Author Topic: About Time!  (Read 2759 times)

Offline Shadow2000

About Time!
« on: August 11, 2012, 05:40:52 PM »
Hi All, I thought it was about time I introduced myself.

I have been lurking these forums for quite a while now.

We (my wife and I and a 2YO) just bought a 2nd hand 2010 CUB Supamatic Escape in April from a very nice family in QLD who only used it about 4 times before they decided to move to the darkside and buy a Cavavan.

Before this you may have seen our Pod trailer for sale in the For Sale section. We had a large Coleman tent. We were thinking about upgrading the POD to a camper, but the prices kept moving upwards. For a little more we were able to buy a Hardfloor camper witch is a lot easier to setup and use and has more storage.

The extras that came with it are: TC Pack, Battery and Charger, Pantry, toolbox, Mains Pressure tap and Deluxe Awning.

Mods so far: Replaced clear hosing from tank with food grade stuff. Strengthened up the Bed base, put a shovel mount on top using Quickfists and installed partitions in the storage area. The Hosing idea came from this forum. I will post another thread soon with pics.

So far we have only been able to get out once since buying it (see the pic below) we went to the Yackandandah CP. Its been very cold here. The next trip is planned to go to Mt Beauty for Fathers day weekend so i can go to the Brewery across the road!

Can't wait to do some free camping when the weather improves! And I have heaps of other mods I am planning.

Tony

Re: About Time!
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2012, 05:42:54 PM »
Welcome to myswag Tony. Where does your 2yo sleep in the Cub?

Offline Shadow2000

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2012, 05:56:40 PM »
Hi there,

Still in a portacot on the hardfloor area. When she out grows that it will be a stretcher and self inflating mattress.

Tony

Offline Havaroly

• 'next gen CT reversing system'
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2012, 06:01:07 PM »
Hi Tony,

Congrats on the purchase sounds like a great setup.  and of course .....  Welcome to the Cub Club :D

I'm also new to Cubs and picked up quite a few mod tips from the forum.

Ross and family
Nissan X-Trail with Cub Weekender with transcon pack

You're off the Great Places!
Today is your day!
Your CT is waiting.
So...get on your way! - Dr Seuss ( with mods)

Offline hargs

« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2012, 06:07:20 PM »
Welcome from a couple of Cub owning grandparents.......................................... :angel:
Life is to short not to...............

« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2012, 06:16:45 PM »
G'day Tony and welcome.
Nice looking setup mate :cup:
Happy camping ahead.

« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2012, 11:29:15 PM »
Hi Tony and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2012, 08:34:55 AM »
G'day Tony & Family,

Looks like you're pretty well setup there guys  :cup:
Heaps of great info here to you mod your camper and to help plan trips.

« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2012, 08:54:18 PM »

Nice camper, one of my mates has one very similar; easy to use.

Offline Shadow2000

« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2012, 07:54:59 AM »
Thanks everyone for the welcome.

I will get around to making a couple more threads with some mods. I have been waiting to take some more pics when its setup.

We are going to the Mt Beauty CP(so we can use heaters!) this weekend. Its going to be freezing, but still can't wait!

From now on i should be doing some more trips as the weather gets better.

Tony

« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2012, 08:10:16 AM »
Welcome the MySwag Tony, dont forget the thermals for winter camping, or the doona ;D