General => General Discussion => Topic started by: alnjan on September 27, 2018, 10:42:15 PM

Title: Pacific Highway Bypass of Coffs Harbour
Post by: alnjan on September 27, 2018, 10:42:15 PM
Wasn't sure to put this in the Rant thread or News thread. 

The RMS have recently released the latest proposed Coffs Harbour Bypass of the Pacific Highway.

http://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/projects/northern-nsw/coffs-harbour-bypass/index.html (http://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/projects/northern-nsw/coffs-harbour-bypass/index.html)

https://www.collaborativemap.com/CoffsHarbourBypass (https://www.collaborativemap.com/CoffsHarbourBypass)

While this should be a good thing it appears a number of people don't think so.   

As most people that know Coffs harbour it is where the Great Dividing Range meets the ocean and there are a few hills.  In the route around Coffs there are three main hills.  While earlier plans had these marked as possible tunnels the final proposal has three cuttings with two land bridges for wildlife corridors. 

From media sources, there appears to be a group of people strongly opposing the lack of tunnels.  Even our lady Mayor treats the Bypass Proposal as a 'cheapskate' offer.  From what I can gather, or understand the main reasoning for the want of tunnels is somehow tunnels will stop the highway noise, where as the 'trenches' as described by our local Labor Candidate calls them will cause the highway noise to reverberate all over Coffs Harbour. 

From my researching from what I have found, tunnels do not stop highway noise and it will still be as 'bad' as without tunnels. 

Also my research shows a lot more against tunnels then for tunnels.  The tunnels the Mayor and Labor candidate are wanting would become Managed Tunnels which causes a few extra problems.  One being NO hazardous goods can go into the tunnels.  So ALL vehicles carrying Hazardous Goods will still have to travel through the CBD of Coffs Harbour.  Also as Managed Tunnels apart from all the 'safety' infrastructure that goes into building the tunnels is the 24/7 monitoringof each Tunnel and the regular maintenance required for each tunnel. 

From the RMS website I can compare that to the tunnels at St Helena, (Byron Bay) and Tugan. 

https://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/projects/northern-nsw/northern-tunnels/index.html (https://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/projects/northern-nsw/northern-tunnels/index.html)

Looking at the St Helena tunnel, each tunnel would be closed for routine maintenance for two nights every three months.  So for three tunnels, that is up to six nights every three months a tunnel is completely closed to ALL traffic and ALL traffic will be back into the Coffs Harbour CBD.  The cost involved of tunneling is nothing compared to the ongoing monitoring and maintenance. 

All for the sake of noise and trenches. 

A few years ago the RMS had their Community Consultation period and due to the backlash about the bypass being a bypass and not a complete re-routing of the Highway from south of Coffs inland to either north of Woolgoolga, Halfway Creek or even Grafton, the whole Bypass was stalled.  So instead of doing the bypass back then, they did the Sapphire to Woolgoolga was done. 

Now.  Before you get too excited about a uninterrupted dual carriageway up the north coast of NSW.  The visible construction work is not expected until late 2020 at the earliest, with construction times to be three years for the Coffs Bypass and four years for the 2km section connecting the northern interchange to the existing highway.  So lets say by 2024/6 we should have a good clear run up and down the highway.  Depending of course just how many hold up they have.  The first being the people demanding tunnels. 

Of the ones demanding tunnels or opposing the Proposed Bypass, while some are residence of Coffs Harbour with their own concerns.  Others appear to be more politically driven.  Does make we wonder if their Political party was in power, just how much they would be complaining about the Bypass, or trying to sell the idea.  It would be a challenge for them to actually try and do the right thing for the community they are supposed to be representing rather then just being in Opposition and taking that word literally and opposing everything.   

Yeah.  So there you have it. 
Title: Re: Pacific Highway Bypass of Coffs Harbour
Post by: achjimmy on September 28, 2018, 07:44:27 AM

The RMS have recently released the latest proposed Coffs Harbour Bypass of the Pacific Highway.

http://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/projects/northern-nsw/coffs-harbour-bypass/index.html (http://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/projects/northern-nsw/coffs-harbour-bypass/index.html)

https://www.collaborativemap.com/CoffsHarbourBypass (https://www.collaborativemap.com/CoffsHarbourBypass)

While this should be a good thing it appears a number of people don't think so.   

As most people that know Coffs harbour it is where the Great Dividing Range meets the ocean and there are a few hills.  In the route around Coffs there are three main hills.  While earlier plans had these marked as possible tunnels the final proposal has three cuttings with two land bridges for wildlife corridors. 

From media sources, there appears to be a group of people strongly opposing the lack of tunnels.  Even our lady Mayor treats the Bypass Proposal as a 'cheapskate' offer.  From what I can gather, or understand the main reasoning for the want of tunnels is somehow tunnels will stop the highway noise, where as the 'trenches' as described by our local Labor Candidate calls them will cause the highway noise to reverberate all over Coffs Harbour. 

From my researching from what I have found, tunnels do not stop highway noise and it will still be as 'bad' as without tunnels. 

Also my research shows a lot more against tunnels then for tunnels.  The tunnels the Mayor and Labor candidate are wanting would become Managed Tunnels which causes a few extra problems.  One being NO hazardous goods can go into the tunnels.  So ALL vehicles carrying Hazardous Goods will still have to travel through the CBD of Coffs Harbour.  Also as Managed Tunnels apart from all the 'safety' infrastructure that goes into building the tunnels is the 24/7 monitoringof each Tunnel and the regular maintenance required for each tunnel. 

From the RMS website I can compare that to the tunnels at St Helena, (Byron Bay) and Tugan. 

https://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/projects/northern-nsw/northern-tunnels/index.html (https://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/projects/northern-nsw/northern-tunnels/index.html)

Looking at the St Helena tunnel, each tunnel would be closed for routine maintenance for two nights every three months.  So for three tunnels, that is up to six nights every three months a tunnel is completely closed to ALL traffic and ALL traffic will be back into the Coffs Harbour CBD.  The cost involved of tunneling is nothing compared to the ongoing monitoring and maintenance. 

All for the sake of noise and trenches. 

A few years ago the RMS had their Community Consultation period and due to the backlash about the bypass being a bypass and not a complete re-routing of the Highway from south of Coffs inland to either north of Woolgoolga, Halfway Creek or even Grafton, the whole Bypass was stalled.  So instead of doing the bypass back then, they did the Sapphire to Woolgoolga was done. 

Now.  Before you get too excited about a uninterrupted dual carriageway up the north coast of NSW.  The visible construction work is not expected until late 2020 at the earliest, with construction times to be three years for the Coffs Bypass and four years for the 2km section connecting the northern interchange to the existing highway.  So lets say by 2024/6 we should have a good clear run up and down the highway.  Depending of course just how many hold up they have.  The first being the people demanding tunnels. 

Of the ones demanding tunnels or opposing the Proposed Bypass, while some are residence of Coffs Harbour with their own concerns.  Others appear to be more politically driven.  Does make we wonder if their Political party was in power, just how much they would be complaining about the Bypass, or trying to sell the idea.  It would be a challenge for them to actually try and do the right thing for the community they are supposed to be representing rather then just being in Opposition and taking that word literally and opposing everything.   

Yeah.  So there you have it.

Never considered the implications of managed tunnels Al. Good case there I think cuttings would be quiet as well.

As for the mayor and labor candidate well is the mayor labor aligned ? Yes your right about them in opposition they’ll say anything. (And given they have 15 plus years and did sfa for our roads)

We have just had a fight over marine parks down here and Luke foley who vermantly opposed the proposal on radio is the same Luke foley who when was a past environmental minister who proposed them !
Post by: tryagain on September 28, 2018, 08:15:01 AM
There will always be NIMBY's anti anything.
Post by: doc evil on September 28, 2018, 08:52:57 AM

As most people that know Coffs harbour it is where the Great Dividing Range meets the ocean and there are a few hills.

ummmmm…………...you might want to re look at your geography...…..
Post by: edz on September 28, 2018, 12:29:23 PM
Its on the Web site so it must be true ..
  quote " It is also the only place in NSW where the Great Dividing Range meets the Pacific Ocean "
https://www.visitnsw.com/nsw-tales/tag/coffs-harbour/ (https://www.visitnsw.com/nsw-tales/tag/coffs-harbour/)
Post by: alnjan on September 28, 2018, 12:41:39 PM
Its on the Web site so it must be true ..
  quote " It is also the only place in NSW where the Great Dividing Range meets the Pacific Ocean "
https://www.visitnsw.com/nsw-tales/tag/coffs-harbour/ (https://www.visitnsw.com/nsw-tales/tag/coffs-harbour/)

I am not saying it is the ONLY place, it's one of the places
Post by: edz on September 28, 2018, 01:08:35 PM
As a kid growing up  at Dorrigo and surrounds we were told the same thing by our olds ... Just pointing it out to Doc E. that its on the NSW Government tourist info web ...
Looked it up, it should have said 
" the fact that Coffs Harbour is just one of three points in Australia where the Great Dividing Range meets the sea."
All good Al .
Post by: doc evil on September 28, 2018, 02:56:11 PM
Might be a bit far fetched to even claim that  ;D
Post by: doc evil on September 28, 2018, 02:57:50 PM
or
Post by: Hookie on September 28, 2018, 05:04:27 PM
I've always been told and believed it was the only place the GDR comes right to the ocean. It doesn't just come close, it literally comes right to the ocean at Macauleys headland.

I don't care what they do with the bypass as long as it gets the f*#$ing traffic out of Coffs. It's pretty much a nightmare driving around town now at any time of day. The worst part of any camping trip for us is getting from home on the South side to the North side of town.
Post by: alnjan on September 28, 2018, 06:10:34 PM
I've always been told and believed it was the only place the GDR comes right to the ocean. It doesn't just come close, it literally comes right to the ocean at Macauleys headland.

I don't care what they do with the bypass as long as it gets the f*#$ing traffic out of Coffs. It's pretty much a nightmare driving around town now at any time of day. The worst part of any camping trip for us is getting from home on the South side to the North side of town.

Living on the North side has it's advantages.   ;D ;D
Post by: alnjan on September 28, 2018, 06:37:55 PM
you may have to move it around and zoom in to find Coffs Harbour in a bit more detail.  But hopefully you get the idea. 

http://en-au.topographic-map.com/places/Great-Dividing-Range-355299/ (http://en-au.topographic-map.com/places/Great-Dividing-Range-355299/)
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on September 28, 2018, 09:35:25 PM
its been a bloody big debacle thats for sure. How do you think the noise will effect ( or is it affect ?? ) you Al ?... knowing where you are
Post by: rags on September 28, 2018, 10:01:15 PM
ieffect ( or is it affect ?? )

Kev,
Affect is to change (verb),
Effect is the result of change (noun)
The rain may affect my plans for camping this weekend.
The rain had an effect on my camping weekend.

Here ends my lesson, but what would I know I just a plumber.

Back on topic,

I hope I get to drive one day from Brisbane to Melbourne without a traffic light. It seems feasible with the completion of the Coffs ByPass and other Pacific Hwy improvements between Coffs and Ballina.
A bypass from Heatherbrae and M1 would be required and under consideration I believe. It would also require the new NorthConnex tunnel underway under Pennant Hills Rd connecting M1 (F3) and M2.
No lights between M7 and Melbourne via the Hume

Post by: alnjan on September 28, 2018, 10:16:55 PM
its been a bloody big debacle thats for sure. How do you think the noise will effect ( or is it affect ?? ) you Al ?... knowing where you are

Can't see there being any change for me at all, it will just go past quicker, which really will be less noise in the long run.  It will be a bit more tortured for us to get into town, go north to head south, but a small price to pay for the greater good of the bypass. 

Post by: Paddler Ed on September 28, 2018, 11:24:18 PM
I hope I get to drive one day from Brisbane to Melbourne without a traffic light. It seems feasible with the completion of the Coffs ByPass and other Pacific Hwy improvements between Coffs and Ballina.
A bypass from Heatherbrae and M1 would be required and under consideration I believe. It would also require the new NorthConnex tunnel underway under Pennant Hills Rd connecting M1 (F3) and M2.

I reckon it's pretty close coming the New England Highway - There's some in Stanthorpe, but once you hit NSW, there's lights in Glen Innes, and I think some in Tenterfield, but if you go round the Tamworth bypass and then out to Premer and that way, down to Dunedoo and then onwards to Gundagai I'm not sure you get any... So it is nearly possible to do it without hitting lights, you just have to avoid the coast...
Post by: alnjan on October 03, 2018, 08:36:41 PM
Well the Political and information spin is alive and well. 

As I has stated vehicles carrying Hazardous or Dangerous Goods can not travel in the Managed Tunnels I have been so misinformed about hazardous goods and tunnels. Apparently hazardous or Dangerous Goods can travel in tunnels in Europe, USA, Japan, even Sydney, Brisbane and Melbourne, there is no reason they can not travel through a tunnel only several hundred metres long in Coffs Harbour.   I was also told not to be fooled by the RMS, seek out the facts and do some research to find the facts.  Maybe if I did some research I may change my thinking. 

Well I don't live in Europe, USA or Japan.  The road rules in Queensland and Victoria don't impact on me in New South Wales, so daring to be mislead I checked the RMS website and found

https://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/roads/using-roads/sydney-tunnels/index.html (https://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/roads/using-roads/sydney-tunnels/index.html)

Now it clearly states

"Dangerous goods vehicles
Dangerous goods vehicles are prohibited from travelling in Sydney’s tunnels. Find out more about dangerous goods."

I did put the link and quote on their posts but after six hours there is still no reply. 

Now as the RMS can not be trusted, I was wondering if any one a bit more knowledge about Sydney can confirm, if Dangerous Goods Vehicles are prohibited from travelling in Sydney tunnels?  Out of curiosity what is the go in Qld and Vic? 

Post by: Raym on October 03, 2018, 09:06:37 PM
For Qld it appears that in some tunnels it is allowed & in signposted ones not allowed.

https://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/safety/driver-guide/tunnel-safety.aspx#dangerousgoods (https://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/safety/driver-guide/tunnel-safety.aspx#dangerousgoods)

I am sure I read that one of the reasons they didn't do tunnels for the 2nd Toowoomba range crossing was that dangerous goods wouldn't have been permitted.
Post by: rags on October 03, 2018, 09:23:50 PM
Yep it is my understanding that dangerous goods are prohibited from all NSW tunnels including all majors in Sydney.
Post by: gronk on October 03, 2018, 10:01:42 PM
It seems feasible with the completion of the Coffs ByPass and other Pacific Hwy improvements between Coffs and Ballina.

The bypass at Heatherbrae might be under consideration, but seeing as there are traffic lights being installed at the end of the M1 at Beresfield, a bypass is sadly years away. The bypass would cost as much as the Coffs bypass, and the govt won't/can't spend that much..
Post by: alnjan on October 05, 2018, 11:38:31 AM
Must say I will not be holding my breath for the 2020 start the RMS is hoping for.  Not the way certain persons are moving and now with Bypass Action Groups being organised I can see history repeating itself like it did about 10 years ago. 

Everyone saying yes we want a Bypass, some saying we want it built right and sounding like they are meaning, don't build it in my neighbourhood. 

And all this because the proposal has cuttings with land bridges and not tunnels or trenches as the Labor candidate calls them.  All worried about the noise the trenches will make and deafen everyone in west Coffs.  I have been googling at noise mapping a little lately.  Yeah bring on the tunnels, then they can have something to complain about then.  But the funny part about it, well funny for me, is the proposed cuttings/trenches with land bridges they don't want are the furtherest  sections from the main residential area.  No one is complaining about the open highway that travels closer to them, except the current proposal has the bypass raised higher then the old tunnel option from some 14 yrs ago.   From my googling noise mapping a raised bypass may actually be quieter for them. 

Anyhow I hope to still be around to see the eventual Bypass of Coffs, just can't see a completion date anywhere near the 2023/4 of the proposed plan.   
Post by: GBC on October 05, 2018, 12:00:11 PM
I can live with Coffs. Macksville bypass is great and the Ballina - Grafton section will be awesome.
Post by: austastar on October 05, 2018, 12:17:47 PM
    If only we could bypass Melbourne!
An Albury / Devonport ferry was suggested,  but Vic wasn't amused.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

Post by: alnjan on October 05, 2018, 12:24:27 PM
I can live with Coffs. Macksville bypass is great and the Ballina - Grafton section will be awesome.

Yeah I can see them going back to saying, we already have a divided road through Coffs harbour, see ya later.  Yep when the rest of the Woolgoolga to Ballina bit is done it will be great, Brissy under four hours.  The track south, well all depends what time of the day you hit it for us but after the last roundabout it's another good run.
Post by: alnjan on October 05, 2018, 12:25:34 PM

thought the same years ago now, early 1990s when we visited Tasmania, how to get around Melbourne?
Post by: Fizzie on October 05, 2018, 02:47:34 PM
At one stage, didn't a ferry run, or there was talk of running one, Sydney to Tassie ???
Post by: austastar on October 05, 2018, 03:45:57 PM
    Yep, late 60s, The Empress of Tasmania. Did  the Sydney/Hobart/Melbourne run. Two nights at sea.

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on October 05, 2018, 06:53:43 PM

There was a Sydney to Hobart Ferry running up and down on a regular basis.
That was a while ago, it operated similar to the current Ferry out of Melbourne.
Don't think they had enough custom.  And that seemed to sink 'em?  :angel: :angel: :angel:
Post by: rags on October 05, 2018, 09:55:53 PM
There was a Sydney to Hobart Ferry running up and down on a regular basis.
That was a while ago, it operated similar to the current Ferry out of Melbourne.
Don't think they had enough custom.  And that seemed to sink 'em?  :angel: :angel: :angel:

Passenger services between Sydney and Tasmania resumed in 2004 with the Spirit of Tasmania III running to Devonport, but this service ceased in 2006.
Post by: macca on October 05, 2018, 10:07:18 PM
thought the same years ago now, early 1990s when we visited Tasmania, how to get around Melbourne?
Pretty hard to bypass Melbourne  when the ferry  terminal is just about in the middle of the CBD. You could always fly over it

Post by: Rumpig on October 06, 2018, 10:05:55 AM
Pretty hard to bypass Melbourne  when the ferry  terminal is just about in the middle of the CBD. You could always fly over it

being not from there, I found the toll roads take you there easily and you can avoid the worst of the Melbourne traffic for the most part. We had a day to kill whilst in town, a mate and myself went for a drive in his fourby from where we were staying at his relos place East of town. Seeing I didn't h ave a toll account at the time, we decided that we'd drive to the port without using the toll roads to see what it was like.....big mistake that one. We later drove back to collect our trailers from where we were staying via the toll roads and back to the port again with ease....found parking on the street by the water was relatively cheap really (cost about $10 from memory) and was surprised how much on street parking was available, so spent half the day parked up next to the beach getting a touch sunburnt enjoying the views....lol
Post by: alnjan on October 08, 2018, 11:10:50 AM
And now this from our Labor Candidate. 

FYI. A statement we have put out today.

GOVERNMENTS MUST OBTAIN CONSENSUS ON
BYPASSING COFFS HARBOUR

The two governments need to make the case that this is the right route; with the right design, and with overwhelming public support.

We support the bypassing of Coffs Harbour as soon as possible, but not at any cost to the community, natural environment, heritage or economy.

There’s been a Liberal and National Coalition Government in Sydney since 2011 and since 2013 in Canberra. Both governments should have been ready to start construction in July this year with a consensus route and design.

Instead, they told us in May this year that project won’t start until the 2020/21 financial year. Then we learned it is yet to be finally approved via a “business case” by the Federal Government and that won’t happen until June 2019. Now, we have the ‘no tunnels’ bombshell dropped on the community at the last minute as a done deal. We also know they’ve put forward a preferred design without doing studies on the impact of noise, the natural environment and Aboriginal heritage. Finally, they have researched community attitudes to the project as a part of the justification, but this occurred before the design without tunnels was known. This project has been totally mismanaged.

The governments need to listen to the people of Coffs Harbour and reach consensus on a long-term and sustainable solution to the bypassing of Coffs Harbour. The current design is not socially, environmentally or economically sustainable. It is totally unacceptable with trenches instead of real tunnels.

The route and designs are decisions that shouldn’t be rushed. The current public consultation and Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) process is a tick-box exercise by governments. They are hell bent on railroading this through the Christmas and new year periods in the hope that people will not comment so that they can have some pre-election PR announcements.

The current timetable for consultation should be extended to allow proper and informed discussion. The EIS needs to be based on the consensus route and design. However, that extension should not be used by the governments as an excuse to delay a bypass. The people of the Coffs Harbour region have already waited too long. The state and federal governments need to get on with the job.

The route and design are key aspects this and future generations will have to live with the consequences of every hour of every day for a century. If it takes the community and government a little longer to reach consensus, so be it.

If the governments can’t reach consensus with the people of Coffs Harbour on the current route and design, it falls to them to come up with proposals that do.

We urge the community to attend this Thursday’s meeting at the PCYC at 7 pm where various speakers will give perspectives on the route and design.

MONDAY, 8 OCTOBER 2018

Talk about Populous Politics.  Last week our Labor Candidate was in agreeance with where the proposed route was going, just wanted tunnels not trenches.  This week after many people raised and re-raised the push for a Western Bypass, starting way south of Coffs Harbour from Mailmans Track, South Bonville going West toward Coramba and continue up the Orara Way and reconnecting with the Highway at either Halfway Creek or all the way to Grafton, our Labor Candidate is stating he supports whatever the Community wants. 

Obviously someone with no Testicular Fortitude.  Make a decision and stand by it.     
Post by: tryagain on October 08, 2018, 12:55:46 PM
I think time will likely show that all the noise local groups will make will account for nought, the case studies they would have done to asses the best route would have gone into 100x more detail than anyone jumping up and down about it and being the last bit between Sydney and Brisbane means it will happen whether the locals like it or not.
Post by: alnjan on October 08, 2018, 01:31:01 PM
I think time will likely show that all the noise local groups will make will account for nought, the case studies they would have done to asses the best route would have gone into 100x more detail than anyone jumping up and down about it and being the last bit between Sydney and Brisbane means it will happen whether the locals like it or not.

Logic should dictate that outcome, but some of the locals here are very special with grand visions
Post by: gronk on October 08, 2018, 05:26:04 PM
and being the last bit between Sydney and Brisbane means it will happen whether the locals like it or not.

The Heatherbrae bypass will be the last bit....in another 5 to 10 yrs !!   ???

Like all bypasses, it will be the cheapest option.....complaints from residents will count zero towards the finished product, although they do occasionally listen to constructive ideas....as long as it doesn't cost too much..
Post by: alnjan on October 08, 2018, 06:05:54 PM
The Heatherbrae bypass will be the last bit....in another 5 to 10 yrs !!   ???

Like all bypasses, it will be the cheapest option.....complaints from residents will count zero towards the finished product, although they do occasionally listen to constructive ideas....as long as it doesn't cost too much..

I can see the RMS will walk away from Coffs Harbour again saying it has a divided dual carriage way and will do the Heatherbrae bypass then maybe come back to Coffs Harbour. 
Post by: rags on October 08, 2018, 07:14:12 PM

The noisey mob in the link below have held high hopes that they would change the governments plans, for a new bridge at Windsor NSW but to date it has come to nought. The news story is from 2017 and the Construction now is well under way but they still sit in the protestors tent thinking they will win.
https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/newslocal/rouse-hill-times/occupy-windsor-bridge-protest-is-longest-in-australian-history/news-story/86ece6baaa1ee97876cf32aacf7ded1d (https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/newslocal/rouse-hill-times/occupy-windsor-bridge-protest-is-longest-in-australian-history/news-story/86ece6baaa1ee97876cf32aacf7ded1d)

The protesters web site http://www.cawb.com.au (http://www.cawb.com.au)
Post by: gronk on October 08, 2018, 08:16:56 PM
I can see the RMS will walk away from Coffs Harbour again saying it has a divided dual carriage way and will do the Heatherbrae bypass then maybe come back to Coffs Harbour.

Don't think so mate......they are in the process of installing the $30 million traffic lights as we speak.  Can't see them start on the bypass for at least 5 yrs. If the Coffs bypass has already been contracted out, there will be no stopping it.
Post by: alnjan on October 08, 2018, 08:47:07 PM
Don't think so mate......they are in the process of installing the $30 million traffic lights as we speak.  Can't see them start on the bypass for at least 5 yrs. If the Coffs bypass has already been contracted out, there will be no stopping it.

Nah it's not that far along.  Thanks to a lot of complaining things stalled on the Bypass.  They have moved back to the Community Engagement. 
The Environmental Impact Study EIS still to go, then seek Planning Approval, so still plenty of time to be shelved again.
Post by: MarkGU on October 08, 2018, 09:07:27 PM
Nah it's not that far along.  Thanks to a lot of complaining things stalled on the Bypass.  They have moved back to the Community Engagement. 
The Environmental Impact Study EIS still to go, then seek Planning Approval, so still plenty of time to be shelved again.
i know a bloke who is working on the Pennant Hills tunnel atm, he said as soon as they( the company he works for) finished in sydney, the next job they have to do is Coffs tunnels.
Post by: alnjan on October 08, 2018, 09:17:32 PM
i know a bloke who is working on the Pennant Hills tunnel atm, he said as soon as they( the company he works for) finished in sydney, the next job they have to do is Coffs tunnels.

Yep, heard that in about 2007/8 one of the bigger bosses of building the new Highway.  He was buying a place in Coffs Harbour area as he said they had three/four years work in Coffs them keep moving north as they kept building.  Then the Coffs Bypass was shelved thanks to a small group of people that new better. 

They Bypass will get built where the proposed plan is, just when is the question.  If there is somewhere else that has work ready to go, Coffs will wait. 
Post by: MarkGU on October 08, 2018, 10:06:45 PM
Yep, heard that in about 2007/8 one of the bigger bosses of building the new Highway.  He was buying a place in Coffs Harbour area as he said they had three/four years work in Coffs them keep moving north as they kept building.  Then the Coffs Bypass was shelved thanks to a small group of people that new better. 

They Bypass will get built where the proposed plan is, just when is the question.  If there is somewhere else that has work ready to go, Coffs will wait.
Doesnt help when you have the " i oppose everything just cause i can" brigade and the " great unwashed" troop screaming at the top of their smelly existance.  :laugh:
Post by: raider on October 10, 2018, 08:06:27 PM
Did the Ballina-Grafton road the other day and couldn't believe the scale of roadworks happening. it looks like they're building the Westgate bridge too - those pylons are tall.
Post by: MarkGU on October 10, 2018, 08:15:48 PM
Did the Ballina-Grafton road the other day and couldn't believe the scale of roadworks happening. it looks like they're building the Westgate bridge too - those pylons are tall.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsshMwxA570 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsshMwxA570)
Design and construction of a new 1.52 kilometre bridge over the Clarence River, about 30  meters downstream from the existing bridge. The length of the bridge over the Clarence River will span 620 meters, with a vertical clearance above the river of at least 30 metres for marine traffic to pass.
Since the first girder was lifted in November, the project team has installed all 144 girders, including transporting 44 of the girders across the bridge at night and lifting 48 from barges in the river.

Post by: alnjan on October 10, 2018, 08:38:19 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsshMwxA570 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsshMwxA570)
Design and construction of a new 1.52 kilometre bridge over the Clarence River, about 30  meters downstream from the existing bridge. The length of the bridge over the Clarence River will span 620 meters, with a vertical clearance above the river of at least 30 metres for marine traffic to pass.
Since the first girder was lifted in November, the project team has installed all 144 girders, including transporting 44 of the girders across the bridge at night and lifting 48 from barges in the river.

Been pretty impressive some of the footage of the build.  Guess we will have the same for the Grafton Bridge. 
Post by: Troopy_03 on October 11, 2018, 01:52:54 PM
Was it incrementally constructed?
They did that with the Karuah River bridge, pretty impressive the way they build from the end, and slide it across.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xavmHF6jYjg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xavmHF6jYjg)
Post by: GBC on October 11, 2018, 02:12:26 PM
Was it incrementally constructed?
They did that with the Karuah River bridge, pretty impressive the way they build from the end, and slide it across.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xavmHF6jYjg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xavmHF6jYjg)
No, Spans were craned up.
Post by: alnjan on October 11, 2018, 10:17:02 PM
Went a public meeting this evening organised by the 'Coffs Bypass Action Group'.  Some several hundred in attendance.  Went along okay until they asked for comments from the floor.  While the subject of the whole debate was to the proposed bypass of Coffs Harbour from the floor that was basically dismissed with all but two of us apparently, all voting in favour of a Western Highway Deviation rather then the Proposed Bypass. 

I can see the Black Hill to Heatherbrae M1 to A1 connection being completed before a dozer even gets a chance to be delivered in Coffs.   
Post by: gronk on October 12, 2018, 05:48:58 AM

I can see the Black Hill to Heatherbrae M1 to A1 connection being completed before a dozer even gets a chance to be delivered in Coffs.   

If the govt makes up their mind, the vocal locals will be ignored. Even when they complain about something that is bad for the community, when does the govt listen ?
But I do wish the Heatherbrae bypass gets priority........the end of the M1 is a nightmare every friday arvo !!  And they think traffic lights on a major freeway is going to fix it ??  Dreaming !!
Post by: HEM19X on October 12, 2018, 09:03:34 AM
Been pretty impressive some of the footage of the build.  Guess we will have the same for the Grafton Bridge.

Al, Grafton bridge is a similar construction to the old Bendy Bridge.. No bend but similar river clearance as there is no height requirement.

Post by: alnjan on October 12, 2018, 09:29:15 AM
If the govt makes up their mind, the vocal locals will be ignored. Even when they complain about something that is bad for the community, when does the govt listen ?
But I do wish the Heatherbrae bypass gets priority........the end of the M1 is a nightmare every friday arvo !!  And they think traffic lights on a major freeway is going to fix it ??  Dreaming !!

I am amazed they have left the M1 as they have.  I would have thought connecting the M1 to the A1 and have a decent interchange between the M1, A1, and the New England.  It should have priority. 
Post by: alnjan on October 12, 2018, 09:40:46 AM
Al, Grafton bridge is a similar construction to the old Bendy Bridge.. No bend but similar river clearance as there is no height requirement.

Grafton is like Sydney, places I'd rather not go to.  The Bridge will be a major improvement for Grafton, will be able to get in and out a lot quicker without these types of idiots. 

https://www.dailyexaminer.com.au/videos/bizarre-standoff-grafton-bridge/62725/ (https://www.dailyexaminer.com.au/videos/bizarre-standoff-grafton-bridge/62725/)
Post by: gronk on October 12, 2018, 02:38:14 PM
I am amazed they have left the M1 as they have.  I would have thought connecting the M1 to the A1 and have a decent interchange between the M1, A1, and the New England.  It should have priority.

There's a lot of "smart" people in govt think otherwise. We can send billions overseas, but can't upgrade a road ??
Post by: alnjan on October 12, 2018, 03:52:05 PM
Can't argue with that
Post by: Hairs on October 13, 2018, 12:16:24 PM
Al,
This just popped up in my FB feed.
https://www.facebook.com/Prime7NewsNorthCoast/videos/374462850041071/

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

Post by: alnjan on October 13, 2018, 02:22:30 PM
Al,
This just popped up in my FB feed.
https://www.facebook.com/Prime7NewsNorthCoast/videos/374462850041071/ (https://www.facebook.com/Prime7NewsNorthCoast/videos/374462850041071/)

Yep I was there.  Was doing okay until from the floor they want the Western Deviation.  Some want it starting from as far south as Valla, others from Mailmans Track interchange at the top of the hill from Repton, the start of the Bonville Upgrade, others anywhere from there through to the roundabout at Englands Road the start of Coffs Harbour basiically to go west any where as far out to connect to Coramba, then returning back to the new Highway north of Woolgoolga maybe somewhere between Halfway Creek or just make the Orara Way the new A1 highway.   I have no idea at all how any of that will help with Coffs own traffic problems but it gets the Proposed Bypass away from 'their back door'. 

My paint skills are not that good but the Western Deviation anywhere in the yellow and the new Highway when completed will be closer to the red. 

(https://imagizer.imageshack.com/v2/xq90/922/moPhqJ.jpg)
Post by: gronk on October 13, 2018, 06:38:05 PM
The govt will listen.......and then go away and do whatever they had planned in the 1st place.
The community discussions are just a feel good thing.....they listen and ignore !!
Post by: tryagain on October 14, 2018, 08:58:57 PM
Grafton is like Sydney, places I'd rather not go to. ]

Centenary drive everytime for me when heading north or south.
Post by: alnjan on October 14, 2018, 09:33:35 PM
Centenary drive everytime for me when heading north or south.

Yep same here. 
Post by: alnjan on November 09, 2018, 08:46:10 AM
Just to show how special our Council is they go and do this. 

https://www.triplem.com.au/news/coffs-coast/councillors-vote-unanimously-to-reject-planned-cuttings-on-bypass/?station=coffs&fbclid=IwAR2ERDMEHYAQ4DunmbRByQPFvT2DZcmGQxLnIU6EiriKCM3ZI1jfd-zfTus (https://www.triplem.com.au/news/coffs-coast/councillors-vote-unanimously-to-reject-planned-cuttings-on-bypass/?station=coffs&fbclid=IwAR2ERDMEHYAQ4DunmbRByQPFvT2DZcmGQxLnIU6EiriKCM3ZI1jfd-zfTus)

"Coffs Harbour City Councillors have voted to support a motion that rejects major cuttings in the Coffs Harbour Bypass project, and spends ratepayer funds to tell the wider NSW community.  The motion put forward by Councillor Keith Rhoades said that council support the NSW Government's proposed corridor, but reject the concept of major cuttings in preference to tunnels.  While speaking on the matter, Councillor Rhoades claims that noise from the cuttings will echo right across Coffs Harbour.  "The echoing effect will come down through Coffs Harbour and Park Beach", Cr Rhoades said.  The motion will also see a campaign instigated by Coffs Harbour City Council to rally support from the wider NSW community about the affects that Council believe this design will have."

They waffle with more in the article with excuses just as lame. 

One of their issues as a Council in a tourist location is the eyesore the Bypass will have on the natural setting of the back drop of Coffs Harbour will stop tourists coming to Coffs Harbour.  As I was born in Coffs Harbour some 50 odd years ago I have already seen a lot of things done to Coffs that would be described as being more negative to the town then positive for the town.  A Bypass is not one of them. 

To give some idea of where the Bypass will go I had a little play on Google Earth as the part of the Bypass that goes around Coffs is already marked there.  I have marked the Bypass in read and it is only an overlay on the existing contours, not showing cutting/tunnels or embankments where the road is built up but it gives an idea of the 'scarring' to the back drop, which no one will see in a couple of years anyhow. 

So would a Bypass stop you from visiting Coffs Harbour?

(https://imagizer.imageshack.com/v2/xq90/923/mjuWSb.jpg)
Post by: tryagain on November 09, 2018, 09:14:12 AM
I hope RMS or whoever is responsible for for the planning come back with an alternative of going straight through the town, I think they might then go, maybe then they might think the cuttings aren't to bad of an option.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on November 09, 2018, 11:26:56 AM
At least with cuttings, the dangerous loads don't get forced through Coffs Harbour CBD along the existing route.
Placarded dangerous loads aren't allowed in tunnels here in Vic..  I'd imagine the same applies across Australia.
Post by: gronk on November 09, 2018, 01:50:33 PM
Tunnels won't happen. A govt department will choose the most cost effective route ( cheapest ). They make out they listen, but behind closed doors will make their own decisions.

The council can put a motion forward all they like.....they don't have a say in where the road goes ....they only think they do !!

If they don't want the road....get the 900 million diverted to Heatherbrae bypass....we DO need it !!   ;D

Post by: alnjan on November 09, 2018, 06:51:08 PM
Tunnels won't happen. A govt department will choose the most cost effective route ( cheapest ). They make out they listen, but behind closed doors will make their own decisions.

The council can put a motion forward all they like.....they don't have a say in where the road goes ....they only think they do !!

If they don't want the road....get the 900 million diverted to Heatherbrae bypass....we DO need it !!   ;D

Was talking to the blokes from NSW State Planning at the last Community Meeting with the RMS display of the Bypass Preferred Design Plan.  Was interesting talking to them.  There are still people pushing for the Bypass to be re routed to the Western Deviation which goes too far west and misses everything.  The Planning guys said as the route is already set, they will not be looking at anything other then the current Bypass route, which was reassuring.  They also reassured me that the Coffs Bypass will be built this time around, once the Design Plan is settled on by as best in can by all parties.  They further reassured me the project will not go the Heatherbrae to Black Hill Bypass. 

we got talking about the Heatherbrae/Blak Hill section and they said it is just a complete Engineering Nightmare with the amount of fixed restrictions place upon the planning.  Some of which included the Indigenous sites, Wetlands, power lines, the airport and RAAF base being the main ones.  They were saying the eventual section of Highway will be more like a rollercoaster ride then a section of Highway.  Good luck with that.
Post by: gronk on November 09, 2018, 07:37:20 PM

we got talking about the Heatherbrae/Blak Hill section and they said it is just a complete Engineering Nightmare with the amount of fixed restrictions place upon the planning.  Some of which included the Indigenous sites, Wetlands, power lines, the airport and RAAF base being the main ones.  They were saying the eventual section of Highway will be more like a rollercoaster ride then a section of Highway.  Good luck with that.

The airport/RAAF base is no where near the bypass, but yep, the wetland "bridge" will be super expensive.
Post by: alnjan on November 09, 2018, 07:41:34 PM
The airport/RAAF base is no where near the bypass, but yep, the wetland "bridge" will be super expensive.

That's what I thought too but apparently it does affect the height of things.  Which in turn causes the issue with power lines.  Apparently there are some major power lines in the way.  Any where else the power company will raise the lines to allow clearance for the new Highway.  Due to the Airport/RAAF base, can't do that.  So power lines stay at whatever height they are and the road will have to dip under them, hence the roller coaster. 
Post by: rockrat on November 09, 2018, 07:49:41 PM
That's what I thought too but apparently it does affect the height of things.  Which in turn causes the issue with power lines.  Apparently there are some major power lines in the way.  Any where else the power company will raise the lines to allow clearance for the new Highway.  Due to the Airport/RAAF base, can't do that.  So power lines stay at whatever height they are and the road will have to dip under them, hence the roller coaster.
Those powerlines probably feed the nearby aluminium smelter which draws (or used to at least) around 10% of all the power in NSW. I am surprise the airport is an issue though.
Post by: gronk on November 09, 2018, 08:14:10 PM
Those powerlines probably feed the nearby aluminium smelter which draws (or used to at least) around 10% of all the power in NSW. I am surprise the airport is an issue though.

By the time the bypass gets done, the smelter will have probably closed down....problem solved.
Post by: alnjan on November 09, 2018, 08:16:07 PM
By the time the bypass gets done, the smelter will have probably closed down....problem solved.

Maybe that's what they are waiting for  ;D.    They way the Planning Guys were talking it is going to be a while, which as a major link in the road and the connection with the New England is amazing it has been left so long.
Post by: gronk on November 09, 2018, 09:00:23 PM
Maybe that's what they are waiting for  ;D.    They way the Planning Guys were talking it is going to be a while, which as a major link in the road and the connection with the New England is amazing it has been left so long.

Yeh, the busiest part of the M1 between Sydney and the Qld border and they leave it till last.....typical forward thinking by bureaucrats.

Their idea of planning ahead is to start planning when a road becomes clogged.....so when it finally gets upgraded it's almost time to start planning again !!
Post by: alnjan on November 09, 2018, 10:02:05 PM
That's about it.  With the Council doing their Political Grandstanding the local Radio Station interviewed both Melinda Pavey State Minter for Road and Luke Hartsyker our Federal MP.  They were both asked similar questions about the Bypass and what may happen and both said the Princes Highway on the South Coast is screaming for upgrades.  So if Coffs stuffs up and spills the ball, who knows what might happen.   
Post by: DaveR on November 11, 2018, 06:24:41 AM
I have trouble understanding why the road between Brisbane and Sydney is referred to as number 1, 1 should mean the best but this aint it by far.

When the new Ballina Woolgoolga rd is done, I hope they fix the existing road for the sake of the locals and the 10,000 Pearson trucks that will still need to use it.
Post by: alnjan on November 11, 2018, 07:59:17 AM
Once the Highway upgrades have been completed (if) then it should be No. 1, at least by Australian standards, still lacks a lot compared to other countries, especially when a recent study came back and said the Highway was unsafe to raise the speed limit to 120km/h, I think it was. 

As for the existing Highway, where it is bypassed it will become just another local road and handed over to Councils to maintain.  The Councils get a one of lump sum to go towards the road but that is about it.

I guess you look at it two ways, the new Highway to get from A to B and the old highway to go from A to Z at your leisure without all the Highway traffic.   
Post by: MarkGU on November 11, 2018, 09:17:28 AM
At least with cuttings, the dangerous loads don't get forced through Coffs Harbour CBD along the existing route.
Placarded dangerous loads aren't allowed in tunnels here in Vic..  I'd imagine the same applies across Australia.
Cruiser 105Tvan
Its the same rules here. In all the RMS wisedom, they decided that dangerous goods vehicles were to dangerous to use the tunnels outside Byron Bay.Their wisdom is that they use the old pacific highway which incorporates one of the steepest climbs/ decents on the pacific highway with a speed camera at the bottom of it  ???
Work that sh!t out  >:(

Common sense died cause OH&S killed it.
Post by: MarkGU on November 11, 2018, 09:21:40 AM
I have trouble understanding why the road between Brisbane and Sydney is referred to as number 1, 1 should mean the best but this aint it by far.

When the new Ballina Woolgoolga rd is done, I hope they fix the existing road for the sake of the locals and the 10,000 Pearson trucks that will still need to use it.
Gday Dave, hope all is well with you guys.
The existing highway will be left in the current state & will be forced onto local councils to have to maintain.Yep, you and i will be paying to fix them in our local government rates.correct me if im wrong.
Post by: MarkGU on November 11, 2018, 09:23:22 AM
Al.
see, your thinking common sense with that post, give yaself an uppercut mate.  ;D
Post by: MarkGU on November 11, 2018, 09:25:00 AM
Grafton is like Sydney, places I'd rather not go to.  The Bridge will be a major improvement for Grafton, will be able to get in and out a lot quicker without these types of idiots. 

https://www.dailyexaminer.com.au/videos/bizarre-standoff-grafton-bridge/62725/ (https://www.dailyexaminer.com.au/videos/bizarre-standoff-grafton-bridge/62725/)
Al.
The brains trust in the 4wd was issued an infringement after this incident.
Stupid got what stupid was asking for.  :police:
Post by: alnjan on November 11, 2018, 09:57:53 AM
Al.
The brains trust in the 4wd was issued an infringement after this incident.
Stupid got what stupid was asking for.  :police:

As he should.  The new Bridge will make a world of difference for Grafton. 

Mark, have you heard what, or if, they are doing any thing to upgrade the old Highway, from where the New Highway peels off at the turn to Wooli/Airport to Grafton and onto the Gwydir Highway/Summerland Way or does it stay as is for now as that would still be RMS responsibility?
Post by: Hookie on November 11, 2018, 10:13:17 AM
They're working on it now, it goes East of Grafton and cuts across 8 mile lane before Wooli rd. It's a fair way along. Not sure where you'll get off to catch the Gwydir though.
Post by: MarkGU on November 11, 2018, 10:23:55 AM
As he should.  The new Bridge will make a world of difference for Grafton. 

Mark, have you heard what, or if, they are doing any thing to upgrade the old Highway, from where the New Highway peels off at the turn to Wooli/Airport to Grafton and onto the Gwydir Highway/Summerland Way or does it stay as is for now as that would still be RMS responsibility?
I havent really heard of a final plan Al.i reckon they will have to upgrade some of it as there are not only Pearsons trucks will have to access it to get into Grafton but all the other tranport companies like ours as well.

One other thing i found strange/ a massive amount of money wasted is the huge shed the contractors were using to make the new Harwood bridge , was simply pushed over by  couple of excavators and sent to the scrap yard when they finished with it  ??? One would have thought it would have been sold off and removed ? There would have to been a few hundred thousand $ worth of shed there.
Post by: alnjan on November 11, 2018, 11:21:55 AM
I havent really heard of a final plan Al.i reckon they will have to upgrade some of it as there are not only Pearsons trucks will have to access it to get into Grafton but all the other tranport companies like ours as well.

One other thing i found strange/ a massive amount of money wasted is the huge shed the contractors were using to make the new Harwood bridge , was simply pushed over by  couple of excavators and sent to the scrap yard when they finished with it  ??? One would have thought it would have been sold off and removed ? There would have to been a few hundred thousand $ worth of shed there.

On the RMS website there is nothing about upgrading the road to Grafton itself, just the new Highway Upgrades and Bypasses.  Maybe next time round. 

Would have thought if they were not going to use it again, they would have sold it off to someone to auction it all, like they do at other large construction sites.  Rather then reuse and get everything tagged and inspected sell off the old and get all brand new for the next job. 
Post by: Fizzie on November 11, 2018, 01:51:38 PM
In all the RMS wisedom, they decided that dangerous goods vehicles were to dangerous to use the tunnels outside Byron Bay.Their wisdom is that they use the old pacific highway which incorporates one of the steepest climbs/ decents on the pacific highway with a speed camera at the bottom of it  ???

So how about the (admittedly short) tunnels on the Yelgun bypass stretch ???

Do they still send DG trucks over Burringbar ??? :o
Post by: Rumpig on November 11, 2018, 01:54:04 PM
with WH&S rules being over the top on some of those big sites, it may have been to much hassle to remove it rather then demolish it. Could also have been they were on a tight time schedule, and the fines for going overtime might have outweighed any money they'd have gotten for the shed maybe.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on November 11, 2018, 02:12:47 PM
My take is that the shed was factored into the cost to start with.
The Accountants would have made sure that shed was paid for before any profit was considered.
So simple answer is, the shed knocked down and sold as scrap, was profit too.
Post by: tryagain on November 11, 2018, 02:43:34 PM
with WH&S rules being over the top on some of those big sites, it may have been to much hassle to remove it rather then demolish it. Could also have been they were on a tight time schedule, and the fines for going overtime might have outweighed any money they'd have gotten for the shed maybe.

Might have only be designed as a temporary structure as well, that way it may only need to be designed to cope with a 1 in 25yr event as opposed to a 1 in 100 or 200 and therefore be a lot cheaper to build.
Post by: Bird on November 11, 2018, 02:51:48 PM
Surprised someone still didnt flog it off, sounds like it would have paid for a good xmas party for the boys.
Post by: DaveR on November 11, 2018, 04:27:11 PM
Gday Dave, hope all is well with you guys.

Hi Mark, yep we're almost all good, just flat out with that horrible W word and no camping...... So no, we're not all good, but I'm working on fixing that.
Post by: alnjan on November 11, 2018, 04:36:08 PM

Yelgen? Or would that be the Cudgen Tunnel?

Cudgen Tunnel

"Roads and Maritime Services has responsibility for maintaining the Cudgen Tunnel on the Pacific Highway near Chinderah. Routine maintenance of the tunnel is carried out every six months and involves a range of measures such as inspecting the various operating and safety systems. During maintenance one of the tunnels is closed, with traffic diverted through the other tunnel.

Background

The tunnel was built as part of the Yelgun to Chinderah Pacific Highway upgrade, opening to traffic in 2002. It was the first tunnel to be built as part of a rural road project in NSW.  This alignment of the Yelgun to Chinderah motorway was aimed at avoiding the loss of prime cane land, avoiding flood-prone areas and preserving important local animal habitat.

Key features

Twin-tube road tunnel
134m tunnel passing under the Cudgen Road and the Condong Range.
"

It is short enough not to have the same infrastructure as the other tunnels.
Post by: MarkGU on November 11, 2018, 05:19:01 PM

DG trucks have to exit b4 the Tugun tunnel and take DG thru the middle of town. Doesnt make sense to me ???
Post by: DaveR on November 11, 2018, 05:23:09 PM
I'm almost certain they shut the Tugan Tunnel because of certain inbound flights with so called VIP's on it.
Post by: alnjan on November 11, 2018, 05:57:46 PM
Transport Authority has made application to RMS and which other body deals with Dangerous Goods about allowing small numbers of the lesser Dangerous Goods into the Tunnels.  I doubt that will have much affect outside the capital cities
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on November 11, 2018, 09:04:16 PM
Transport Authority has made application to RMS and which other body deals with Dangerous Goods about allowing small numbers of the lesser Dangerous Goods into the Tunnels.  I doubt that will have much affect outside the capital cities

Only take one incident to stop that too.
Post by: alnjan on November 11, 2018, 09:50:20 PM
yep pretty strict on tunnels.  Basically any type of tunnel over 120m, I think it was, needs a whole host of infrastructure built into it, eg lighting, ventilation, noise mitigation, fire suppression, electrics and communications etc  including 24/7 monitoring.  With scheduled tunnel maintenance every quarter all at a on going yearly cost.   
Post by: Fizzie on November 12, 2018, 07:50:37 AM
Yelgen? Or would that be the Cudgen Tunnel?

Yep, that's the one, together with 2 (?) other shorter "tunnels" for animals to pass over the highway.

So DGs would be OK there as it's only short?

Bit OT, but something I noticed on that link: "It was the first tunnel to be built as part of a rural road project in NSW"

What about the "convict" tunnel on the Old Grafton Rd ???
Post by: alnjan on November 12, 2018, 09:44:53 AM
Yep, that's the one, together with 2 (?) other shorter "tunnels" for animals to pass over the highway.

So DGs would be OK there as it's only short?

Bit OT, but something I noticed on that link: "It was the first tunnel to be built as part of a rural road project in NSW"

What about the "convict" tunnel on the Old Grafton Rd ???

The short 'tunnels' also sometimes referred to as 'Land Bridges' they can either be a tunnels driven through the hill or as they want to do in Coffs is a large open cut and then build the tunnels and 'back fill' to create a fresh hill.  These are generally used to provide a animal corridor.  As short tunnels yes the Dangerous Goods can go through them.

I have no idea about the first tunnel but I do know the tunnel on the Old Grafton Road is not a convict built tunnel.  No Convicts were used in the construction of the road, was all contract workers. 
Post by: alnjan on November 21, 2018, 10:04:10 AM
You will be pleased to know we now have a 'Special' group looking after you all regarding the new Bypass. 
They started as a Facebook Page but now they have gone to a web page. 

https://www.coffsbypassactiongroup.com/?fbclid=IwAR2dsq_j3mdCeLDRsExnNrMlRE-RAH40rxlV3X-HKZCHttJVJKtcWDy4NMw (https://www.coffsbypassactiongroup.com/?fbclid=IwAR2dsq_j3mdCeLDRsExnNrMlRE-RAH40rxlV3X-HKZCHttJVJKtcWDy4NMw)

From their Home page....

Our Mission Statement

We are a Community group which represent both residents and visitors in their wish to have the best possible outcome for the Coffs Harbour Bypass.   

We insist on tunnels, asphalt road surface, and an 80kph speed limit along the entire route as the minimum requirements acceptable for this project. 

Tunnels would ensure the minimisation of noise, particulate pollution and visual impacts on the valley.     We believe cuttings would be detrimental to resident’s social amenity, destroy our natural backdrop of the Great Dividing range perceived by tourists as being one of the attractions of Coffs Harbour, and impact on business prosperity.

I just wish they knew what a Bypass was.

On their facebook page I  said if they want 80km/h they don't want a Bypass for road users.  Their response wasn't much better. 

"An 80km/h speed limit compared to 110km/ 100km(for trucks) for a 14km stretch of residential road will add an extra 2.5-3mins onto a journey. It will also drop the noise pollution by approximately 30%...... this road is not all about the road users. We are also talking about the impact to thousands of residents of Coffs Harbour. 3mins extra for a 30% less noise pollution... 80km/h yep!"

The route was selected in 2004, 14 years ago, construction isn't antisipated until after 2020 with a 3 and 4 year construction of the two stages in the Bypass.  Residences, like Council have not accepted it will happen and no plans in place for when it happens.  Going to be interesting
Post by: Troopy_03 on November 21, 2018, 01:09:18 PM
Hahaha... there are some brain dead people in the world eh....
Post by: alnjan on November 21, 2018, 03:18:35 PM
You will be pleased to know we now have a 'Special' group looking after you all regarding the new Bypass. 
They started as a Facebook Page but now they have gone to a web page. 

https://www.coffsbypassactiongroup.com/?fbclid=IwAR2dsq_j3mdCeLDRsExnNrMlRE-RAH40rxlV3X-HKZCHttJVJKtcWDy4NMw (https://www.coffsbypassactiongroup.com/?fbclid=IwAR2dsq_j3mdCeLDRsExnNrMlRE-RAH40rxlV3X-HKZCHttJVJKtcWDy4NMw)

From their Home page....

Our Mission Statement

We are a Community group which represent both residents and visitors in their wish to have the best possible outcome for the Coffs Harbour Bypass.   

We insist on tunnels, asphalt road surface, and an 80kph speed limit along the entire route as the minimum requirements acceptable for this project. 

Tunnels would ensure the minimisation of noise, particulate pollution and visual impacts on the valley.     We believe cuttings would be detrimental to resident’s social amenity, destroy our natural backdrop of the Great Dividing range perceived by tourists as being one of the attractions of Coffs Harbour, and impact on business prosperity.

It seems they either made some inquiries or a little birdie may have spoken to them, but they have now dropped their insistence on 80km/h speed limit.

Their Mission Statement now reads

" Our Mission Statement

The Coffs Bypass Action Group (CBAG) is a community-based organization whose mission is to:

Ensure the best outcome is achieved for the Coffs Harbour Bypass for the benefit of the community at large.   As a minimum the Bypass should:

1.      Incorporate Tunnels at Roberts Hill, Shepards Lane Hill and Gatelys Road Hill to achieve an acceptable environmental and noise pollution mitigation outcome;

2.      Incorporate noise and pollution considerations to include road surfaces, innovative elevated land bridges and other engineering noise buffering considerations.
"
Post by: gronk on November 21, 2018, 06:04:34 PM
CBAG ???   Fair dinkum.....tunnels are very expensive....won't happen.

Noise buffering.....a couple of noise barriers to keep a couple of residents happy.

Post by: Hairs on November 21, 2018, 07:32:04 PM
Why have tunnels at all?????
They need to be shut for maintenance.
https://m.dailyexaminer.com.au/news/highway-tunnel-will-close-this-week/3573423/

"MOTORISTS are advised of changed traffic conditions this week on the Pacific Highway at the St Helena Tunnel for essential maintenance work to be carried out.

The north and southbound lanes of the tunnel will be closed between 7pm and 6am on Wednesday and Thursday.

Northbound and southbound traffic will be diverted onto the Hinterland Way, between the Byron Road interchange at Bangalow and the Ewingsdale Road interchange at Ewingsdale.

Motorists are advised to allow an additional five to ten minutes travel time for the diversion.

Routine maintenance of the St Helena Tunnel is carried out every three months and involves a range of measures, including inspecting the various operating and safety systems.

Roads and Maritime Services thanks the community for its patience while this essential maintenance work is carried out. "

Post by: alnjan on November 21, 2018, 08:59:17 PM
Why have tunnels at all?????
They need to be shut for maintenance.
https://m.dailyexaminer.com.au/news/highway-tunnel-will-close-this-week/3573423/

Very good question Jon.  Some of the excuses are drawing very long bows.  The main excuse is tunnels are quieter then cuttings. 
- Some how in the darkness of a tunnel, black magic happens and noise just disappears, where as with cuttings the noise will reverberate around the natural amphitheatre around West Coffs and the noise will be continually deafening.  Even though the requested tunnels are sort of at the extremes of the Bypass as it passes around the back of Coffs, I just can not see any advantage of tunnels suppressing any noise when the open Bypass passes closer to the residential areas. 
- A technical excuse is the angle of the roadway is increased by having cuttings, the tunnels are dug deeper lowering the elevation of the bypass by a whole 10 meters over in West Coffs.   
- The natural backdrop of Coffs Harbour will forever be scarred by cuttings so to keep the natural beauty of private property slowly being over taken by suburbia there must be tunnels.  The Bypass does not go above the existing scars on the private property that has been cleared and being developed. 
- the best excuse I saw was the massive cutting on Gatelys Road, the northern cutting, due to it's size, 60-70 meters deep 380m long and not sure of width, but the cutting will change the landscape to the extent it will also change the climate of Coffs Harbour. 

I agree, why the need for tunnels.  Collectively the tunnles at best will make up just over 1km of a 14km bypass.  I just can not see sufficient noise suppression of a tunnel, compared to the noise from the open road, to the majority of the residential areas of West Coffs to justify the additional cost in the additional construction and infrastructure of tunnels.  Further when you look at the ongoing, ever increasing cost of the scheduled , ongoing maintenance of tunnels, two nights per tunnel per every three months.  The ongoing cost , again I just can not see the justification for it.  That expense could be better used else where, either other road construction or health, education, law etc.   What school or hospital will knock back a lazy $1m a year. 
Post by: alnjan on December 08, 2018, 01:19:15 PM
Could be a long hot couple of years until something is built. 

https://www.triplem.com.au/news/coffs-coast/coffs-bypass-woman-receives-death-threat-for-saying-just-build-it/?station=coffs&fbclid=IwAR2SheXEXnKZQEr_IfHTvspvBP1UVoHQ38wRmn2fvo-qLzk7VKM9MZ1J0zc (https://www.triplem.com.au/news/coffs-coast/coffs-bypass-woman-receives-death-threat-for-saying-just-build-it/?station=coffs&fbclid=IwAR2SheXEXnKZQEr_IfHTvspvBP1UVoHQ38wRmn2fvo-qLzk7VKM9MZ1J0zc)

"Member for Cowper Luke Hartsuyker has called for a rational debate on the Coffs Harbour bypass after a woman who yesterday said “just build it” received a phone threat to her life."
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on December 08, 2018, 01:28:49 PM
Had an event in the Burnley Tunnel Melbourne 1 day ago.

https://www.9news.com.au/2018/12/07/10/36/melbournes-burnley-tunnel-closed-due-to-truck-fire (https://www.9news.com.au/2018/12/07/10/36/melbournes-burnley-tunnel-closed-due-to-truck-fire)
Post by: alnjan on December 08, 2018, 02:25:38 PM
yeah saw that yesterday.  Someone on one of the Bypass Facebook groups posted it to show how good the tunnels were.  Their comments went to suggest the sprinkler system comes on automatically, put the fire out and then tunnel was open for business as usual straight away.  Some people have a rather restricted view point at times. 
Post by: Rumpig on December 08, 2018, 04:52:10 PM
Took me 18 minutes on Friday to drive through Coffs (from 80kph sign at North end of town to the 100kph sign at South end)...the sooner they bypass Coffs the better.
Post by: alnjan on December 08, 2018, 05:32:24 PM
18 minutes would be a good run.  That can easily run to over 30 minutes with traffic and traffic lights. 
Post by: vern on December 08, 2018, 05:43:21 PM
Took me 18 minutes on Friday to drive through Coffs (from 80kph sign at North end of town to the 100kph sign at South end)...the sooner they bypass Coffs the better.
Probably should have gone down Hogbin Dve.

Post by: Hairs on December 08, 2018, 07:06:44 PM
You need to buy a lotto ticket.
Sheesh

Post by: Rumpig on December 08, 2018, 11:41:46 PM
Probably should have gone down Hogbin Dve.

got no idea where that is...was just passing through the town, after spending the night at Illaroo heading to Tea Garden.
Post by: alnjan on December 09, 2018, 02:48:49 PM
got no idea where that is...was just passing through the town, after spending the night at Illaroo heading to Tea Garden.

It runs east of the current highway from just behind Park Beach Plaza in the north to Sawtell in the south with a couple of cross roads connecting it back to the Highway.  Sometimes can be quicker, just depends what you stuck behind and if they know how to use a roundabout or not.   
Post by: Hairs on December 09, 2018, 03:02:34 PM

It just depends what you stuck behind and if they know how to use a roundabout or not.   
That would be 90% of road uses

Post by: alnjan on December 09, 2018, 07:56:29 PM
That would be 90% of road uses

Pretty much. 

You know your having a good day when you get blocked from the one Facebook Group with 271 followers (at time of writing) that claims to be the only ones representing all of the Coffs Harbour Residents for the big offence of telling the facts as set out in the RMS reports.  As those facts don't agree with their argument I am a troll and blocked.   :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: vern on December 09, 2018, 08:42:49 PM
Pretty much. 

You know your having a good day when you get blocked from the one Facebook Group with 271 followers (at time of writing) that claims to be the only ones representing all of the Coffs Harbour Residents for the big offence of telling the facts as set out in the RMS reports.  As those facts don't agree with their argument I am a troll and blocked.   :cup: :cup: :cup:
What group is that, think I might join!

Post by: alnjan on December 09, 2018, 09:52:02 PM
What group is that, think I might join!

Coffs Bypass Action Group
Post by: Fizzie on December 10, 2018, 07:13:55 AM
So set up a new group "Bypass Coffs" or similar, aimed at the ~75000 other residents, & give them the facts without the emotion :D
Post by: alnjan on December 10, 2018, 07:14:32 AM
One thing that does amuse my twisted way of looking at things. 

We have just finished the Community Engagement Stage, where the RMS and State Planning had a display of the Concept Design and they are seeking Community feedback on the design features.  One would think it would be a pretty straight forward process.  Nah.  Here is the opportunity for the Community to have its say.  Yes, most have given their feedback but with it too is the ones that can only blame the current Pollies for creating this mess of a Bypass and forcing it onto the Community without consulting with the Community.  Then as we are close to both State and Federal elections they run to the other Political candidates to get them started with their Campaigning.  For what gain.  It just becomes a Campaigning slinging match over a time when all that is being asked is Community Feedback to try and improve the Concept Design.  I am sure people have no understanding of the term Concept and how it differs from Final Plan, when it does go to the Pollies for their input.  The number of conspiracy theories and theorists out there is amazing.  All for the lack of understanding of an EIS process, or their selected blindness and refusal to the process.  I am sure they must think the world is flat and man never made it to the moon and still waiting for the Elvis return tour.   
Post by: Fizzie on December 10, 2018, 07:41:46 AM
Just looking at stuff for the new Toowoomba Bypass & saw this

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toowoomba_Second_Range_Crossing (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toowoomba_Second_Range_Crossing)

Plan: "The proposed alignment was 42.2km long; up to 40 bridge structures; 5 major interchanges; and twin 735 meter long three lane tunnels through the range crest"

Actual: "design that employed the use of a viaduct over the Toowoomba range (instead of tunnels) allowing the use of dangerous goods to utilise the bypass"

I know we mentioned it before, but tunnels = DGs still being trucked through the centre of town :'( ::); cuttings = they don't! :cup:

Post by: chester ver2.0 on December 10, 2018, 07:54:43 AM
18 minutes would be a good run.  That can easily run to over 30 minutes with traffic and traffic lights.

Im from Sydney my sarcastic heart bleeds for you..... Can i get you a tissue to wipe away your tears of frsustration
Post by: Rumpig on December 10, 2018, 08:13:33 AM
it should of been bypassed years ago and take about a minute or 2 to drive past the place was what I was hinting at....i'll be happy if they tunnel through and make hazardous goods go through the town, that is what happens at the Tugan bypass,  so just have it the same a few hundred kilometres further down the highway is my view....just get it built so travellers don't need to go through the town anymore.
Post by: alnjan on December 10, 2018, 09:05:23 AM
Im from Sydney my sarcastic heart bleeds for you..... Can i get you a tissue to wipe away your tears of frsustration

:cup: :cup: :cup: yep and if we had a Council with some foresight in planning not everything would be only accessible from the Highway.

For an example our Hospital can only be accessed from the Highway.  A number of industrial areas and residential area, each separately built and only accessible via the Highway.  From a Disaster Management view point all you can really do is count the dead and wounded. 
Post by: Bird on December 10, 2018, 09:11:42 AM
Quote from: chester ver2.0

Shitney needed to put the "**** OFF WE'RE FULL" sign up 20 years ago... I dont understand the logic of how they keep building more and more high rises when the place is gridlocked now?

Put another lane on the freeway, add tolls and then still come to some piss ant road like Parramatta goat track road.
Post by: macca on December 10, 2018, 09:20:39 AM
Shitney needed to put the "**** OFF WE'RE FULL" sign up 20 years ago... I dont understand the logic of how they keep building more and more high rises when the place is gridlocked now?

Put another lane on the freeway, add tolls and then still come to some piss ant road like Parramatta goat track road.
Should have included Melbourne in that as well Bruce, I go over the Monash at six on the morning and it is a car park then and thats 50km from the CBD

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: alnjan on December 10, 2018, 09:23:39 AM
it should of been bypassed years ago and take about a minute or 2 to drive past the place was what I was hinting at....i'll be happy if they tunnel through and make hazardous goods go through the town, that is what happens at the Tugan bypass,  so just have it the same a few hundred kilometres further down the highway is my view....just get it built so travellers don't need to go through the town anymore.

Yep the Bypass route was selected in 2004.  The first Concept Design released in 2008.

We are now 2018, nearly 2019 and work is not planned to start until end of 2020, which really wont be until 2021/2 with a 3 and 4 year build for the two stages.  One stage to just bypass Coffs 14kms and second Stage to connect and northern end to southern end of new Highway upgrades at Sapphire. 

Work on the Bypass was set to start around 2010 but following fallout from the 2008 Concept Design not being on another route certain people, groups, Councillors wanted progress came to a halt and work went into the Sapphire to Woolgoolga and beyond.  Now we are just left with Coffs Harbour and the cluster@*&$(* south of Heatherbrea
Post by: alnjan on December 10, 2018, 09:31:02 AM
Just looking at stuff for the new Toowoomba Bypass & saw this

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toowoomba_Second_Range_Crossing (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toowoomba_Second_Range_Crossing)

Plan: "The proposed alignment was 42.2km long; up to 40 bridge structures; 5 major interchanges; and twin 735 meter long three lane tunnels through the range crest"

Actual: "design that employed the use of a viaduct over the Toowoomba range (instead of tunnels) allowing the use of dangerous goods to utilise the bypass"

I know we mentioned it before, but tunnels = DGs still being trucked through the centre of town :'( ::); cuttings = they don't! :cup:

There has been much maybe one sided discussion on the subject of Dangerous Goods.  But they have come up with only 1 to 15 Dangarous Goods vehicles go through Coffs per day on average and most of those vehicles go into Coffs for deliveries or whatever, which means only a couple of Dangerous Goods vehicles would otherwise use the bypass so that small number of Dangerous Goods can continue to go through Coffs Harbour.   Don't worry about the yearly cost which will continually go up each year just for the sake of a couple of dangerous Goods vehicles each day.  I am sure a $?M or more could be better spend elsewhere each year then the ongoing maintenance of a tunnel or two in Coffs Harbour.  Maybe that is what the Mayoress means when she said, we don't want you cheap road? 

What is scary is these people only think of dangerous goods as fuel tanker and LPG tankers and a load of aerosol cans.  If they really knew what went up and down the Highway they would move else where. 
Post by: alnjan on December 10, 2018, 09:39:34 AM
Talking of other Cities, mainly for medical reasons we have had a few occasions over the years to go to various medical establishments in Brisbane.  Mighty impressed with how easy it has been to get to where we needed to go.  Easy run straight up the Highway and to the CBD of Brisbane. 

going through the Gold Coast I do wonder though.  Coffs Harbour is more like the Gold Coast in geographical terms.  Water to the east and a long narrow strip of usable land before steep ranges.  (that might be over simplifying the description) Unlike other region centres like Taree, Kempsey, Grafton, Ballina etc that are built on flood plains and can expand in most directions it likes, apart form Ballina.  With the construction and upgrades of the Motorway through the Gold Coast people must have really lost the plot if some Coffs residents are to go by. 
Post by: Bird on December 10, 2018, 12:03:48 PM
Quote from: macca
Should have included Melbourne in that as well Bruce, I go over the Monash at six on the morning and it is a car park then and thats 50km from the CBD
Oh I do and have many times.
the Shit part is the appealing way of life people moved here for 20 year ago is ****ed and long gone. There is zero appealing about living in Shitney  LMAO!
Post by: Rumpig on December 10, 2018, 12:15:03 PM
Yep the Bypass route was selected in 2004.  The first Concept Design released in 2008.

We are now 2018, nearly 2019 and work is not planned to start until end of 2020, which really wont be until 2021/2 with a 3 and 4 year build for the two stages.  One stage to just bypass Coffs 14kms and second Stage to connect and northern end to southern end of new Highway upgrades at Sapphire. 

Work on the Bypass was set to start around 2010 but following fallout from the 2008 Concept Design not being on another route certain people, groups, Councillors wanted progress came to a halt and work went into the Sapphire to Woolgoolga and beyond.  Now we are just left with Coffs Harbour and the cluster@*&$(* south of Heatherbrea
that massive 80kph zone that feels like it goes for an hour to drive on the Ballina to Woolgoolga (I think it was) upgrade stretch, was mind numbingly boring to drive on my run South, coming home yesterday I decided that turning off at Grafton and going via Casino, Kyogle and Lions Rd would be a much nicer drive...took me about 15 minutes longer going that scenic / no real traffic route, then a friend that went home via the coastal highway route through all the roadworks and Sunday arvo Gold coast back to Brisbane traffic.
Post by: alnjan on December 10, 2018, 01:02:40 PM
that massive 80kph zone that feels like it goes for an hour to drive on the Ballina to Woolgoolga (I think it was) upgrade stretch, was mind numbingly boring to drive on my run South, coming home yesterday I decided that turning off at Grafton and going via Casino, Kyogle and Lions Rd would be a much nicer drive...took me about 15 minutes longer going that scenic / no real traffic route, then a friend that went home via the coastal highway route through all the roadworks and Sunday arvo Gold coast back to Brisbane traffic.

Agree.  On a Public Holiday of a long weekend we had to do a run north, only to Lismore.  Friends head up the same day and stayed on the Highway, just a mobile parking lot the whole way with long delays at usual spots, Woodburn being the worst.  We did the inland run up the Summerland Way.  At the worst we saw 8 other vehicles on the road at the same time. 
Post by: alnjan on January 15, 2019, 09:09:11 AM
https://www.triplem.com.au/story/coffs-bypass-with-tunnels-124966/?station=coffs&fbclid=IwAR1eScNwNymg9jyiVxA6yVH_wU6ajgwIfbnc7aEJarIXTQEQ8nsdBRq19lQ (https://www.triplem.com.au/story/coffs-bypass-with-tunnels-124966/?station=coffs&fbclid=IwAR1eScNwNymg9jyiVxA6yVH_wU6ajgwIfbnc7aEJarIXTQEQ8nsdBRq19lQ)

"The NSW Government has announced a new Committee will progress the Coffs Harbour bypass, which will feature tunnels and other significant design improvements in response to community feedback.

Triple M have been told the improvements include the lowering of the road gradient, a significant reduction in the height of the viaduct adjacent to Mackays Road, low noise pavement along the entire length of the bypass, and vegetated earthen mounds for noise reduction and visual impacts.

Deputy Premier and Minister for Regional NSW John Barilaro, Member for Coffs Harbour, Andrew Fraser and Nationals Candidate for Coffs Harbour Gurmesh Singh visited the RMS bypass consultation office today."

Interesting times ahead, see what happens after the election, if there is a change of State Government, is the new government going to honour the additional funding.  As for local community group, they have to be the biggest group of negative people, for many different reasons, it will be interesting to read their comments.   
Post by: rags on January 15, 2019, 07:19:50 PM
https://www.triplem.com.au/story/coffs-bypass-with-tunnels-124966/?station=coffs&fbclid=IwAR1eScNwNymg9jyiVxA6yVH_wU6ajgwIfbnc7aEJarIXTQEQ8nsdBRq19lQ (https://www.triplem.com.au/story/coffs-bypass-with-tunnels-124966/?station=coffs&fbclid=IwAR1eScNwNymg9jyiVxA6yVH_wU6ajgwIfbnc7aEJarIXTQEQ8nsdBRq19lQ)

"The NSW Government has announced a new Committee will progress the Coffs Harbour bypass, which will feature tunnels and other significant design improvements in response to community feedback.

Triple M have been told the improvements include the lowering of the road gradient, a significant reduction in the height of the viaduct adjacent to Mackays Road, low noise pavement along the entire length of the bypass, and vegetated earthen mounds for noise reduction and visual impacts.

Deputy Premier and Minister for Regional NSW John Barilaro, Member for Coffs Harbour, Andrew Fraser and Nationals Candidate for Coffs Harbour Gurmesh Singh visited the RMS bypass consultation office today."

Interesting times ahead, see what happens after the election, if there is a change of State Government, is the new government going to honour the additional funding.  As for local community group, they have to be the biggest group of negative people, for many different reasons, it will be interesting to read their comments.   

Low noise pavements brings a smile to me.
When the M2 in Sydney was built back when, it was a key feature to appease the affected residence through North Rocks and Winston Hills.
Although around North Rocks has had much more recent work and therefore new pavements the section through Winston Hills now features bitumen corking to expansion cracks that must thump in the night.
Post by: alnjan on January 15, 2019, 09:04:55 PM
Low noise pavements brings a smile to me.
When the M2 in Sydney was built back when, it was a key feature to appease the affected residence through North Rocks and Winston Hills.
Although around North Rocks has had much more recent work and therefore new pavements the section through Winston Hills now features bitumen corking to expansion cracks that must thump in the night.

What I love is it doesn't matter as much just what surface is on the road, apart from real Shit surface but the noise levels vary with the weather.  Wait till it rains again and the noise level will go up. 

You would think now that they have tunnels they would be happy.  No, still coming up with conspiracy theories and still demanding other changes that will never happen due to their short sightedness (can't see beyond their back yard) and then those that still crying over not getting a Western Bypass are wailing again. 
Post by: Banjo16 on January 16, 2019, 04:59:55 PM
Nothing like a new Committee.
Post by: gronk on January 16, 2019, 05:26:52 PM
There is zero appealing about living in Shitney  LMAO!

Can't work out why people like to live in a city.....especially Melbourne....raining one day, freezing cold the next !!   ;D ;D
Post by: Hairs on January 16, 2019, 05:30:43 PM

Can't work out why people like to live in a city

Me neither,
People on mass do my head in.

Post by: Hairs on January 16, 2019, 05:32:29 PM
What I love is it doesn't matter as much just what surface is on the road, apart from real Shit surface but the noise levels vary with the weather.  Wait till it rains again and the noise level will go up. 

You would think now that they have tunnels they would be happy.  No, still coming up with conspiracy theories and still demanding other changes that will never happen due to their short sightedness (can't see beyond their back yard) and then those that still crying over not getting a Western Bypass are wailing again.
Too many feel they need to be made a part of everything.

Post by: alnjan on January 16, 2019, 08:56:29 PM
While different groups allegedly are acting for the whole community and fighting for the Best Bypass for all of Coffs Harbour.  Turns out they do not want the Coramba Road Interchange, which will allow anyone direct access to the west of Coffs Harbour off/on the Bypass without having to go through Coffs local roads to get to the northern or southern interchange, so 12kms apart.  Instead they want the Coramba Road interchange removed from the plan altogether as is will be too noisy, too busy, too close to their back yard.  That is how you fight for the Best Bypass for the whole Community.  Lets keep more vehicles on the local roads and clog it up more.   
Post by: rockrat on January 17, 2019, 08:32:12 PM
A community group that represents the views of the community - a good definition of an oxymoron.
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on January 18, 2019, 08:25:34 PM
moved to coffs in 1984 - they were talking about it then. Leaving coffs in 55 days - still talking about it......  ;D
Post by: alnjan on January 18, 2019, 08:35:59 PM
moved to coffs in 1984 - they were talking about it then. Leaving coffs in 55 days - still talking about it......  ;D

My Mum came her in 1957, they were talking about it then.  Was on a different route though.  Coffs was a bit smaller then too.  The route was to come off the Highway between what is now Cook Drive and Geoff King Motors, onto the back of the Golf Course over to roughly where Hogbin Drive now goes of the ridge to Beacon Hill and then roughly follow Hogbin Drive north before slightly veering further east and following the old BAT line over Macauleys Headland and then roughly follow the line of what is now Fiddamans Drive back onto the Highway around the Bananacoast Caravan Park.  No tunnels or cuttings in them days. 
Post by: gronk on January 19, 2019, 08:00:30 AM
No tunnels or cuttings in them days.

Mightn't be in this day and age either......the only evidence of a tunnel is a politician saying so.....now when is the last time you can remember a pollie delivering on a promise ??   ;D ;D
Post by: alnjan on January 19, 2019, 08:52:02 AM
Not a promise but I can see tunnels going in. 
Post by: Davepatrol on January 19, 2019, 08:44:10 PM
Don't see the point in tunnels, every second or third truck carries dangerous goods of some sort these days, I thought the idea was to get the big scarry trucks out of town
Post by: MarkGU on January 19, 2019, 09:03:12 PM
Don't see the point in tunnels, every second or third truck carries dangerous goods of some sort these days, I thought the idea was to get the big scarry trucks out of town
spot on Dave.Most of the big city dwellers who believe that milk comes from the supermarket are i suspect the ones who are causing the Coffs by-pass sh!t fight.Your right tho, the public would be shocked if they only knew what we carried thru their towns on transport.
They need to build the by-pass so ALL vehicles are able to travel on it. Tunnels arnt the way to go in that case.
Post by: alnjan on January 19, 2019, 10:26:58 PM

Apparently while there is no definite with the figures as yet.  One the subject of Dangerous Goods, only (now I will stand correct on this) Class 1 and Class 2.1 Dangerous Goods are not allowed in the tunnels and will still have to go through town on what will be the old Highway.  Further of those Dangerous Goods vehicles there is on average about 15ish per 24hrs on average.  Of those 15 it is believed most of them will already have to go into Coffs Harbour for whatever delivery/pickup they have to do.  So they don't count as they already have to go into Coffs Harbour. 

So they are working on about 5 Dangerous Goods Vehicles in 24hrs that will still have to use the 'old Highway' which keeps the Council happy as the RMS will continue to maintain the old Highway.  Saves the Council trying to get more rates increases to cover cost of maintaining what will still be the busiest road in Coffs Harbour.  So those 5 Dangerous Good Vehicles per 24hrs with three tunnels, 2 will be Managed Tunnels as they will be about 450 and 350 meters while the third tunnel 60m (called a Land Bridge so as not to be confused with a Managed Tunnel). 

Those two Managed Tunnels may be 24/7 monitored from the Station atop the St Helena Tunnel but will still need a lot of logistics in Coffs Harbour, but the regular scheduled maintenance will be a continuous yearly increasing cost of an unknown sum of millions, including closing the tunnels four times a year etc as they do with St Helena tunnel. 

I did wonder if some number cruncher in Treasury will see the justification in that ongoing cost for five Dangerous Goods Vehicles a day.  But hey if it makes the noisy minority that live in the most affected area of Coffs harbour happy, apparently cost isn't a concern. 
Post by: Bird on January 19, 2019, 11:33:39 PM
Apparently while there is no definite with the figures as yet.  One the subject of Dangerous Goods, only (now I will stand correct on this) Class 1 and Class 2.1 Dangerous Goods are not allowed in the tunnels
I'll sit back and watch ;)

Transporting Dangerous Goods
Dangerous goods are currently prohibited from travelling through the majority of tunnels in our cities and there is no agreement to allow any dangerous goods through future tunnels such as NorthConnex.
https://www.natroad.com.au/news/transporting-dangerous-goods (https://www.natroad.com.au/news/transporting-dangerous-goods)

Class 1: Explosives
Class 2: Gases
Class 3: Flammable liquids
Class 4: Flammable solids; substances liable to spontaneous combustion; substances which, on contact with water, emit flammable gases
Class 5: Oxidizing substances and organic peroxides
Class 6: Toxic and infectious substances
Class 7: Radioactive material
Class 8: Corrosive substances
Class 9: Miscellaneous dangerous substances and articles.
Post by: MarkGU on January 20, 2019, 07:56:53 AM
"Further of those Dangerous Goods vehicles there is on average about 15ish per 24hrs on average."

I think you will find it will be a lot more than that.
As Bird posted, take notice of the placards on the front & rear of heavy vehicles next time you are on the road. Having carried DG ( dangerous goods) for many years there is alot more on the roads than people think.Then, there are the DG that go thru town after dark that you dont see.

The idea that DG has to use the old highway at Byron Bay to avoid going thru the very short tunnel is plain ludicrous.The old road has one of the steepest decents/ climbs with a speed camera at the bottom of it so no run up at the hill. Crazy stuff. ??? 
Post by: alnjan on January 20, 2019, 07:28:19 PM
"Further of those Dangerous Goods vehicles there is on average about 15ish per 24hrs on average."

I think you will find it will be a lot more than that.
As Bird posted, take notice of the placards on the front & rear of heavy vehicles next time you are on the road. Having carried DG ( dangerous goods) for many years there is alot more on the roads than people think.Then, there are the DG that go thru town after dark that you dont see.

The idea that DG has to use the old highway at Byron Bay to avoid going thru the very short tunnel is plain ludicrous.The old road has one of the steepest decents/ climbs with a speed camera at the bottom of it so no run up at the hill. Crazy stuff. ???

That number of 15 only relates to Class 1 and 2.1.  I agree the total number of Dangerous Goods Vehicles is far greater then 15 per 24hrs.  Also following a Disaster Management Meeting I was at meany years ago Class 1 and 2.1 while they can be involved in a pretty good explosion there are very more dangerous goods that if people actually knew about them they would never be anywhere near a Highway. 

Really what it has come to with the Coffs Bypass is the Action Groups are becoming very Politically Charged with certain key members, 'loading the bullets', so to speak and the group firing them.  Nothing to do with the due process the RMS has to go through to provide a Highway.   
Post by: Bird on January 21, 2019, 09:50:35 AM
Quote from: MarkGU
Having carried DG ( dangerous goods) for many years there is alot more on the roads than people think.Then, there are the DG that go thru town after dark that you don't see.
The idea that DG has to use the old highway at Byron Bay to avoid going thru the very short tunnel is plain ludicrous.The old road has one of the steepest descents/ climbs with a speed camera at the bottom of it so no run up at the hill. Crazy stuff. ???

As Mark says, you want these trucks to have the smoothest simplest route possible - not always possible but ...

Having wheeled DG for Chemtrans and K&S as that be acids, fuel, or the small 2 ton truck with 2x 20kg (from memory) drums of cyanide and (life saver kit) I used to cart forcing them to do it harder than needed is just plain ****ed in the head asking for troubles..
Post by: Fizzie on January 22, 2019, 08:53:18 AM
or the small 2 ton truck with 2x 20kg (from memory) drums of cyanide

Only 2 x 20kg - did that one have to be placarded ??? Have a funny feeling it wouldn't as it's below the DG limits ???, but really something you don't want turned over in the middle of the main street! :o >:D
Post by: Bird on January 22, 2019, 10:09:20 AM
Quote from: Fizzie
Only 2 x 20kg - did that one have to be placarded ??? Have a funny feeling it wouldn't as it's below the DG limits ???, but really something you don't want turned over in the middle of the main street! :o >:D
Any DG we carried we placarded at CTrans. More to do with the company name and the assumption of what we *maybe* carrying. 
There was an accident years back in USA where a freight train derailed and there were no placards on the railcars - it was carrying cyanide, and emergency workers were in action when someone finally clicked onto what it actually was and they all Shit and ran like fark...
From memory, it went to same site in Blue Mountains that I used to deliver Chlorine Tanks to - some waterboard site.. but it was 1994, so brain is a lot fuct since then..

there was one in NSW too
https://www.facebook.com/Condobolinargus/posts/25-years-since-cyanide-spill-near-condobolinon-22-july-1992-a-freight-train-carr/1574707689258659/ (https://www.facebook.com/Condobolinargus/posts/25-years-since-cyanide-spill-near-condobolinon-22-july-1992-a-freight-train-carr/1574707689258659/)
Post by: MarkGU on January 31, 2019, 09:51:10 AM
For those who live around Coffs Harbour region.

Alnjan,  dont know if you have seen this or know about it.

https://www.pacifichighway.nsw.gov.au/coffsharbourbypass (https://www.pacifichighway.nsw.gov.au/coffsharbourbypass)
Post by: alnjan on January 31, 2019, 12:22:08 PM
For those who live around Coffs Harbour region.

Alnjan,  dont know if you have seen this or know about it.

https://www.pacifichighway.nsw.gov.au/coffsharbourbypass (https://www.pacifichighway.nsw.gov.au/coffsharbourbypass)

Yeah Mark regularly on the RMS site. 
Post by: MarkGU on January 31, 2019, 12:33:50 PM

Yeah Mark regularly on the RMS site.
Post by: gronk on January 31, 2019, 04:19:22 PM
So, no tunnels !!

You'll notice the cheapest way of doing it always wins out.
Post by: alnjan on January 31, 2019, 04:51:53 PM
So, no tunnels !!

You'll notice the cheapest way of doing it always wins out.

The current State Government has agreed to three tunnels and have backed that with a commitment of funding both State and Federal.  Labors view is they with further details they are not prepared to promise a blank check to have three tunnels.  The local Labor Candidate is in support of tunnels. 

Since the Nationals announcement two weeks ago of tunnels not cuttings with additional funding the RMS is still in the process of changing the plans etc.  The RMS is placed in a position they do not want to be, partly due to the election.  Remove the election and the same result would have happened through the EIS process, cuttings would have been changed to tunnels and the timing of that delivery would have been supported with the change of plans on their website as well. 
Post by: gronk on January 31, 2019, 05:43:54 PM
The current State Government has agreed to three tunnels

Yep, and I believe them 100% !!   :cheers:... 8) 8)
Post by: alnjan on January 31, 2019, 06:20:26 PM
Yep, and I believe them 100% !!   :cheers:... 8) 8)

Do I detect a bit of sarcasm in your typing ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Hairs on January 31, 2019, 06:38:01 PM
Governments won't give a toss what is for the best.
Arsehats with choose the most cost effective option put to them.
Just saying :cheers:

Post by: gronk on January 31, 2019, 09:21:01 PM
Do I detect a bit of sarcasm in your typing ;D ;D ;D

Maybe a lot !!   ;D ;D
Post by: Fizzie on February 01, 2019, 09:03:18 AM

Only saving 11 minutes travel time ???

That doesn't seem much of a saving compared to what we did driving through the centre of town at 9am a little while back ???

Or are they comparing to to driving through town at midnight ??? >:D
Post by: alnjan on February 01, 2019, 09:32:14 AM
Only saving 11 minutes travel time ???

That doesn't seem much of a saving compared to what we did driving through the centre of town at 9am a little while back ???

Or are they comparing to to driving through town at midnight ??? >:D

Probably like most of their other figures, it is averaged out over a 24 hr period. 

Same as the figures for how many vehicles it will remove from the CBD of Coffs.  The figures were given as daily traffic volumes and without copying the full table the figures quoted on the existing highway south of Bruxner Park Road (north side of Coffs Harbour)

Current Daily Volume   35 500

2034 with the Bypass   38 800

2034 without Bypass    43 200

2034 is the projected figures, 10 years after completion.  So north of Coffs Harbour on average per day the way the table reads there will be about 4 500 vehicles using the bypass and the remained being local traffic going into Coffs Harbour.  What that really means is week days during the day or business hours Coffs Harbour is still going to be a Shit of a place to drive though and the time saved on the bypass would be much greater then 11 minutes. 
Post by: Fizzie on February 02, 2019, 08:57:31 AM
Thanks, that makes sense
Post by: Redback on February 02, 2019, 11:51:51 AM
When is this ever going to end, got to be the longest ever construction of a road ever, bloody joke.
Post by: Hairs on February 02, 2019, 07:03:22 PM
When is this ever going to end, got to be the longest ever construction of a road ever, bloody joke.
30 years ago,
Cowper Bus Crash.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grafton_bus_crash
And it is still a strong memory with many locals who were first on site,
One described the sound as if they were at Luna Park, the screams still haunt them.
The federal and state goverment built a dual divided section of concrete nearly two kilometers long, 2 farkin k's long as a response.
It has been used by highway patrol to setup a mobile speed trap.
Goverments don't give a Shit, it's about costs.

Post by: alnjan on February 02, 2019, 09:06:30 PM

At times it's a bit like the other great quote, "No child will live in poverty....."

With Section of the Woolgoolga to Ballina Project finishing in 2020 they will want to have this ready to go to keep the work force and resources ready to go.   
Post by: MarkGU on February 03, 2019, 05:08:15 AM
At times it's a bit like the other great quote, "No child will live in poverty....."

With Section of the Woolgoolga to Ballina Project finishing in 2020 they will want to have this ready to go to keep the work force and resources ready to go.
Your correct Al. I know bloke who is presently working on the Pennant Hills project & he was telling me the Coffs bypass is their next job.It will happen, they just have to finish the present job.
Post by: Redback on February 03, 2019, 08:12:13 AM
I can't understand what the issue is, the freeway south to Melbourne is almost complete, in fact Wodonga to Melbourne has been finished for 30 friggin years.
Post by: Hairs on February 03, 2019, 08:51:30 AM
I can't understand what the issue is, the freeway south to Melbourne is almost complete, in fact Wodonga to Melbourne has been finished for 30 friggin years.
Political BS from one state political party to the next and a lack of backbone from them both.
Also it was the State ALP's way of punishing the north coast for not voting labor.
Two ex mp's have mentioned this to me.

Al might know more as regarding that the Pacific h/way isn't actually the main H/way from Sydney to Brisbane.
I recall reading that the New England is, something to do with during the 2nd WW The New England was the main route for war supplies to travel north(if invadec), it was about how far the Japanese warship guns couldn't  reach.

Post by: alnjan on February 03, 2019, 11:13:54 AM
Over the years there has been a lot of Politicking by different State Governments and Local Action Groups and RMS/RTA just walking away prior to Stage Projects being commenced  due to local issues being refused to be negotiated.  Far easy to recommence work on another Stage where all parties can negotiate an acceptable Project.  Has happened at different stages from Sydney to the Border.  Actually shorter then that as NSW State agreed for Qld to build the very northern section. 

Coffs Upgrade was planned to be done 2009/2010 but due to actions taken by Local groups the RMS simple commenced the Sapphire to Woolgoolga Stage.  As Woolgoolga to Ballina 'misses' most contentious places it got a green light pretty quickly.  The Nambucca Heads section only had one complainant so it also got fast tracked.   

Earlier then that there was Shite fights with sections started then workforce and resources drastically reduced as differing State Governments wanted other roadworks done quicker, leaving sections between Kempsey and Taree basically stagnant for years.   But as Hairs said having been a safe Nationals seat for 28 years has gained us a lot of things (regardless of what others say) but has also meant ALP hasn't been as generous to win votes either. 

End of the day the two most difficult sections of the Pacific Highway have been left to last.  Difficult, not just geographically or environmentally but also Politically.  Those two spots being Coffs Harbour and Heatherbrae to Black Hill. 
Post by: gronk on February 03, 2019, 05:44:19 PM

End of the day the two most difficult sections of the Pacific Highway have been left to last.  Difficult, not just geographically or environmentally but also Politically.  Those two spots being Coffs Harbour and Heatherbrae to Black Hill.

When they 1st said the hwy would be upgraded all the way to the Qld border, I stupidly thought they would start at the busiest end ( Sydney ) and work their way north.
So now we have the busiest section ( Heatherbrae ) coming in last.....not even on the horizon yet !!
Maybe because it doesn't impact a major town there isn't enough people whinging or lobbying for it ??
Post by: Redback on February 04, 2019, 04:00:53 PM
When they 1st said the hwy would be upgraded all the way to the Qld border, I stupidly thought they would start at the busiest end ( Sydney ) and work their way north.
So now we have the busiest section ( Heatherbrae ) coming in last.....not even on the horizon yet !!
Maybe because it doesn't impact a major town there isn't enough people whinging or lobbying for it ??

The Princes Hwy south is the same, why didn't they start at Albion Park Rail??
Post by: Davepatrol on February 05, 2019, 02:18:03 PM
Bit of a reminder what could happen if something goes wrong with a Dangerous Goods tanker in town  https://www.facebook.com/au.hazmat/videos/2314597172105234/ (https://www.facebook.com/au.hazmat/videos/2314597172105234/)
Post by: Rodt on February 06, 2019, 06:20:12 AM
They basically did north from Brisbane. It's a breeze driving to Gympie now and apparently the bypass around Gympie is next. Now all they need to prioritise is the intersection that heads and goes to Kilkivan just north of town 
Post by: Fizzie on February 06, 2019, 03:31:09 PM
Now all they need to prioritise is the intersection that heads and goes to Kilkivan just north of town

Don't now if people in Kilkivan want that - lousy road might keep some of the punters away! >:D
Post by: Rumpig on February 06, 2019, 04:03:56 PM
Don't now if people in Kilkivan want that - lousy road might keep some of the punters away! >:D
if it’s the one one I think it is, the road is good but it’s a fairly dangerous intersection to pull out onto / across  the highway, especially if you are towing something.
Post by: alnjan on March 15, 2019, 11:15:19 AM
Went to a meeting the other night to listen to what the Mayor has to say for herself about the Bypass.  She has demanded from the RMS and Pollies, the Best Bypass for Coffs Harbour which means tunnels, not cuttings.  What I found interesting was not the tunnel v cutting but asked the Mayor about the Coramba Road Interchange.  This interchange is midway along the Bypass and offers any east/west traffic the option of using the Bypass or continue with the current local roads into Coffs Harbour and onto the existing Highway.

Now our Mayor, who has demanded the Best Bypass for Coffs Harbour states the Council is NOT in favour of this Interchange and the reason, rather the excuse, is the local road is not up scratch and can not handle the additional traffic.  There is a section of split level lanes which creates problems and basically due to cost and it's just too hard, Council is not going to upgrade this road.  It is okay for the Mayor to demand the Best Bypass but will refuse to fix it's own local roads. 

Another Council rep added another reason, excuse, why Council is opposed to the Coramba Road Interchange and that is that trucks coming down Red Hill into Coffs Harbour will not be able to stop at the bottom for the two roundabouts and trucks using engine braking or exhaust braking, will be too noisy coming down Red Hill.   Now heavy vehicles have been using engine/exhaust braking coming down this hill ever since they started coming down the hill as it is the only safe way to come down the hill and manage to take the meandering road at the bottom. 

Listening to both I found their excuse to be some of the most pathetic hypercritical they could come up with to stop the Bypass from being the Best Bypass to being a waste of $1.5b.  Following further discussion the Mayor fully agrees the roadway needs fixing, but showed no interest in fixing the local road network to marry into the Bypass to give us the Best Option available.     
Post by: Hairs on March 15, 2019, 07:46:13 PM
Mate,
Councils have become useless.
Too many minority groups aligned to nothing other than cause Shite, the Me To brigade.

Post by: Robbo on May 06, 2019, 06:56:49 PM
Just be patient. (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190506/98622a5b25141e198caadddd5ba99488.jpg)

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk

Post by: alnjan on May 06, 2019, 08:15:16 PM
Nothing is going to happen until the EIS is released and RMS doesn't want the Bypass made into a Political Football and as expected the EIS will not be released until after the Election has been sorted.  More then happy to wait. 

Once the EIS comes out depending on the plan as to what happens from there.  For all parties involved hopefully the EIS is based on the tunnels that the National Party told the RMS to do.  Tunnels as per the 2008 Connel Wagner Report.  Then we just need the Federal Government agree to the funding. 
Post by: alnjan on May 06, 2019, 09:45:35 PM
https://www.prime7.com.au/news/8245-bypass-tunnels?fbclid=IwAR1R4Cq0o-nBwdzkeqxqgwXkLyhGy4bhkBaAegZJF3FKrPNBLAf02Wtrxn0 (https://www.prime7.com.au/news/8245-bypass-tunnels?fbclid=IwAR1R4Cq0o-nBwdzkeqxqgwXkLyhGy4bhkBaAegZJF3FKrPNBLAf02Wtrxn0)

Sums it up pretty well.  As I said above.  Everyone else is talking tunnels except Coffs Bypass Action Group.  They seem to think things happen at the click of your fingers and they are that important they should have a place at the Designers Table.  Even with the Outgoing retiring Federal Member saying tunnels apparently it's not good enough for CBAG.  CBAG somehow have this idea they can demand something from the RMS and get it.  Unfortunately for them RMS don't work that way.  The one person CBAG need to partner up with is our new local State Member who was with the other Nationals when they told RMS to do the Bypass with Tunnels.  CBAG refused my suggestion of having the new Local Member at their next meeting as it had the potential of exposing their tactics. 
Post by: Fizzie on May 07, 2019, 09:34:20 AM
Just be patient. (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190506/98622a5b25141e198caadddd5ba99488.jpg)

Shouldn't that say

"Just back from 2044, & they're still arguing about the Coffs Harbour Bypass" ??? >:D
Post by: Robbo on May 07, 2019, 02:50:48 PM
Shouldn't that say

"Just back from 2044, & they're still arguing about the Coffs Harbour Bypass" ??? >:D
HaHa. Yep, that's a take off from that old Michael Douglas movie "Back to the Future"

Post by: Redback on May 07, 2019, 03:38:38 PM
Jesus H Christ, no wonder we have Shit roads in Australia compared to Europe/UK and the USA/Canada, what a joke.

I traveled around Europe in 1986(33yrs ago) and the roads then were 100% better back than they are now here.
Post by: Robbo on May 07, 2019, 04:53:48 PM
HaHa. Yep, that's a take off from that old Michael Douglas movie "Back to the Future"

Oops! My bad. Was Michael J Fox.

Post by: Davepatrol on May 08, 2019, 08:39:53 AM

TRUCK ROLLOVER: The Pacific Highway has reopened after a truck crash in the Coffs Harbour CBD overnight saw it's closure in both directions. READ MORE: https://www.triplem.com.au/ (https://www.triplem.com.au/)…/coffs-harbour-highway-truck-…/…                     A good reason not to have tunnels on the by-pass when built
Post by: Steffo1 on May 08, 2019, 09:12:50 AM
Jesus H Christ, no wonder we have Shit roads in Australia compared to Europe/UK and the USA/Canada, what a joke.

I traveled around Europe in 1986(33yrs ago) and the roads then were 100% better back than they are now here.

A lot more cattle to milk over there, though.
Post by: alnjan on May 08, 2019, 09:56:52 PM

TRUCK ROLLOVER: The Pacific Highway has reopened after a truck crash in the Coffs Harbour CBD overnight saw it's closure in both directions. READ MORE: https://www.triplem.com.au/ (https://www.triplem.com.au/)…/coffs-harbour-highway-truck-…/…                     A good reason not to have tunnels on the by-pass when built

Yep Pros and Cons for cuttings v tunnels.  At least either cuttings or tunnels will be built for vehicles to travel through at 110km/h without causing accidents.  The roundabout at Englands Road, along with the the sections of the Highway just north of the Big Banana, just south of the Coast Hotel, the intersection just below the Windmill are all prone to accidents/collisions by their design with just a little bit of excess speed.  The Big Banana would be the worst with a number of fatals over the years. 
Post by: Bird on May 08, 2019, 09:59:38 PM
would make a good t-shirt to wear to polling booths.. LOL
Post by: alnjan on May 19, 2019, 08:09:20 PM
With both State and Federal elections done and dusted and with State and State member going to Coalition and Nationals and now the Federal going Coaltition also with a National Member many are now saying the Bypass will not be done for at least another three years as Coffs Harbour and the Federal Electorate of Cowper being both safe National Seats they do not have to spend any money in the area.  So according to the non National fans the Bypass will not happen now for two or more decades. 

Alternatively if they do build it they will go with cuttings as that is the cheapest option regardless of the non National fans as part of their demand for tunnels is/was the cost difference for tunnels and cuttings is minimal. 

Really these people need to work with our new local members to get the Bypass they are both committed to delivering.  Trouble is the Community Group has too much Political Agendas and not Bypass Agenda and refuse to invite the local member to a meeting as he may see their tactics.  When they said that to me I lost interest.   
Post by: gronk on May 19, 2019, 09:03:03 PM
  So according to the non National fans the Bypass will not happen now for two or more decades. 

Send the machines down to Heatherbrae and finish the missing link on the busiest part of the M1.. :cheers:
Post by: alnjan on May 19, 2019, 09:14:39 PM
Send the machines down to Heatherbrae and finish the missing link on the busiest part of the M1.. :cheers:

If Bill had of won that may have happened.  While the locals here were carrying on about the Nationals committing to a fully funded Bypass with 'proper' tunnels and coming up with every conspiracy theory to disbelieve what the Nationals were promising and some locals very busy telling everyone to Vote Nationals last and to vote for an Independent as he is the only one that can deliver a tunnel bypass.  Labor never made an appearance or utter one word about Coffs Harbour or the electorate of Cowper for that matter and definitely did not make any commitment or pledge about the Coffs Bypass but they did commit to the same funding the Coalition had made for the Black Hill to Heatherbrae Upgrade and Bill also said he would deliver it earlier.  From that I was wondering if Bill was going to can the Coffs Bypass and send it all to Black Hill to Heatherbrae. 

Post by: gronk on May 20, 2019, 06:42:42 AM
Like always, be very suspicious when a politians lips start moving. ;D
Post by: Fizzie on May 20, 2019, 08:34:52 AM
refuse to invite the local member to a meeting

& that's definitely NOT the way to win friends, influence people & get your particular ideas through! >:D
Post by: alnjan on May 20, 2019, 09:59:35 AM
Well the new Federal Member sounds like he wants to get on with the job.  On a radio interview this morning saying he will be contacting the different Political stake holders and chasing up the RMS regarding the EIS.  Just a game at present of wait and see.
Post by: gronk on May 20, 2019, 11:01:55 PM
Well the new Federal Member sounds like he wants to get on with the job.  On a radio interview this morning saying he will be contacting the different Political stake holders and chasing up the RMS regarding the EIS.  Just a game at present of wait and see.

If the funding has been promised, then it's just that...a promise...

If it was approved before, it will still be approved ....but to be approved, the money must have been budgeted for.

A upgrade for the centre of Wyong has been approved, but no money budgeted yet, so it could be another 10yrs !!
Post by: alnjan on May 20, 2019, 11:15:00 PM

If it was approved before, it will still be approved ....but to be approved, the money must have been budgeted for.

A upgrade for the centre of Wyong has been approved, but no money budgeted yet, so it could be another 10yrs !!

Apparently the funding is in the last budget, but the funding budgeted for is for the Bypass with Cuttings all done prior to the Nationals telling the RMS to do the Bypass with Tunnels.  Both State and Federal are saying the funding for Tunnels is there. 
Post by: Bird on May 21, 2019, 09:40:24 AM

yep, this could become the oldest thread in forum history with no closure.
Post by: gronk on May 21, 2019, 09:50:01 AM
yep, this could become the oldest thread in forum history with no closure.

We could talk for years about politicians promises...!!   ;D
Post by: alnjan on May 21, 2019, 10:01:12 AM
Our newly elected Federal MP has hit the ground running, maybe a little too hard. 

A local Prime 7 tv  did a live tv interview with him regarding the Bypass and during the interview he got himself tongue tied on cuttings and tunnels.  In the Live Interview he said he preferred cuttings.  He issued an apology and correction shortly after. 

https://www.triplem.com.au/story/coffs-coast-conaghan-definitely-supports-tunnels-for-bypass-138123/?station=coffs&fbclid=IwAR1K9kE2hBfJvE4ZagTssuXsDFm8TN6qMtakbi0M4Iv8pv7SPjLGOky2WnY

"Cowper MP Pat Conaghan is adjusting to his new life as a politician quickly after an awkward slip up during a live television cross on Monday night.

When asked about tunnels or cuttings, Mr Conaghan said his preference was cuttings and when the EIS Comes back with tunnels, tunnels it will be.

A short time later, the newly elected local member released a statement to correct the mistake.

“Tonight while doing a live cross on Prime7 News I misspoke while answering a question on the Coffs Bypass. I want to clarify that I believe TUNNELS, not cuttings to be the best option”, the statement said.

Throughout the recent election campaign, Mr Conaghan has made it clear that he supported tunnels for the highly publicised project.
"

Didn't send all the local nay sayers and dooms dayers into a spin.  Now they are even more convinced we are getting Cuttings. 
Post by: tryagain on May 21, 2019, 11:28:37 AM
Freudian slip?
Post by: alnjan on September 19, 2019, 11:09:36 AM
Well we had the big release if the EIS for the Bypass and surprise surprise there are tunnels. 

https://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/documents/projects/factsheet-alliances.pdf

Don't worry there are plenty of die hards still saying once tendered out the plan will change back to cuttings. 
Post by: Bird on September 19, 2019, 11:12:27 AM
Quote from: alnjan
Well we had the big release if the EIS for the Bypass and surprise surprise there are tunnels. 

https://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/documents/projects/factsheet-alliances.pdf

Don't worry there are plenty of die hards still saying once tendered out the plan will change back to cuttings.

Im surprised your still expecting anything to happen in any of our lifetimes.
Post by: alnjan on September 19, 2019, 11:20:56 AM
ha ha see what happens the next couple of years when they say it start.  Plenty of pre work being done
Post by: MarkGU on April 04, 2020, 07:33:53 PM
Gday Al.

This happened late last week.Feels strange now driving at 100 k's after most of the sections they have been working on at 80 k's.

Very nice piece of road.
https://www.facebook.com/NSWRoads/videos/214245343162307/ (https://www.facebook.com/NSWRoads/videos/214245343162307/)

I was also talking to an excavator operator working on the Glenugie section. He was telling me that section was supposed to open before the Tyndale/ Maclean section but the wet weather had held them up. Looking south from Tyndale overpass all the road has been linemarked and all barriers completed. Could be any day now til that part is open  :cup:
Post by: alnjan on April 04, 2020, 07:50:37 PM
Gday Al.

This happened late last week.Feels strange now driving at 100 k's after most of the sections they have been working on at 80 k's.

Very nice piece of road.
https://www.facebook.com/NSWRoads/videos/214245343162307/ (https://www.facebook.com/NSWRoads/videos/214245343162307/)

Yeah it opened last Wednesday, big improvement over the old highway.  Couple of months and more should be getting opened up. 
Post by: alnjan on May 21, 2020, 09:59:56 PM
While they continue with geotechnical investigations around the site of the three tunnels around Coffs Harbour a new section of the Woolgoolga to Ballina section has been opened.  From Glenugie to Tyndale linking up with the latest section from Tyndale to Maclean.  Dual lane and 110km/h.  Getting closer.   
Post by: rags on May 21, 2020, 10:14:40 PM
While they continue with geotechnical investigations around the site of the three tunnels around Coffs Harbour a new section of the Woolgoolga to Ballina section has been opened.  From Glenugie to Tyndale linking up with the latest section from Tyndale to Maclean.  Dual lane and 110km/h.  Getting closer.

To think the govt has spend all that money on a new great road only to get to the northern end to find  Qld have put in place concrete barriers to stop all the nice folk from Covidcentral from entering the state

Look forward to travelling it one day.
Post by: alnjan on May 21, 2020, 10:37:31 PM
To think the govt has spend all that money on a new great road only to get to the northern end to find  Qld have put in place concrete barriers to stop all the nice folk from Covidcentral from entering the state

Look forward to travelling it one day.

Yes Palaceshades is some what different.   the Border check is a bit of a boring joke. 
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 22, 2020, 04:06:05 AM
Qld has concrete barriers..... we've been after these for at least 20 years too.

NSW has the Ruby Princess.

Nuh, they won't be moving the concrete barriers anytime soon.  ;D
Post by: Fizzie on May 22, 2020, 10:03:57 AM
the Border check is a bit of a boring joke.

On that, there's lot of cars driving around with the "A" border pass stuck on their windscreen, & I'm starting to see a few with 2 passes up ???

Anybody have any idea why you'd have 2 passes ???
Post by: rags on May 22, 2020, 08:18:45 PM
On that, there's lot of cars driving around with the "A" border pass stuck on their windscreen, & I'm starting to see a few with 2 passes up ???

The 2nd pass is for the Queenslanders imaginary friend that they have in their head
Post by: MarkGU on May 22, 2020, 10:04:07 PM
I still cant understand why it is that the nsw gov didnt/ havent closed our borders  ??? In saying that, why is it that there are Qld rego'd vehicles southbound across the border into NSW with caravans? campers in tow?
Its like its a free for all !! Now, just waiting for the Qld supporters to come back with " your Premier wont close the border".............but, people should have the brains to stay at home and not rely on a border closure to tell them that.

Here, close to home in Yamba there are Qld vehicles with one or two "A"s in their windscreens with even surf boards on the roof heading to the beaches  >:(
Post by: alnjan on May 22, 2020, 11:46:16 PM

You are supposed to have a Quarantine Pass for per vehicle for every person in that vehicle.   If you have two cars and four in the family, then as required each vehicle should have four passes. 

It's a Queersland thing.   

Apart from the first three weeks when only a hand full of vehicle crossing the border at a time, each vehicle was stopped and driver spoken to.  After that the volume of vehicle increased and now they just wave you through as quick as they can.  No checks if there is a Q Pass on display, just drive on through. 

Post by: alnjan on May 22, 2020, 11:56:27 PM
I still cant understand why it is that the nsw gov didnt/ havent closed our borders  ??? In saying that, why is it that there are Qld rego'd vehicles southbound across the border into NSW with caravans? campers in tow?
Its like its a free for all !! Now, just waiting for the Qld supporters to come back with " your Premier wont close the border".............but, people should have the brains to stay at home and not rely on a border closure to tell them that.

Here, close to home in Yamba there are Qld vehicles with one or two "A"s in their windscreens with even surf boards on the roof heading to the beaches  >:(

Nothing stopping Qlders from leaving Qld.  They can come to NSW get COVID-19 and take it back into Qld free of charge.   

Federal Health Authorities maintain there is NO reason for the Border Closures.   The States somehow know better.   As our Local Member said, we will be ready for the holiday period and happily receive the Tourists to help boost our local Tourism Industry.  Not that Coffs has a Tourism Industry as such. 

Post by: Steffo1 on May 28, 2020, 02:45:12 PM

Can I borrow your plates if I come down your way to wet a line?
Post by: Bird on May 28, 2020, 03:30:06 PM
Quote from: MarkGU
Its like its a free for all !!
thats the point I've been tryin to get across.

Each state making it up themselves, and if you live on the border of any 2 states, good luck.
Post by: tedota on May 28, 2020, 05:37:49 PM
Same over this side. Gonna be a lot of business's for sale or in deep poo if they don't get things opened again soon.
Post by: MarkGU on August 04, 2020, 03:44:09 PM
For those swaggers who travel up/down to our part of the world, a new entry to Maclean ( nsw) has just opened up today. This entry is at the Ferry Park end of town ( southern end) of Maclean.
[img width= height= alt=Capture" border="0]https://i.ibb.co/rZPGMJg/Capture.png[/img] (https://imgbb.com/)
Post by: Fizzie on August 04, 2020, 04:43:17 PM
How much of the new road is now open ???

Or, to put it another way, what's still closed ??? ;D
Post by: MarkGU on August 04, 2020, 05:12:53 PM

Two lanes all the way from Woolgoolga to Maclean.Still one lane from Maclean to woodburn & thru to Wardell.
Post by: alnjan on August 04, 2020, 06:52:07 PM

There is a section between Halfway Creek and Glenugie divided road but one lane and 80km/h limit unless they are working closer to the road then it can go down to 40km/h.   From Maclean to Woodburn about half is divided road single lane 80km/h and the other is north and south on the same section of road, you cross over from north and south lanes a number of times. 
Post by: Hairs on August 04, 2020, 07:22:39 PM
Maclean interchange.
Tomorrow night is the opening.
Traveled from Townsend to Maclean at 5.30pm this arvo.
Not officially operation yet
Post by: Hairs on August 06, 2020, 06:20:47 PM
The interchange was open this morning,
Travelled it a few times, clear signage, nice white line markings,
Yet some couldn't understand.
There are two roundabouts, either side of the freeway over pass.
Heard a story today,
Of someone traveling from Townsend to Maclean, they found them self at the Yamba Rd interchange(Harwood Bridge) True story.
They are now going to travel James Crk Rd to get to Yamba Rd into Maclean, cause that is easier.
FFS, I can't believe how stupid people have become, even telling people it was open 24 hours before it was.
Sheeeesh.
Post by: alnjan on August 06, 2020, 07:07:36 PM
The interchange was open this morning,
Travelled it a few times, clear signage, nice white line markings,
Yet some couldn't understand.
There are two roundabouts, either side of the freeway over pass.
Heard a story today,
Of someone traveling from Townsend to Maclean, they found them self at the Yamba Rd interchange(Harwood Bridge) True story.
They are now going to travel James Crk Rd to get to Yamba Rd into Maclean, cause that is easier.
FFS, I can't believe how stupid people have become, even telling people it was open 24 hours before it was.
Sheeeesh.

Have they opened up both lanes between the interchange and Hardwood Bridge or is it still dual carriage way reduced to single lanes?   
Post by: Hairs on August 06, 2020, 07:11:44 PM
Have they opened up both lanes between the interchange and Hardwood Bridge or is it still dual carriage way reduced to single lanes?
Still one lane each way.
Barriers in the right hand lane, each way.
That was of this arvo 3.45pm.
Can't be farway from opening.
Post by: Hairs on August 07, 2020, 05:36:05 PM
It works a treat, until some numpty has no idea how to use a it.
Post by: alnjan on August 07, 2020, 06:08:26 PM
Went through there today, on the way up we had to stop at Ferry Park for a break.   Easy enough to get through just have to watch the signs and where to turn.   On the way back just kept going south in the rain.   
Post by: Hairs on August 07, 2020, 06:18:48 PM
I reckon it's great, :)
Post by: alnjan on August 10, 2020, 12:55:16 PM
See there is talk of more sections of the new Highway upgrades being opened.   

Iluka to Devils Pulpit 15kms in the next couple of weeks

and Woodburn to Pimlico section of the new Highway being opened possibly in September.   

https://www.pacifichighway.nsw.gov.au/project-sections/coffs-harbour-to-ballina/woolgoolga-to-ballina (https://www.pacifichighway.nsw.gov.au/project-sections/coffs-harbour-to-ballina/woolgoolga-to-ballina)
Post by: Hairs on August 10, 2020, 01:18:19 PM
Hi Al,
Yep, little by little it is coming together.
:)
Post by: HEM19X on August 10, 2020, 04:00:15 PM
Can't happen soon enough..

It's not the fact that there are NO overtaking opportunities between the Harwood bridge and Woodburn,

It's not the fact that it's 80 kph the whole way.

It's not even the fact that there are several sections where there WERE double lanes but they have been closed for no obvious reason for the past 12 months!

It's not even the F**ing numbie at the front of the queue that drives between 65 - 75 kph the whole way!

It's the fact that, when they reach the speed of 75kph, they then jam on their brakes & slow to 65kph causing the 50 vehicles behind them to almost run up the bum of the bloke in front!!!

End of rant [Until the next time I drive on the road!]

Hem!

Post by: Hairs on August 10, 2020, 04:23:12 PM
Hemi,
People don't read road signs,
People have no space awareness,
People don't give a Ratz bum about anyone else,
People have become selfish.

If there is one thing I have learnt from this Covid thing.
People have turned into arshats.

There are plenty of good people out there, yep.
Now, when you come across them, their actions/driving stands out.

Post by: alnjan on August 10, 2020, 05:01:39 PM
Can't happen soon enough..

It's not the fact that there are NO overtaking opportunities between the Harwood bridge and Woodburn,

It's not the fact that it's 80 kph the whole way.

It's not even the fact that there are several sections where there WERE double lanes but they have been closed for no obvious reason for the past 12 months!

It's not even the F**ing numbie at the front of the queue that drives between 65 - 75 kph the whole way!

It's the fact that, when they reach the speed of 75kph, they then jam on their brakes & slow to 65kph causing the 50 vehicles behind them to almost run up the bum of the bloke in front!!!

End of rant [Until the next time I drive on the road!]

Hem!

Have to agree with you.   that and drivers not using cruise if it is fitted to their vehicle.   
Post by: Hairs on August 10, 2020, 08:19:14 PM
Al,
I don't get why from Iluka turn off to Woodburn hasn't been completed yet.
Bugger all bridges, no swamp country.
Did I hear right,
Original budget from Woolgoolga to Ballina was 6 Billion?
Blown out to 16Billion.

Post by: rags on August 10, 2020, 08:23:13 PM
Al,
Did I hear right,
Blown out to 16Billion.

I think the signs say $4.9 billion. Not sure what that works out for a cost per linear metre
Post by: Hairs on August 10, 2020, 08:35:16 PM
I think the signs say $4.9 billion. Not sure what that works out for a cost per linear metre
I've heard some pretty sad stories of waste.
Contractors just leaving tools out in the weather, not taking equipment back to compounds(theft).
Post by: rags on August 10, 2020, 08:43:21 PM
I've heard some pretty sad stories of waste.
Contractors just leaving tools out in the weather, not taking equipment back to compounds(theft).

It’s ok, the builders will walk away and leave behind sheds and concrete batching plants without worry, built into the cost and cheaper to walk away.
I think it is down near Kempsey that there remains a concrete plant rusting away.
Post by: bmwfreak on August 11, 2020, 08:34:00 AM
Blown out to 16Billion.
Imagine if it was being upgraded in QLD, if the cost of the Ipswich motorway is anything to go by

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200810/84c7c1b4a21091c186a480c8dccf0a27.jpg)

Post by: Fizzie on August 11, 2020, 09:21:14 AM
Imagine if it was being upgraded in QLD, if the cost of the Ipswich motorway is anything to go by

& when you look at the cost of the M1 upgrades & tram tracks down here ... :'(

That article could easily be turned around though, which would also say a lot ...

"The 5-year budget for maintenance & improvement on 1700km of Bruce Hwy has been announced as only $2.5 billion, the same as will be spent of just 19km of the Ipswich Motorway"

:'( >:(
Post by: Bird on August 11, 2020, 10:35:51 AM
Quote from: Hairs
Blown out to 16Billion.

why do they bother with estimates and "quotes" and budgets.. nothign ever comes in anywhere near them, usually x3 as much
Post by: alnjan on August 11, 2020, 07:14:09 PM
Al,
Did I hear right,
Blown out to 16Billion.

Where they are trying to upgrade the existing roadway and still have traffic on the roadway it means the workers are working in a very narrow restricted corridor unlike when building a whole new roadway.   

An example is the Coffs Harbour Bypass, it is a 14km section of roadway and it is being done in two sections.   The main one is 12kms around the west of Coffs Harbour where they are free to build as they like and can.   That section is planned for three years. 

The second section is 2kms upgrading the existing Highway from the Northern Interchange at the Lookout Out turn off at Bruxner Park Road, north to the Sapphire Hill connecting to the existing M1.   As this 2kms will be constructing the new Northbound lanes first just west of the existing Highway.  Then putting all traffic onto those two lanes while the Southbound lanes and the new extended Local Road constructed, basically where the existing Highway is now.   

As they are working in a very narrow corridor and working on top of themselves that 2kms will take at least 4 years to construct.     
Post by: bmwfreak on August 12, 2020, 09:20:13 AM
You’ll note that it is now called ‘The Pacific Way’. Too many people named Bruce, were offended by complaints about the highway with their name, e.g. The Bruce holeway >:D >:D
Post by: alnjan on December 08, 2020, 09:04:32 PM
https://patconaghan.com.au/coffs-bypass-green-light-to-drive-local-jobs-economy/?fbclid=IwAR3dD9LxPo4m3iwFLAH-WWnu9d3ZXu_We_fRMQnc9v4Lkg2OkXvx7twS-5g (https://patconaghan.com.au/coffs-bypass-green-light-to-drive-local-jobs-economy/?fbclid=IwAR3dD9LxPo4m3iwFLAH-WWnu9d3ZXu_We_fRMQnc9v4Lkg2OkXvx7twS-5g)

"The Coffs Harbour bypass has been given the official green light by the Federal Government after the Federal Environment Minister Sussan Ley assessed and then approved the project under the EPBC Act, moving the town’s biggest ever infrastructure project a step closer to construction.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Michael McCormack said the 14-kilometre bypass which received official planning approval is one of the 15 major projects that the Federal Government committed to fast-tracking in June this year.

“The bypass is going to take more than 12,000 vehicles a day out of the centre of Coffs Harbour, reduce travel times by as much as 12 minutes by bypassing 12 sets of traffic lights, and improve safety for all road users,” the Deputy Prime Minister said.

“Transport for NSW has now received the final stamp of approval, after close scrutiny by the NSW Minister for Planning and Public Spaces and the Australian Minister for the Environment.

“This approval includes the proposed tunnels at Roberts Hill, Shephards Lane and Gatelys Road, as well as assessing the project for its social, environmental, heritage and economic impacts, and gives the project team the green light to go ahead with major work.”
"

That's one more green light for approval.  Now the Tendering Process and then start work in a couple of months or so.  Maybe start middle of the 2021.   
Post by: Hairs on December 09, 2020, 04:16:51 PM
Fingers crossed it doesn't have any hiccups.
That will be the last link in P/Hway completed.
Happy Days.

You don't use magic to disappear, all you need is a 4wd & a Swag. :)

Post by: gronk on December 09, 2020, 08:01:03 PM

Happy Days.

Aahh, not quite....Hexham bypass should get started before 2030 ?? Maybe ??
Post by: Fizzie on December 10, 2020, 06:13:38 AM

So is the full Ballina - Grafton stretch open & running now ???
Post by: Hairs on December 10, 2020, 06:45:35 AM
Not all,it's getting closer.
South of Woodburn to the Jackybulbin rd I believe has small sections that need finishing.

Cronk,
I didn't realise it hadn't been done.

Post by: alnjan on December 10, 2020, 05:43:44 PM

From Ballina south the Highway now bypasses Wardell, Broadwater and Woodburn.   

As Hairs said from south of Woodburn around New Italy is still being worked on then back to dual carriageway bypassing Maclean, Tyndale, Ulmarra and Grafton, rejoining the old Highway south of the Wooli turn off.   

Post by: gronk on December 10, 2020, 07:23:17 PM

Cronk,
I didn't realise it hadn't been done.

Funny how most of the traffic streams out of Sydney heading north every holiday period, but instead of starting at the busiest end, they do bits and pieces all the way up the coast.

The busiest section is probably the dearest section to do, although the Coffs section sounds like it ain't gonna be cheap either ..
Post by: alnjan on December 10, 2020, 08:55:37 PM
Funny how most of the traffic streams out of Sydney heading north every holiday period, but instead of starting at the busiest end, they do bits and pieces all the way up the coast.

The busiest section is probably the dearest section to do, although the Coffs section sounds like it ain't gonna be cheap either ..

Speaking to the blokes from State Planning, they said it hasn't been done yet because it has been a minefield due to the river, wetlands, power grid, sacred sites and the airfield being an airforce airfield has created continual dramas.   But like you say I would have thought it would have been done long time ago being such a busy spot, and major interchange. 
Post by: gronk on December 11, 2020, 05:38:11 AM
Speaking to the blokes from State Planning, they said it hasn't been done yet because it has been a minefield due to the river, wetlands, power grid, sacred sites and the airfield being an airforce airfield has created continual dramas.   But like you say I would have thought it would have been done long time ago being such a busy spot, and major interchange.

Yeh, I'd heard the airport mentioned somewhere as well. No idea what it's got to do with it....nowhere near Hexham ?
Sacred sites.....I could tell you a story about that , when they did the Hunter expressway  !
Post by: Fizzie on December 11, 2020, 06:09:11 AM
Yeh, I'd heard the airport mentioned somewhere as well. No idea what it's got to do with it....nowhere near Hexham ?

Isn't / wasn't there a bombing range somewhere out the back of Williamtown? That would create just a few hassles! >:D

Sacred sites.....I could tell you a story about that , when they did the Hunter expressway  !

& then you've no doubt also got critically endangered frogs & trees ... ::)
Post by: Hairs on December 11, 2020, 04:57:17 PM
Just saw a very FB posts that the south bound dual lanes are completed from Woodburn to the Iluka Turn Off.

Post by: Hairs on December 11, 2020, 05:03:01 PM

Yep, that was why the Ballina Bypass didn't follow the high ground(out of the swamp land) from the Lismore turn off to Ross Lane(Lennox Head turn off).

Post by: gronk on December 11, 2020, 07:16:53 PM
Isn't / wasn't there a bombing range somewhere out the back of Williamtown? That would create just a few hassles! >:D

No bombing range near Hexham. Never heard of one near Williamtown either ??

Yeh, there could be a few frogs in the swamp. The plan that I've seen shows 4K's of raised carriageway over the swamp.....??
Usually they pick the cheapest way over a set distance, but not in this case.
Post by: Troopy_03 on December 12, 2020, 10:54:23 AM
No bombing range near Hexham. Never heard of one near Williamtown either ??

Yeh, there could be a few frogs in the swamp. The plan that I've seen shows 4K's of raised carriageway over the swamp.....??
Usually they pick the cheapest way over a set distance, but not in this case.

The weapons range is about 5Km NE of WLM base. they only use practice bombs there though, and guns. I can't see how the base would be affected by the M1 extension though. The only mention of the Airport I have seen is for upgraded access roads being included in the plan.
Post by: alnjan on December 12, 2020, 11:48:32 AM
The weapons range is about 5Km NE of WLM base. they only use practice bombs there though, and guns. I can't see how the base would be affected by the M1 extension though. The only mention of the Airport I have seen is for upgraded access roads being included in the plan.

The reasoning as I remember it related to being an air force airport, in constructing the new M! there was a height restriction and basically not allowed to either move or raise the existing power lines/power grid.   Don't know how many or what sort of low level runs they do in that area for that to be a design/construction factor.   I guess a power line at that speed might be a bit harder to spot from the cockpit for their pilots.   

Post by: Troopy_03 on December 13, 2020, 09:21:08 AM
The reasoning as I remember it related to being an air force airport, in constructing the new M! there was a height restriction and basically not allowed to either move or raise the existing power lines/power grid.   Don't know how many or what sort of low level runs they do in that area for that to be a design/construction factor.   I guess a power line at that speed might be a bit harder to spot from the cockpit for their pilots.   

Where the intended change to existing infrastructure is, in any sort of proximity, is about 8Km east, when using the westerly approach. They actually approach from further north (over the dam), to avoid flying over Raymond Terrace. The bit that is to be upgraded, is from just before Hexham Bridge, to the northern edge of Raymond Terrace. And the only deviation from the existing road/highway is a small swing around the southern edge of the Heatherbrae industrial area, which is in the 45M height restriction area.

So really can't see any problem with that.
Post by: alnjan on December 13, 2020, 11:40:43 AM
Its a couple of years old now, 2017.

https://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/projects/01documents/raymond-terrace/m1-pacific-motorway-extension-community-consultation-report-2017-06.pdf (https://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/projects/01documents/raymond-terrace/m1-pacific-motorway-extension-community-consultation-report-2017-06.pdf)

Covers some of the community concerns, nothing about the airport though
Post by: gronk on December 13, 2020, 09:35:34 PM
Saw on the news tonight how the pollies were spruiking about the highway now finished from Hexham to the Qld border ??
Don't know why they do that when the Coffs bypass hasn't even started yet.
Post by: Hairs on December 14, 2020, 05:13:53 AM
Saw on the news tonight how the pollies were spruiking about the highway now finished from Hexham to the Qld border ??
It's just to keep in the voters thoughts that they are delivering on 'Their Watch'.

Post by: alnjan on December 14, 2020, 08:05:33 AM

Because it is finished.   Dual Carriage way from Hexham to the Qld Border.   The Coffs Bypass is not part of the dual carriage way up grade.   It is just an upgrade of the Highway and an improvement to the traffic flow in Coffs.   
Post by: gronk on December 14, 2020, 06:32:34 PM
Because it is finished.   Dual Carriage way from Hexham to the Qld Border.   The Coffs Bypass is not part of the dual carriage way up grade.   It is just an upgrade of the Highway and an improvement to the traffic flow in Coffs.

So there is dual carriage way all the way thru Coffs is there ?

A bit sneaky though, because there isn't dual carriage way from the start of the M1 at Sydney to the Hexham dual carriage way ( presume they mean as you get off Hexham bridge ).

In other words, the job isn't quite finished yet !!
Post by: alnjan on December 14, 2020, 09:12:12 PM
So there is dual carriage way all the way thru Coffs is there ?

A bit sneaky though, because there isn't dual carriage way from the start of the M1 at Sydney to the Hexham dual carriage way ( presume they mean as you get off Hexham bridge ).

In other words, the job isn't quite finished yet !!

Yep dual carriage way right through Coffs, including a dozen traffic lights and only one other choice of north/south travel.   Very poorly planned City and not likely to improve with current Council.   

Post by: Fizzie on December 15, 2020, 08:25:55 AM
planned City

Planned City - now there's two words you don't see together very often :'(
Post by: Fizzie on May 04, 2021, 02:06:26 PM
Any updates on this Al ???

I can see from a few months ago that they've apparently started "early work", but nothing further.

Did they ever actually decide on a route ???
Post by: vern on May 04, 2021, 02:16:38 PM

I can see from a few months ago that they've apparently started "early work", but nothing further.

Yes, they are taking ground samples, drilling, clearing some sections currently.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: alnjan on May 04, 2021, 08:26:42 PM

The Bypass construction itself is still in the tender process.  While that is being done there area a number of small projects being done by local contractors as part of the preparation work.   There has been a bit of work being done for aboriginal artefacts on the route.   

A lot of small work but not the big jobs.
Post by: Bird on May 04, 2021, 08:33:58 PM
thread started in 2018... lol they arent in a rush :D
Post by: alnjan on May 04, 2021, 08:40:17 PM
thread started in 2018... lol they arent in a rush :D

Yeah not wrong.  Been a few major deals.   Sounds easy but caused major delays changing from cuttings to tunnels, then a few other plan changes following Community Consultation which also added to delays.   All of those nearly had the project pushed back 6-8 months and then COVID has further delayed the project.   

Hopefully later this year people will see the major works start.     
Post by: Fizzie on May 21, 2021, 01:52:21 PM
Talking about not counting chickens ... :'(

"Scientists discover 'remnants of ancient rainforests' in path of Coffs Harbour bypass development"

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-05-21/rare-plant-species-found-near-highway-coffs-harbour-nsw/100149038 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-05-21/rare-plant-species-found-near-highway-coffs-harbour-nsw/100149038)

"Traditional custodians, environmentalists and scientists are calling for the unique patch of rainforest to be protected."
Post by: gronk on May 21, 2021, 02:25:20 PM

"Scientists discover 'remnants of ancient rainforests' in path of Coffs Harbour bypass development"

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-05-21/rare-plant-species-found-near-highway-coffs-harbour-nsw/100149038 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-05-21/rare-plant-species-found-near-highway-coffs-harbour-nsw/100149038)

"Traditional custodians, environmentalists and scientists are calling for the unique patch of rainforest to be protected."

And the bloke who is an expert in these type of plants said the one found was “probably” a new species ????
In 5yrs time, coming into Coffs on the new freeway, you come across a dogleg in the road, you’ll know why !!
Post by: Bird on May 21, 2021, 02:31:06 PM
And the bloke who is an expert in these type of plants said the one found was “probably” a new species ????
In 5yrs time, coming into Coffs on the new freeway, you come across a dogleg in the road, you’ll know why !!
amazing how these things always seem to pop up after so much time and effort has gone into things .... just like
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-03-29/rare-orchid-halts-motorsports-complex-on-south-coast/8396090 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-03-29/rare-orchid-halts-motorsports-complex-on-south-coast/8396090)
Post by: alnjan on May 22, 2021, 10:28:01 AM

Due to the Aboriginal concerns about loss of anything Aboriginal a group is now concentrating on the route checking for anything.   They had set up near by to where the plants were found and where 'washing' for artefacts. 

Yep, some people prefer not to have the Bypass built.   Their preferred route would result in the loss of more agricultural land, State Forest and National Park and have less impact on reducing traffic volumes within Coffs Harbour.   All seems a bit hypocritical.   
Post by: alnjan on July 28, 2021, 09:22:05 PM
Just saw this on my facebook feed.   

The M1 extension to Raymond Terrace has been announced by the State Government. The extension has 4 entries at Black Hill, Tarro, Tomago and Raymond Terrace.

https://www.facebook.com/m1trafficnsw/videos/304570728078745 (https://www.facebook.com/m1trafficnsw/videos/304570728078745)

For further detail

https://caportal.com.au/tfnsw/m1rt?fbclid=IwAR3X_pAh7onr48lmZea2WfYsZ3va9RySTs-DQCjqOwrgvUc1Q0Z73rf4A60 (https://caportal.com.au/tfnsw/m1rt?fbclid=IwAR3X_pAh7onr48lmZea2WfYsZ3va9RySTs-DQCjqOwrgvUc1Q0Z73rf4A60)
Post by: gronk on July 28, 2021, 10:37:12 PM
Not due to be finished until 2028….that’s if it gets started.
Post by: alnjan on July 28, 2021, 10:52:12 PM
Yep, Coffs is already about 12 months behind.  A lot of small works being done in preparations for the big work.   

Post by: Fizzie on July 29, 2021, 07:26:20 AM
Announced yesterday ...

So how many frogs, animals, birds, flowers, trees & sacred sites have been found in it's path so far ??? ::)
Post by: Bird on July 29, 2021, 10:56:03 AM
Quote from: gronk
Not due to be finished until 2028….that’s if it gets started.
it should be good for a politicians promise for a good 5 more elections I reckon...
Post by: gronk on July 29, 2021, 05:47:28 PM
it should be good for a politicians promise for a good 5 more elections I reckon...

And instead of building it 5yrs ago the cost will have doubled by the time it’s finished.  So approx 2 billion and counting.
Post by: Bird on July 29, 2021, 07:00:12 PM
And instead of building it 5yrs ago the cost will have doubled by the time it’s finished.  So approx 2 billion and counting.
2 billion blow out you mean...
Post by: alnjan on June 20, 2022, 11:15:43 AM
We have reached the next stage.  Tenders have been announced.

"Coffs Harbour Major Contractor Announced
We are pleased to announce that the successful tender of the major contract is Ferrovial Gamuda Joint Venture. Major construction will start next year with the bypass being delivered using a single design and construct contract to ensure innovation, efficiency and value for money in the delivery of the project. The project includes the three tunnels at the major ridgelines, as per the environmental planning approval.

The Australian and NSW Governments have committed $2.2 billion to build this 14 kilometre bypass, which is one of the biggest ever projects in the Coffs Harbour region. During construction, it is estimated that the project will create about 600 direct jobs. For the past 18 months we’ve been carrying out important early work for the bypass, including at-house noise treatments, relocating essential utilities, structural removals and environmental work so major construction can hit the ground running. Major work is expected to start about March, weather permitting, with site establishment including construction. The bypass is expected to be open to traffic from late 2026, with construction complete in late 2027."

https://pacifichighway.nsw.gov.au/coffsharbourbypass (https://pacifichighway.nsw.gov.au/coffsharbourbypass)
Post by: Bird on June 20, 2022, 01:58:34 PM
Quote from: alnjan
The bypass is expected to be open to traffic from late 2026, with construction complete in late 2027."[/i]
have you contacted Centrebet for the odds?
Post by: gronk on June 20, 2022, 06:29:58 PM
A joint venture between Spanish and Malaysian companies !!
What happened to the Aussie companies that have built most of the M1 from Sydney to Queensland ??