Author Topic: Help needed re Buying a Nissan patrol 2002 Model  (Read 8870 times)

Help needed re Buying a Nissan patrol 2002 Model
« on: June 01, 2011, 03:16:36 PM »

I need information whether a nissan patrol 2002 turbo diesal has any major problems with this model we should know about. As we are trading in the v8 cruiser for one due to a marriage separation and I am trying to help out the ex.

Thanks in advance.

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
Re: Help needed re Buying a Nissan patrol 2002 Model
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2011, 03:21:43 PM »
Assuming you mean the 3 litre?

I would be very hesitant.

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2011, 03:28:03 PM »
Assuming you mean the 3 litre?

I would be very hesitant.

you can even get the valve caps

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2011, 03:39:48 PM »
Yes a 3 ltr

« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2011, 03:57:21 PM »
Quote from: McGirr
Yes a 3 ltr
Find out if the engine has been replaced, look for service history, then look at a used 100/120 series instead.

I'll say no more on the subject, but do a L O T of research on the ZD30 engine...

Good luck

« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2011, 03:57:56 PM »
How much for your Cruiser?

« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2011, 03:59:03 PM »
How many ks has it done ????

Offline Ricey

• It is what it is
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2011, 04:01:03 PM »
There is some very good information on the Patrol 4x4 forum.
Go in with your eyes open and do your research.
The 3 litre is the reason that I went for the 4.2TD.

Lifes Like That

« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2011, 04:02:21 PM »
It has 250k on the clock and a swap for the 2004 cruiser.The nissan is priced at $22,987.

Thanks Brian for your information

« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2011, 04:11:59 PM »
250k you would think if it was going to have trouble it already would but you never know

« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2011, 04:16:54 PM »
G'day mate,

I've never owned one but a mate of mine owned one for years, he lived in a farm house south of Tully so even had to drive a few klms of mud/dirt every day, also took the same wagon all around Australia with his mrs and 2 kids for 12 months towing a camper, the wagon never missed a beat, and it was around a '02 model and was definately the 3ltr TD.... he's just recently traded it on a brand new Nissan Wagon, so i gess thats saying something..... from everything else i hear and read though, everyone seems to agree the drive trains etc on both the 3l and 4.2l and about the best in the business when it comes to strength and reliability... however generally speaking the 4.2l gets the most votes for favoured power plant, and still most sorted in the second hand market...... though Nissan themselves mst have a fair bit of confidence in the 3l, as that's all they prodce the wagon with these days, as far as i know anyway...... i think if ya buying a 3l TD make sure it's been extremely well serviced, as i think they are less forgiving of the average bush mechanic....

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #11 on: June 01, 2011, 05:02:04 PM »
It has 250k on the clock and a swap for the 2004 cruiser.The nissan is priced at $22,987.

Thanks Brian for your information
You don't mean your swapping the 2004 V8 100 series for a 2002 3ltr patrol with 250K on the clock do you. ?

Jetcrew :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

« Reply #12 on: June 01, 2011, 05:06:56 PM »
You don't mean your swapping the 2004 V8 100 series for a 2002 3ltr patrol with 250K on the clock do you. ?

Jetcrew :D

My wife wants to but I will look at something else for her as she wants to tow a horse float.

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #13 on: June 01, 2011, 05:28:44 PM »
The Patrols are great cheap 4wds. The engine you mentioned does have a reputation. From what I can gather, it's a gamble - my feel is around 1 in 10 go bang. The issue is, there's no real indicator when it's going to occur. Some last for 200k, some 30k. But the $15k price tag on the repair is the underlying risk that most don't want to gamble with. Sure this can occur to any car really, but this particular engine is well known for it.

« Reply #14 on: June 01, 2011, 05:32:56 PM »
I have a 4.2 and I paid a premium over the 3.0l. As others have said the patrol forum is a good read but there is good and bad stories. To enable you to monitor and try and stop the grenade problems there are a few processes. A good read is this, http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/nissan-patrol-gu-gr-10/gu-patrol-reference-document-zd30-owners-look-here-31418/

It is a document that has been put together regarding the engine, any 3.0l owner should have a browse

Offline Patr80l

« Reply #15 on: June 01, 2011, 07:15:34 PM »
2002 - 2003 were the model years where the ZD30 motors failed.   I gather from spending some time on the Patrol forum that many had been performance boosted (exhaust and chip) but not monitored with (aftermarket) boost gauges and exhaust pyrometers.

The 3 litre is much quicker off the mark than the 4.2TD and much zippier.   Both have the same number of kW.   (I test drove a couple back to back before I bought mine) but the bigger motor might be better for towing.   I've got a manual but an auto might be a better combination with the 3.0TD if you're towing horses around.
40, 80, GU, Touareg, GU, Touareg, 200

Offline albyback1

• Never too busy to go camping
« Reply #16 on: June 01, 2011, 07:59:32 PM »
2002 - 2003 were the model years where the ZD30 motors failed.   I gather from spending some time on the Patrol forum that many had been performance boosted (exhaust and chip) but not monitored with (aftermarket) boost gauges and exhaust pyrometers.

The 3 litre is much quicker off the mark than the 4.2TD and much zippier.   Both have the same number of kW.   (I test drove a couple back to back before I bought mine) but the bigger motor might be better for towing.   I've got a manual but an auto might be a better combination with the 3.0TD if you're towing horses around.

Just cause you've got the gauges, doesn't mean its been looked after.... from what I can gather most don't know how hot to keep the thing from getting..

I only recently found out its 550 Celsius... and if I push mine hard up a hill it happily goes up to 600 plus!

As a Nissan patrol owner.. this is my first and only 3ltr patrol.. and its running through an auto box... and frankly, I hate it!... I'm forever worried its going to become a problem. There is absolutely no confidence in the truck as I drive it. My heart is in my throat every time I do something a little bit difficult with it.

I paid $40,000 for it last year, did 34,746kms and including lease payments of $1,300 per month its cost me a bomb!!!

My lease deduction is $945 per fortnight to run it, service, rego, insurance etc.... Its cost me well over $3,400.00 over and above the salary sacrifice amount!!!!

In other words, to do 34,746 kms its cost me $27,970.00 - thats just running costs not including extra fruit ive fitted!

I aint getting bang for my buck..... and I have a fear I'm gonna get an extra bang for my buck at any time!

the 3 litre motor is a worry to say the least... even if it doesn't blow whilst you own it, the fact it can at any time is the unpleasant aspect to the driving experience.

AND Nissan are Shit when it comes to any warranty issue.

i realise you don't expect a warranty with your 2002 model, it still hurts to be supporting a marque that has little to no respect for the consumer!

I simply cant wait to off load my patrol and get back into a more reliable vehicle!

jeeez, i feel better getting that off my chest!! ;D
Every where I go I bring pleasure. Sometimes it's when I arrive... but usually its when I leave!

« Reply #17 on: June 01, 2011, 08:13:08 PM »
Why did you buy it? ::) (sorry for the hijack)

Offline albyback1

• Never too busy to go camping
« Reply #18 on: June 01, 2011, 08:18:57 PM »
Why did you buy it? ::) (sorry for the hijack)

long story which includes an ex wife, a huge bill and ...

really explaines why cyclones are usually named after women!!

Wet and wild when it arrives, and when its all over, the house is gone!

but it meant I had to change vehicles and I wanted to have a diesel in a package that was capable off road for $40K.

wish id gone for a IFS petrol cuiser... which explains my recent post re real costs of petrol vs diesel!

The reason for going into detail is because i think the truth needs to be told for people to be able to get an informed decision on a vehicle that effectively is an athlete on performance enhancement substances... ya never know when the process is going to see you on the side line for a time!.

back to the original post!
« Last Edit: June 01, 2011, 08:20:37 PM by albyback1 »
Every where I go I bring pleasure. Sometimes it's when I arrive... but usually its when I leave!

Offline Estelle

• New members of the leisure club
« Reply #19 on: June 01, 2011, 08:22:14 PM »
I guess there are good reasons to go for a Patrol just to tow a horse float.  Nothing wrong with the Prado or Paj to tow a float unless its quite heavy.

Easier to drive than a Patrol. Off road use as well?

Our son has a Patrol and finds the Paj (3.2l T diesel auto) really easy to drive in comparison.
Chris & John

05 DiD Platinum Pajero, Cub Spacevan Drover Off Road

Offline Brisan

« Reply #20 on: June 01, 2011, 08:52:14 PM »
Lot of mis information here.
2002 and on, is when the 3.0 ZD30 motor became less likely to have problems.
I have a 2002 Patrol with 250,00 plus km on it. I have made the recommended changes to the engine that are shown to help improve reliability. It is a bit slow off the mark under 1500 rpm but other than that, no worries. I have manually controlled boost which has made a huge difference.
Patrol4x4 is a great place to research but you have to work out who's talkin crap and who isn't. All none ZD30 owners will say they are crap.
BTW I paid $18,000 for mine with no accessories, no modifications and had never been off road (unmarked underneath) Going by the food and coins etc under the console, I'm guessing it was "mums taxi"

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #21 on: June 01, 2011, 09:06:50 PM »
G'day Mark,

I've owned two ZD30 Patrols, both manual, one a GU II (2000) the other a GU IV (2005).  Both covered over 100,000 mostly hassle free km with me, only giving minor problems.  I switched to Toyota solely due to Nissan's intransigence with the problems I did have.

I know from friends of friends that my old GU II has been around Australia a couple of times, towing campers and caravans.

Problems to look for in my experience are; the larger barn door is prone to cracking near the bottom left corner of the glass, on the face that abuts the other barn door.

The MAF sensor's are prone to playing up and causing the engine to over boost. The over boosting can't be measured without dyno or an aftermarket boost gauge.  As I understand it, this over boosting may play a significant part in the engine failures that seem prevalent on the type.

Whilst happy with both of mine, I was always a little concerned that I'd have one of the grenades.  Thankfully not.
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

« Reply #22 on: June 02, 2011, 08:19:15 AM »
Thanks everyone for the advice.

Offline Squalo

• "Two Wheels Good"
« Reply #23 on: June 02, 2011, 11:34:20 AM »
I paid $40,000 for it last year, did 34,746kms and including lease payments of $1,300 per month its cost me a bomb!!!

My lease deduction is $945 per fortnight to run it, service, rego, insurance etc.... Its cost me well over $3,400.00 over and above the salary sacrifice amount!!!!

In other words, to do 34,746 kms its cost me $27,970.00 - thats just running costs not including extra fruit ive fitted!

With all due respect, either I don't understand the above, or you don't understand leasing... if it is a novated lease then you are actually paying the vehicle off (like a loan). You are not paying $28k a year just on running costs.

I bought mine on a two-year novated lease. I pay a little less than you each fortnight (as I bought a 2 year old one rather than new, with 17,000 on the odo), and after two years I pay out the residual and own it. The fortnightly payments cover rego, insurance, projected fuel use (I'm perfectly on target there), servicing, and one set of tyres over the two year life of the lease. I am paying interest (as you are, a lease is basically a loan with value-adds) but that is offset by the fact that all running costs are pre-tax dollars, meaning I have a lower taxable income and so pay less tax.

It's still costing a bomb, of course, but I have the vehicle I wanted so all is good.

Also yours appears to be a current CRD model? They don't go bang, generally speaking. And on offroading, mine has taken some severe punishment and the only thing that has gone wrong in 43,000km is a broken rear swaybar link.

Patrols are great machines (as are Landcruisers). It makes little sense to make decisions based on a few anecdotal stories about issues people have experienced - every car on the market has issues, period. Much like humans, it's a wonder more things don't go wrong given how complex they are.

The ZD30 problems are from day one of the ZD30 through to around 2005. They don't all go bang, someone said 1 in 10 but its nothing like that. It just seems like a lot because people love to spout about problems they have, but if they have no problems you don't hear boo from them.

They went to CRD in April 2007 and that is the one to get, but you pay accordingly.

Personally I wouldn't buy a 2001-2004 ZD30 but if that is where your pricerange is at, there aren't many vehicles that come close for toughness, offroad ability, and practicality. This is no guarantee of course, but if you change the oil at 5000km, clean the MAF sensor when you change the oil (10-15 mins work), use only Nissan filters and don't flog it, you should have no problems with the motor going bang.
2007 Jimboomba Maddison Staircase
1995 GQ DX Patrol TD42

Offline Patr80l

« Reply #24 on: June 02, 2011, 12:37:25 PM »
I cant fault Nissan's warrantee.    At about 50,000km I had a motor blow up for a different problem (faulty oil pressure sender; it leaked oil through the sender and didn't detect the drop in oil pressure :o)

Motor was replaced with a minimum of fuss.   
40, 80, GU, Touareg, GU, Touareg, 200