjoyed their friendship.
I finished a few jobs for them, a few Grab rails about the house/showers, toilets, from and rear steps, overhead cupboards, replace a dishwasher, modify a cabnet for a new oven.
Erect a 6x6 Carport.
We have never discussed payment, they have always  to leave an envelope in my vehicle without me knowing.
Got home this arvo, went to recharge the batteries(18V Makita gear), and bugger me there is an envelope.
That will help out heaps, they have found time to print off a copy of what they have deposited to my account.
So very thankful, hmmm
I am humbled.

Post by: Fizzie on July 15, 2020, 04:33:15 PM
Still not entirely certain :-\, but yeah, sort of grateful (& I'm sure I will be later!).

Had a visit to the orthopod this morning to check out my hip, which has been bugging me for a couple of years now, despite lots of things being tried on it, & which has been getting worse these last several months :'(

He twisted it round a bit :'(, had a look at the various scans & so on, asked about how well the last cortisone shot worked, then said "Hmmm, looks like you're up for a new hip - when would you like it done?" :o

So we're away for a week from tomorrow, then into hospital the following Monday for a hip replacement!

At least I'll hae a good excuse to sit round a campfire with people bringing me a constant supply of cold beer! ;D
Post by: Hairs on July 15, 2020, 04:36:32 PM
That's great news mate.
Happy days.
Post by: Spada on July 15, 2020, 05:04:29 PM

So we're away for a week from tomorrow, then into hospital the following Monday for a hip replacement!

Geeze, thats quick. obviously not public  >:D

Here's to a speedy recovery.
Post by: Pottsy on July 15, 2020, 05:16:32 PM
Still not entirely certain :-\, but yeah, sort of grateful (& I'm sure I will be later!).

Had a visit to the orthopod this morning to check out my hip, which has been bugging me for a couple of years now, despite lots of things being tried on it, & which has been getting worse these last several months :'(

He twisted it round a bit :'(, had a look at the various scans & so on, asked about how well the last cortisone shot worked, then said "Hmmm, looks like you're up for a new hip - when would you like it done?" :o

At least I'll hae a good excuse to sit round a campfire with people bringing me a constant supply of cold beer! ;D

Dare I say it Hip, Hip Hooray!

Good Luck Fizzie.
Post by: tedota on July 15, 2020, 07:42:54 PM
You won't know yourself.
 I suffered for 5 years with a buggered hip and couldn't swing my right leg past verticle when walking. Sold the ducati and jetski as I kept cramping up after sitting for long periods. Saw my doctor and he said you're to young but after another 3 months went back and got a referral. Went to the specialist and he said "You should have had it done years ago. I do them on people from 20 to 90 years old."
It's a whole new world for me now.
You'll be up and about before you know it.
And they'll give you good drugs as well  ;D ;D
Post by: Fizzie on July 16, 2020, 06:09:01 AM
Thanks, fellas!

Geeze, thats quick. obviously not public  >:D

Could have been quicker!

He said this is what we've got to do, opened his diary, then said no, can't do it this week, how about next ??? :o

Explained that we're away for the week, back next Thursday. Oh, OK, turned another page - how about Monday 27 ???

OK!

Must admit I was a bit surprised, as even with Private, I expected a month or so ???, but I guess that's what you pay the $ for!

Oh, & the cost for a hip is $35k! :o

Still not certain of what I'll be out of pocket but looks like ~$2000, but we'll find out for sure.
Post by: Steffo1 on July 16, 2020, 06:19:26 PM
Still not certain of what I'll be out of pocket but looks like ~$2000, but we'll find out for sure.
That'll be the hip pocket, too.

Good luck with it all.
Post by: Ozsnowman on July 22, 2020, 11:35:00 AM
Immensely grateful for the public health system in this country. I know it has a lot of things wrong with it, but it's there when you need it - even in this massive outbreak time!
Had the Mrs rushed to the hospital as she wasn't travelling well mentally last Friday, and I can't say enough good things about the staff, hospital and the system. Love them all.

Important message people, for god's sake look after your mental health and don't be afraid to seek help. She did, and it saved her  :'(
Post by: Hairs on July 22, 2020, 12:07:18 PM

Important message people, for god's sake look after your mental health and don't be afraid to seek help. She did, and it saved her  :'(
Well said & yes  seek help.

Post by: Hairs on August 04, 2020, 06:12:18 PM
I am grateful that I live where we do.
The Lawrence communitty is an awesome part of the world.
A nieghbour had a delivery of stones, bark fir the garden.
Access is through the back lane(grassed), everyone's storm water flows across the lane to our 2 acres, which we don't have a problem with.
Anyway, the tipper got bogged, as a true Australian, I rock up in thongs & a Tallie to see if I can help.
There is a few digging, jambing  timber under the wheels.
She isn't going anywhere.
Make a phone call and within ten a 4wd tractor is on the job.
A lot of the lane needs a Bobcat to fix it, but that is sorted.
Tipper is out, the guys can get home, have a coldie.
Nothing was a hassle or problem.
Love it when people come together and a problem is sorted.
Post by: Champin on August 04, 2020, 06:43:52 PM
Keeping the community spirit alive. Good on ya mate.

Post by: Hairs on August 04, 2020, 08:33:02 PM
Keeping the community spirit alive. Good on ya mate.

That is what the effort is for.
All of our kids attended daycare, preshool, primary school here.
Fysh & myself have in someway been involved in our communitty for nearly 20 years.
It just feels right to keep giving.
Thanks mate.

Post by: #jonesy on August 05, 2020, 06:32:57 AM
Your community needs to get with the times. They're supposed to standing around filming it on the phone and abusing the driver...   ;D
Post by: Fizzie on August 05, 2020, 07:26:42 AM
Complaining that the Council haven't put in a 4-lane bitumen road to allow for one heavy vehicle a year, abusing the sod that owns that 2 acres of grassland because he hasn't sorted out proper storm-water drainage yet ... ;D
Post by: Hairs on August 05, 2020, 08:32:21 PM
What a world we live in these days.
So much pain, uncertainty, but
We have each other, talk to ya mates, talk to strangers, connect.
Take care.
https://youtu.be/LezoMi3yftM (https://youtu.be/LezoMi3yftM)
Post by: Hairs on August 09, 2020, 06:39:57 PM
I am grateful for so much.
I have a soul mate, Love ya Fysh.
We have kids that are doing great.
We have mates/friends that care.

Hope all Swaggers are well, safe and doing the best they you can.
Just shout out if things are not going well, you feel it it's dragging you down.

The reason for this post is,
In the last couple of weeks, I have had a few life long mates that have had some pretty bad cards dealt to them.
Two are going through a marriage break ups, they never saw it coming, young children involved.
One has lost his business.
Another has had their brother take their life.
A life long friend is dealing with her father living 400k's away, he has dementia.

If we all threw our problems into a pile and could see theirs,
I reckon I would grab mine back.

Take care Swaggers.

Post by: Fizzie on August 10, 2020, 09:15:33 AM
Just shout out if things are not going well, you feel it it's dragging you down.

Jeez, Jon, with all that going on around you, you need to take care of yourself! :'(

R U OK ???

You know where to find us if you need a chat!

Take care, mate.

Post by: Hairs on August 10, 2020, 01:30:45 PM
Jeez, Jon, with all that going on around you, you need to take care of yourself! :'(

R U OK ???

You know where to find us if you need a chat!

Take care, mate.

Hey mate,
Yes, I am doing good, cheers
I am so very fortunate to have a loving family,  I work with some wonderful people, I meet every day some amazing people who inspire me to keep me grounded, just as I am so grateful to people around me who care.
Having just joined the RFS, they are a very supportive group who have your back.
Last meeting, the Captain & deputy, both approached me and asked how things are.
They genuinely are concerned for all members mental health.

Thanks heapsfor asking mate.

Post by: Hairs on August 19, 2020, 01:56:58 PM
I am grafteful for,
Our middle child, turned 20 yesterday.
She has grown into a beautiful young woman.
Has a job that she loves, a boyfriend who deeply cares for her and respects her.
She has found her feet.
We love her to bits.
So proud of how far she has come.
Post by: Hairs on September 10, 2020, 09:24:06 PM
Hey Fizzie,
I'm going ok, like a lot these days, I sometimes struggle to get motivated, but I find that spark that fires me up.
Thanks for asking.

Today I'm a grateful for a couple of phone calls from mates I have known since we played footy, Byron Bay U17's
1983, how good is that  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on September 11, 2020, 05:48:12 PM
Today I grateful for being able to lend a hand to a stranger, unexpected.
Most that witnessed her predicament, just walked away, some had their phones out.
Another can up to me afterwards, thanked me.
After chatting for a bit,
Their own a few properties, they would like me to manage their up keep.

Enjoy your day Swaggers.
Post by: GeoffA on September 11, 2020, 06:06:43 PM

Paying it forward Jon.

Nice to see someone appreciated your caring attitude.

Post by: Hairs on September 11, 2020, 06:20:57 PM

Paying it forward Jon.

Nice to see someone appreciated your caring attitude.

Hi mate,
It doesn't cost anything to be a good person.
Just be kind, it will come back.

You guys take care.
Post by: Hairs on September 16, 2020, 07:19:30 PM
I am a member of a  Facebook group called 'The Wolf Pack'.
It was started by a bloke in The Clarence Valley reaching out to other Blokes who were not feeling their best, relationship break downs/breakups, not seeing their kids, businesses folding.
Kicked it off when Covid showed up.
He did it to help, he leads the way to be a good person, offers help, goes out of his way to catch up with anyone local who needs a chat.
There are many who have laid open their lives, shared their pain, their hurt, missing their kids, struggling to catch up with their mates. Their stories and pain are real.

It makes me Grateful for what I have in life.

Take care of each other, by doing this it makes you take care of yourself.

Looking forward to the next camp fire.
Enjoy you day.

Post by: chester ver2.0 on September 17, 2020, 09:01:07 AM
Im grateful for our new neighbors

New guys renting next door and they don't have a lawnmower, so me being the nice guy i am did their front lawn and verge for them the other day

Got home last night and tripped over a 6 pack of beer at the back door
Post by: DannyG on September 17, 2020, 11:34:06 AM
Im grateful for our new neighbors

New guys renting next door and they don't have a lawnmower, so me being the nice guy i am did their front lawn and verge for them the other day

Got home last night and tripped over a 6 pack of beer at the back door

They are going to have a nice lawn with you cutting it every second day then ;)
Post by: Daz100 on September 19, 2020, 07:13:47 AM
I am grateful for...

Finally landing a job, its been hard for a long while.

Made redundant March 2019, found work Nov 2019 as a Tow Truck Operator, hours and pay not good but it was a job so was pleased with that. Then we had the Bat situation, so was laid off April 2020.

Applying for pretty much everything that suited my skill set and some that didnt. Had 1 call back in all of that. Thinking to myself, what the hell do I have to do.

Then one particular job that I applied for, which I never heard back from, I went in to speak with them, was told "Yeah, I looked  at your resume but flicked it aside". Hmmm Ok, so we had a chat, after 10 minutes he changed his mind and said, "I tell you what, how about you come in Monday and we will give you a week's trial"

Bonza, that was two weeks ago, it looks like I am just the person they are looking for and onward and upward from here.

I am now gainfully employed and in a job that I am really enjoying, I feel like I am back on track.

I feel so lucky

Cheers Daz
Post by: Hairs on September 19, 2020, 07:27:08 AM
Hey Daz,
That's awesome to hear mate. :cup:
Fantastic stuff.
Post by: Fizzie on September 19, 2020, 07:59:49 AM
Good to hear, Daz! :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on September 19, 2020, 08:02:28 AM
Onya Daz.... :cup: :cup:
Post by: McTavish on September 21, 2020, 10:33:35 PM
Congrats Daz - great news
Post by: Hairs on September 23, 2020, 08:55:03 PM
Hmmm,
I am grateful for,
I've had member messages, phone calls, mates checking in to see how I am.
Thank you.
Stay positive(yeah I know I can be negative at times), but here is a pic that speaks heaps.
Some days it isn't easy to do, but you may just change somesone day.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200923/384f4f62d5f33dc1f828319e0955b43d.jpg)
Post by: Hairs on September 26, 2020, 11:51:44 AM
I am grateful today for the following.
Young Jack completed year 12, he has applied to Southern Cross University(Bachelor of Science), the world is his oyster now, he has also gained employment 3 days a week working, carring groceries/packing shelves.
All three children now have work, and are moving onwards and starting their own journey through life.
Proud parents we are. :)
Post by: edz on September 27, 2020, 10:20:21 AM
Bacon !!              ........................................  Well cooked Bacon on pan fried bread .............................................   Sitting back in the cool  to a gentle breeze  and a  Glorious sunny day ................................................... In a Hush quiet house ................................................ To the chorus of a few Whip birds / finches and a host of other native Aussy birds calling away ..   ....................................   No traffic noise No jets / no people noise ...................................................   Bit surreal as we live in a suburb .   
Aaaahhhhhhh the Serenity ... ;D
Post by: Fizzie on September 27, 2020, 04:17:33 PM
No jets

I know it's all been very hard on the airlines & the travel industry :'(, but aren't you lovin' the silence above ? ;D
Post by: Hairs on September 27, 2020, 04:26:45 PM
I know it's all been very hard on the airlines & the travel industry :'(, but aren't you lovin' the silence above ? ;D
What  ???
No Chemtrails
(https://ccpm.com.au/images/smilies/roflmao.gif)
Post by: edz on September 28, 2020, 08:52:13 AM
What  ???
No Chemtrails
(https://ccpm.com.au/images/smilies/roflmao.gif)

Was at work last night / out and about the place, Low and behold A Scoot Airlines came hooking up out of the airport as they used to do,  in a high angle climbing turn ..Thought Jeez havent seen one of those [ Scoot Airliner ] for about 6 months..
Post by: Fizzie on September 28, 2020, 05:07:40 PM
Didn't think Scoot was even flying into Coollie any more ???
Post by: Pottsy on October 03, 2020, 07:07:12 PM
I’m grateful for the dedicated paramedics, doctors, nurses and allied health staff we have in Oz, the wife took a terrible fall on Thursday evening due to her Parkinson’s, end result broken and lacerated nose, two very black eyes, lacerated hand, two dislocated shoulders and a fractured right shoulder.

The care and attention she has been given is just incredible, it will be a long time before she is home with an extended stay in rehab on the cards but she is in the best of hands.
Post by: Hairs on October 03, 2020, 07:22:55 PM

I’m grateful for the dedicated paramedics, doctors, nurses and allied health staff we have in Oz, the wife took a terrible fall on Thursday evening due to her Parkinson’s, end result broken and lacerated nose, two very black eyes, lacerated hand, two dislocated shoulders and a fractured right shoulder.

The care and attention she has been given is just incredible, it will be a long time before she is home with an extended stay in rehab on the cards but she is in the best of hands.

Shit, what tha, I'm lost for words.
Our thoughts are with you.

Yes we do have an A1 health system compared to the rest.
All swaggers are here for you mate, shout out.
Take care.
Post by: alnjan on October 03, 2020, 07:46:40 PM

Wow, take care.
Post by: duggie on October 03, 2020, 08:44:48 PM

Bugger , hope all work out well .
Post by: Fizzie on October 04, 2020, 06:32:55 AM
Wow, that must have been one hell of a fall! :'(

Fingers crossed that everything works out well, Pottsy.
Post by: Pottsy on October 04, 2020, 06:56:38 AM
Wow, that must have been one hell of a fall! :'(

Fingers crossed that everything works out well, Pottsy.

Feet froze, momentum carried her forward, head smacked the dishwasher and dented it and the sudden stop at the bottom did the rest, looks like a car crash victim, eyes were so black yesterday I couldn’t tell sometimes whether her eyes were open or shut. She’s a very strong lady and with all her trials and tribulations I have only ever heard her give a pain score of 6/10, knew she was in trouble when I asked her and she said 11/10.  7 hours with both shoulders dislocated, not something I would wish on anyone
Post by: GeoffA on October 04, 2020, 09:02:38 AM
Wow Pottsy!! Wishing her a speedy rehab and recovery. I hope she's at least comfortable now.

Post by: Hairs on October 08, 2020, 05:14:17 PM
Hey Pottsy,
Hope things are getting better.

What Am I grateful for today,
My partner in crime,
My Best mate, my wife.
I got home today before she did, so I cut some of her flowers from the garden.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201008/24dc83140ec078da3c02b6f6a5553aa0.jpg)
Post by: Pottsy on October 08, 2020, 05:28:18 PM
Day eight today and they finally got around to doing a CT and ultrasound of her shoulders, still no results yet. She is getting pretty anxious about it all so I have been in contact with her ortho surgeons office today to see about having her transferred to his care. We’ll get there, just a matter of when.
Post by: Spada on October 08, 2020, 05:31:33 PM
Feet froze, momentum carried her forward, head smacked the dishwasher and dented it and the sudden stop at the bottom did the rest, looks like a car crash victim, eyes were so black yesterday I couldn’t tell sometimes whether her eyes were open or shut. She’s a very strong lady and with all her trials and tribulations I have only ever heard her give a pain score of 6/10, knew she was in trouble when I asked her and she said 11/10.  7 hours with both shoulders dislocated, not something I would wish on anyone

Krikey mate, thats a hell of a thing to go through. Here's hoping she mends well and quickly, but I suspect you'll have a few hurdles in the mean time  :'(

Just keep up your positive outlook
Post by: Hairs on October 08, 2020, 06:19:19 PM

Just keep up your positive outlook
That's what keeps this Shite show(life) together.
All the best.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 09, 2020, 03:37:11 AM

Hey mate, hope ya missus gets well soon.
I've been pissing and moaning about a crook back and knee this week.... seems like nothing after reading that.

I don't even normally read this thread, as its just Hairs waffling on about nothing most of the time.
Post by: GeoffA on October 09, 2020, 07:18:16 AM
....waffling on about nothing....

Nobody does that ^ on here, ever..... :P

Gee Pottsy, 8 days.....hopefully it's not too much longer....
Post by: Pottsy on October 11, 2020, 08:56:08 AM
Came home from hospital yesterday, decision has been made to see our own ortho surgeon due to the complexities of Lorraines condition. Hopefully he will see her promptly, doctors are suggesting a recovery of 16 to 20 weeks. I’ve never seen someone so badly bruised from a standing fall, she is black and blue from shoulder to hips, even her fingernail beds are black. New name is Dino due to her dinosaur arm movements. Can now just manage to get her right arm to her mouth so as long as food is cut up she can now slowly feed herself. Still difficult to hold a cup though. Just call me Nurse Pottsy for the foreseeable future. I’m off shopping for oversized clothes this morning, be like a bearded drag queen in ladies lingerie!
Post by: Fizzie on October 11, 2020, 09:03:18 AM
At least that's something :cup:

Hope you can see your own Doc soon.
Post by: MarkGU on October 11, 2020, 10:18:56 AM
 Grateful for the help i receive when raising money for the children's charity, Variety.  ;D

Had confirmation that my planned event for this year is going ahead and even more grateful that Woolworth's in Grafton are donating all the food for the golfers lunch   :cup: :cup: :cup:

This event is becoming more popular every year as it is a fun day of golfing with mates and sinking a few cold ones along the way. :cheers: :cheers:

[img width= height= alt=Capture" border="0]https://i.ibb.co/g9f3r81/Capture.png[/img] (https://imgbb.com/)

Post by: Troopy_03 on October 11, 2020, 01:57:01 PM
I'm grateful that when my dog came in to wake me up this morning, by jumping on my chest and giving me big kisses, I was quick enough to close my mouth before he slipped the tongue in... Little sh1t.
Post by: Hairs on October 11, 2020, 02:04:13 PM
I'm grateful that when my dog came in to wake me up this morning, by jumping on my chest and giving me big kisses, I was quick enough to close my mouth before he slipped the tongue in... Little sh1t.
Ahahahahaha,
Yep, ya gotta be quick:)
Post by: MadMarv on October 11, 2020, 02:17:21 PM
Came home from hospital yesterday, decision has been made to see our own ortho surgeon due to the complexities of Lorraines condition. Hopefully he will see her promptly, doctors are suggesting a recovery of 16 to 20 weeks. I’ve never seen someone so badly bruised from a standing fall, she is black and blue from shoulder to hips, even her fingernail beds are black. New name is Dino due to her dinosaur arm movements. Can now just manage to get her right arm to her mouth so as long as food is cut up she can now slowly feed herself. Still difficult to hold a cup though. Just call me Nurse Pottsy for the foreseeable future. I’m off shopping for oversized clothes this morning, be like a bearded drag queen in ladies lingerie!

Hoping Lorraines recovery isnt too hard on her , just remind her that waking up is a good start and it dosent matter if she cannot do what she used too there are many diffrent things she will probably be able to and thats what matters, you just have to try ..... i wouldnt have had the recovery i did without trying and for me there is much i wont be able to do anymore but there is so much im still able to do ..... you just have to try every day
Post by: Hairs on October 18, 2020, 06:05:48 PM
I am grateful today for a couple of things,
I've had a bad couple of weeks with dealing with my battle with Crohns,
Those that know of this will understand, it really makes getting up and getting in to your day a real head f$#%. Being even 20 feet away from a toilet can be soul destroying.
Planned a short road trip(250km round trip) today to catch up with a couple of long time mates( :) 40 odd years) in Lismore, wasn't really looking forward to being caught out.
Well, it was as if I have never had Crohns, just a normal day, how good is that.
We got to catch up with these very dear friends,
Tomorrow is another day :)

Sent from my SM-T515 using Tapatalk

Post by: chester ver2.0 on October 19, 2020, 08:02:42 AM
I never thought i would say it but i am grateful for insurance Pet insurance to be precise

The pup went lame in the back leg twice in 4 weeks and after some xrays we found the problem... A fractured hock (or fractured ankle in human terms) not sure how he has done it but all claims with Guide Dogs pet insurance have been turned around and paid into my bank account in 3 days.
Post by: Bird on October 19, 2020, 09:01:54 AM
I never thought i would say it but i am grateful for insurance Pet insurance to be precise

The pup went lame in the back leg twice in 4 weeks and after some xrays we found the problem... A fractured hock (or fractured ankle in human terms) not sure how he has done it but all claims with Guide Dogs pet insurance have been turned around and paid into my bank account in 3 days.
Yea mates German Shep had big issues and he went through similar... Gee vets arent cheap eh :S
Post by: chester ver2.0 on October 19, 2020, 09:24:30 AM
Yea mates German Shep had big issues and he went through similar... Gee vets arent cheap eh :S

You are not wrong and this is not even surgery

Initial visit $175
Xrays $600 (as the dog has to be sedated to keep still)
Splinting $85
Second Splinting $85 (splint has to be checked and changed every week)
Follow up Xrays due in 2 week i am assuming another $600
Post by: rags on October 19, 2020, 07:22:07 PM

Initial visit $175
Splinting $85

But worth every dollar, even without pet insurance
Post by: Hairs on October 22, 2020, 06:00:30 PM
I am grateful for what I have.
I am grateful that I can make a difference to someones day.
Today, while going through the supermarket checkout, an elderly man was struggling to find his notes, to pay for his groceries.
He was $18.34 short.
I was paying by CC for my goods, but I knew I had  $20,
So I dug it out of my wallet, reach past him to the operator.
Here ya go.

That is what life is about.
Make it easy for others.
Take care.

Post by: gronk on October 22, 2020, 07:40:22 PM

Initial visit $175
Splinting $85

Sister has 2 Dachshunds....which like getting bitten by a brown snake...twice now.....bills stand around $7000...
Only $100 to get a dog put down....... ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Fizzie on October 23, 2020, 07:16:37 AM
So I dug it out of my wallet, reach past him to the operator.
Here ya go.

On the local news just last night, one of teh drive-through coffee shops was saying that over the last few weeks, they've been having a surge of people "paying it forward", by paying for the coffee for the car behind them ;D

& it's been concertinaing down the line as that person gets told their coffee has been paid for, so they say they'll pay for the next one & so on :cup:
Post by: chester ver2.0 on October 23, 2020, 07:48:53 AM
On the local news just last night, one of teh drive-through coffee shops was saying that over the last few weeks, they've been having a surge of people "paying it forward", by paying for the coffee for the car behind them ;D

& it's been concertinaing down the line as that person gets told their coffee has been paid for, so they say they'll pay for the next one & so on :cup:

Its great to see that kind of stuff. I used to work for a large multinational in the Melbourne CBD and through all the money given to charity the nicest gesture was the departments used to take turns a couple of times a week and get a few coffees for the guys that used to sleep rough in the back alley
Post by: Hairs on October 23, 2020, 10:03:33 AM

Speaking with an ex work mate at Reece this morning.
She does this once a week at the coffee shop near her work.
Great to see people randomly giving.
Awesome.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 23, 2020, 11:18:20 AM
Stuff 'em.... let 'em pay for their friggin own.

I'll be spending as much as I can on ME..... Charity begins at home.... my home.

When we are both dead, then.... our estate gets split between 3 charities and a couple of mates.

One ends up with a very nice Cadillac, the other scores $50,000.

But until then, i keep as much for myself as my greedy little fingers can grab.  ;D
Post by: Fizzie on November 11, 2020, 12:54:20 PM
due to the complexities of Lorraines condition.

Hey Pottsy, any update on the Boss ???

Hope she's going OK!
Post by: Pottsy on November 11, 2020, 01:39:03 PM
Hey Pottsy, any update on the Boss ???

Hope she's going OK!

G’day Fizzie,  things moved a little quicker privately, rang 9.00am Monday, see you at 10.30, by 12.30 ct and X-rays done. Tuesday morn, range of blood tests done. Wednesday surgeon rings, scans not good, see you tomorrow. Thursday surgeon books surgery for Sat morning. Reconstructs top of the humerus by replacing or removing 5 bone fragments and re-attaches the ligaments. 48hrs later she is home in my care, left arm slinger, no physio yet. Had post op visit, surgeons happy with how things went. Return on 2nd Dec for X-rays on right shoulder to put a plan in place re surgery either before or just after Xmas  hopefully.  Mentally she’s good, physically she’s tired. Still has black eyes six weeks later but they are starting to fade.
So I’d reckon I’ve got another 12 to 15 weeks of being nurse Pottsy, I reckon by then I’ll have this cooking, cleaning, bathing and dressing routine down pat.
Hopefully then we can break out the camper and getaway.
Post by: Hairs on November 11, 2020, 03:02:23 PM
It's been one hell of journey,
Hoping life gets easier mate, for you both.

I never make plans,
In a court, it's call premeditated

Post by: Fizzie on November 11, 2020, 04:19:54 PM
Good to hear there's been some progress! :cup:

physically she’s tired.

She's well & truly allowed to be!
Post by: Robbo on November 11, 2020, 05:52:38 PM
You are a Legend Pottsy. Lorraine is very lucky to have a husband like you. Well done.

Post by: MarkGU on November 11, 2020, 06:03:19 PM
You are a Legend Pottsy. Lorraine is very lucky to have a husband like you. Well done.

X 2  :cup:
Post by: Hairs on November 13, 2020, 01:24:40 PM
I am grateful today,
For our youngest has completed a bitch of year to finish in the top ten of Y12.
He has applied & been excepted to Southern Cross Uni Lismore, Bachelor of Science.
He has made his mum & dad so very proud of the young man he had grown into.
You, Jack should be proud of your effort this year, as well as you mates who have stuck by each other.
Enjoy the life a head son.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201113/0084af2d3b78be3f4e7b0ceee1d84f25.jpg)

I never make plans,

Post by: Pottsy on November 13, 2020, 01:51:18 PM
Congratulations to Jack on his effort. A proud day in the Hairs household.
Post by: Hairs on November 13, 2020, 02:10:28 PM
Congratulations to Jack on his effort. A proud day in the Hairs household.
Unfortunatley, we both could not attend his formal, none the less we are proud of him.

I never make plans,

Post by: 2Strokeit on November 13, 2020, 02:14:15 PM
Congrats Jack!!
My daughter finishes next week then heads to a cattle station near Alice for a year before heading to Lismore uni as well to pursue a career in National parks.
Post by: Hairs on November 13, 2020, 02:18:38 PM
Congrats Jack!!
My daughter finishes next week then heads to a cattle station near Alice for a year before heading to Lismore uni as well to pursue a career in National parks.
Awesome Stuff mate,
We hope she has the time of her life.
I reckon all kids have done well to finish this year.
Good on em.

I never make plans,

Post by: Fizzie on November 13, 2020, 04:07:10 PM
Good on both of them :cup:
Post by: alnjan on November 13, 2020, 04:21:22 PM
Well done all of you
Post by: GeoffA on November 13, 2020, 05:40:49 PM
Congrats Jon.
Jack has always been a fine young man.
A credit to you and Karen...

Post by: Hairs on November 14, 2020, 03:09:13 PM
Thanks Guys,
He asked if he could use the Criuser to take his girlfriend for a weeks camping trip.
They are going to Manilla for a couple of nights, then head back to some of the National parks east of Armidale.
They have no interest in going to Schoolies.
Happy Days.

Post by: 2Strokeit on November 14, 2020, 10:20:11 PM
Very cool!
Our kids think along similar lines.
Mine had organised a alcohol free schoolies for 40 kids catered/costed and activities 4 day event in the planning for 2 years but covid bureaucracy killed that dream. So she's loading the 80 to head up to the Whitsundays with her best friend. I'm trying to convince her to take their dive gear to make memories. The only good thing to come out of this hide under the bed lockdown mentality is so many kids get to experience camping who otherwise wouldn't have. Forum camping kids excluded from that generalized statement.
Ask Jack to get a pic of the 80 at a campsite and we'll post them up when they get back.
Post by: Hairs on November 15, 2020, 05:41:10 AM

Ask Jack to get a pic of the 80 at a campsite and we'll post them up when they get back.
Great Idea,
Will do.

You don't use magic to disappear, all you need is a 4wd & a Swag. :)

Post by: Hairs on November 21, 2020, 10:56:56 AM
I am so very grateful today because a piece of funiture has come to our family.
26 years ago when my Father passed away, my mother went loopy, she gave stuff away to anyone & everyone.
I received a phone from the ex partner of a mate who end up with a Sideboard after they broke up.
This morning I went and picked it up.
My Grandmother( Dads mum) owned it when she lived in Manilla(NSW), Dad would happy to know it is back with us.
I will get it restored.
:)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201121/2a1133c28c2f7c7d0b79c5e01ee01934.jpg)

Post by: Bird on November 21, 2020, 11:01:30 AM
I am so very grateful today because a piece of funiture has come to our family.
26 years ago when my Father passed away, my mother went loopy, she gave stuff away to anyone & everyone.
I received a phone from the ex partner of a mate who end up with a Sideboard after they broke up.
This morning I went and picked it up.
My Grandmother( Dads mum) owned it when she lived in Manilla(NSW), Dad would happy to know it is back with us.
I will get it restored.
:)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201121/2a1133c28c2f7c7d0b79c5e01ee01934.jpg)

love old furniture.. it was SOLID adn built... does it need restoring? Looks fine to me.
Post by: Hairs on November 21, 2020, 11:05:42 AM
Yeah, there a split in the bottom board and there are a couple of scuff marks on surfaces.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 21, 2020, 11:27:23 AM
If its too dear to restore, i'd be happy to keep car parts in it.

Kick it to me.... kick it to me.... kick it to me....
Post by: Hairs on November 21, 2020, 11:32:00 AM
If its too dear to restore, i'd be happy to keep car parts in it.

Kick it to me.... kick it to me.... kick it to me....
:) :) :)

Post by: Hairs on November 26, 2020, 05:53:22 PM
Hi Swaggers,
This maybe long winded.
Last night I was invited to a dinner, at a local pub, I accepted, a mate in town picked me up along with another bloke who lives in town whom I had never meet before.
Anyway, the purpose of this was,
To get Blokes together to share their stories, their struggles, their fears, they stories of over coming the dark days.
There were about 14 of us, I knew four of these guys, we introduced ourselves, it was heart breaking to hear a couple of their stories, drug abuse, being abused as kids, marriage break ups and not seeing their kids.
Everyone had a story that needed to be told.
One of the blokes, wont name names, but he designed the shirts the last couple of years for NRL Indigenous rounds, he comes from Tabulam.
2 others played first grade nrl in the 80's, they have made it their quest to help blokes, not just Aboriginals blokes/kids.
God I learnt a lot from them last night.
This is an event that will happen each fortnight, and any bloke is welcome.
Us blokes don't like change, we need to help each other.

On Another What am I Grateful today, Tuesday night I came off probation Firefighter, I'm a member of The Lawrence Brigade  I'm still a newby, but my journey is official.
I attended the huge fire on the Pacific Motorway at Franklins rd on Monday, 13 hours on Fire Ground.
I can not thank my captain, deputy captain and fellow members for their support, encouragement and guidance.
I wear the uniform with pride and accept the responsibility the comes with it.

Take care Swaggers

Post by: 2Strokeit on November 30, 2020, 07:48:56 AM
Great Idea,
Will do.

These are the pics when she remembered. They got up to Ayr then down to Airlie, Agnes and Rainbow and Amamoor. (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201129/0ffa85aec478f2d64a4c69c3a7e3e6b2.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201129/0a494704117cc70c3f975f28fe97b775.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201129/f9604cb20b3c2451d04e210c748f8c92.jpg)
Post by: Hairs on December 19, 2020, 01:35:40 PM
RFS Chrissy Party this evening.
Dinner, a few beers at the Tavern.
Caught up with all the crew.
Happy Days.
Post by: MarkGU on December 23, 2020, 09:50:56 AM
Siting here at the beach.Cool breeze.Cold beer and not even a thought about work.

Sent from my CPH2069 using Tapatalk

Post by: Hairs on December 23, 2020, 08:04:55 PM
Today I swung on by the Cemetery where my Father rests.
Do it every year, just before Christmas or as close as possible as to when he left us.
16/01/94.
He never got to see us get married, He told Fysh many times that she was the best thing to of ever happen to me(I have to agree) :)
Miss him dearly, I was just getting my Shit together, listening to his Words.
I am Grateful for the arse kicks  the hard love, the silent love.
I am for ever grateful for know this man.

Christmas isn't the best time for many, we miss those that we love.
Cheerish the memories.

Take care Swaggers.
MERRY CHRISTMAS.
Post by: Black Diamond on December 23, 2020, 09:13:25 PM
Today I swung on by the Cemetery where my Father rests.
Do it every year, just before Christmas or as close as possible as to when he left us.
16/01/94.
He never got to see us get married, He told Fysh many times that she was the best thing to of ever happen to me(I have to agree) :)
Miss him dearly, I was just getting my Shit together, listening to his Words.
I am Grateful for the arse kicks  the hard love, the silent love.
I am for ever grateful for know this man.

Christmas isn't the best time for many, we miss those that we love.
Cheerish the memories.

Take care Swaggers.
MERRY CHRISTMAS.
Some great words there Jon, your a good man mate  :cheers:
Can empathise a lot with what your saying, lost the ole man 20 years or so ago but not a day goes by i don’t think of him. Was a great father and mate.
All the best to you and the family for Christmas mate stay safe  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on December 25, 2020, 07:11:44 AM
I am so very grateful for living where we do, having a loving family, good mates, a job, and being able to do what I do.
We will get to camp again, share a fire and laugh.
Take care Swaggers
Merry Christmas Swaggers.
Post by: Hairs on January 17, 2021, 07:24:03 AM
What am I grateful today?
I am grateful for the member messeges regarding my Brother, thank you to each one of you that have given us advice, hope or just reached out to say hi, we are thinking of you.
It means a great deal, we are blessed to have made life long friendships through MySwag.
You guys & girls take care, safe travels and fingers crossed we can share a campe fire soon.

Jon & Karen
Post by: Hairs on January 28, 2021, 05:22:43 PM
Hmm,
Today I am grateful for,
Our youngest, Jack, well he is having a Gap year before he goes to Uni to do his Bachelor of Science, he has applied and was offered work on a local Macca farm, $32 an hour, not full time, on call. He chased up this job, he contacted the farm owner, pretty proud of the lad.
This will contribute to his other part time job.
That makes all three of our kids working, they have done this themselves.
Happy days.

On a side note, they are many out of work atm, I'm just proud as.

Post by: Hairs on February 07, 2021, 07:16:48 AM
I am Grateful for knowing a Man that,  as rough as he was, he did everything for others.
He called a Spade a Spade, he would give you the shirt off his back, then call you a dickhead for not having a shirt.
25 odd years is only a short time to of know him, 6 of those years were as a committee member of The Lawrence Rodeo Committee, and being involved in our local council Sports Committee.
Speaking with others at his memorial service at The Maclean Showground that was packed,  their spent time with him on other committees(Maclean Show, Grafton Show, Camp Draft, The Royal Easter Show & Brisbane's Ekka), it's not until you hear their personal accounts of his life, that you realise how much time he gave to others.
RIP Cowboy.
You will be missed.
Post by: Hairs on February 21, 2021, 01:57:34 PM
I am Grateful today for knowing an amazing woman, Jean.
Last night, along with her sister, three children(who we spent many a night at the pub with), 6 Grand children & 3 Great Grand Children, we helped her celebrate her 90th Birthday.
Jean is like a second mother to many of us that spent our mid teens to mid 20's in Byron
Held at The Suffork Park Hotel, it was like a reunion of types.
Had a Rum and milk with her, laughed and cried with her over mate that are no longer with us.
11pm, we were asked to leave, a dozen of us could of chatted all night.
Every time we visit family, we always visit Ma, cause if she got wind that you had been in town & didn't stop in, boy, you copped it next time.
Family, really.
Post by: Hairs on March 27, 2021, 05:36:20 AM
Well, what a week.
We've come throught it pretty good.
The Kids are safe & dry, I might not of been able to go to work, but we are in a better situation then others.
Today our RFS Brigrade will start hosing off mud on the roads, helping those that got water through their homes and properties.
Take care Swaggers.
Post by: Hairs on March 27, 2021, 05:36:24 PM
Just spent 6 hours hosing mud off the road with our RFS Brigrade, after the flood waters had dropped near our post office.
One of our other trucks, cleaned up around the Lawrence Genral Store.
A great bunch of people to work alongside of, And a great communitty to be apart of.
Love my Town/Communitty

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210327/1868f9679642d03c364d3c7ffff507ab.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210327/0ce5aa6b3f384fd22e9b1382bb599a1d.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210327/c37fec7d077e4b7495263a6c85b96ceb.jpg)
Post by: Hairs on April 11, 2021, 07:46:10 AM
The Sun is out,
I'm off to do some training with our RFS Brigrade.
Thought I would share this with you.
Have a great day Swaggers.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210410/60b13193e936d3aec8cd3c5f022b0ec8.jpg)
Post by: Hairs on April 20, 2021, 05:03:09 PM
Hey Swaggers,
I kicked this Thread off to get you thinking about life, what it means to you.
To be positive, I've used this to change how I view alot of stuff.
I am involved in a couple of Mens Groups, there are a lot of Blokes struggling atm, relationships, family, Work.
It about being positive.
I'm not everyones cup of tea, and that's cool .
But, If I can get you to think about yourself, your family,  your world a little differently, that has to be a good thing.
I posted the below meme in a help group,
It triggered other blokes to tag their mates.
Take care Swaggers.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210420/7af662d104622f2761d90a196f2756f2.jpg)
Post by: MarkGU on April 25, 2021, 03:54:17 PM
Today.....

I am grateful for those who lost their lives in battle to give us what we enjoy today.

Post by: Robbo on April 25, 2021, 03:59:19 PM
Today.....

I am grateful for those who lost their lives in battle to give us what we enjoy today.

Post by: Hairs on April 25, 2021, 04:11:39 PM
Yes, X3
Agree completely.
Post by: glenm64 on April 26, 2021, 12:43:47 PM
COVID lockdown here in the West
1st I’m rostered on so it’s not so bad
2nd got one of the best offices going I reckon
Post by: Hairs on May 05, 2021, 04:27:53 PM
Mate, that's a pretty cool office.
Nice :)
Post by: Hairs on May 05, 2021, 04:36:07 PM
So What Am I Grateful for?
Had a Shit of a day, bloody rain, showers.
Booked in a Cherry Picker to replace gutter on a 2 story join, only 30Meters.
Pulled the old off, repaired water damaged fascia, installed new.
Then the heavens opened up.
Got away with it by the skin of my teeth.
Come home & Fysh has the fire crackin, house it warm, Beer is cold.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210505/a4ed79642d24402e7a2206296e9fbd1e.jpg)
Post by: Steffo1 on May 05, 2021, 06:06:53 PM
So What Am I Grateful for?
Had a Shit of a day, bloody rain, showers.
Booked in a Cherry Picker to replace gutter on a 2 story join, only 30Meters.
Pulled the old off, repaired water damaged fascia, installed new.
Then the heavens opened up.
Got away with it by the skin of my teeth.
Come home & Fysh has the fire crackin, house it warm, Beer is cold.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210505/a4ed79642d24402e7a2206296e9fbd1e.jpg)

What a top women. We've had the fire going all day as, we peaked at 16°! Had 16ml of rain, too.
Post by: Hairs on May 05, 2021, 06:14:43 PM
What a top women. We've had the fire going all day as, we peaked at 16°! Had 16ml of rain, too.
Fysh is a Keeper.
Love her dearly.
My late father reminded me many times 27 years ago,
"Karen is the best thing that ever happened to you boy"
Man, how right was he.
Post by: austastar on May 05, 2021, 09:18:28 PM
   Behind every successful man is a woman-
rolling her eyes!

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: Hairs on May 06, 2021, 07:42:07 AM
Yep ;)
Post by: Hairs on May 11, 2021, 05:28:29 PM
Life is better when you cry a little,
Laugh a lot and are thankful for everything you've got.

Post by: Hairs on May 14, 2021, 07:11:07 AM
Another day in paradise.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210513/1e2626e579c5abf537613508f2905e8e.jpg)
Post by: Hairs on May 21, 2021, 05:44:55 PM
Today while working on a property that fronts a busy intersection, a semitrailer lowloader pulls up.
The driver gets out and asks me if I can help him by stopping traffic as he reverses out and swings around to get into the new subdivision across the road.
Sure, I've got hivis on, so a trundle up the road about 300 meters, All good, he's in.
So I walk back to my work site, I get two phone calls from mates asking if I'm Ok,
Wanting to know because I'm walking.
Then I get another Phone call from another mate, who was talking to another bloke I know who mentioned to him at the Hardware Depot that he had seen me walking along the road.
All wanting to know If I was OK.
That I am Grateful for.
Post by: GeoffA on May 21, 2021, 06:56:01 PM

Nice to know that some people care....

Post by: Hairs on May 21, 2021, 06:59:15 PM

Nice to know that some people care....

It does mate,
It made my day, :)
Post by: austastar on May 22, 2021, 11:59:26 AM
     and yet.......
There I was, trailer full of green waste, pulling it out with a long tined rake at a busy tip site. Utes etc unloading both sides.
A strong pull to dislodge a stubborn branch slipped and sent me reeling backwards, tripping on stuff already on the ground and falling heavily.
Winded, I lày in the mud, wondering if I had injured anything, thinking a helping hand to get back up would be good.
I sort of imagined opening my eyes to a circle of concerned faces offering to help.
Nope!
Silence!
I was alone. They had driveñ off and left me lying on the ground.
Not very impressed with that lot.

Post by: Hairs on May 22, 2021, 12:18:23 PM
That's terrible mate :(

Post by: Hairs on May 24, 2021, 08:06:48 PM
Kindness is loaning someone your strength instead of reminding them of their weakness.
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 24, 2021, 11:14:23 PM
I'm grateful I wasn't in this ute.. yesterday on my way home from the furkin big green bumblings shed...

https://mega.nz/file/3sgTzY6C#kxBU-Ub9LGPEYR_kYUKMVERBVQtRvGVmgkR4dEajCJA (https://mega.nz/file/3sgTzY6C#kxBU-Ub9LGPEYR_kYUKMVERBVQtRvGVmgkR4dEajCJA)
Post by: Hairs on May 25, 2021, 04:58:02 PM
I'm grateful I wasn't in this ute.. yesterday on my way home from the furkin big green bumblings shed...

https://mega.nz/file/3sgTzY6C#kxBU-Ub9LGPEYR_kYUKMVERBVQtRvGVmgkR4dEajCJA (https://mega.nz/file/3sgTzY6C#kxBU-Ub9LGPEYR_kYUKMVERBVQtRvGVmgkR4dEajCJA)
Sheesh.
:O
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 25, 2021, 08:01:40 PM
Sheesh.
:O

Yeah, the guy got out alright, with a bit of a bump on his noggin. Poor quality video is due to it being heavily cropped so you could actually see the ute in the clip. One of his paint rollers was left hanging about 4M up in the tree.
Post by: Hairs on May 28, 2021, 06:35:51 PM
Hmm,
I'm Grateful that I've learnt to grow as a person, I've been able to move on, I've been able to help others.
This has been a change over about 5 years, baby steps.
I am not the same person I was 5 years ago, to judge me on who I was then, you'd be a bigger fool than what I was then.
We are not always right.
Post by: alnjan on May 29, 2021, 03:48:37 PM
Grateful, What made me smile, either ither or neither

But what a great three days this will be:
Yesterday get a call from our son to let us know we are Grandparents again
Today our daughter has made one flight and now starting her second flight to come home
Tomorrow our daughter will land in Sydney to start her Quarantine, we haven't seen her in 5 yrs.   

Pick her up on June Long Weekend
Post by: Hairs on May 29, 2021, 03:53:38 PM
That's awesome mate.
WOW, you guys must be stoked, to say the lest.
Post by: Fizzie on May 30, 2021, 07:25:07 AM
Yesterday get a call from our son to let us know we are Grandparents again
Today our daughter has made one flight and now starting her second flight to come home
Tomorrow our daughter will land in Sydney to start her Quarantine, we haven't seen her in 5 yrs.   

Congratulations on bub, Al! :cup:

Where has daughter escaped from ???
Post by: alnjan on May 30, 2021, 10:38:18 AM
Congratulations on bub, Al! :cup:

Where has daughter escaped from ???

She flew in from San Francisco overnight on a Boeing 787-9 Dreamliner (twin-jet) (B789) which seats 290 passengers.   On her flight there was a whole 22 passengers, 18 in cattle class and 4 up the front.   After 5 years in the States she said it was strange to hear other Australians.   Now settled into Novatel Sydney for a fortnight.   
Post by: Bird on June 02, 2021, 10:01:12 AM
a mate sending me link to mates travels....
https://www.facebook.com/IM4X4/ (https://www.facebook.com/IM4X4/)

while Im stuck at work.... locked down... with nobody else here.

1 hour ago: This is King George Falls. We are standing at the top.
https://www.facebook.com/IM4X4/videos/3045168392372137/ (https://www.facebook.com/IM4X4/videos/3045168392372137/)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/195135277_177434470978245_5625087541167656399_n.jpg?_nc_cat=104&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=a0RcUTEYl_IAX8YbQp2&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=dad0f8e75c0f69656ad48c1826334fa6&oe=60DD6F08)

Oh yes, Thanks Ad's...  Im so grateful... :'(
Post by: plusnq on June 02, 2021, 10:54:44 AM
a mate sending me link to mates travels....
https://www.facebook.com/IM4X4/ (https://www.facebook.com/IM4X4/)

while Im stuck at work.... locked down... with nobody else here.

1 hour ago: This is King George Falls. We are standing at the top.
https://www.facebook.com/IM4X4/videos/3045168392372137/ (https://www.facebook.com/IM4X4/videos/3045168392372137/)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/195135277_177434470978245_5625087541167656399_n.jpg?_nc_cat=104&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=a0RcUTEYl_IAX8YbQp2&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=dad0f8e75c0f69656ad48c1826334fa6&oe=60DD6F08)

Oh yes, Thanks Ad's...  Im so grateful... :'(

Bastard. They’re where we would all like to be. A long way from all of this corona.
Post by: Bird on June 02, 2021, 10:59:58 AM
Quote from: plusnq
Bastard. They’re where we would all like to be. A long way from all of this corona.
  :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( for those that don't know, its Adam from Ironman4x4 and his missus Kirsten:'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/194815796_177434600978232_9203780177632628690_n.jpg?_nc_cat=109&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=S2ea-_d5sUAAX9a6K4e&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=625c99450eb4370a55bb8bbdef473636&oe=60DB243C)
Post by: Hairs on June 12, 2021, 08:35:46 PM
This pretty well sums it up.

You came naked,
You will go naked.
You arrived weak,
You will leave weak.
You came without money and things,
You will leave even without money and things.
Your first bath? Someone washed you,
Your last bath? Someone will wash you.

This is life!!!

So why so much malice, so much envy, so much hate, so much resentment and so much selfishness?

BE KIND to everyone and do good deeds.

We have limited time on Earth don’t waste it in uselessness.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210612/d92af2c87da4606a0bbdffb8096b7e76.jpg)
Post by: alnjan on June 13, 2021, 11:19:38 PM
Our Daughter was released from Quarantine and back with us
Post by: Hairs on June 14, 2021, 06:14:15 AM
Awesome News Al.
Post by: Fizzie on June 14, 2021, 07:15:06 AM
Our Daughter was released from Quarantine and back with us

Yay! ;D

Home for good or just a visit ???
Post by: alnjan on June 14, 2021, 10:18:32 AM
Yay! ;D

Home for good or just a visit ???

She says for good but who knows.   The door to that chapter of her life as closed but who knows where to from here.   

Not that we were counting but she told us it's been 5 yrs, 3 mths and 18 days.   Just a few happy tears

Post by: Hairs on June 16, 2021, 06:40:09 PM
Number one child,
She just scored a job with a chemist.
She has a job atm, only casual, couldn't get a home loan, now full time, can walk to work, Bonus.
We are wrapped for her.
Post by: Hairs on November 16, 2021, 07:01:32 PM
Have haven't swung by here for awhile.
It's not that I haven't been Grateful, I've just been refocusing, reassessing and resetting what is important to me, My best mate/wife, partner in crime for life, our family & friends.
Post by: jwb on November 16, 2021, 07:13:07 PM
Good to hear all is going good for you & the family!
Stay safe !

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Post by: Hairs on November 16, 2021, 07:21:19 PM
Good to hear all is going good for you & the family!
Stay safe !

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Thanks mate,
Not easy to look into the mirror, but I have.
There is so much more to life, something just clicked.

Hey, you take care too.
Travel safe.
Post by: Hairs on November 21, 2021, 05:46:47 PM
Middle child, Angel Face devil child(yes the one that went off driving us worried stupid) dropped in on her way home from spending the last couple of days camping.
She bought herself a 2002 2.4 diesel toyota hiace about 4 months ago.
Bat wing awning, dual battery, solar panel, 40lt fridge, decked out to travel.
She's saving up to travel with her girlfriend.
Just as she left, she gave me a big cuddle and thanked me for all we do for her.
A proud dad moment, ;)
Post by: Bird on November 21, 2021, 06:06:01 PM
Quote from: Hairs
Just as she left, she gave me a big cuddle and thanked me for all we do for her.
A proud dad moment, ;)

Worth its weight in gold... :)
Post by: Hairs on November 21, 2021, 06:10:00 PM
Worth its weight in gold... :)
Most defiantly mate.
Post by: Hairs on November 29, 2021, 06:29:32 PM
I have to share this.
Sure times have changed & each generation is different to the next.
And the generation before me can look back and think the same.
I'm Grateful for many things, but this sums up a lot.

'WE ARE A GENERATION THAT WILL NEVER COME BACK'
A generation that went to school and walked back.
A generation that did their homework alone to get out asap to play in the street.
A generation that spent all their free time on the street.
A generation that played hide and seek when dark.
A generation that made mud cakes.
A generation that collected sports cards.
A generation that found, washed and sold empty coke bottles to the local grocery store for 5 cents each.
A generation that made paper toys with their bare hands.
A generation who bought vinyl albums to play on record players.
A generation that collected photos and albums of clippings.
A generation that played board games and cards on rainy days.
A generation whose TV went off at midnight after playing the National Anthem.
A generation that had parents who were there.
A generation that laughed under the covers in bed so parents didn't know we were still awake.
A generation that is passing and unfortunately will never return!!...

Take care Swaggers,
Post by: MarkGU on December 05, 2021, 07:04:23 PM
I am very grateful today that over 100 keen golfers turned out for the 2021 Variety charity golf day held at Maclean golf club.

An awesome day with some great people.

Thank you to all who showed support for the kids.  :cup: :cup:
Post by: Steffo1 on December 05, 2021, 08:42:39 PM
I am very grateful today that over 100 keen golfers turned out for the 2021 Variety charity golf day held at Maclean golf club.

An awesome day with some great people.

Thank you to all who showed support for the kids.  :cup: :cup:

A good effort, Mark!
No chance I won the fridge, ay? :D
Post by: westvic on February 24, 2022, 05:59:05 PM
I am greatful that I live in Australia....not Ukraine....or any other of the countries around the world where people think that problems get sorted out with guns and violence
Post by: Hairs on February 25, 2022, 05:33:13 AM
We are fortunate to be where we are.
Our thoughts are with the Ukrainian people.
Post by: Hairs on March 03, 2022, 05:42:01 PM
I am grateful to be where we live now.
Even tho I haven't worked for a week, tomorrow I put on my RFS kit and go and help others that have not been as fortunate. Today I helped to move 30 water soaked bales of hay for a local, pressure washed their shed out, the cleanup starts.
Post by: Hairs on March 20, 2022, 07:39:36 PM
I am Grateful for the Men & Women that put on a Police uniform, go to work, and do their best. Unfortunately, some don't get to go home to their families & loved ones.
Each year I donate for a little piece of advertising in the Wollpers Calendar.
The funds raised, goes towards helping their families.  (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220320/c16d9317aa01930f4c54ee62839e54e1.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220320/b9c7e25b656877316f94fad0f72884a9.jpg)
Post by: Hairs on April 21, 2022, 06:37:59 PM
I Am Grateful for,
Many things, but in particular,
We, our family are healthy, employed.
It's great to see our kids achieving.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 22, 2022, 11:07:40 AM
I Am Grateful for,
Our pantry had enough stuff to make a vegemite sandwich for morning tea.
It's also great to see our jug turn cold water into hot water for a coffee.
Post by: MarkGU on April 22, 2022, 05:43:41 PM
I Am Grateful for,
Our pantry had enough stuff to make a vegemite sandwich for morning tea.
It's also great to see our jug turn cold water into hot water for a coffee.
ya gotta be grateful for that  :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on April 23, 2022, 09:20:25 AM
Speaking for myself here, but I suspect I'm not alone.

I see no place for bullying on MySwag.....or anywhere else.....

I'd be grateful if it stopped.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 23, 2022, 10:40:18 AM
Speaking for myself here, but I suspect I'm not alone.

I see no place for bullying on MySwag.....or anywhere else.....

I'd be grateful if it stopped.

Geez, i must of missed that.... which thread?
Post by: GeoffA on April 23, 2022, 10:43:30 AM
Geez, i must of missed that.... which thread?

At least be man enough to own it....

You're the bloke that took a holiday because of all the supposed negativity....
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 23, 2022, 12:11:21 PM
At least be man enough to own it....

You're the bloke that took a holiday because of all the supposed negativity....

And?
Post by: Fizzie on April 25, 2022, 07:11:01 AM
A mate being at peace after his battle with dementia ended.

Cheers, JR, we'll always think of you when we're sitting around a camp fire!

Post by: Hairs on April 25, 2022, 08:24:45 AM
Sorry to hear, cherish the memories mate.
Post by: Hairs on April 27, 2022, 09:23:03 PM
If you're doing better than yesterday,
You're moved forward.
You've done well.
Be proud.
Post by: Hairs on May 08, 2022, 07:45:19 PM
I am Grateful today, for those that support me through this journey.
Post by: Hairs on June 14, 2022, 05:57:24 PM
A life long friend sent me this.
We use to listen to Pink Floyd all the time as late teenages/young adults.
Some friends are for life.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220614/fd46e6cc80610fde39649d4f841f17b5.jpg)
Post by: Hairs on June 15, 2022, 09:45:07 AM
Found out this morning, it was a collaboration between two life long friends.
I am truly grateful to of known both for as long as I have.
Post by: Bird on June 15, 2022, 09:59:25 AM
Quote from: Hairs
You have 2 friends :o :o Im jealous!
Post by: Mace on June 15, 2022, 11:13:46 AM
I am truly grateful to of known both for as long as I have.

(https://i.ibb.co/60NS1Rj/Screenshot-2022-06-10-183233.png)

Post by: Troopy_03 on June 15, 2022, 06:11:32 PM
What am I grateful for today? ............ Three ply toilet paper.... Don't ask..  :-[
Post by: Hairs on June 15, 2022, 06:27:49 PM
What am I grateful for today? ............ Three ply toilet paper.... Don't ask..  :-[
Yep, can relate, it's a blessing.
Dealing with Crohns, nah wont go there.
Post by: austastar on June 16, 2022, 10:14:41 AM
Soft, super soft and "uh-oh".

Post by: Spada on June 16, 2022, 11:17:31 AM
Soft, super soft and "uh-oh".

the new "James Bond" range you can choose your own thickness. From the thickest being 007, all the way down to goldfinger.
Post by: paul.o on June 16, 2022, 03:03:08 PM
On the other end of the scale, Clint Eastwood toilet paper. Rough, Tough and takes crap off nobody!
Post by: DandyD on June 17, 2022, 05:40:23 PM
The weather… today.

Today is that one day a year when the temperature is forecast to top 30, and it isn’t supposed to rain.

Back to 15 and pissing down tomorrow.
Post by: Mace on June 17, 2022, 11:18:08 PM
The weather… today.

Today is that one day a year when the temperature is forecast to top 30, and it isn’t supposed to rain.

Back to 15 and pissing down tomorrow.

tomorrow in Hobart its supposed to be 12C.  But its the middle of winter......  :laugh:
Post by: Jillsy on July 09, 2022, 02:19:46 PM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220709/4817b0e8fd735aa997d7763c27321c55.jpg)
Today I am grateful for my Mum. I woke up at 0430 this morning feeling less than ordinary. I was due to take the kids to their soccer games (including managing Seth’s soccer team) and thought I would do a RAT before we left to make sure I was all good. Turns out Rona’s come for a visit . I messaged Mum to let her know that the kids wouldn’t be playing soccer today (as she’d planned to come and watch them). Next minute she’s been grocery shopping as well as bought more RATs and got me some Panadol and dropped it all off to us. I would have been buggered without her as Brett is at work 4 hours away till Thursday.
Post by: Pottsy on July 09, 2022, 02:30:39 PM
That’s a bugga, mums are great, mine is 92 tomorrow, family get together.

Hope the Covid doesn’t bugger you up too much.
Post by: Jillsy on July 09, 2022, 03:02:50 PM
That’s a bugga, mums are great, mine is 92 tomorrow, family get together.

Hope the Covid doesn’t bugger you up too much.
Happy Birthday to your Mum for tomorrow!!!

So far it’s been incredibly sore throat, fatigue, dry cough, body aches and hot flushes. Nothing serious thankfully as I still have to parent…
Post by: Hairs on July 09, 2022, 05:31:48 PM
Oh Jillsy,
I hope you are back on your feet soon.
Having someone shop, drop in food, is a huge help and blessing.
6 odd weeks ago, it dropped me, Head aches, muscle pain, and cough, still suffer coughing fits, yet Fysh, Brooke, Monique & her partner, all they got was a cold/mild flu symptoms.
I was down for 10 days, I still get fatigued easily.
3 days before I tested positive, I attended a RFD Driver Training caurse,  I notified our captain, who passed that information on to area command(all members in the Clarence Valley were notified), thankfully no one else was infected who I shared a truck with or who attended the class room with.
8 days after notifying my Brigrade, I Received a phone from our Area Commander thanking me for notifying my Captain. He mentioned how many members were out of action due to being positive to covid, some small Brigrades  did not have members who could attend incidents.
Having a support network, Priceless.
Covid effects everybody differently.
Take care Jillsy.
Post by: Foo on July 09, 2022, 06:54:49 PM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220709/4817b0e8fd735aa997d7763c27321c55.jpg)
Today I am grateful for my Mum. I woke up at 0430 this morning feeling less than ordinary. I was due to take the kids to their soccer games (including managing Seth’s soccer team) and thought I would do a RAT before we left to make sure I was all good. Turns out Rona’s come for a visit . I messaged Mum to let her know that the kids wouldn’t be playing soccer today (as she’d planned to come and watch them). Next minute she’s been grocery shopping as well as bought more RATs and got me some Panadol and dropped it all off to us. I would have been buggered without her as Brett is at work 4 hours away till Thursday.

That's a bugger but don't underestimate what it can do to you. Monitor your heart rate for a pattern and then you can tell if it's had it's way with your body.  ;)

Post by: rags on July 09, 2022, 09:00:41 PM
That's a bugger but don't underestimate what it can do to you.

Not wrong Foo, a week ago now, my younger brother  tested positive on the Wednesday, dead by the Saturday.
Post by: Hairs on July 09, 2022, 09:05:00 PM
Sorry to hear of you loss.
Post by: Foo on July 09, 2022, 09:10:57 PM
Not wrong Foo, a week ago now, my younger brother  tested positive on the Wednesday, dead by the Saturday.

Oh fork, sorry to see this.  :'(

Post by: Fizzie on July 10, 2022, 07:39:45 AM
Jeez!

Jillsy, sorry to hear you're crook, & fingers crossed that you get over it quickly. It's a fair way out still, so hopefully won't stuff up the NM for you.

Rags, very sorry about your brother :'(

But on the lighter side, Happy Birthday to Mum, Pottsy ;D  :cheers:
Post by: xcvator on July 10, 2022, 08:40:34 AM
Having 4 shots for covid and 1 for the flu.Tested + for covid and - for flu. All I've got is a slight runny nose, maybe coz I've manned up against and not complained like some  >:D   Out of iso next Friday
Post by: GeoffA on July 10, 2022, 08:57:45 AM

So very sorry, rags.
Post by: Pottsy on July 10, 2022, 08:59:11 AM
Condolences Rags on your brothers passing. Sadly I think we are far from rid of this thing.
Post by: Bird on July 10, 2022, 11:48:47 AM
Quote from: rags
Farkles.. Sorry to hear... its still out there doing serious damage but you dont hear much about it anymore...
Post by: Jillsy on July 10, 2022, 04:15:10 PM

Oh my gosh rags!!! I am so sorry to hear this!
Post by: Bird on July 10, 2022, 06:10:48 PM
early call... thankful kyrios getting flogged
Post by: Foo on July 10, 2022, 07:36:52 PM
early call... thankful kyrios getting flogged

:laugh: :laugh: :cheers: 8) I laughed at the comments by some saying that because he's an Aussie, we'll be behind him for the win, despite all of his actions prior, like fork I will.  ::)

Post by: nab on July 10, 2022, 11:51:02 PM

At first I thought it was a positive pregnancy test....
Post by: Jillsy on July 11, 2022, 12:35:15 PM
At first I thought it was a positive pregnancy test....

Ha ha!!! If I had a positive pregnancy test I'd be suing a Doctor!
Post by: Pottsy on July 17, 2022, 07:20:26 PM
Grateful to our firemen and women and the police. Our daughter had a house fire late this afternoon, thankfully she, the grandkids and her partner are all ok. Quick response time mitigated the damage to the kitchen, dining and lounge room. Predominantly smoke damage, 10 to 20ks worth.
Cooking up a concoction she uses in her massage business and it went south in a fireball.
As the three yr old said, mummy was being chased by a big yellow snake! Daughter said the emergency services were fantastic with the kids, both being given a teddy bear by the fireys.
They’re staying with her in laws and we are baby sitting the dog.
Post by: Hairs on July 17, 2022, 08:22:30 PM
Pottys
WOW, Good to hear she and all are ok, how quickly things can turn to poo.
Our First Responders do an amazing job.
Post by: Fizzie on July 18, 2022, 07:22:40 AM
it went south in a fireball.

Obviously in a real big way! :o

Good to hear that they're all OK though :cup:
Post by: Pottsy on July 18, 2022, 08:42:21 AM
Obviously in a real big way! :o

Good to hear that they're all OK though :cup:

It appears the only one who wasn’t fazed by it was the dog, just sat there looking at it go up, at twelve years old she’s pretty unfazed by most things!