Author Topic: Newbie from Alice  (Read 3016 times)

Offline Lithil

Newbie from Alice
« on: April 03, 2012, 02:07:30 PM »

Just like to say thanks first up for all your good advice over the last few months while I've been lurking away in the background.

We finally bit the bullet and purchased a 2nd hand Cameron Canvas trailer from a local trailer dealer here in Alice. It's a 2003 model of what looks like their Unlimited Off Road with the concept tent.

My theory on it after reading the forums was that it was an extremely well built, possibly over engineered camper with the basics done right. 100x50 drawbar, 16 wheels, 10" mechanical disc breaks, 70L water tank and a 9' tent with annex (1 wall). A slide out wooden kitchen with another slide out gear box.

The kitchen needed a new coat of paint (1st coat drying as I type) and the mattress needed updating (do you really want to use something that god knows who has been doing god knows what on?)

Now to read up on electrics and see if I really want to go there or just get someone to do it all for me.

thanks again for your help.

Craig

Offline seqfisho

• So much Australia, Never enough Holidays
Re: Newbie from Alice
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2012, 02:17:56 PM »
Hi Craig,

Welcome to MySwag, looks like a good pick up and a solid platform to build on.

Just a side question, whats it like to live in the Alice, looking at some work options at present and it is on the list, thks.
2007 Rodeo VCDi DCab, Reasonably stock no longer ;-)
Now Camperless

« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2012, 02:24:01 PM »
G'day & Welcome and congraulations on picking up such a tidy CT.

Offline hargs

« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2012, 02:29:07 PM »
looks great..........happy "moding".............
Life is to short not to...............

Offline tojo100

• all time not spent camping is time wasted
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2012, 03:13:33 PM »
Welcome Craig to my swag, nice unit now the fun starts ,nothing like adding your touches to it  8)
« Last Edit: April 03, 2012, 03:15:27 PM by tojo100 »
100series 4.2 cruiser ultimate camper

« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2012, 03:23:30 PM »
Welcome and your CT looks great.
We will be visiting the Alice in June or July, doing the red centre trip. Have a cousin there who we will be visiting. She loves the place.  :cup:

Kevin

« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2012, 03:28:39 PM »
Welcome aboard, and a great looking CT

« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2012, 04:13:42 PM »
G'day Craig ,

To MySwag,
Nice setup you got your self.
Let the mods begin.

« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2012, 05:21:29 PM »
Welcome mate, enjoy.

« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2012, 05:32:56 PM »
Welcome to MY Swag Craig take on the electrics don't be scared plenty of help on here if you get stuck  :cheers:

Newbie from Alice
« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2012, 07:33:42 PM »
Welcome aboard Craig the CT looks like a ripper mate and I'm sure you'd do fine sorting the electrics your self plenty of knowledgable folk here that can help just sing out when you need it

« Reply #11 on: April 03, 2012, 08:38:33 PM »
G'day Craig and welcome to the forum
Well done on the camper mate.Looks great. :cup:

Offline timneva

• Prado GXL and Cub CT
« Reply #12 on: April 03, 2012, 11:12:37 PM »
G'day Craig and welcome. The camper looks like its in good nick. Well done on the purchase. Good time to get out into the West Macs for a weekend. Enjoy!

« Reply #13 on: April 09, 2012, 12:47:32 PM »
G'day Craig and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers: