Author Topic: Epic river crossing  (Read 8261 times)

Epic river crossing
« on: April 13, 2011, 10:50:42 AM »
Here is a different way to get ya 4x4 across the river.
http://www.oka4wd.com/apps/videos/videos/show/13247518-river-crossing
Bill and Morag
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline Chippy76

• :D
Re: Epic river crossing
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2011, 11:01:46 AM »
wow! Thats a bit full on! and no one even seemed to blink an eyelid! lol

Cheers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

Offline fitzyfootlong

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2011, 11:15:18 AM »
Amazing!!!
Loving Life...

« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2011, 11:50:37 AM »
 Thats one way to do it  ;D

« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2011, 11:57:24 AM »
WoW a little low on freeboard there.... ;D

« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2011, 12:04:54 PM »
This is one piched from Garrick which he posted in the Bindaree trip report.

Pretty lucky, thank god it was not flowing that hard when we were there  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qVLvkfb3huM

« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2011, 12:20:04 PM »
Classic  ;D

Offline griz066

« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2011, 12:56:14 PM »
Go the little suzuki

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iScCoTfuUTk&feature=related
Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834

« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2011, 12:57:28 PM »
When you stop and hesitate...and your mind is saying don't be stupid......whack her in reverse before you do something stupid !! ;D

Offline camdyson

« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2011, 01:08:21 PM »
Yeah, sometimes the problem is that the little voice is talking to the little brain......

Hats off to the guy in the Patrol though - hero or zero.

Cam
Set your chickens free

« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2011, 02:11:31 PM »

Hats off to the guy in the Patrol though - hero or zero.

Cam

Hero cause he made it.....zero brains in the 1st place..

« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2011, 03:05:02 PM »
High Country Crossings, It's funny I was looking a these style of clips last night.

There are plenty of Clips like this on You Tube, with all the rain in the High Country over recent months you can fill a night watching them. Here are few I watched last night

Here is one from Upper Jamieson Hut. This crossing is known to be fast flowing. I remember crossing it in an FJ55 years ago and it was was flowing rather quick. If it wasn't for the water running throught the FJ rust it might have have ended differently. A few months back some 4wdrivers were stranded on there roof up there.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y8d1G2VSEuM
Ranger

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=smZD9HUjzWA&feature=related
A GQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HXqvi3cOvHs
Navara nearly swept away, I have crossed here plenty of times. The current is very strong in the middle and there is a hole off to the right too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WM2uyq4v4IE
GU IV

rich
« Last Edit: April 13, 2011, 05:35:10 PM by GU Rich »

« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2011, 05:22:15 PM »
Lucky the guy in the GU had enuff brains to turn back  :-[
Couldve been quiet messy  ;D

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2011, 05:46:00 PM »
I remember seeing a clip of a guy towing a boat across a flooded river, think it was a Gu ute,,, had a kid on board as well.  Anyone got the clip.??

« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2011, 06:27:16 PM »
I remember seeing a clip of a guy towing a boat across a flooded river, think it was a Gu ute,,, had a kid on board as well.  Anyone got the clip.??

This one BHG

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQX0McJ8JAA

« Reply #15 on: April 13, 2011, 06:34:27 PM »
Ok Here is another one, The Palmer River with camper Trailers attached. Anyone from here?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gcp4uhqFr6c&feature=related

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #16 on: April 14, 2011, 04:25:36 PM »
This one BHG

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQX0McJ8JAA
yeah thats the one,,,, but it was a video,,now i got a start i can try and track it down

:cheers: mate

« Reply #17 on: April 14, 2011, 04:55:05 PM »
yeah thats the one,,,, but it was a video,,now i got a start i can try and track it down

:cheers: mate
No worries, I remeber the video also. I couldn't find it. I'll have a closer look when I get a chance if you don't have much luck.

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #18 on: April 14, 2011, 04:57:04 PM »
been looking but no luck,, was a good one, if it comes up again  i think i'll download it this time,  :cheers:

Offline Rasmus

• Love that trailer!!!!!
« Reply #19 on: April 14, 2011, 05:13:30 PM »
with a rig like this one, river crossing should not be a problem.
Small | Large

Offline meimarocu

« Reply #20 on: April 14, 2011, 08:46:41 PM »
Ok Here is another one, The Palmer River with camper Trailers attached. Anyone from here?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gcp4uhqFr6c&feature=related

No not me....... but have been thruoght the palmer a few times now.
Most times the river was low, but a few at this depth.
A good run is from Laura to Maytown via the "old coach road."
A good rn is about 6-8 hours for 80klms. Once we left Laura at mid morn sat and did not get back
to Cairns untill 1.30 am Monday morning.It was very Wet. ;D

Cheers Ian.

« Reply #21 on: April 14, 2011, 08:48:38 PM »
with a rig like this one, river crossing should not be a problem.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6MjySBPFCvw&feature=related :cup:

:cup: What a beast  :cheers:

Offline Chippy76

« Reply #22 on: April 14, 2011, 10:30:37 PM »
www.7-media.net/.../Wankers%20and%20H20%20compressed%20.pps

I'll let the ppt say it all .....

Cheers Chippy:D

« Reply #23 on: April 15, 2011, 09:18:28 AM »
www.7-media.net/.../Wankers%20and%20H20%20compressed%20.pps

I'll let the ppt say it all .....

Cheers Chippy:D

All it says is broken link 
???
Bill and Morag
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline Chippy76

« Reply #24 on: April 15, 2011, 09:21:13 AM »