Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506537 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1200 on: September 12, 2018, 09:03:52 AM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
FB Holden's
I'll take one.

« Reply #1201 on: September 12, 2018, 10:45:15 AM »
You better turn up in the Statesman then. ;D

« Reply #1202 on: September 12, 2018, 04:21:34 PM »
I'll take one.

Oh man, they aren't pristine examples believe me.
I would like to save the Caddy Hearse though... if it can be done.

The grounds look like something straight out of American Pickers... Read: Crap everywhere.

« Reply #1203 on: September 12, 2018, 04:25:49 PM »
One of the wilder cars at Drag Week this year.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U3lf0Oa9j1I

« Reply #1204 on: September 13, 2018, 10:18:50 AM »
From interwebs

Vj dodge ute
$11,000
Vj dodge Ute good condition for age no rust body wise interior not bad painted 25 years ago in original colour pmg red e49 spec motor done about 10000 ks 4 speed rear main seal is leaking new tyres needs a bit of work

The following users thanked this post: Ragman

« Reply #1205 on: September 13, 2018, 01:01:48 PM »
Looks a nice O'l Vag  ..   An old mate posted this pic up on a face crap page the other day .. Mum, Dads and his HQs, He still has his after all these years

« Reply #1206 on: September 13, 2018, 03:53:54 PM »
This is why.... I love Drag Week.

6 second all the way up to 12 second cars, being driven.... in shall we say, some rain.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nj_8wIj25dw

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #1207 on: September 13, 2018, 04:24:54 PM »
From interwebs

Vj dodge ute
$11,000
Vj dodge Ute good condition for age no rust body wise interior not bad painted 25 years ago in original colour pmg red e49 spec motor done about 10000 ks 4 speed rear main seal is leaking new tyres needs a bit of work
This is a local ute. In pretty good nick. The bloke is a bit of a Val freak.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #1208 on: September 13, 2018, 04:48:13 PM »
Quote from: Coolblue80
This is a local ute. In pretty good nick. The bloke is a bit of a Val freak.
I like it too :) old vals and rust though :(

« Reply #1209 on: September 13, 2018, 08:13:06 PM »
I like it too :) old vals and rust though :(

Always check the plenum.

Wish we still had our CM wagon.....

« Reply #1210 on: September 13, 2018, 09:28:59 PM »

6 second all the way up to 12 second cars, being driven.... in shall we say, some rain.

And the only legal thing in Australia would be the trailers !! ;D

« Reply #1211 on: September 14, 2018, 06:16:14 AM »

AND with towbars :o :o

« Reply #1212 on: September 15, 2018, 12:21:32 AM »
And the only legal thing in Australia would be the trailers !! ;D

Gotta love America

« Reply #1213 on: September 15, 2018, 01:48:51 PM »
Oh man, they aren't pristine examples believe me.
I would like to save the Caddy Hearse though... if it can be done.

The grounds look like something straight out of American Pickers... Read: Crap everywhere.

I called in and spot with the owner and his son yesterday.
Nice people..... going back tomorrow to discuss some of the cars he has.
I think the hearse might be a lost cause, as he wants the engine out of it. Bit of a shame really. 

I'm going to get some photos tomorrow while i'm there.

« Reply #1214 on: September 15, 2018, 07:02:02 PM »
You won't know unless you give it a red hot try.

« Reply #1215 on: September 17, 2018, 03:32:50 AM »
I spent an hour there yesterday and I'll try to list roughly what was there. Charlie looks like a cross between Willie Nelson and Neil from the young ones.
The house and its surrounds are well weathered and could do with love.
Most of the cars went past that point a loooong time ago, but some stuff is savable.

FX-FJ At a guess, maybe 12 or 15, all rooted and way past redemption, including an old ex army ute. Really weird, as it has a drip rail/gutter above the two windscreens. I've never seen that before. There is also an old custom in there, that's had AP5 Valiant tail lights, rolled pans etc.

FB-EK I reckon there'd be 20 of 'em all up and again, mostly all dead, with the exception of 2 wagons that are savable and one yearly good, dry country sedan.
The baby blue and white sedan is gold, except its been rolled. Very fixable by a body work guy. At least this one is under a lean-two.

Zephyrs Only 3 of em, including a fairly rare wagon. All 3 shot to hell.

Caddy's, 79 hearse, 81 Fleetwood brougham, 2004 Deville, with the Deville being a pretty good unit.

Commodores, maybe 15 to 20, including a 2006 or thereabouts CV8Z Monaro.

Fords, maybe 10 or 12

Throw in a couple of rice burners.

A couple of caravans.

Pretty much everything, sits out in the open.

Him and his son, did something about his "new car" which I figured was years ago until I asked about it.

In a large, zipped up tent arrangement, sits a Holden Motorsport Commodore. Jet black, with only a 1039 klm on it.
He bought it in June last year.
He said he'd paid $80,000 or something for it.
I was too busy getting my jaw off the dirt, yes, dirt when I saw it to hear him properly.

« Last Edit: September 17, 2018, 03:35:19 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #1216 on: September 17, 2018, 06:46:31 AM »
I spent an hour there yesterday and I'll try to list roughly what was there. Charlie looks like a cross between Willie Nelson and Neil from the young ones.
Most of the cars went past that point a loooong time ago, but some stuff is savable.

FX-FJ At a guess, maybe 12 or 15, all rooted and way past redemption, including an old ex army ute. Really weird, as it has a drip rail/gutter above the two windscreens. I've never seen that before. There is also an old custom in there, that's had AP5 Valiant tail lights, rolled pans etc.

FB-EK I reckon there'd be 20 of 'em all up and again, mostly all dead, with the exception of 2 wagons that are savable and one yearly good, dry country sedan.
The baby blue and white sedan is gold, except its been rolled. Very fixable by a body work guy. At least this one is under a lean-two.

Caddy's, 79 hearse, 81 Fleetwood brougham, 2004 Deville, with the Deville being a pretty good unit.

Fords, maybe 10 or 12

A couple of caravans.

Him and his son, did something about his "new car" which I figured was years ago until I asked about it.

In a large, zipped up tent arrangement, sits a Holden Motorsport Commodore. Jet black, with only a 1039 klm on it.
I was too busy getting my jaw off the dirt, yes, dirt when I saw it to hear him properly.
sounds like it could have been heaven..... 10 FX/FJ's???? Theres retirement there if they were good!

« Reply #1217 on: September 17, 2018, 07:31:58 AM »

Fords, maybe 10 or 12

A couple of caravans.

You will also find that the radio grill filled in. Mate's relo in WA has a couple.
Even if it is in a bad way, that one would be a keeper............

« Reply #1218 on: September 17, 2018, 07:36:07 AM »
And sadly thats how a hell of a lot of Would have been good old stuff goes ...."  Nup not sellin Em, gunna do em up one day, their  for my retirement fund " meanwhile they slowly rot away out in the open and return to the earth they came from . :'(

« Reply #1219 on: September 17, 2018, 09:58:56 AM »
https://www.facebook.com/WINNewsIllawarra/videos/1672096499573208/?hc_ref=ARQ-oIO7H8TsXofNDDsqHEtTd4OEKhC-qF-Zm6s19h_qhyDFuS4Bshq9aGWxP7wVXxI&__xts__[0]=68.ARBimyM_KTKCSiMeMMaeehX_xhoaapXiK4_W8eXKeOv3J2uBcoLxVfHV55etHA9F6-w1MlIOZ_PZR3aNSVaL7-lWzktG4WvPDsSDoJn72LfHTbOgMEzPNYNfBtsISE2XADopirAU235NZrIBqucbiT7TEhM1Pb8IhQyfhyeRdPoRtGCvLCADc5oUGhojKFmTouOid-7kAYdxVljhfbetLmO_67gkL8jtudQu74RD&__tn__=FC-R&fb_dtsg_ag=AdyrLBCqoX5lCSWZviE3g_4mFoTGqzzygVE4G9y1TfGHKQ%3AAdzLz4eYiY4RWSQRv77EIDzv0L4BGNPVVwiHTQ0Q42eBdw

RECORD CAR SALE: Check out this Ford GTHO Phase III that just sold for $1 million dollars!

« Reply #1220 on: September 17, 2018, 01:03:19 PM »
You will also find that the radio grill filled in. Mate's relo in WA has a couple.
Even if it is in a bad way, that one would be a keeper............

Yes, correct 100%, the radio cavity has never been there.

« Reply #1221 on: September 17, 2018, 02:06:44 PM »
And sadly thats how a hell of a lot of Would have been good old stuff goes ...."  Nup not sellin Em, gunna do em up one day, their  for my retirement fund " meanwhile they slowly rot away out in the open and return to the earth they came from . :'(
Spot on, my brother and used to drive past an old series 1 Landy ute in a cow cockies paddock half a dozen times a year, every year we'd drop in and see if he would sell it. No, gunna do it up, 25 years later it's still in the same spot totally stuffed and is now just a climber for out of control kikuyu.

« Reply #1222 on: September 18, 2018, 06:25:31 AM »
Yes, correct 100%, the radio cavity has never been there.

soooooo, how much for the army ute? ;D

« Reply #1223 on: September 18, 2018, 08:19:28 AM »
Do a google Earth fly over of Banjo country Kev, Theres quite a few places out that way with lots of farmstay oldies out in the open, From what I saw. Cant get clear enough view to see what the actual types are, just that there is  a mix of old and  modern out there .
Could  be worth doing up a hit list of addresses for a closer look see ..  8)

« Reply #1224 on: September 18, 2018, 07:52:38 PM »
Do a google Earth fly over of Banjo country Kev, Theres quite a few places out that way with lots of farmstay oldies out in the open, From what I saw. Cant get clear enough view to see what the actual types are, just that there is  a mix of old and  modern out there .
Could  be worth doing up a hit list of addresses for a closer look see ..  8)

Definately, but good luck getting near any of them. I lived on a farm at Forrest HIll that the old boy had heaps. THe family farm at Blackall has a dump of anything from the 50's through to what ever died last. Holdens and FOrd and more recently toyota and Nissan utes and old trucks and tractors. Most of them have had parts pilffered to keep other cars going but for their age they are in remarkable condition with very little or no rust. There is a metallic blue HQ statesman that I have had my eye on for years but dare not ask the question about (yet).