Author Topic: The Random Question of the Day Thread...  (Read 325629 times)

Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #775 on: February 26, 2020, 09:57:33 AM »
Because pools represent the biggest risk for toddlers for drowning.

Not arguing, Jonesy, because I agree that pool fences are good, but they aren't the be all & end all.

Many years ago, our 2 boys were out in the back yard (NOT the pool area) playing. We looked out the window in time to watch our then <2 year old climb up the (fully compliant) pool fence, by wrapping his first two toes around the bars while pulling himself up, hang on the top rail, & lift the latch knob, so his ~6 year old brother could open the gate, go in, collect the toy that had gone in over the fence, come back out & close the gate again.

After that, we knew we had to keep an eye on them all the time, because if they wanted to get to the pool, they would, despite the fence.

« Reply #776 on: February 26, 2020, 01:27:11 PM »
"Driver under instruction" plate + P plate
https://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/licences/licence-and-permit-types/licence-conditions.
Look under Automatic condition and open that part
thanks Mr J. spot on info...

« Reply #777 on: March 01, 2020, 02:58:28 PM »
Ok,
A Random question,
What is the biggest problem in the world today?
I believe one of them is,
Respect.

Offline KeithB

« Reply #778 on: March 01, 2020, 05:04:03 PM »
Ok,
A Random question,
What is the biggest problem in the world today?
I believe one of them is,
Respect.

Reminds me of my secret lost love.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FOUqQt3Kg0
Keith
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

« Reply #779 on: March 01, 2020, 05:48:02 PM »

« Reply #780 on: March 09, 2020, 04:59:01 PM »
can you catch coronavirus twice . ???

Offline Wukkers

« Reply #781 on: March 09, 2020, 05:54:03 PM »
Is there any way to remove rust from chromed surfaces without destroying the chrome?  Shock absorbers on my granddaughters bike have rusted. Thanks

« Reply #782 on: March 09, 2020, 06:00:35 PM »
Only if you run out of toilet paper.

« Reply #783 on: March 09, 2020, 06:55:01 PM »
Is there any way to remove rust from chromed surfaces without destroying the chrome?  Shock absorbers on my granddaughters bike have rusted. Thanks
Steel wool will get it off.

The following users thanked this post: Wukkers

« Reply #784 on: March 10, 2020, 07:41:13 AM »

Possibly so ???

I've seen 2 mentions of people being diagnosed, cured, then diagnosed again a week later :'(

« Reply #785 on: March 10, 2020, 07:43:59 AM »
& I know they were answers to 2 different questions, but you sometimes need to smile at how things show up ;D

Only if you run out of toilet paper.

Steel wool will get it off.

Just watch them splinters :'( :o

« Reply #786 on: March 10, 2020, 07:45:54 AM »

I used to use coca cola and aluminum paper (like you buy from Woolies/Coles. Gentle on the chrome and worked well for me.
The following users thanked this post: Wukkers

« Reply #787 on: March 10, 2020, 09:07:44 AM »
Why doesn’t superglue stick to the inside of the tube?

« Reply #788 on: March 10, 2020, 12:23:11 PM »
Why doesn’t superglue stick to the inside of the tube?

And how does non stick surface stick to frying pans?
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #789 on: March 10, 2020, 04:05:12 PM »
Why can a door be a jar,
But a jar can't be a door.
?

« Reply #790 on: March 10, 2020, 05:25:31 PM »
Ok, so what do you do when someone is offended by something????

It's not like it's a right, or a quantifiable entity.
You're offended.

So what?

Reason for my question..........

I quoted a job. Joe Blow rings me back wanting me to do the job but match the cheaper quote.
I said no and the reason I quote more is I do it properly.
He comes back with how do I know they don't.
I replied with they can't be doing it properly for the quoted price.
He tells me I'm a rip off.
I tell him he's an idiot.
He tells me he's offended.
I tell him so freaking what.

Really, so what it you're offended by my words?
Yes, I was probably rude. Yes, unprofessional, but so what if I offended him?
Why can't he just move on and forget me?
Do I owe him something?
Have I committed a crime?
He was an idiot!!! As far as I'm, concerned I was just telling him how I felt.
(Now before you tell me off, this guy has rung me about 10 times over the past 5 years for various quotes and always goes with someone else cheaper and then proceeds to ring me and ask advice and clarification as he's sure it's not "right") So yes he actually is an idiot!

But again - I offended him. So what????
 ??? ???

« Reply #791 on: March 10, 2020, 05:52:13 PM »

You're offended.

So what?

I quoted a job. Joe Blow rings me back wanting me to do the job but match the cheaper quote.

Do I owe him something?
(Now before you tell me off, this guy has rung me about 10 times over the past 5 years for various quotes and always goes with someone else cheaper and then proceeds to ring me and ask advice and clarification as he's sure it's not "right") So yes he actually is an idiot!

??? ???
It's a hard gig some days.
I politely explain to them,
The reason my quote is what it is,
Because I am licensed, insured, warranty my work, use quailty products and know what it costs to give you the confidence that your project will be completed, on budget, on time.
Then I ask if your other quotes meet these outcomes for you.
I've given up thinking about being under quoted, I know what it costs me to do the job.
If everyone under cuts, Nobody makes a dollar.
You have geared yourself to make money, you have educated yourself, you have invested in tools, vehicle, all these cost,  if you wanted to bring home a wage you would be working for someone else.
Those under cutting you are either not paying their, insurances, their subbies or using Shit product and doing a piss poor job.

The following users thanked this post: plusnq

« Reply #792 on: March 10, 2020, 07:25:43 PM »

You're offended.

So what?

Do I owe him something?

??? ???

Made me think of this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ceS_jkKjIgo

Like you say, "So what"

« Reply #793 on: March 11, 2020, 06:05:38 AM »

In answer to this specifically and it is probably more related on what to do in an employee / employer / supervisor relationship but the same principles apply. Note the conversation down in your diary or somewhere else being very specific on what he said and then how you responded. Taking your version as the truth you became offended when he called you a ripoff to which you responded the way you did and this is what needs to be noted.

More than likely will never need it but not a bad habit to get into with the litigious society we now live in and the above, if done at the time is admissible in court

Offline Rowlie

« Reply #794 on: March 11, 2020, 07:18:12 AM »

"The reason my quote is what it is,
Because I am licensed, insured, warranty my work, use quality products and know what it costs to give you the confidence that your project will be completed, on budget, on time."

There is a very simple response when customers tell you that you are too dear. "Who am I to question my competitor's price? He knows only too well what his work/job/product is worth" Worked for me many times and surprising how often it created a change of heart.

« Reply #795 on: March 11, 2020, 07:41:54 AM »

Yep, as the others have said, so what ???

Mate (the other bloke, Brian, not you ;D), you're a big boy now, get over it!

It's a big, bad, nasty World out there, & everyone once in a while, somebody is going to say something to you that you won't like, which is sad for you, but no-one else on the entire planet actually gives a s%^&, so deal with it >:D

Offline Champin

« Reply #796 on: March 11, 2020, 09:43:14 AM »
Whatever happened to "sticks and stones.....". I think people are getting slandered and offended mixed up. There's a big difference.

Sent from my TA-1024 using Tapatalk

« Reply #797 on: March 11, 2020, 01:07:39 PM »
anyone know the story here?

mate sent em to me.

« Reply #798 on: March 11, 2020, 01:54:14 PM »
anyone know the story here?

mate sent em to me.

Just guessin but I reckon the tree fell on it! ;D ;D ;D
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #799 on: March 11, 2020, 02:08:51 PM »
Just guessin but I reckon the tree fell on it! ;D ;D ;D
I wanna know how much he wants for the spotties