Author Topic: Firth park - lederderg state forest  (Read 3331 times)

Offline Markbell

• Little people little probs, big people big probs!
Firth park - lederderg state forest
« on: February 24, 2011, 06:37:54 PM »

Anyone got any tips on firth park?

Was thinking of heading there tomorrow night. Will I have any probs getting my Aussie swag in there? Are bookings required or can I rely on getting a spot when I turn up?

Marcel

Re: Firth park - lederderg state forest
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2011, 07:19:19 PM »
Hi Markbell
No worries with your camper i go through the Wombat Forrest frequently and the wheels on my rickshaw haven't broken yet on a scale of 1worst  to 10 being best the track is 8 there is no problems for you to turn around there is a loop to turn around they have picnic tables and shelters flushing toilets there called in there before Christmas was OK no fees also

Happy Trails

Offline blackstump

• ''LIFES TO SHORT TO BE SMALL''
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2011, 07:24:45 PM »
Been there a couple of times. The best spot is behind the pine log fence next to the horse corral. It can be a bit hard to spot the turn off from the main dirt road to the camp site if it starts to get dark but it's not a bad spot. :cheers:

IS THERE A PROBLEM OFFICER

Offline Markbell

« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2011, 07:27:28 PM »
Hey old croc + 1,
Thanks for the reply.

How is the spot compared to o'briens?

Is it a 4wd track only to the campground?

On the river, right?

Offline outback jack

« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2011, 07:35:58 PM »
gday mark, been up that way many years ago, from what i remember you could get in with any 2wd vehicle

got me thinking (must head up there again)

have a good trip mate  :cheers:

jack

Offline blackstump

« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2011, 07:42:24 PM »
The road in is just your standard run of the mill dirt road, a bit corrugated in spots tho. That's coming from bachus marsh way in. No need to book in and dogs are allowed. You may have to look around for fire wood

Offline Markbell

« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2011, 07:44:08 PM »
Hey blackstump,

Thanks for reply. Anything particularly good about that site?

I have another in my group tenting it.

So the best way in would be from the east side?
Marcel

Offline blackstump

« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2011, 07:51:55 PM »
No probs mate. The spot I suggested is good as it is the flattest part of the whole camp ground. You will see the area I mean when you get there. You could fit a couple of campers in the suggested spot and still have a heap of room for a fire and tents. I go in from bachus marsh as it's the only way I know but I think you end up on the same road coming from Gisborne. The majority of the area is on a gentle slope

Offline blackstump

« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2011, 07:59:49 PM »
Just remembered I may have even put up some pics on here mate. Do a search for firth park. Went there once with Redback from here

« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2011, 08:05:33 PM »
Don't think about going to Brien's Crossing Camping Ground the Ford is open to cross but the camping ground was all washed out after the last big downpour we went along the full length of Brien's Road  2 weeks ago it has been shut down by the parks there are branches and trees a good 8-10 foot up in the trees along the river it will be awhile before it opens,from Gisbourne
Carroll s Lane is the road into it which joins up to Firth Road you just keep going and there is a track into the park on the R/h side small sign

Offline blackstump

« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2011, 08:10:33 PM »
Thanks Ol croc, I have been trying to think of the road name in..carrolls lane, that's it.

« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2011, 08:14:41 PM »
it's OK it" part of my back yard i used to milk cows down your way Blackstump at Ellenbank 49 years ago has it stopped raining since i left back then

Offline blackstump

« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2011, 08:18:37 PM »
It didn't rain today mate... But I know what you mean. It seems like it rains here every day at the moment, not a brown stick of grass anywhere.

Offline Markbell

« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2011, 09:42:07 PM »
Thank you all for your posts.

Having chatted about it with my mate we r thinking of tallorook area, might have a bit more 4wding to be done!