Author Topic: G'day from Vic  (Read 2780 times)

Offline chevman74

G'day from Vic
« on: May 06, 2014, 11:35:28 PM »
Hi all, my name is David and I have caught the bug.  My in-laws own a 2006 Aussie Swag Rover along with their decked out BT50 which my little family and I have been lucky enough to have access to  over the last couple of years.
Don't get me wrong,  using a fully set up,  thought out camping rig is great.  The opportunity to take off at a whim has some issues,  'A' the camper is an 1 1/2 hours away, 'B' it does not belong to us and 'C' I like my in-laws and would like the opportunity to travel with them in the future.
Have been looking into my options far as purchasing a new/used soft floor trailer, to little surprise the build quality I like is at the opposite end of the spectrum to the quality I can afford.  The trailers in my budget seem have all the build quality and care to attention of a $29 Bunnings Bag Trolly.
I am now looking at another option,  buy a trailer top tent and build my own trailer to put under it.  I understand this will not be a weekend D.I.Y weekend project but towing a loaded sub-standard trailer with my family in the car is not an option,  point blank.
I have the tools, space and skill base to build a good well budgeted trailer.  I don't have the years towing and maintaining a camper trailer to identify any pitfalls in design or the contacts as to the brands to trust and steer clear of. 
I look forward to reading and joining conversation with guys and girls on this forum with similar interests,  so cheers. :cheers:

Re: G'day from Vic
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2014, 11:37:47 PM »
Welcome.

Offline Supersi

« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2014, 03:43:49 AM »
Hi David, I'm sure you will find lots of ideas on the forum, there are some interesting trailer build threads. Enjoy!

Supersi

« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2014, 08:08:22 AM »
Welcome David,

Plenty of information here!

« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2014, 08:10:51 AM »
Welcome to myswag.  There have been plenty of build threads posted on here that will give you heaps of ideas.   Make sure you keep us all up to date with your build.  We like photos :D. Good luck

« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2014, 08:28:56 AM »
Welcome David and co, great to have you on board.
Heaps of good info, tips and advice on here to help through your build process.
Look forward to reading the next chapters.

« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2014, 01:25:19 PM »
Welcome David and co, great to have you on board.
Heaps of good info, tips and advice on here to help through your build process.
Look forward to reading the next chapters.
Yep, agree. Welcome.

« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2014, 03:19:39 PM »
Welcome to Myswag David. Good luck with the DYI :cheers:

« Reply #8 on: May 07, 2014, 05:24:58 PM »
Welcome to MySwag David. Time to sit down and hit the build threads to get a few ideas, that should, only take a day or three. Next step, trawl through the electrical department and work out whats best, one hint....6b&s rules.

Enjoy your stay and start up your own build thread once you get a rough plan, heaps of help available